paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fort Detrick Paintball Field / Fort Detrick Paintball Field / Fort Detrick Paintball Field / Fort Detrick Paintball Field

Fort Detrick Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
13Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 301-619-0247
Location: Frederick, Maryland 21701
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
seagreg1 Saturday, January 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: December 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pevs, OA, AG, Hogback----- FD Detrick is more of a "stay in place" setup. there is not alot of walking around in dense woods to get from field to field. its usally 2 or 3 pit zones. Airballs walkon, urbans llike no other fields because of the blown up cars they have, and the woods is is part deep jungle and part speedball.
Directions
to the Field:
cant really tell, just if you are comming from 270, take exit 14 rosemont avenue. go right (the opposite way from Hood college). go to the 3rd light and make a left. on the corner of that light there is a vet office, a pizza hut, and a plain, to the right should be a long line of fensing. make the left and go till u c open fields about 3miles long. make a right into the gate then make a left. follow the road and itll take u right to the parking lot.
Review: I ref there so u can ask me ANYTHING you want to know at the field. My name is Greg and im the short kinda fat kid.
pricing is --- 45$ entry, all day air, and a CASE OF PAINT! this is if you have your own gear.
---- 20$ if you have your own paint and gun and stuff like that.
open for walkon/rec play every SATURDAY and SUNDAY from 10am to 4pm. Airball is also walkon.
Rential guns are tippmann 98s, maintained to the fullest by my boss who is a certified technician of tippmans. we have usally 2 refs on the filed and 3 or so back at the entrance to help newer players on everything from turning on their gun to showing them how to fill their own air.
a negative thing about FT D is that we DO NOT serve food. we can order your group pizza hut or mcdonalds, or you can just bring your own. We have drinks on sale from pepsi to ampd energy to rockstar energy all onsale for 2$ or less.
Players are usally rec players, lots of newer players that wanna have a good time. some speedballers but not that many. we usally get about 20-40 people each game so we have nice numbers ranging from 10 on 10 to 20 on 20.

IF IT GETS TOO CROWDED OR IF YOU WANT TO JUST PLAY WITH YOUR OWN PARTY, WE WILL ACCOMIDATE WHAT YOU WOULD LIKE AND MAKE YOUR OWN PRIVATE GROUP RIGHT ON THE SPOT, WITH OUT ANY HASSLING ABOUT "OOO WE DONT HAVE ENOUGH REFS SO NO." JUST ASK ANY REF TO TAKE YOUR GROUP TO PLAY PRIVATELY AND WE WILL DO IT!

the entrance is like just a cabin w/ a couple of covered benches and bleachers for parents to watch their kids play!





reading over the review below me, he does make very good points, we are HUGE on safety. We also like to have fun and i hope you can come out and join in on our fun!!!!!!

Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2009 at 9:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

lilbigfella21 Sunday, August 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Park, Paintball Sportsland
Directions
to the Field:
From Baltimore: Take I70 West to Fredrick. Take 15 North toward Walkersville/Thurmont. Use the Rosemont Ave exit and merge right at the light. Go approx. a mile to the second light. (Animal Hospital on the left) Turn left at light. Go approx. a half mile to the Course B Entrance turn right and follow signs. (Careful its a gravel road that they don't fix it up until the off season. And they do drive tracked vehicles i.e. tanks and half tracks on this road so it is moderatly bumpy)
Review: This field is the best I've been to. I am proud to call it my "home field". The only bad thing about this field is the limited availability. It is open to civilians on Sat. and Sun. from 10-4:30. It is open on Fri. but only to the military for training.

Once you get to the field you can rent a Tippman 98 and recieve all day air, field fees, 500 rounds and a mask for $25. You can upgrade to a PCS US-5 for $10 more. If you have your own equipment you only pay $20 for air and field fees. And you can throw in 500 rounds for $5 more. Paint isn't very exspensive. They charge $30 for a case of Stingers and $56 for Marballizers. They have more paint the falls between this price range.

They are real sticklers when it comes to safety. If are not on the field you must have a barrel sleeve or "condom" as they say it. When you are on the field even if there isn't any playing goind on you must wear your mask, Other than that all they stress is blind shooting which they give you three warnings then pull you out of a game. And a 10 foot surrender rule.

The refs are amazing and won't hesitate to poke fun at you. Just remember its just a joke.

The fields are awesome. The have three; an urban couse, X-BALL Course and a Woodsball Course. All are very close which is a problem I found with other courses I've been to. The urban course has many pill bottle and wooden pallet bunkers. It is also complete with two shipping containers and two 2 story cement towers. The best part about these is that all the newbies think the towers are great for sniping, but its just a good place to get bunkered. I have not palyed there new X-BALL field which they got second hand from the Chicago X-BALL Tournament. But i did paly there last airball field which was well maintained. They're worst course, which is still amazing, is the Woodsball. They are still trying to critique it to perfection but its still a blast. with two small wooden forts to start at u can choose to stay in the woods in move around in the moderatly heavy brush or go to a grassy field. They have nice wooden bunkers throughout the 60 yard couse. But the bunkers are spaced apart.

The players and staff won't hesitate to drop something to help you, whether its giving you a replacement part or gun or paint. Or trying to fix your broken gun. My first time to this course my electronic gun froze on me because of a cracked rod. I had three players sit out 5 games trying to help me. Finally when we found out it wasn't an easy fix a player let me borrow they're Dynasty Ion and they switched to using they're Shocker.

All in all if you are lookin for a cheap thrill. Or just have nothing to do on the weekend, head up to Fredrick and stop in to MWR Paintball



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kobuck Sunday, August 5th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i havn't played at any other fields in the area. i visited Paintball Adventure Park in Taneytown and Paintball Sportsland in Frederick before deciding to play at Fort Detrick.
Directions
to the Field:
clear directions are on the fields website.
Review: this is a great field! first off, they just purchased an X-ball field from All American Paintball Park in PA. it was the best airball field i've played on! they have two X-ball demension fields that they rotate the bunkers between to keep the grass in good shape. there aren't any dirt holes behind the bunkers, the bunkers are staked down and well inflated and the layout was very semetrical. i've played a good bit of airball, including skyball in 2002, and this field was a blast. they also have a scenerio field which includes several two story brick building which used to be a skeet shooting range. their other field is a wooded area which i did not play on.
the prices were outstanding. their cheap paint is stinger @ $30 a case and the best is marbalizer @ $56. IF YOU BUY A CASE OF PAINT, THE $10 FIELD FEE IS WAIVED! and all day air is $10. i played all day for $40. if you're going to rent, it's $25 for all the equipment, all day air, field fee and 500 paintballs. add $10 dollars to that and upgrade to an electric rental marker.
the field is open every saturday and sunday from 10:00 till 4:00pm. it's open on friday, but only to the military for training.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pigglywiggly Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: Open from 9 to 3 on Saturday and Sunday, only open on Saturday during the winter
3 Fields: Urban, Airball, Woods: Urban field contains two large boxes you can get in, two towers (one at back end, one in middle), slat fence in middle with openings to shoot through, drums, and some bunkers. Airball field isn't always set up. Woods field is just an area of woods with a lot of brush. On Saturdays games are very large (usually 20 v 20 and has been as large as 35 v 35). Games are generally 10 to 15 minutes long, but a few have been in excess of 30 minutes. On Sundays there usually aren't many people. Also, games are sometimes one sided. Cost $20 for field fee, unlimited co2, and 500 paintballs. Ability levels of players is varied.
Last edited on Wednesday, January 24th, 2007 at 2:49 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KyleF Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sportsland, Adventure Park USA, a few others you can find on this site
Directions
to the Field:
Just check on their site
Review: They only have one field but the field is pretty cool. They are open on Fridays, Saturdays, and i think Sundays by reservation. They get around 20 people at once, so its about a 10v10 on that field. The reffing is absolutely great, they are very friendly and will help you fix your gun or even loan you one if they can't. They have one reffing flaw: they assign even teams, but many people ignore what they say and go on whatever team they want. This leads to one sided games sometimes. They have fair prices, but you get a better deal if all you bring is paint, although if you don't buy anything the Field fee is only $10, so I'd say fair prices. They field used to be a skeet range, and you can get inside the box things they used and use them as bunkers. They also have plenty of other cover, including these two box cars (at least that's what i think they are...) and a fence that goes half way down through the middle.. Things usually happen pretty fast, and there isn't a time limit. The only games they play is the team with the last player(s) wins, but its still fun. Again, great refs, just not always even teams. Some days it gets pretty hot, and they sell cold drinks. It is a very friendly atmosphere.
Oh yeah, they also have an airball field. I don't play airball so I forgot about that. I don't know what thats like.

Another edit: I was too stupid to realize they have woodsball. >.< I love woodsball. Well I can't comment on that either, since i didn't realize it. The fact that they have it though boosts the rating from 8 to 9.
Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 7:08 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

pink pirahna Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Backyards
Paintball Sportsland
Review: Fort Detrick is an amazing place to go to paintball, especially if you're new to the sport. You go, pay 20$ for the 'rental package'. Instead you can either get the 98's with compressed air or use your own gun, plus you get 500 rounds of Rampage, all day air, and field fee. Cheapest place I've ever heard of. The Urban games are long and the field has nice angles. If you're good though, its too easy to just run up the sideline and blast the other team in the back. They have a fence in the middle with a two story tower, a two story at the other end, multiple conaxes, blast bunkers, and big round things that everyone calls a blueberry. The airball is sweet and the walk is really not that long. The woods was once o.k. now its just a long walk for a dissapointment. The refs are cool but sometimes it takes awhile to get started. The owner and the refs will help you with any gun probs and they sell most of the neccesities. The fields could use some work and there needs to be more but in comparison to Sportsland the atmosphere is much nicer.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

onz` Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Route 40 paintball, PBSL, OA paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Not on the main part of Fort Detrick, its like on the other side. Like across the street
Review: This was an pretty good field. The prices are excellent, buy a case of paint there and that will cover your entry fee, and then just $10 for all day air. Since I am a baller on a budget this is what I like.

The refs here are excellent, Safety is enforced very well, one may think they are too harsh, but it must be this way. The refs are very knowledgeable as well

The one urban field is nice, lots of different kinds of bunkers, and it is right next to the staging area. It essentially is a large speed ball field.

The air ball field wasn't that bad, but it is a long walk to get to the air ball and woods ball fields, that might be a bad thing for those scenario guys with a lot of equipment.
The woods ball field was pretty nice lots of cover, but also lots of open spaces so watch out.

Only one thing that might be a downside is that not many tournament players come here, mainly for newcomers, and some slightly advanced players.

The best thing is that Lots of people come here, at least 50+ every weekend. The other players were very honest.


Overall, this is a great field for newcomers, or ballers on a budget. Great field I will definitely be coming back here soon


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

flamesniper Wednesday, September 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I enjoy this field a lot. It is very cheap compared to other field fees. 20$ for the day, includes rental, mask, 500 paint, and field fee. Rentals are 98 customs, which work great for rental guns. They have 3 courses, an urban with 2 two story towers, fences, recycling bin/bunkers, and other various "things". An airball course, which is great also, but the downside is that it is about a 1/5 or so mile walk to get some air. Lastly, there is a woodsball course but its a hike to get to. maybe 1/4 mile or so, so make sure you fill up on air before you walk there. The woodsball course is great and big but a little small for my tastes as i like there to be a lot of forest. Refs always enforce rules, and safety is of the utmost important at this field. Mask down in field, barrel condom on off field. Field is open on saturday/sunday. All in all, a great field to play in, and there are plenty of people (50+) there on saturdays. I give it a 9.5 because of the walk to the woodsball/ speedball course.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TearDrop-Kid55 Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have not played at any other paintball fields. I have heard about others but have not gotten the chance to go to them yet.
Directions
to the Field:
I couldn't tell you off the top of my head but it's not on the main part of Fort Detrick- it is somewhere across from it.
Review: I love this course. Plain and simple. The people who work there are very friendly and will help you fix your gun, lend you a barrel squeegee, and give you tips on how to dominate your opponents. They are very concerned with participants safety and stress that you have your mask down at all times whenever you step on the fields and that you have your barrel covers on at all times when not on the fields. They have one air ball course, one woods ball course and one urban course- all within easy walking distance. I've played on all three fields and can't say that I have a favorite yet because they are all amazing. They are only open on weekends but it's definitely worth the week long wait. The range of players is from first timers to experienced players but teams are always very equal. Games last anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes. They have a couple of vending machines for drinks but you have to bring your own food. The staff and refs are all friendly and overall it's a great place. Oh! The best part is the price: 20 dollars for a rental gun, 500 rounds of paint, all day air, and a field fee. It's the cheapest course I've heard about. Again, I absolutely love this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

heysueskreesto2 Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None, this was the first time I went to an actual field. I usually just play woods balls with my friends.
Directions
to the Field:
I have no idea. If you go to the Fort Detrick entrance and ask them where to go, they'll tell you.
Review: This is an amazing field. Everything is near perfect here. Its nearby to my house and is extremely cheap. For $20, you get 500 paintballs, as much free air as you can handle, and all day use of every field. The fields are pretty good. They have airball, urban, and woods. I played like 6 or 7 urban and 2 woods CTF games. I didnt get to do airball. The urban course is pretty good and games usually take 5-10 minutes. They usualy let you stay with your friends/group if you ask. Woods is amazing as there arent many twigs in the way and their version of CTF takes a lot of skill and is a lot of fun. From what I could tell from a distance, the airball field was pretty nice. All the fields are outside.

The refs are pretty good and usually stay out of the way. They will come out and get you if youre hit and you dont get off the field. Safety is the number one priority. Three strikes rules apply. Always have your gun plug on when outside the fields and your mask on when inside.

Not sure about the hours except on sundays they have their last game at 430 and close at 5.

One shot out rules.

The only bad part about the field is that they dont offer food (there are drinks).

Go here too have an awesome experience for very little hurt on your pocket.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media