paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Dickens Farm Paintball Field / Dickens Farm Paintball Field / Dickens Farm Paintball Field / Dickens Farm Paintball Field

Dickens Farm Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
14Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 336-463-4344
Address: 3605 Horseshoe Rd.
Yadkinville, North Carolina 27055
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
dm9 Saturday, March 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
nc tatical.. bad.. only woods ball
pbc.. good but u need loads of money
Directions
to the Field:
off 421
Review: very good condition
3 woodsball fiends...
town.. with tower
speedball air bunkers
speedball big spools
tire field(large) fun!!


very friendly staff
reasonably priced
small shop
refs if you want one
food.. snacks and drinks

great for birthdays and very family oriented. Convenient location in beautiful Yadkin County. very heapful staff and great for all ages and skill levels

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xrayspence Sunday, November 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: November 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NC Tactical, cdpaintball
Review: I had heard they were closed but just got back from a great day of paintball at the field. I was with my own group of about 20ppl. and we had an awesome time. They let us run our own games and we all played on the honor system without a ref. I split a case of paint with 2 of my buddies and spent a total of $35 for the day. The pricing was pretty reasonable for $35 a rental package it came with a bag of paint. I had my own gear and spent about the same splitting paint with my friends. They allow you to bring your own paint, $10 to use your own, and I highly recommend that because they do not carry good paint. It was some rainbow bag of paint that was terrible. Consider this field for your groups because they are very helpful. Now I run compressed air and the most they could get in my tank was about 3000 psi max. Nice facility and friendly family run place. I will definitely go back with my group of friends.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
N.C. Tactical(Reopening!)
Vital Paintball
Splatbrothers
Review: I played here a year ago, then again 2 days ago. The first time I had ever played was that time 1 year ago, and I didn't know anything about paintballing, nor did my friends feel the need to do the necessary paintball precautions, EX.Chronoing. I had my friend after tell me he was shooting 310 fps, I later found I was shooting 330+ FPS. OUCH. There wasn't ever a ref on the field when we played. It overall was a good starting experience, but not much else. Then two days ago we went again. Friendly owners, but truly some regulations need to be put in place such as mandatory chrono. Another problem I have is $$$ prices. I was treated to having N.C. Tac only 6 minutes from my house, and driving 30 minutes to Dickens isn't all that appealing. When I got there I found out that $10 was tacked on to the $8 field fee if you wanted all day air. Paint prices are kinda steep. N.C. tac had recsport for $40, their nightmare at dickens is $55. Another thing, the Airball field is never set-up when the field opens. Running an effective business means being prepared before the work-place opens, not rushing to set it up afterwards. The set-up for the airball field was horrible, few bunkers here, few there, overall just not what I hoped for. Still, a nice place to play if you want to play on a field, just needs some improvements.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2008 at 8:29 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TitanMatt Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Something Tactical...I forgot
Directions
to the Field:
dickens bottom road...right off of 421 hwy
Review: I would like to start off by saying this is a family owned field and by not means should it be compared with a pro field on the level of Paintball Central or anything close to it....

Everyone that works there are the nicest people. You will get the 1 on 1 help from them that you could not get anywhere else. Alot of people complain about the "poor" quality of the paint but like I said... you have to remember that this is a family owned field with church groups and kids birthday parties. I think the paint is decent draxxus and I really dont mind it.

The refs are nice. I cant say they are the most passionate people for the job but they have fun anyway.

Fields are pretty good. One guy on here complained that he was playing on the woods field and couldn't hit a kid that was 20 feet away because of the "vines". Well that is the dumbest complaint I have ever heard. Its a woods field and vines grow in the woods. I give the woods/tire field a 8 out of 10. Minus one for the musqueetos after it rains and minus one because when it does rain it flood on that course.

Speedball fields are dandy. Lots of fun with really nice bunkers. They take good care of them the field is different everytime so its not the same old same old all the time.

One thing I have against Dickens is their tournament team "Landslide" and their friends that come to show off to all the youth groups that is playing. The team is all teenagers around 16 or 17 that show up on the weekends and get into games with kids that are 12 and 13 that are just getting into the sport. These guys just ruin it and play like they are in a tournament with pros. And its not all of them on the team. Just 4 or 5 that need to be set straight and grow up a little.

All and all I give Dickens a 9 out of 10 if you are looking for a place to play around on the weekends.
I give Dickens a 5 out of 10 if you are looking for a place to practice for a tournament.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TacticalpBaller Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 24th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC- Best field I've been to though is often is very crowded which is good for business not good for play.
TAG- Pretty good, closed down now.
NCPP- Terrible (at least when I was there fields were in HORRIBLE condition)
Review: Ill start off by saying it's one of the better fields within a reasonable drive from where I live. The drive to pbc, although worth it, is a bit long. However, with that in mind it does have it's flaws.

To begin with the refs at this field aren't exactly what you'd call specially trained. Most of them are either the owner's kids or some of the people from their sponsored teams. While they may be good paintball players, they really don't seem to want to jump into the action and make paint checks. Most stand on one side of the field and and don't move the enitre game. When they do happen to make a call, there are times where it's a bad call. However, overall they are some help in keeping the game in line, though the situation could be somewhat better.

Other flaws or things that could be better include a porta-potty for the restroom, only being able to fill to 3000psi (for those of you with happy fingers and bad efficiency), and at times lack of people to play with.


Although this field has it's flaws, it's the positives that keep me returning. With an airball field (pretty good one), a spool field, woods course, and a Western Field/ Town Field everyone is bound to have a field that they enjoy playing. Also, has decent prices and you can bring your own paint if you pay the 10 dollar fee.

Overall, a quality field.
Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 7:28 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

leed Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC - High prices, but a little better in formality and organization
Review: I like the field, and I don't mind the porta-potty too much, as I usually go and play in the morning, so I don't eat anything that goes through my digestive track for a while, so #1 is usually all I need to do. Just use the bathroom before, LOL.

The one thing that bothers me most is the smoking. I realize it is a habit for some, but I wish everytime I walk into the 'shop' to get refilled I wouldn't have to take in that big whiff of second hand smoke.

BUT, with that, the Lady and Sir owners are very very nice and are willing to help the new kids with stuff, as well as supply good fodder conversation when waiting for a fill.

As mentioned before, often times the refs, who are mainly the field-owners kids/friends, do give out positions, which is never fun nor fair, and sometimes they can be rude. Just as well, if you ask for a hit-check on someone, they end up never doing it.

The field is alright, it could use some work, and it would be nice if people picked up after themselves (this is directed towards players) instead of the Lady having to pick up after people. And it is sometimes annoying to hear some of the people there on dirt-bikes and ATV's and the like.

Oh, and if you go there, beware of the dogs, LOL. They'll take your stuff and run with it, hahaha.

It could be worse though, so I don't mind it too much.
Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 1:15 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sg jolly1 Saturday, March 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 7th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: this field is the best paint park i have ben to the owners are nice so are the refs.
My favorite field is the tire field it is easy one this field i took 1 team out my self but i sucked at the western i was heaving bad luck but my team was very helpful just like every one if you run out of paint they will help you and in the western don't go to the middle because you will get stuck and it was very hard to get out of that trap. I hope you love the field as much as i did .PS only open on weekends. HAVE A GREAT TIME .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballer54321 Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: June 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
dickens
xtreamist
Review: This Field is awesome. It is run by 2 of the nicest people i know and helpful refs. You can get all day air co2 and nitrogen. You can bring your own paint and pay a $10 paint fee. It is $10 for all day playing $10 for all equipment (mask,gun,barrel sleeve,co2 tank. The 1 and only floe this field has is that there is only a Porto potty. But the fields are excellent and always in good condition. So come on down and bring the family it's a great family place.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 at 3:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

uziman Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 20th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PBC Field- Better if you have extra cash.
Review: I play on the 2nd sponsored team Asylum (was generation-x) and this field is were we have our practices and run our drills. First of all the good parts. This is a nice little field, with 2 speedball fields. One spool and one airball. We are getting a huge 40-peice x-ball field taking up the old air field and spool field. We also have a tire field which is large and perfect for getting use to the game. We have a fort field in which you to try to tag the fort before the team inside shoots you. We aslo have a "Western Town" field. Everyone loves this feild for it's secnerio type of play. Last is a huge, in the woods, secnerio field. It's composed of a ton of trails in the woods. I am also a a ref at this feild ( look for the short dude in dye c5 jersey/dye c6 pants and a red v-force profiler). There are a ton of refs at this field feel free to ask one of them a question of you need one. The owners are very nice, Mike the owner knows a ton about almost every marker just ask him about your marker if it malfunction's. Our rentals are Tippmann 98 customs because they are very durable and easy to maintain, if you owned a field this are the markers you would rent. And we fill C02 and nirto fills. We just got a new nirto commpressor so you will get more shots of your tank. Chronoing is strickly inforced here, if you don't chrono and someone get's hurt you are banded from the field forever. Fortunatly, their's always a ref their waiting to help you chrono your marker.
UPDATE: We just now got our new airball field and will be setting it up Saturady January 14th.

The only bad things I see about this field is it has a port-a-john for a a rest room.
And that the field is kinda hard to find.

Well this filed is not the best field in the world but it's really good for rec-ballers and tourney players. Look for me or another ref if you need help with anything. I give this field a solid 8 for out-house and it's kinda hard to find the field.
Last edited on Friday, January 13th, 2006 at 2:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kigerka Monday, December 12th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area
Vogelweh Germany
Review: Wow, some people need to learn how to run a business!
They use the lowest quality of Draxxus paint and then they charge you 65 bucks!!!!!
The rental guns were Tipmann 98's not even Custom! and they charged way to much! If you use their rentals the paint may work out for you. Everybody on the field talked of how much the paint sucked in their markers so it wasn't just me. Plus it was to cold for the paint. They should have had winter fill.
They only have CO2 and they rent only 9 ounce tanks and charge you 4 bucks to fill it up, who are they trying to rip off?
Oh yeah, and during scenarios games the refs will tell you players positions.

The good side was the field. Their fields are great. They wer nice open and spacious and their scenario fields were pretty decent however, they need to clear some more out. I was shooting at a guy 20 feet away and we could not hit each other because of the natural vines and brush.

Plain and simple, I would not play there unless it was your first time and you wanted to gain a better experience the second time you played at another field. It is a good place to learn.

I give it a 2 because the fields were good but the rest just put me away on this place. I was home on leave and wanted to play in the US while I was there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media