paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Wolverine Paintball Field / Wolverine Paintball Field / Wolverine Paintball Field / Wolverine Paintball Field

Wolverine Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 828-697-4263
Address: 487 Brookside Camp Rd.
Hendersonville, North Carolina 28792
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
eiaferm Sunday, December 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
www.wolvpb.com
Review: WoW! The staff here is really focused on making your visit top notch! These guys take it to a new level (as compaired to others in the area) here you are treated like a person and not a dollar sign! Great fields with plans on expansion (cant wait). New pro shop coming soon too; but can order bout anything ya want and have it in QUICK! Keep up the great work guys!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SeanGunner Thursday, January 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 22nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Line of Fire
Review: Well first getting there you notice is the fact that it is located right off the road. A lot of fields around here are in the forest, so this was reasonably easy to locate. Upon getting there, I started looking around and was immediately greeted by the owner. He began explaining the fields he had.

1x Speedball Course
2x Woodlands

The speedball course looked professional and he said he was planning on getting new bunkers and moving the field so that more teams could practice on it. He also sponsors a team so there is always competition there.

The woodland course I saw was very big and was almost like a labyrinth. The trees are enclosed so that the only way in and out is the trails made for you. The barriers were kind of small but I liked that since it meant more moving and less camping.

The shop is what impressed me most. Although he does not have a formal shop, yet, the owner really knows a lot about the game and guns. He was able to answer any questions I had and fixed my gun when the eyes stopped functioning. His prices cannot be beat either.

The field is very safe and has the regular rules. Mask on at all times, 15 ft rule, etc... His refs are also quite experienced and are not biased.

Overall I enjoyed my time very much and plan on returning consistently. I felt the field was more geared to the enjoyment and personalization of the players. Where as at LOF it felt more like just a way for the owners to earn money, where as WP the guy really cares about the sport and the players. His passion shows.

The only thing I didn't like is the fact his shop is not completely built yet and his hours are somewhat weird. However, he is willing to open the field during the week if you call in advance so not a huge problem.
Last edited on Thursday, January 28th, 2010 at 11:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Leon F Kennedy Saturday, January 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not been to any other field besides this one.
Directions
to the Field:
Its kinda off road but theres a sign saying Wolverine Paintball.
Review: Okay, I am a nub but I have been to this field and I'll say it like I saw it.

Safety was really good, I mean they even give you a lecture on safety and the rules AND they make sure everyone chrono's.

Fields were good and include a huge speedball field, 2 forest fields (like real forest) one of them is a trenches field. On a side note, it was 40ish degrees there and there was frost on the speedball field and it melted later on in the day and it was very muddy but its not the fields fault ( they tried to put cat litter on it).
About the woodsball field, there are some thorn bushes so be careful where you run.

Hours of operation were superb, especially on the day I went (10 am - 5 pm) I stayed there for 6 hrs; I'm not too sure though I've only played once here.

Prices are exellent actually, with $40 for a case of Diablo Formula 13 and there are different rental packages (98 custom or A-5, or Rental Ion with electric hopper and HPA tank). It's better than in FL!!!

Rules were enforced mask and barrel sock on when needed or when in designated area and everyone chronos at 280 max and no full auto.

Proshop was really helpful, any problem with any gun and the guy fixes it for free I think. They had a very friendly staff.

Staff was good and friendly and there was a friendly dog in the front too.
Refs were good, constantly checking people for paint and such when asked and when not.

Players were very friendly and nice (except for some sore losers) seriously, I left all my crap on a table for like an hour and nothing was stolen not even my pods.

Food was good but they kinda ran out at like 3 pm but it was like 50 cents for a hotdog and they sell it right across the pro shop.


Other than the thorn bushes and muddy ground it was an exellent experience with exellent staff, players and fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego maniac Friday, November 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at line of fire and it does not compare to any of the fields at Wolverine. Wolverine has clean public restrooms, the other field does not. The paint prices,quality, and selection that Wolverine has is outstanding. The refs at Wolverine are great guys. line of fire has punk kids reffing.
Review: The saftey at Wolverine is top notch. Refs want evryone to have a good time but safty first.The brand new X ball field is one of the best around. X ball field is well maintained. The paint prices are the best around, no other fields compare to quality or selection. There are some great team players that come out and play, and are willing to help out newcomers. Sundays there are tournament players out and have great respect for the game and teaching as well. the building is large, great staging area and its clean. They have hot dogs, chips and cold drinks if your thirsty. Come out bring the family and lets play some paintball. Groups are there specialty. I give this field two thumbs up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MSheldon Saturday, November 17th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
Hendrsonville, NC - off of Highway 25
Review: As a Mother, I was naturally apprehensive when my son expressed a strong desire to play paintball. His mind was made up even when I tried (in vain ) to steer him towards
basketball or chess ( hey, it was worth a try ) Thankfully all my concerns evaporated after we went to Wolverine .
The owner, John, a father of three understood my anxieties regarding my sons safety. He personally went over all the safety rules and regulations with my son, making sure to stress all the important parts. When he spoke to my son; I imagined this was the same speech, with the equal sincerity he gave his own son when he first entered the sport.

He ( and his staff) continue to put that same care and consistency into all the safety policies and practices. The equipment is well maintained and in top shape. In fact on more then one occasion my son has used masks and guns that were brand new. ( out of the box)
John and his staff have created a culture of safety and sportsmanship at Wolverine. All the players enforce and abide by the safety rules and watch out for one another with a special eye on the younger players. Fellow players share tips, communicate respectfully on the field and answer a new comers questions with a friendly smile.

I now am a paintball enthusiastic . My son gets an amazing workout every weekend, is learning what it means to play on a team, meeting lots of great people and is running around in the beautiful woods in NC. Hooray - Video games are now a distant memory as the weekend entertainment. I have also enjoyed hanging out in the indoor lodge ( they have a snack bar, sitting area and nice bathrooms ) or watching my son play from the over-look deck. To any Moms wondering if paintball is the right sport for your son or daughter - try out Wolverine. I think you'll love it!






The staff ( owner, referees and sales/rental staff) are professional, kind and all singularly focused on maintaining the highest safety standards.
Last edited on Saturday, November 24th, 2007 at 11:48 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

snarfcop Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Blue ridge paintball, Line of Fire
Review: The staff at the field are great and very helpfull, the paint prices are cheep compaired to the other fields I have been to. And your not charged extra for using a credit card like at Line of fire, the field are good and plenty of parking and a good place to keep your stuff, with indoor restroom and a place to get drinks, hot dogs etc. over all I would recomend this place to anyone from the newest on up.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionkidz Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Line of Fire, blackhawk
Blueridge-havent been there I have heard bad things about it so I probably wont go.
Review: Staff here is great, they fixed my gun for free, refs are a little laid back and need to speed up the time between games. Paved parking and a big building with rest rooms and a long counter. The store needs more stuff. They have woods (needs more bunkers) and a big speed ball field. Skill level of play is higher than most fields. Prices are good. Overall the grounds could get a cleaner but I think its just because the place is so big. Sunday is a good day to go, there are team players usually playing.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Keith Sellers Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: May 6th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have also played at Line of Fire. It was not good. You have to wait way to long to play a game and you have no choice on what field you get to play on. Also very small indoor shop. They have a port-o-john for a bathroom with no sinks to wash hands. Ref's and officials are very rude. They do not care for the customer. Just the money you give them. Field fee is to much and paint is outrageous. Do not go there if you plan to have fun.
Review: Wolverine is one of the best places I've been. They care about the customer. They have indoor bathrooms and sinks. Sometimes even give out free pizza to players. The fields are nice with great woods and trench courses. They have a huge field course with all kinds of objects to use as cover such as eighteen wheeler trailers that you can hide behind or in side of, as well as objects surrounding the trailers. They also have a good speed ball course with plans to build a huge city course. Very big fields! Staff and refs are very nice and respectful to all customers. If your gun is messed up they can fix it quickly for you. They don't over charge players for field fee or paint. Very good thing, keep it up. I personally will not go to any other course in the area other than WOLVERINE. THEY ARE THE BEST!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kredchoppers Friday, December 24th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: i have played at this field for quit some time now and i can say that it is getting more popular through the ballers in the asheville & weaverville area.The field is nice scince it is the only one that i have ever played at....So i rele dont know how to express the shape of the field compared to the other fields in the area.The airball course is nice and is well put together in my opinion.The woods course is also well put together and plenty of things to use as bunkers or as things to hide behind.But the airball course gets the most attention at wolverine and the style of play is awesome and there is alot of good players out there and plenty of people that rele know what they are doin.At the field we have guns from spyders to cockers to timmys.Its a friendly enviroment and everyone out there is friendly and the refs know what they are doing and some times make bad calls but most of the time they are good and they rele know what they are doin.So Jon good job with what you have done so far with the field and keep it up...

Last edited on Sunday, April 3rd, 2005 at 12:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
123 Comments - Add Comment

SkeeterZZ Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CEP. Haven't played there since grand opening (I will not compare to it)
LOF. Good field. Good prices. Hard to compare apples to oranges.

Review: Ive been looking forward to this field opening for quite some time now. Its been well worth the wait. The speedball area is great and has alot of room for growth. It already attracts players at all levels of play. Right now it has one airball field but there are plans for 2 or 3 more. I look forward to seeing it when it has all the fields that John plans on putting in. It is sure to be one of the foremost places for tournament players and hardcore speedballers to practice, as well as new players to learn.
The woods field that is open now is still in its natural state. It has multi leveled terrain and some gullys which make for some good battles. I'm sure that this field will develop itself over time.
Wolverine has plans for more fields for different types of play. I look forward to watching the field grow.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media