paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Baileys Battlefield / Baileys Battlefield / Baileys Battlefield / Baileys Battlefield

Baileys Battlefield

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
15Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 417 839 9299
Address: 1300 Kilburn Bridge Road
Niangua, Missouri 65713
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
mouse69 Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
never played any others but mine and baileys
Review: I went to Panzer Attack 2007 and it was a great game as usuall. I love this field. It has really inspired me in this sport in ways I had never even thought about until I attended Panzer for my first time in 2005.
GREAT FIELD!
GREAT PEOPLE!
GREAT ALL THE WAY AROUND!
Thanks Bill for your hard work in Paintball and keep it up!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

adonaiom Wednesday, April 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: Played at Panzar attack this year and I must say Bill Bailey puts his all into putting on a great event.. Awesome missions, great props, Refs were top notch and honorable play is what you should expect at this field. Camping was free and there are bathrooms and showers. Need a proshop though....I think this may happen in the future.......General Bill Bailey is the king of Scenario games here in Missouri.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

punisher9233 Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 31st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Played in Panzer 2007 and had a great time. Field is awesome and the new bathrooms are a huge addition :) The game was well developed and controlled by Bill Bailey and his refs are the best weve seen. they were all over safety and even ran every time I yelled grenade to monitor paint checks. Well trained team of refs, well organized event-well be back many times. What do you expect from Bills TOD!!

Thanks Bill
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandonjvance Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 28th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none yet
Review: awesome field , Huge is the word that comes to mind, but for the size there was a seriosly large lack of zero refs but pretty much everyone was pretty honest , field wise was great lots of diffrent bunkers and old trucks layin around, overall most fun ive had in a long time(minus the ticks i hate ticks but thats not there fault)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

21stApoc Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PGP, PGP North, Oklahoma D-Day, Smakzone
Review: This is the best field I have ever played at with the exception of D-Day; the reason being the size of D-Day. Other than that this is the best field I have ever played.

The Good
The many terrains of the field encourage many different types of play.
The regulars that play there are helpful and the games coordinator gets involved with everyone.
The camping area is good and has enough room for a 200+ game.
The field is the home field for the Woodland Warriors and the WWII Tour of Duty series.
At almost every game there is a drawing that gives a normal player a chance to win a new peice of paintball gear. One game they gave away a $800 gun. (hee hee)
The staging area has a "crude" but good map of the field and seats for players to rest on.
There are at least 8 different main conflict points on the playing field.
There are tank trails that are big enough for the biggest tank.
The minefield is a good addition to the field and adds to the realism.
The bunkers are mostly good, but there are a few bad ones.
Enough dead zones throughout the field so that there is no real long walk.
Over 50 acres playing field. (my estimate, may be wrong)
Any regular to the field will help you find an objective.
Rules are usually followed, but there are always some cheaters. (can't be helped)
As Kraus said prices for registration are usually good, as are the prices for paint.
The showers and restrooms are brand new and are a great addition to the field.
The hill has been grated and is now fairly easy to drive.

The Not So Great
The air and registration lines can be hectic but it does work. (being made better)
There are not many refs, but the ones that are there are effective.
The chronograph area is good but there needs to be a ref to check speeds.
Some bunkers are not as well built as others.


Overall you can see that the good outweighs the bad easily. I played my first game here and I never get tired of the field. Bill Bailey is a great friend and an excellent paintballer. This April is Panzer Attack which is planned to be the greatest event on his field this year with an estimated 300+ players. It may or may not get that many players but its possible.
Last edited on Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 at 1:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kraus Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Review: Staging area: I got to admit this place could use some cleaning up (which should be happening soon, as Bill is revamping the whole place). The driveway up to the staging area is gravel but some could argue that they are boulders. I was worried I might mess up something on my car, but Bill said the problem will be fixed soon. The registration/air/paint building is easy to access, and there is plenty of parking for big games. C+

Prices: Cheap, Bill hardly charges anything for his small games there. A+

Games: I've only been to the Ring of Fire games Bill has hosted, so the idea was pretty much the same, attack and defend. I know Bill has more tricks up his sleave for the bigger games, but I got a little bored with just attacking and defending all day. B -

Refs: Bill is about the only ref at the smaller games. He says he doesn't need them because the only players that should be there are the honest ones. While I know most people that do play there are honest, I watched one guy chrono in at 319 and proceed to walk onto the field. I think refs are needed, or some sort of RIP program. D

Fields: The fields are well setup and feature quite a bit of variety. Some parts have a real militaristic look to them, while others are well built. I think this has to rank up there with one of the best woodsball fields in Missouri (along with BCP and SZP). The only problem I have with this field is its size. It is literally huge. A

Overall: In this review it might sound as if I'm dogging on this field, but both times I've been there have been great experiences. I'm just a nitpicker trying to help the field out. Bill Bailey (the guy that runs the field) is a great for-the-player type of guy. He'll go out of his way to help you, and I think that is what makes playing at this field so great!

Overall grade: B
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mighty443rd Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PGP.Springfiled paint, PGP north,DDAY,Porkchop hill, Ozark Swings,on and on and on
Review: I love playin at Bailey's Battlefield. Its an expieriance a scenario woodsball player shouldn't miss. Great terrain,bunkers,bases,you name it. The only thing it needs to be better is a UMMMMMMMMMM "nothing" Its great you have to try it. This field and owner put on a toy drive that raised money and toys for alot of kids. And i personally delivered $500 It and the .68 caliber santas raised. It was a feeling ive never felt before,but this field does it every year,great place it is. And fun,that's the best thing. The toy drive was a donation of a toy for fees. Everybody played honorable except a few choice people from a group that came and played. . But whats to be expected ive witnessed tempers at every field ive been on, But they were not handled as good as this field handles its,that's why people keep coming back, Its a great place..This field is one of the only known world wide" W.W. at Baileys Battlefield.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pigpenguy Tuesday, January 3rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 15th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Smakzone, Jaegers, Oklahoma DDay, Battle Creek, The Front, Paint Games Plus North, Excelsior Springs Paintball.

Of the feilds listed only Smakzone and Battle Creek can compare to Bailey's for scenario play. The Front has potential but runs mostly one day scenarios.
Review: Bill Bailey has, IMHO, one of the top scenario fields in the state of Missouri. The field has a wide variety of terrain and caters to the scenario player.

Wide tank trails allow for same play againts PAV's as well as allowing for an easy walk back to the deadbox. The terrain runs from flat to mountainous and has a good variety of plants from bamboo thickets to pine forest.

The Battlefield hosts several scenarios a year and I have been fortunate enough to play three there. During paid play, there are adequate referees on the field, but as always there can never be enough.

I would recommend Bailey's to anyone who is looking for an affordable scenario with good paint prices.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thechodeman Friday, November 25th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 19th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pork Chop Hill, Paint-Games-Plus, Hay Swings
Review: My first visit to Baileys Battlefield was the Toy Drive event in Nov 2005.

The field is a masterpiece of woods ball fun. I'm truly impressed by the amount of work that has obviously been put into the field not to mention that required to maintain such a place. A labor of love to be sure.

Bill was a joy to meet and talk with and playing this field was a far more realistic combat experience than on most fields I've played.

As for the event however, there were serious issues that make me wonder if I'll be returning to this event or perhaps the field again.

In the briefing prior to the first game of the day, Bill admonished us all about playing fairly, keeping tempers in check, having a good time and keeping in mind that this was supposed to be fun for everyone.

It's a damn shame that a great many of those assembled failed to take his instructions to heart!

In my time playing paintball I have never witnessed the amount of outright cheating, whining, poor sportsmanship and player abuse that I saw that Saturday.

Players wiping off hits, (even direct goggle hits), continuing to play and then complaining of being overshot when they got hit a couple more times. (What did they expect?)

One guy actually assaulted another player, (by assault, I mean laid hands on in anger), ripped the hopper from that players marker and called a minor things I won't print here. All this because he thinks he was overshot. Witnesses to this incident say that he had been hit three times at a range of over 20 yards by the player he assaulted. MY GOD! if you can't take getting hit with a few paintballs without committing assault on a minor, (a criminal offense in the state of Missouri I believe), what in the he&% are you doing playing paintball in the first place? WHAT AN ASS!

Why you may ask did all this take place at such an incredibly nice field?

THERE WERE NO REFS AT ALL!!

40 some players and not a ref to be found anywhere on a 40 acre plus field.

WHAT WERE THEY THINKING!!??

To make matters worse, multiple complaints of the rampant cheating and even of the assault resulted in no action being taken at all. None, not a word.

As you would expect, tempers were getting out of hand and patients getting very short by the end of the day.

By the time we left, I was glad the day was over with.

Baileys Battlefield gets a 9+ as a woods ball field. Great layout, varied terrain, well kept and large enough for nearly any type of game, a real joy to play on.

The toy drive/charity event of NOV 19th 2005 however was a complete wreck. So bad was the taste left in my mouth by the events of the day that I was somewhat soured on the field as a whole.

I trust that this kind of behavior is not regularly tolerated at Baileys, (It certainly isn't anywhere else), and that this is not the norm for the field.

Time will tell



Last edited on Friday, November 25th, 2005 at 7:45 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

spyeman Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paint games plus,barn swings
Review: The first time and only time that I have played at Baileys Battlefeild was for a senario game for the Toys forTots Drive this last Cristmas. I can not honestly campare the other feilds i have listed above with Baileys Battlefeild because I have not played the other two feilds in a senario seting. But as for a player freindly feild this one is one of the best feilds I have had the honor of playing. If you are not into crawling and squating as you pick a deer path to follow so you can make a suprise attack on an object or a group of players moveing along the clearly marked out tank paths,yes clearly marked out tank paths with directional signs to point you in the right direction to the position that your headed for, then this is not the feild for you. This feild is the meaning of woodsball and with the tuoches that have been added to it is an osume senario paintball feild. love the job that has been done here and I am looking foward to plaing at Baileys Battlefeild again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media