paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Splatter Mountain Paintball Field / Splatter Mountain Paintball Field / Splatter Mountain Paintball Field / Splatter Mountain Paintball Field

Splatter Mountain Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
5Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Address: Candler's Mountain Road
Lynchburg, Virginia 24501
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
PackRat Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 3rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest
Review: Is this field still in operation? How may I get in cotact with those that run it? I've played at Painted Forest in Lynchburg and I find them to be OK. Paint is a little pricey but then again the air fills are free so I guess it works out. I would just like to see if there are any alternatives in the area. I plan to check out Big Pearl Paintball tomorrow and see what they are like.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spshocker Sunday, March 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cross Creek
Rockwood
Review: I honestly never used the field, but only because we couldn't find it.

My son and I have tried to find some way to contact the operators of Splatter Mountain with no success. The reviews for this field look good so we drove to Lynchburg and drove around Lynchburg looking for Splatter Mountain. We followed the directions to the location on Candlers Mountain Road and no one knew anything about the paintball field. We stopped people in the area and also stopped in several hotels to ask directions; unfortunately, no one knew anything. I also called information and some local businesses in the area (Liberty University and a church) with no success.

If Splatter Mountain exists, please post some contact information (a website or phone number). If they are really as good as the reviews, I'd love to try them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

rpedmind221 Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest Adventure Games, High Velocity in Salem
Review: Recently helped put some fields together with some friends, and this place is pretty great. First of all, the field has grass, and is on level terrain. A big bonus over playing at Painted Forest, where the field is built on a slope, and is layered in rocks. Not good for sliding.

Currently, there are two fields up at Splatter Mountain. Two hyper ball fields. One can really only be used for a 3 man, at least for tournaments, You could probably squeeze in 7 people on each team for an open day of rec ballers. The other field is the same size, but laid out in such a way that it'd be good for a 5 man for tourneys, and the 50 is about the size of an NPPL Pyramid, so you could squeeze about 20 rec ballers into the 50 alone.

Plans all depend on the turn out for the first open day this year (March 19). If we get a good enough turn out, the field will be opening every Saturday, much like the next field, Painted Forest. This would be very good for the community because it would set up a nice level of competition, and hopefully cause prices to go down, so I'm hoping for the best.

Plans as far as fields are concerned are as followed: Aside from the two fields they currently have up now, they're currently working on a woods course, a "King of the hill" style field where the objective is to capture a certain territory and obtain it until the time limit expires, or until the other team is eliminated. And last, but not least (best of all really), if the funding is right, their's plans for a sup air field coming by mid- to late-summer. :)

As for prices, paint is only $35 a case. There's not a wide variety, but it's $10 dollars cheaper a case than it is at Painted Forest, and, from what I've noticed, it seems to be a lot more fresh as well.

The staff is also very great, and always willing to help out. I'm also willing to help anyone out, contact me for any information you'd like.
Last edited on Friday, March 18th, 2005 at 7:58 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Stud the Dud Sunday, January 16th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painted Forest- more of woodsball less speedball
Review: Okay lets get this straight who likes playing on a field where rocks are an issue? (rhetorical question don't answer) well this is a field w/o them. I recently went back up there and played with some teams. I had an enjoyable time up there. The hyperball field is cool but does have a few cracks in it that can be mended. The field has so many angles and can be played at a fast pace for 5 man or 3 man. This field is my favorite out of the fields in L-burg b/c I like speedball and I don't really care about woodsball.
Last edited on Monday, February 28th, 2005 at 11:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

murdermachine Tuesday, September 14th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
there is only one other field and i haven't had the opportunity to play there. the kids who have all tell me they much prefer splatter mountain.
Review: i go to the church that runs this field so i've seen it top to bottom. it has been in existence for barely a year and as of now includes 3 speedball fields and a woods course. these two courses really rock though. the guy officially in charge of everything, john, tells me new fields are on the way. he will pretty much accept whatever help he can get so if you're in the lynchburg/ central VA area, come find us. you can leave a comment at xanga.com/splattermountain or at my addy. yes it is a church not a business. so our paint is 30$ a case. air is free. we pretty much break even, i think. i'll have to ask john bout that. in the past Splatter Mountain has only done about one event a month, but locals have been begging for more so i guess we're gonna pick it up. the xanga will also have date/times as well. it's about as friendly a staff as you can get (most of them are youth pastors). in fact if you come we might ask you to ref. since everything runs on a volunteer basis. speaking of volunteering, we own acres and acres of land up there and we are still deciding how we should continue our developement of splatter mountain. if you got any great ideas, or if you just want to come helps us out, again let us know. we run tippmann 98's and our field paint is mighty nice. i can play through a whole case without a single break or curving shot. the two netted fields up there are really fast speedball courses with a lot of bunkers. good variety of bunkers too. about half of what shows up at our field in a given day is middle schoolers or younger highschool kids, so there's a lot of opportunity to get them addicted and share the love and the art of the game. plus they make good front players cause they are such tiny little targets and they can move so darn quick. i realize that it sounds like i'm staff at the field, but the truth is, i work at a hotwings joint downtown for minimum wage. i get nothing from splatter mountain but the chance to invest in the lives of younger paintballers and have a good time. i don't even get volunteer discounts or anything. hope to see you there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media