paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Swamp Fun Park / The Swamp Fun Park / The Swamp Fun Park / The Swamp Fun Park

The Swamp Fun Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
39Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 804-642-8778
Location: Gloucester, Virginia 23061
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
SteveC86 Wednesday, July 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 24th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bethel Park - Yorktown: small, somewhat disorganized, but close to my house and affordable
Fox Paintball Park - VA Beach: Weather was miserable but we had a lot of fun.
Directions
to the Field:
Rt 17 north just a few miles north of Coleman bridge on your right
Review: Took my son and 8 other people for a birthday party day of paintball. We did not get the birthday party package that comes with cake and (Dominoes) pizza. Played two rounds in the woods (which was nice because temperature was 105 that day.) The woods are still very "woodsie" in that the underbrush is not cleared off like in some parks so fields of fire were somewhat restricted. Not a complaint, and the shade was nice. Other four rounds were on their "urban" field. The urban field is built in the open so it was considerably hotter in the sun but the buildings and vehicles provided a lot of hiding spots. The staff was very helpful and paid attention to the details. We needed tech support on one gun that we brought with us and they were very helpful but ultimately unsuccessful (due in part to the characteristics of the gun, that's a story for other parts of the fourm.) Prices were reasonable for admission. Each rental got a gun (98s or A5), a clean mask, and 500 rounds. Additional paint boxes seemed a little expensive for a field-paint-only park but defraying the cost over 10 people helped. They also have a policy that if you buy guns from them you get two free admissions to the park (at least a $30 value) We had a great time and probably would have stayed for more rounds had we not been heat stroking. As our day ended we discussed returning, as a group, so it seemed to me that everyone had fun, including a couple of kids that had never played before.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

prezal Thursday, June 25th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: May 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bethel, action town sports, fox
Review: i played my first game of paintball hear at the swamp when it first opened a few years back and i will tell you the swamp is one of if not the best field in tidewater region in the VA. it has 3 wood fields, 2 speed ball and 2 concepts. all of the fields are extremely fun to play and are at least somewhat even toned. the concept field is amazing. it has a castle in the middle, the biggest assortment of bunkers iv ever seen [foam blocks, rv's , boats and airball.] it is about the size of 3 football fields. 2 of the wood's fields are narrow and long and one is the woods perfection. the speed ball fields are pretty nice. usually only one is up or if both are up one is being used for a speed ball team. The other concept field is the size of a speed ball field they use for night games. it's fun to play but i think it is a little to small. the pro shop is good sized and it has everything you need if your gun goes down. Also, most refs know there way around most markers to help you out with your questions or help you with your gun. the players at the field are from all walks of life, there are many groups like hardcore woodballer's, newb's, speedballer's, speedball wannabe's and the rec's.


there prices are fair. they usually give 4 options for paint economy [usually white box or some crappy brand]40$. low-grade[marbleize or striker]45$ mid-grade[ diablo 13 or chronic]50$ and then high grade[x-ball or Bushido] 55$ air and field is 20 bucks per person or 35 for 2. they have rental packages but its usually something like 25$ [with this you get a tippy 98 with gravity and a comp tank. also you get a mask. sometimes they will grill hamburgers and hot dog's for

One good thing is that the refs are fair and care about your opinion if you disagree. but if you yell or wine they will call you out. [i.e. the ref almost called me out on splatter and he checked me aging and let me play the only problem i had at this field is that they could have someone watch your stuff when you play. I have had a pod pack and paint stolen from my box. its nothing big but that would help. i would recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hahahaha Monday, March 23rd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
new kent less safe friend was shot after game was over and had to be carried off the feild witha truck
Directions
to the Field:
2 miles off coleman bridge on 17
Review: This field has a lot of rules but they all keep you safe while you can still have fun. The staff is nice and is helpfull if you have trouble with your gun. The refs keep control and make sure people follow the rules and that they do not cheat. They have expensives prices on most things but it makes up in the friendlyness of the staff. The proshop sells almost anything you could need and will help you out with your gun and if they cant fix it or dont have a part i need they told what i can do to get/fix it. Everyones nice and they sometimes have food if not there are conventant fast food places within a mile from it. This is the feild i want to play on when i go paintballing and i think it beats the other paintballing places around it. Their service is worth the money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

shockerairmail Sunday, September 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 10th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Splatter Mt, Big Pearl Paintball, EMR, Red River, Skyline Paintball Virginia, Command Decisions
Directions
to the Field:
Right on Rt 17
Review: Sorry to have to amend my review of these guys, but when I went there in the summer of 2008 it was run with a better refing staff then it is now.

So lets be specific. One I run and ref a field far away from these guys, so I'm not competion, and I don't like start mud slinging contest, nobody wins. This is one experience I hope my review will help them improve stuff.

+Christ the girl that seems to run stuff was very nice.

+Stuff is reasonably priced in the pro's shop with good selection

+They have a very large and nicly laid out concept field.

-They lef everyone self Chrono and never spot checked anyone. Clearly some people had their velocity turned up. One guy chrono'd in front of me at 330, 329, & 279. Since his last shot was under he said "good enough for me". I told the ref, he did nothing. Someone should have been spot checking people during the game.

-Woodsball needs to be trimed up a lot with more bunkers added. Not worth playing, no real strategy. Defenders have a big advantage.

-The ref clearly favored the regular players that he knew. He allowed several players to go out of bounds only getting on them when I yelled my head off. The players should have been called out and asked to leave the field. They were clearly doing something they knew was cheating. It could not have been more blatant/obvious.

-Refs were out of position. Three refs would be in the middle of the field talking rather then spread out over the field. At one point there refs were telling the other team were one of our guys were at?!?!?!?! The only paint checked people when you asked, they should have been on top of people were the action was at. Instead when I called for a paint check the ref I believe ignored me. After I'd say 2 minutes he walked over and made a half hearted effort to look at only one of the players I had shot at.

To top it off when I expressed my views to Christy, the owner interjected "we don't pull people for going out of bounds". So what is someone's incentive to play fair? I was baffled by that one. Clearly he needs to think over his logic on that one.

The head ref is the main problem at this field. Get someone who cares enough to not tolerate the cheating. Cheating in paintball is killing the sport and it's killing this field. You won't see us here again. This was one fo the worst experiences I've had & I've had some bad ones.
Last edited on Sunday, January 10th, 2010 at 7:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wooyea87 Monday, September 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
new to this area of va other that the 804
Review: I was their this past sunday for an epl event and was impresed at what i saw so i decided to hang around and see how the rest was and all i can say is the owner as got his stuff together it was proub the best run place ive seen in a while if i lived closer idd be their every weekend end of story 20 out of 10 i give it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RhodesToVictory Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Town, Master Blasters, Ft. Story "back in the day" and Beach Paintball "back in the day"
Review: I was really impressed with this field. The Castle and "Concept" field is a blast to play on. there are a few "houses" bunkers that are really great and have great vantage points on the field. They also have a two story Castle that is really fun to play attack/defend. I only played the woods field once and the only complaint I have is that it is a little overgrown and could be trimmed up a little bit to allow some shooting lanes. but thats just my 2cents. There is also a small field called the "ghetto" where some intense close combat goes down. I give this feild a 10. I had a great time out there and will definitely return.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

poofball173 Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: This field is really cool. The refs are nice and cool to talk to. Also in the woods there is a stream if u want to cross it u can. Oh and there is two airball fields so u and your team can practice. I rate this field a 9 cause everything is good but if your in the woods and your in the game you can't her the horn to end. I would give this field a 10 if they actually cleaned the castle of dirty water. The castle is really awesome and the refs let you shoot through the little holes!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tattooedace Monday, June 11th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
New Kent, Splat Zone, Fox, Action Town
Review: The first encounter with this field and the owner was great, I thought it was a well run field, organized with decent refs. So I decided to return for the players appreciation weekend. Due to the heavy raining that weekend, I decided to purchase another marker. The marker I purchased was grossly over priced. That put a really bad taste in my mouth as a new paintballer. I won't return, if that is how a business is going to be ran. NO thanks...Woodsballers play New Kent!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

kobuck Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played at Action Town, Bethel Park and Hot Shots. This field has more space, more variety and better facilities than any field within a 40 mile radius.
Review: there is a great setup for the speedball fields, which makes it able to support a large tournament. the fields are level and fully netted, with netted staging areas. they are also easily viewed from the sides(for spectators). this field has huge potential as a practice field for serious teams and for a tournament circuit. the staff were very friendly and courteous. I talked to the owner and he was able to answer all my questions about his field and about paintball. i gave this field a 7 and i consider sky ball at the skydome a 10(for reference)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

allstarlaxman Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None...yet.
Directions
to the Field:
(from south)

Take 664 North to 64 West
Take I-17North ~ 15 min
Located on the right
Review: I was there today (Sunday, June 3rd) for the "swamp day" (found online last night on the fields homepage's forum)

It rained...almost all day. With own equipment I got free entry/air, and rentals were only $5...so if you missed it, too bad.

Oh, and everyone that showed up got a coupon for free admission through june 30th.

Ok, on to the actual review.

Paint was either white box ($45) or Ultimate Chronic ($55)

I used the chronic and it shot great (albeit the rain and wind had an effect) and had a superb thick fill. Let's say there was no wiping to be had with this paint. I was happy with it, seemed fresh. Paint gets 2 thumbs up.

Fields...we played the woodsball field first (I showed up late) known as "wilderness"
Trail was a bit muddy, but with rain all day, and woods....I expected it. The few bunkers were well placed, and provided excellent cover. Also played this field last, and fell victim to a young boy who let me walk right past me before he gogged me with one ball. Excellent stalk.

They have a Huuuuge field that they call "The Concept" field.
In the center is a well built castle (slippery on the 2nd level due to the rain..but cmon, it's plywood.) Surrounding this were spools. cans, Stumps, shrubs, small forts made of wood...and something you don't see everyday...an RV...a small Plane...a boat. Def. a very fun field. It was so big, that you could use cover to your advantage quite well. Flanking opponents was quite fun, and the ball that bounced off my profilers that arced across field...very scary. That would've been the 2nd game in a row that young boy got me out...but, a few pods later, and about 20 bunkers, led to some surrenders and a well placed head-shot. Game over. =]

They also have 2 speedball (sup-air) fields. The one we played on (blue bunkers) was set up well for 3-man. We played a few games there as well, and it was awesome. The muddy parts of the field had sand placed over them, which says a lot for the upkeep. I always love fields that think of the players.

That does it for the fields we played on...I think I fell in love with the concept field. Def. a must if you're in the area.

The referees were humorous, safety oriented, and gave the players the choice of fields to play as well as playing style. This is an absolute MUST for fields in my opinion. They also turned games around pretty quickly. Refs. get a well deserved 2 thumbs up here as well.

Air fills...Thank god, a field that can fill to 4500Psi...well...about 4300 psi, but that's a good plus in my book. They had 2 whips by the looks of it, but only used one. Fills were quick, nothing more to be said here.

Clientele...the staff was overall friendly, and the girl that checked us in was nice and actually knew a thing or two about paintball. The place seemed a bit laid back and for a rainy sunday afternoon, it was a good place to be. They even ordered pizza to sell midway through the day. The shop was decently stocked, offering some jerseys, markers (high-end, low-end, and in between) They didn't have a lot of items, but they had a little bit of everything.

The staging area was comprised of a few picnic tables, and the staff set up some tents over 2 of them to protect our stuff from the rain. (awesome)

The chrono area was just inside the netting to the concept field, with one red chrono. Standard.

Overall, the field was great, the staff made me feel welcome, and I had a lot of fun. I'll def. be going back, this time with more friends to shoot. =]

Btw...I usually rock a black mini, and some green profilers.
See you there! (or not...in the case of that one kid...)



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media