paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field / Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Davis Paintball Center Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
56Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 530-757-7700
Address: 24998 County Rd. 102
Davis, California 95616
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Paula Palomo Tuesday, September 7th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: For the past couple of years Davis Paintball has supported
our school's fundraiser, and the people that have played always have a
good time out there. The owner/manager of the field is very courteous and helpful. I will recommend this field to anyone looking for a place to go paint balling.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Steve A2 Wednesday, August 25th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 29th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Our family has been playing at the Davis Paintball fields for about three years. We go a couple of times per summer and usually have paintball birthday parties for both boys in the Fall.

The facility is great, with lots of different field set-ups to vary the strategy and tactics. The Refs are friendly and helpful and always focused on safety. This makes me comfortable bringing our kids' friends for the parties.

This past school year, at a fundraising auction for our local elementary school, I was able to bid on, and won, gift certificates from Davis Paintball. I've always liked the facility and staff, but am especially pleased to see that this business supports our local schools! Thanks much Davis Paintball! We'll keep coming back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tylerefic75 Monday, August 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
capitol-just good for experienced players
infinite-field are just too big and hilly
Directions
to the Field:
just on the north border of davis on poleline road, on the way towards woodland, by the little go-kart track
Review: been playing paintball for a year now. I started at davis and have been playing all the fields in the area. I recently talked a bunch of co-workers and their kids to play. Davis was my 1st choice.

Excellent Recreation fields at Davis, so I knew the new players in our group would feel comfortable. Some of the other fields I play are good, but just for tourneys, Davis is certainly the place for new players.

Good costs, very friendly helpful staff, nice and close to Nugget shopping center for amazing sandwiches. And plenty of Rec fields! I think they have 6 fields for beginners. It was a great day. The group can't wait to come back out to play.

Thanks davis paintball and staff!

Tyler Murphy
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kkoala7 Saturday, August 14th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
no idea, this one looked like the biggest field so we went for it.
Directions
to the Field:
google has it
Review: My 12 year old son celebrated his birhtday with 5 friends at Davis Paintball last weekend.

I didn't really understand what paintball was all about, but I am glad my son kept on me about it.

When I called, the person answering the phone was very patient, and answer my multitude of 'newbie' questions.

At the field the emphasis on safety was clear, the safety speech they gave the boys was great, and the staff really stayed on top of them to make sure everything was fun and safe.

The prices were great. $35 for a whole day of paintball, I think next time I am just going to drop them off for the day and go out to eat with some friends!

The boys had a great time, they really liked the field called 'stalingrad' which is a big city they everyone played in. The boys can't wait to go paintball again.

Paintball is a great activity for running 12 year old boys out of energy for a day.

I think they are all addicted!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KathyW Thursday, August 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 31st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
midway-dirty, poorly run field
wap-too spread out, no one plays there
Directions
to the Field:
its on poleline road/county road 102 by the wildhorse golf course in davis
Review: I had taken my son and we rented equipment from a nearby field and had a pretty bad experience. So when my son got invited to a birthday party at Davis I was a little worried, but my fears were quickly put to rest.

The field looks professional, like a business, not like the field owners grabbed whatever they could by the side of the road to made obstacles out of.

They took safety seriously. At one point we missed our group and had to wait for their game to be over and them to return to the parking lot before we could play with them again, which was pretty annoying, but I understand it probably not good to have "newbies" wandering around unsupervised with paintball guns.

The staff was both plentiful and friendly.

The fields were really neat, they vary in styles widely so it made for a very interesting day.

There was a nice area to hang out with picnic tables and shade.

All in all it was a great time, there is no running power or running water so the port o potties have to make do, but other then that we both had a great time, and will be coming back to davis soon!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

YvonneE Monday, July 26th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Capital Edge in Sacramento. More expensive.
Review: I enjoy going to Davis Paintball because the staff is very helpful and friendly. When my family started playing paintball, our first experience was at Davis. We really new nothing about the sport of paintball or the equipment used, but the staff made us feel very comfortable and confident about playing. They answered our numerous questions and helped us whenever we needed them. In addition, I like Davis Paintball for its emphasis on safety and fun. The referees who oversee all the games make sure that all rules are being followed and give helpful advice on playing the game. Davis paintball also seems to attract a range of players from expert to beginner which has been great for us because we have been able to learn a lot about paintball from the more advanced players who are usually very interested in sharing their knowledge of the game and equipment. Davis Paintball is a fun place to spend the day. We have celebrated two birthdays there!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

plasticmetal90 Tuesday, July 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 5th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture Games Diablo (closed) - More wooded, hard to compare
Review: After Venture Games was closed the group I play with started going to Davis every month for their 'Big Games'.

The fields are well designed, however there is a problem with local rabbit digging their boroughs in the grass, creating "twist-your-ankle" sized holes that can sometimes go unnoticed until it's too late. This is not a major problem, but it has happened. The large fields mainly use spools and 'cities' made of plywood. It's very flat country, save for the berm that creates a division between the two halves.

The staging area/parking lot is gravel, and chances are you won't be getting a spot with shade, so be ready to get your tan on. Nothing fancy but nothing intolerable.

The field refs are a nice bunch willing to answer questions. They could probably stand to add a little more manpower for the big games, but overall it's still fine.

Field paint is Karnage brand, which is respectable paint in my experience. They offer 2/3 different grades of quality/price.

Field food is BBQ'd hot dogs and chips with a soda. There is a Carls Jr. about a mile away.

Safety: stranded deal, off the field barrel condoms go on, and on the field you wear a mask. Chrono is around 270. These are enforced.

The weakest link in this field is the fact that Davis itself routinely gets into the 90's during the summer. I would recommend finding an alternate field to use from June-August/September, unless heatstroke is your 'thing'. Regardless of season, bring water.

Overall, the people to work there are competent, the pricing is reasonable, and you'll have a good time. I recommend this field for use anytime other than summer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Debra Mathews Saturday, June 26th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 19th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
WAP, nice staff, but the field are so far apart, and it is hard to get alot of people there at 1 time.
Directions
to the Field:
there is a good google map on the davis paintball web site
Review: I have been taking my son Robbie and a handful of his friends paintballing at Davis for around 6 months now. We started off trying a few different field but have settled on Davis for many reasons.

We play out there about twice a month, and have done so for the last 6 months, and safety is always the main concern of the staff.

The staff is great! Very helpful, and very patient with new players and parents that are new to the sport.

The Big Game they have every month is always a must play for Robbie.

The kids love the field, they have everything from large fields to small fields to fit every size group and experience level.

The prices at the field are lower then other fields in the area as well.

Davis Paintball has become our 2nd home, the kids have made new friends, and we have found a great outlet for all the energy my 12 year old has.

Thank you Davis Paintball!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dynamomark Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: September 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action and Infinite Edge
Review: I have played here many times and I think today will be my last time going back. I have liked the field for sometime but it has been going south in quality and i demand more even if i must pay more for that. I got there late (noon) ,no biggie for me, paid the man to play got my gear ready and all of a sudden the refs shut the field down for "lunch". Couldnt even chrono my markers they told me. Kinda erked me but I rolled with it, im not in too much of a hurry to be blasted with paint anyways. Shortly after players were back on the field and in action. Here are my thoughts of the place.

The Field:
Cant comment on the airball field because i was late and didnt play on it at all but the staff were taking that field down around 1:00pm which sux big time if you like to change fields every 4 or so rounds as i do. Playing on one field for 3 hours can get boring. I liked the rec-ball field but it is a lil overgrown for my tastes but still very playable. I saw it was nice cover if u wanted to lay down a creep your way to cover so I cant rate it bad at all. No other fields were open that i saw.

The Refs:
Well this is a stickler for me. I demand safety, not because I or others are dangerous but I would hate to see the sport tarnished further by any more bad publicity. This place fails big time if you ask me. The staff never checked my hydro date or valve/tank seating on any of the two tanks I brought (1 air, 1 co2), and they never checked my chrono speed of my guns. I could of brought a real rocket launcher and played. The refs were oblivious to even to simplest safety measures a field can practice. Even during game the refs for the most part stood off to the side and watched paint fly. We all had to rely on there team for any paint checks that were needed. For this reason I will drive 10 more miles to frequent a different field. THE REFS SHOULD NEVER BE THIS BAD. Refs are the key to any good field and the quality of play such a field can offer.

The Non-field grounds:
Not much to say because they dont have much. Porto potty looked usable. They had pizza and drinks for lunch. Rental guns(old spyders) looked beat to hell but I didnt rent. They did have coveralls for players how wanted them, which is nice. Prices didnt seam to bad. They did have plenty of places to setup and chairs to sit on when not on the field. They had 3000psi and 4500psi fill which is nice since I just got a 4500psi tank.

I will have to rate it a 3 at best because you can play on it and have fun but I would like to see more fields open while the field is still open (9am-4pm) and I DEMAND BETTER REFS. If the field had better refs i would be happy to double my rating but until then I cant give better then the low 3.
Yikes Davis Paintball I expect more from you

9-04-10 Update

On a forum site I was trying to get player feedback on this field to see if the field was getting any better. Well come to find out the actual owner saw the above posts and apologized for the bad visit to the filed. He told me there have been changes at the field and asked for my to give them another try. Since then I have been to Davis Paintball twice and was very pleased with the state of the fields and the staff are great. I included myself in a safety brief (given by Pat one of the best and nicest refs I have ever seen at a field) that went a little more in dept then just rules and safety, there was some emphasis into field etiquette with topics like bonus balling, surrender rules, rental gun operation and estimated shots per co2 tank. Today I did have a short talk with the owner and he seemed to be genuinely concerned about what I/us player think about Davis Paintball. He did express that if I have any comments or concerns to feel free to bring them to his attention.

As I told them at the field things have change for the better as if they did a 180. So far I like the changes I see and will going back to Davis Paintball for sure.

To all at Davis Paintball thanks for stepping up your game, your hard work is noticed and appreciated.
Last edited on Saturday, September 4th, 2010 at 10:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

HutchinsonMom Thursday, April 15th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are located on the field website.
Review:
Davis was a great field. I took my son and a few of his friends there for his birthday party. The refs explained the rules thoroughly and clearly and they answer my questions and the boys' questions with a smile. The games seemed to run smoothly. Every time the boys' came back from playing the talked about a new field they played on. One thing that I really liked was that the refs did split up the experienced and the inexperienced players at some point in the day. The boys had a blast playing with people more their skill level.
The pizza they had for lunch was good and at a good price. They had picnic table set up underneath shade.
The only bad thing was there was only a Porty-potty for the bathroom.
Overall though, the price was great, the staff was courteous and helpful, and the facilities were great my son and his friendsí first time out paintballing.
My son has definitely been hooked with the paintball bug and I will probably be driving him out to Davis again soon.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media