paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Paintball Bonanza Paintball Field / Paintball Bonanza Paintball Field / Paintball Bonanza Paintball Field / Paintball Bonanza Paintball Field

Paintball Bonanza Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 713-935-0552
Address: 6500 Gold Moss Dr
Houston, Texas 77035
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
incredaniel Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This was my first time playing paintball at bonanza and my friends and I have had a lot of fun. Here are some points you should look over:

PRICES:
the rental kit is cheap and affordable ($22)
the walk-in fee is only $11
the field paint is VERY EXPENSIVE (you need to buy the field paint, no BYOP)

FIELDS:
great woodsball fields but lots of mud
no speed or airball fields at all
there is a target range

SERVICE:
great, friendly refs, they do their job instead of talking to friends unlike at urban war zone
the clerk is always willing to help
they always have towels and goggle spray in elimination zones
no proshop

SAFETY:
safety is very strict at bonanza
you need your mask on even when not in a game, but not in an elimination zone
you must hold your gun "the right way" with the barrel pointed up when not in a game

CONCLUSION:
Paintball Bonanza is a great field in general. The refs do their job and rental prices are reasonable. If you like woodsball, this field is for you. I would recommend this field to any child but adults should not come here too often because the paint prices are very high. Also, try to come during a dryer week, because the amount of mud is quite ridiculous.
Last edited on Wednesday, June 23rd, 2010 at 6:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sammy_the_bull Tuesday, June 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tank's Paintball, Paintball Zone
Review: Pros:

1.Good woodball field
2.Always have scenarios through the year.
3.Ref do there job.
4.Great place for starters or Kids.
5.Good location.



Cons:

1.No BYOP (Bring your own paintballs)
2.Field paint is VERY EXPENSIVE!!!!
3.They Chrono down to 240-260
4.There is like a 10 or 20 ft surrender policy.
5.Not for hardcore or regulars paintballers.


Conclusion: I would only go for the scenarios due to the pricing of the field paint. On scenarios events they drop down the price to $85.00 a case. I gave this rating because of the price of the paint. I would be a regular if they drop there price down to 60.00 a case.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

behtypa Wednesday, April 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
#1 Paintball - Willowchase
#1 Paintball - Grant Rd Park
Urban War Zone
Review: In short, this field is one of the BEST for small kids up to 16. And it is WORST for adults, unless you accompany your children.

Why? Because there is too much many safety restrictions that are a god must-have for kids but a nonesence for adults with common sence.

Example? All markers have to be winded down to less than 260fps (when 300fps tops is the worldwide standard). "Field-only paint" rule is heavily enforced. I have tried to mix my premium paint with the field cheepos. And they did not let me in because of that. The paint prices are too high. $23 for 500 round. But they take advantage of us like that at most places, unless it is a BYOP (Bring Your Own Paint).

So adults - no. Kids - a definite yes.

SAFETY: Very strict on safety, 260 fps rule, instructions for everyone with emphasis on mask at all times, etc etc. Kids are being watched to make sure they don't hurt themself and others. Markers are ought to be carried with barrels up, which is ridiculous for me as an adult but whatever - as long as it keeps children safe.


FIELDS: A huge plot of land of 200 x 600 feet. A total of around 6 fields, which are mostly woods except for one for speedball.

FIELD HOURS: Actual start and gather-up time is around 11am on Saturday and Sunday.

PRICES: High prices. OK for first time, but not good for frequent players. Not friendly for BYOP and owned markers. Only good for occasional games with children.

RULES: Most games are total elimination. Strictly enforced on safety.

STAFF: The staff is well trained and professional.

REFS: The refs are OK.

PLAYERS: about 80% of the players are playing for their first or second time.
80% of the players are 6-14 years old.
the remaining 20% are their parents (LOL)

FACILITIES: The club has a very good recreational area with nice chairs, wind chimes and tables. It looks more like a meditation area at some point. :)

I will repeat, that this field is one of the BEST for small kids up to 16. And it is WORST for adults, unless you accompany your children.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SilkHN Tuesday, March 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't played at other fields, however I have played at tactical paintball, and some fields in Austin, TX
Review: SAFETY: This field is safe, safer than others that i've been too, their fps is set at a lower average of 260 for beginners and young players. They also have a mandatory safety orientation for all new players; this video basically tells you to no remove your mask during play.

FIELDS: most of the fields are lightly dense woods, fields in my opinion are too small. However when large groups show up, they extend the boundaries to two fields. Bunkers are small, lightly modified sheets of wood, there is a small Volkswagen beetle in the middle of one of the field (Please note that is is not functional). More detailed pictures of the field are on the field website.

FIELD HOURS: The field is open during most days, however always call as they have occasionally have private games in which some fields may be marked off.

PRICES: Sometimes the most important (second to safety). This field has high prices, A case (2000 rounds) sets you back about $100 for non-members (More on membership later). however going in a group of four, will set each individual back about $25 dollars. Rentals cost $22 and having your own gear costs $11. You should note that rentals include unlimited air fills, and consist of a tippmann pro, as well as a safety mask. Armor and camouflage is also available for rental.

RULES: Rules are gone over during orientation and include basic safety measures.

SERVICES/PROSHOP: Various products are available for purchase such as grenades, masks, and basic hoppers. (What you would find at Academy or Wal-Mart except in some situations a bit higher in price).

STAFF: The sales staff is great, friendly, and the manager is great, being somewhat flexible to make his customers happy.

REFS: The refs are ok, they are usually young paintball players (16-18) who have signed up for part time jobs. They will explain the rules extremely fast, assuming you know where the boundaries are, they are very impatient as far as waiting for the game to end (they will end games that are taking too long). And they take forever to start the games, in other words, if everyone is ready to play, but the refs decide to wait another ten minutes, then there's no pushing them to hurry up.

PLAYERS: I would say about 80% of the players are playing for their first, if not second time. They usually have rentals and have very limited experience. The other 20% of the players are experienced players accompanied with their own guns, (mostly tippmans and spyders) With my experience, i've never had a problem with other players. On some occasions, sponsored players will show up to the field, having a tremendous amount of firepower (at least 20bps). Although they have great sportsmanship, some beginner players would prefer to avoid them.

FACILITIES: This field has two small bathroom facilities.

FOOD: This field has limited food, the've got unlimited water, and have Gatorade/soft drinks for sale.

Overall this field is ok to play at, depending on your style of play. I'd rate it a 6 of 10 (5 being average)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jaybirddawg Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: February 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
A couple
Directions
to the Field:
Get it from the website
Review: Best place I've played so far (still trying new places in Houston)

Refs: Good refs... some of the best that I've seen. They are young, but they keep things in check, spot on with the rules, and have done a good job with picking teams.

Fields: Small fields, but pretty nice. Good speedball area if you like that. I personally like the woods fields, though I wish they had more trees. But well kept.

Cost: Biggest negative. I hate the fact that we have to use their paint. Even with your own gear. But, if you play there often then getting a case it can last awhile (20 bucks cheaper if you have a season pass).

Loading Areas: Love the fact that they have safe zones right at the fields. Makes it a lot easier to get games going. There is very little down time between games.

Orientation: Great orientation! If you are a beginner then you have to play this field first IMO. The owner is awesome and he does a fabulous job of explaining the do's and don'ts of paintball. I've been to other fields that the orinetation was "don't shoot us"

Overall: solid place to play. Easy to get to, nice people there. Like someone else said there are a lot of kids there, but overall it's a lot of fun. Come on out this weekend and I'll probably run into you.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb adict Saturday, September 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 27th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball zone
Review: This field is a great field with many interesting fields to play on but the paint prices are outrageous 100$ for a 40$ case of paint and your not aloud to bring your own paint. With the high prices of paint i would recommend going to a different field. Because you cant shoot much paint without putting a major dent in your budget but if you dont care about spending way to much on paint go ahead and play there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Badblood1 Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PB USA
Tanks
Katy PB
Twisted Games
Review: First things first, the service is AWESOME. The ref experience there is probably the best.
There filds are pretty great but kinda of limited. The fields are small but have alot of man-made bunkers, not a whole lot of trees. Their main problem is PAINT. $100 for a case of $40 paint is a little excesive. The entry price is preety cheap. every time I've been they've made me sit through the orientation again, which is pretty lame.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggertime Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Brazos Paintball
Review: The service and facilities at Bonanza are great. The field is also located conveniently on Highway 90 between Sugarland(where I live) and Houston(where my many of my pb friends live). The refs at the field are fair and always around for help when you call them. In somecases, if your in a deep pile of s*** , the refs will give you tips on how to get some people out before you get lit up. The fields are well organized. Air ball and arena ball(both speedball) fields are the perfect sizes for speed ball. However the rec. ball and woods(more like heavy Vietnam brush) fields are small compared to all of the other fields I have been to. I HATE BRUSH!!(paintballs go right through brush and it doesn't help any. I havn't been to this field in a couple of months, but I have been informed by one of my friends that "painttopia" has been cut off due to a new freeway that is being built.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

1337n00b Monday, June 21st, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: This field cost 100 buck per case... it is rediculos
there are a bunch of newbs like me but the is no middle players, either every one has auto cokers or there crappy rental guns that dont shoot strait the fields are fair but some of the bunkers are made of rotten plywould that even i ( a weakling) could smace a hole in it with my head,
this is a safe zone know one is mean or over kills you no one touchs your gun yet ive seen some paint balls or a couple of buck stolen but the price of paint balls id rather have my gun stolen...
they have these event where the "reanact" wars if i was an advanced player it would be very fun but its not fun being guned down with autos and 3 bursts
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericg Thursday, February 26th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Paintball banaza might cost alot of money to play at, but the refs are good. The fields are upkept very well nice woods fields w/ a few buildings in some of them. Makes for good recreation paintball not so much speedball although they do have 2 fields for that also. I have been playing there for years and love this place i think the fields and the people that go there are great. I recomend this field to everyone. If the teams are unbalenced they fix it, they kick out people that act like pricks. All round this is the best field i have been to but i have only been to about 5 fields in my life, but out of those in the houston area i recommend this one hands down.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media