paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field / Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Hogan's Alley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
73Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (203) 238-2875
Address: 998 North Colony Rd.
Meriden, Connecticut 06450
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
corky123 Monday, March 29th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
D & D paintball- only has indoor speedball
Review: Hogan's alley is a great field. With two woods ball, 1 urban setting, Spools and 3 speed ball
hogans alley is well rounded. For begging players most umps will give you advice. Every one is friendly there and the matches are always intense but not out of control. Teams are also made up with talent, experience and groups that want to stay together in mind. They are very strict about safety. Also the store and repaires are very nice and cheep. In conclusion hogan's alley is a great paint ball area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pynergee Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Matt's Outback Paintball in Coventry, CT 10/10 [2 Speedball fields (1 Outside, 1 Inside the Dome), Tire field, HUGE woodsball) They have occasional Sunday rotations as well for speedball players which is great fun, If given the personal choice between Matts and HAP, I'd spend a few more dollars for gas and travel to Coventry]

Boston Paintball in Boston, MA 7/10

Fox 4 in Upton, MA 9/10
Directions
to the Field:
2 Minutes off 691
5 minutes off the Berlin Turnpike
Review: I had purchased a season's pass for HAP last summer, during which I would go play speedball generally every weekend. While playing there, I nearly broke my knee twice due to the condition of their X-Ball field, I was bunkered on several occasions from members of the HAP Factory Team (which bunkering is not allowed during rec play), and I managed to spend more than half my paycheck paying for paint.

The store at HAP is great. Their selection is huge, their gun repairs are quick and easy, the workers are friendly and helpful, although the paint is slightly expensive compared to other places I've been.

However, out on the fields, there is such a drastic change of pace.
The referees show no desire to do their job, for example, where there are players ready at 10:00 AM, the games won't get started until 10:30-10:45, at which point the players are sitting around twirling our thumbs.
The rule of "no bunkering" is hardly enforced, especially if it is member of the factory team playing. The teams are also generally stacked, having several D5-D4+ players on one side, and having a few decent players on the other, with the rest being rental players.
The other players that you meet on the field, you will either have one of two experiences: You will either becomes good friends, or you will hate their guts, thats just the way it seems to turn out.

My biggest concern is the conditions of the field. HAP was built on a swamp. It doesn't matter when, but any weekend you go, you can guarentee that the entire field is water logged, and what they do to try to fix this problem, they load the field with woodchips, which is not a safe solution at all. For any speedball player that is going to be diving or sliding into bunkers, you do not want to lay out on a huge pile of woodchips, or accidentally hit one of the several rocks that jut from the ground.
Between the fields they have some poor netting which is torn to shreds and a paintball would very easily be able to go through.

If you are a new player, looking to play a few games of speedball to see how you enjoy it, or to test out your new Ion, HAP isn't a bad place to go. It is loaded with amateurs and you won't have the knowledge to believe the reffing is bad. Back when I first got my seasons pass, it was generally fun, not being very experienced.
Also, if you are just looking to shop for some gifts for a paintball player, or for yourself, HAP is good, and enjoy the friendly store atmosphere. They will help you with whatever questions you have.
However, if you are a serious speedball player, I would not recommend Hogans Alley Paintball one bit. Their reffing is poor, their fields could not be any worse. If it were a decision between Matt's Outback, and HAP, choose Matts for a more desirable playing experience.
Last edited on Saturday, November 28th, 2009 at 8:20 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

high_horse Tuesday, July 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy Plus, private fields
Review: Hogans Alley was my re-entry to the game of paintball. I was an avild players in my early through mid teens but stopped playing for various reason.

My nephew decided he wanted to have a paintball party for his 12th birthday. The playing group consisted of about 8 kids under 12 and 3 adults. I'll break my review down seperate sections.

Staff: The shop staff were great, very friendly, knowledgeable, and got things moving quickly as soon as the entire group was there. I can't say the same for the ref staff. After having everyone assembled outside, they had to be told by the customers that we were ready to play and even then they were moving slowly to to get the games going.

Once the games started they were all very professional. They offered excellent advice to the new players and really coached the kids to ensure they had a good time.

Fields of Play: The fields were a little small fo my tastes, but everyone else had a blast. I've always preferred the slower pace of woods ball, so I'm not going to base my review off my opinion. Everyone else loved the fast pace of the speedball games and the immediate action of the wooded field.

Equipment: I believe the rentals were Smart Parts Vibes. We had several issues with the rentals but each problem was resolved right away by the staff. If it couldn't be fixed on field, a replacement was provided. Again, high marks for customer service.

Safety: Being that it was a game made up of entirely new players and one player who hadn't played in over 12 years, some safetly violations were boud to occur. The refs did an amazing job at keeping and eye on all players and ensuring that any safety violation was immediatly corrected. Great work on the refs part.

Overall, my experience and the experience of those with me was great. The only reason they didn't get a 10 is b/c of the slow start to the game day. Otherwise, I highly recommend this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmike1888 Sunday, July 27th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme Paintball
Review: First off...the shop at Hogan's is huge, they have tons of stuff and at least 3 or 4 people in the shop at all times. The prices seem a little higher than what you'd see online or at another field, but I believe they do free installations of parts so it's not bad in the end.

The fields are pretty nice too. The NPPL field has alot of leaks in the bunkers, but there are plenty of refs who blow em back up when needed. It's not really a factor. The only crappy thing is the NPPL field is on the far side of the area, so from the staging area you cannot watch what's going on....which would kind of suck for tournaments and anyone who wants to watch.

The staff is pretty cool. They are mature in how they deal with things, they aren't the normal young teen volunteer type you'd see at other fields. They do a great job reffing and enforcing the basic rules.

The competition is way better at Hogan's than at Extreme Paintball. I use to play at Extreme, and no one would show up on saturdays, and a few woodsballers and the factory team would show up on sundays.
At Hogan's it seems like a much more competitive group of people which is nice. You don't have to sit there and beg people to play speedball like you do at Extreme. Everyone knows eachother and helps eachother out.

This is a great field and despite the fact that I drive 25 extra miles to play at Hogans instead of Extreme, its worth every bit. They afterhours is great, Thursdays from 4 to 8 during the summer and 3 to 6 on Sundays if you have a few people.

Great field.!

EDIT: Another huge selling pointfor me is they have tons of benches with a huge tent covering all of them. It amazing when it's very hot out because at least you have shade. At Extreme they have the posts set up for tents, but they never put the tents up for some shade, so your stuff is sitting in the blazing sun all day.
Last edited on Sunday, July 27th, 2008 at 9:55 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

mateonunez504 Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
strategy plus, liberty paintball, splatter zone
Directions
to the Field:
ct 15north to a left on North Colony, 1/2 mile down road on right
Review: I used to really like this place, first time ever playing the game was here. that being said, this field is terrible. the refs are incredibly disrespectful. I was walking around with my barrel plug and goggles on, politely asking where the walk-on players were, and every ref I asked had to be a jerk about it. Response included "Why are you asking me" (cause you're a ref?) to "Get off the the field, this is a private game. " This is what I paid $25 bucks for, to be disrespected by fourteen year olds? Paint is seventy a case for anything decent, the pro shop wont even glance at your gun without paying, unlike just about every other place i've been where the refs and ownder salivate over the prospect of showing off their marker knowledge. The people i eventually played with were all terrible, a lot of BT-4's with 20" barrels with a six year old behind it. The speedball players are your typical crew of scruffy skateboard punks who spend more time talking about their guns than actually playing. Case in point: the benches and tables were full all day, but the fields are not. only open from 10 to 3? What kind of players are these? don't waste you time here. I really used to be a hogans fan, i live right in Meriden but now i'd rather drag myself out to middletown rather than deal with these greedy fools. I give it a three, with spaltter zone being a 1 and cousins platteskill a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Charlie13 Thursday, March 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SplatterZone, Smaller, but faster and very challenging
Review: I participated in the March 16th 3-man tournament. I competed in the rookie class. This being my first tourney I really didn't know what to expect. I have come to find that tourneys are fun. Hogans did an excellent job of organizing this event. There were almost 100 players and many more spectators. Everyone and everything was orderly. Safty was strictly enforced. Going into the rookie class I felt that the competition was very good. It was pretty much what I imagined it to be. It is a great gauge of your skill level. The rush of your first tournament victory is awesome. All you rec ballers who have been playing for at least 6 months should get a couple of fellow ballers and give it a shot. The next Hogan's tourney is May 4th. I'll be there with team ICONIK
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

cjlovi Monday, March 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Strategy Plus Matts Outback Cape Cod Paintball (NEPL)
Review: March 16, 2008 3 Man Novice and Rookie Tournament. Safety in the staging area was enforced with 50 points deducted for each violation. Center Field was well prepared and with the excessive rain Connecticut recieved in the past two months the playing field was soft and well drained with no mud. The staff and reffs created a excellent sportsman like atmosphere. Teams that played were excellent and fair competetion.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

addboy674 Monday, August 20th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
strategy plus is around the same distance from my area, and strategy plus does a better job with its ref's than these guys do
Directions
to the Field:
just go to the site at www.hogansalleypaintball.com
Review: well, ive been playing there for about 6 years now, and ive gotta say ive seen a huge change. before they had one ref per field, and he never did anything, just divide teams and count 3 2 1 go. boring...

now, they have two ref's who run across the field actually checking people for hits. which is awesome! (and about friggin time) also, they have two new ref's for the crono, so no more of this "A" list crud.

however i do have one problem, and thats field maitenence. they get rid of air bunkers every two to three years because they dont wash them off, they just let them rot untill there not usable, gross....

but i do like the amisphere of the field, sometimes its a little intimidating when the factory team is there, but you just gotta get over that and pray there on your team...

but over all ive seen a huge improvement with there fields, however i have another huge complaint. the pro-shop.

if your not in need of a sercive thatll cost over 50 dollars, they wont get up from the stupid work bench to hand you an allen wrench, instead you need to ask about 5 people who all tell you to go to the same guy whos busy or doesnt want to help you, which is annoying as hell. next, some of the people behind that table (like the dude with the glasses) he can be either whicked friendly, or just plain unhelpfull)

but dont get me wrong, the proshop is great, prices on some things are whicked cheap, others are jacked up redicuously. but really its the people behind the desk who drive me crazy. however, the air station? the guy behind it is awesome. the charge is usually 1 dollar per 1000 psi, but every now and then he'll charge less or wave the fee entirely. that guy, is awesome


im giving the field a 9 because i have seen the field improve 10-fold in the 6 years ive been there
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballking17 Tuesday, May 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: i played here and i thought the feilds were pretty sweet. The nppl series feild is real good and the xball was good but the othe feilds were pretty pointless. If your goin to speedball and you go to hogans only use nppl series and X ball...those were the only feilds worth playing on. The kids there that played were friendly and easy to talk to noone was bein a d**ckhead. if you go there just to play and not play for tourny just for fun the reffs arnt all on your case they basically let you play but if its a tourny i kno that they make sure your out. Hogans is a little on the expensive side but they dont carry any crapy stuff....heres my basic grading on this feild...


reffs...B

feild...A

players...A

prices...C+

time playin(10a.m - 3p.m)...B

overall...B+
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bcelos Monday, May 7th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
home man field
Xtreme Paintball
Review: Ok, this review is based on the first time I played at this field. We get there and you go in, sign the waiver, and pay.

Costs: $15 + Shop paint costs. Only premium paint about $60 for 2000
or you can pay $25 and bring your own paint.
Air fills its about $3 for Co2, and $1 per 1000psi. $10 for an all day air pass, however the air guy is real nice and gives discounts alot.

Fields: When we played there was a HyperBall, two Speedball, Spool, and Woods course. We played mainly woodsball and 1 game of hyperball due to there were alot of older people playing with rentals on the speed courses and we let them have their fun. The fields are pretty decently setup, but once your out of the staging area your in the middle of 4 fields and there is very little protection from you getting shot with strays. The fields seem level, and the woodsball course gives pretty decent cover, with an airplane, tank, river, and house like thing.

Safety: The staging area is masks off, barrel plugs on, theres pretty much just picnic tables with a mesh fence seperating you from the field. I did notice tho that there are holes in the mesh, and paint gets shot over from bouncing off bunkers.
You leave the staging area entering the chrono where you put your mask on. This is pretty safe, and past that ur onto the fields.

Staff: The shop staff is mostly friendly and helpful, but the refs are crap. The chrono refs do not check wristbands so you can pretty much play for free if you want to. They also only make you chrono your gun once the whole day, when you should be doing it after every re-fill. The field refs are very lazy and dont walk around the fields but just stay near the dead box. I got a bounce off of my arm and continued to shoot as a ref comes over to check me, He walks right in front of me and my shooting range and I shoot him in the leg accidently and he calls me out of the game. Also the refs dont clarify rules pre game. I ran up the field against three guys eliminating all of them and getting shot about 50 times, I get called out but they all stay in according to the "no-bunkering in woodsball" rule. Thats BS

Overall pretty decent day, needs new refs tho
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media