paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Classic Paintball Field / Classic Paintball Field / Classic Paintball Field / Classic Paintball Field

Classic Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
44Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 770-732-1110
Address: 1320 Blairs Bridge Road
Lithia Springs, Georgia 30122
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mikedyk43 Sunday, October 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Arkenstone
Review: The Good:
Today was the first time I have ever played at Classic Paintball Field and I must admit that the layout was very nice. They have many fields to suit the playing styles of just about all paintball players. The prices here are very good whether you rent or you have your own gear. They have several different grades of paint from recreational up to tournament grade including my favorite, Evil. Everyone of the staff that I met seemed to be very friendly and helpful. I played about seven or eight games throughout the day and the refs did seem to be pretty good about mask safety and checking players for hits and and calling players out that didn't call themselves out.

The Bad:
The thing that stands out most as far as bad field practices is that although the field has a chronograph to check your marker and states that everyone must be under 280fps, it is not enforced at all. The chronograph is entirely self-serve and players are permitted to check themselves without an employee present to ensure and proper adjustment. Although I admit that I do not have a chronograph built into my head, but when paintballs flying past me are almost breaking the sound barrier, it is pretty obvious that someone is shooting hot. The second thing I found odd is that the games were typically not initiated by the staff. A group of players would usually have to seek out a ref and ask him if they could play on a particular field. This may be normal for this field, but to me it felt like a lack of organization on the part of the staff. Finally, I noticed during a few of the games, depending on who the ref was, the teams were split up only by number of players and marker and experience were not given any thought. If you have ever been on the short side of this stick then you know that this can really suck for the team lacking experienced players. Getting pelted from multiple angles by guys who can shoot upwards of 15 bps is unpleasant.

The REALLY Bad:
Please keep in mind that this is just the experience that I had and since this is my review I feel that my entire experience should be shared. Obviously this has not and will not happen to everyone that visits this field.
The last game I played on this day started out as a pretty good game on their city field. We were playing a game where after a player is hit he can return to his teams starting position and then continue playing. After I had maneuvered up close to the opposing teams start and shot many of their players on the way, I was finally shot myself and had to run all the way back to my starting position to continue playing. When I tried moving back over to the same area I had been before, I found that it was over run by the opposing team. I found myself pinned behind a large wooden box with about four enemy positions firing at me. As I went to fire around the right side of the box, one of their players run up the left side and proceeded to unload about ten rounds at me from less than five feet away. Six of these shots left a trail from my left knee up to my armpit. After being hit I told the player that there was no need to shoot somebody that many times from such a short distance and he replied that "he didn't like players that wiped off his shots". So not only did he accuse me of cheating, he was clearly indicating that he had fully intended on using my side as his canvas. I became pretty pissed off at him a assured him that if that ever happened again he would be on the receiving end of my fist. So he raised his arms in the air and attempted to entice me into a fight right then and there. Since I had my eleven year old son with me I declined and exited the field with my son. I waited outside of the field to talk with this player after the game and when he finally emerged from the field, HE WAS WEARING A REFEREE JERSEY! This guy was more than just a jerk, he was an employee of the field. I decided that although it was only 3:30, my day of paintball was over because I didn't think that my son should see me get into a fight with a staff member.

Conclusion:
I do not want to detour anyone from playing at this field, however I want anyone that reads this review to understand that not only is poor sportsmanship not dealt with by the staff, it is actually practiced. I have written an email to this field explaining this experience and included a picture that I took of my side that has six very distinct welts that there employee was so gracious to leave me with. Should they respond to my concerns about this employee than I will be sure to update this review and raise the rating that I have given it.


UPDATE 10/20/2010:

I have received an email from the management of this field apologizing for the conduct of this referee. They informed me that not only was he fired, but that the referee who was watching the game had been put on probationary suspension. The email also went on to say that the field has adopted a new policy forbidding referees to play on any day that they are working. Obviously the management of this field took this very seriously handled the situation quite well. With at least one bad apple gone, my rating for this field has been moved up to an 8 from a 5. The next time I'm in Georgia, I will be playing here.
Last edited on Wednesday, October 20th, 2010 at 3:51 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hallstudio Monday, October 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 10th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
none but sons have played at a few
Review: New guy to paintball. The people at Classic go out of there way to make the experience the best. Started with a rental Tippman and 2 months later I have an Ego (06). This would not have happened if my boys and me were not treated almost like family. My sons have played at different fields but insist on Classic. They bring there friends and give them a hard time about purchasing paint at Wal-Mart "saved $2 and cant shoot strait, good move" I do most of my purchasing on the web but have found there prices to be close if not cheaper. Needed a tank gauge and cheapest on ebay was $13 shipped. Picked one up from them for $10. Refs are good and as a 44 year old with 2 teenage sons I found the pros and hardcore guys (Sunday Players) to be good people. They offered good advice and took it easy on us Newb's. I feel this is a reflection of the classic paintball as a business. If you like to have fun and enjoy good customer service give them a try then try to hide how much you end up spending from the wife.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pyschoMee! Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nitro- Probably the second best next to Classic...if you really like woodsball then Nitros the place for you!

Carnage- Again jus woodsball here but great refs and nice woodsball setups

Sneville- One field. Overpriced! One ref. Horrible experience.

Maximum- Small..refs are ok pretty much you play without one half the time. But decent Airball field.
Review: Safety here is always a concern to the staffing there. There Pro shop is amazing and the ladies behind the counter are super nice! They have 2 spools field,one airball,one speedball, and then they have the town. All great fields i personally like them all. Ref does a great job of separating the experienced from the inexperience. Cause to tell you to truth i hate shooting kids or walk-ons that never played before. Its byop but the paint they have there seems to be always fresh paint and prices are just the same anywhere else. The even have a concession stand at the staging area for your convience! Guns must be chronoed but at times there so many ppl i dont blame the refs for missing a few. All and all i ve tried many fields around the area and this has to be hands down the best one ive played at by far. So if ever have the chance stop by and if you know and love paintball you wont be dissapointed.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ollie86 Friday, March 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played twice and the other time was in PA so umm it was mostly woodsball and some speedball but the place was kind of run down
Review: safety
,The safety was great. The entire time you had a ref watching everything making sure no one took of their mask

fields prices
The prices were good i guess but i did not pay because it was a party
, rules,
They were very strict about rules (in a good way).
services,

proshop,
When starting we walked through the proshop and it was AMAZING!!! There were hoppers, guns and everything else all over the place at good prices
staff,
The staff was really good and nice
refs,
refs were great too
players
I just played with friends but when we left we saw some really great expirienced looking people playing
, facilities,
They were good
food
I stopped and got a gatorade but the food-place looked clean and good
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

oilchecka Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wildfire
Atlanta Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
I-20 west to Thronton Rd. Make a left off the interstate. Make the first right onto Blair Bridge Rd. Classic Paintball will be on your right.
Review: I originally went out with a few of my friends to play out there. I had a blast. The refs were good the atmosphere was great and everyone generally had a great time. Since the first experience I had I have been back numerous times. I have gotten to know all the refs and people in the pro shop. It's to the point were they know my name when I walk in. They also have a program where every sixth visit is free. This program does not cost you anything. I highly recommend this field.

Prices
An entry free of about $22 is charged if you have your own gear. It's $35 if you need to rent the mask, gun, and 500 paintballs. The paint is priced fairly. unlike most fields which charge you $70 to $80 a case when you know you could get it for like $30 to $40 cheaper.

Atmosphere
The months I have been going I have always had fun. There are some days with large crowds and days with smaller crowds. The refs always make sure to divide the teams so each teams had new and experienced players. This makes for a much better atmosphere because there is never a game where you know which team will win from the start. Everyone I have met there as been pretty honest. A lot players have a lot of high priced items which they will loan you if you don't have something. My first day I had a guy I didn't even know let me use his gun which I later fond out was a $1200 gun and when you had the tank and hopper it was holding about $1600 worth of gear that someone else paid for.

Safety
Is always a top concern out here. I have seen the refs run from one side of the city to the other to get onto people for blind shooting or lifting their masks on the field. I have also seen them tell players who get mad because they were shot out or called out "Ain't no crying in paintball". Every one has to chrono their guns when they arrive and they sit in the chrono area with you until your gun is within the legal limits.

Fields
Classic has five fields. two spools, one xball, one city, and one iron man field. The two spools are usually always being played on. The xball field is where I love to have fun. the city games are fun, but they do use a lot of paint. The one open field is used for a lot of different games like iron man or British warfare there are not bunkers or protection on this field so you had better have you pain tolerance up and your extra padding on. No matter which field you are on the teams will be broken up evenly and you will have fun.

I live approximately an hour away from classic paintball and there are at least 3 fields closer to my house, however when I compare the price of gs to the price of the paint the other 3 fields try to sell it's still cheaper to go to classic. I like most people order my paint from the Internet so I always go with enough paint to last the day. I do not know of any other field where you can play all day, get free air, bring your own paint, and still have such a fun atmosphere and meet new people.

My first visit hooked me for this field and now I have become a regular and now I'm considered one of those experienced players. If you have any doubts come out and see for yourself.

I give Classic a 9 out of 10. Because lets face it no field is perfect, but this one is pretty close.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

harrdude Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played in no other fields.
Directions
to the Field:
N/A
Review: Classic Paintball is a great place. it has 5 fields including Al'ville(which is the biggest on with 2 story buildings and lots of bunkers. The pro shop is great! you can buy guns, hoppers, jerseys, gun bags, they also do repair your gun if it is just minor. Classic Paintball is great!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedy_GA Monday, February 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Windy Hill(hotshots)- Very nice up to date fields. Good reffing and games get started quickly. Shop located at the field is OK. Nice airball field!! All around Fun place.
Review: This field has a great Shop!! It's stuffed with everything you need!! Staff is super friendly! Reffing is standard.

I love the sport side of paintball so speedball is what I love! The fields they have are good, but the airball field had rocks in the snake area so when I dove in....it sucked. I got cut up on top of my knees where my knee pads didn't cover. Crawling down the snake wasn't better. On another note....the airball field's bunkers look like they are for midgets and there is so much space in between them that games are kinda handycapped in my opinion.

My second complaint is that there fields are somewhat outdated. They have spool fields and such. The airball field definatly needs to be replaced and the one good field they have is the xball field. Don't bother trying on playing on it b/c it's for team practices so not anyone can play on it.


All in all it was a good experience...but in my area...there are better options if you are the speedball type. Woodsball and such...this would be a great place to go!!

I give it a 7 out of ten
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

bsinger_74 Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Atlanta.. no comparison, this field wins hands down on staff and prices alone.
Review: My friends and I drove over from Birmingham one day to play here. We walked on with no problem at all, and ended up having a BLAST.

Good groups of players, solid crowds, good ref's, and the staff at the pro-shop was first rate.

Good Points:

1- PRICES... This place is aces at $21 including taxes for field/air fees, and you can bring on your own paint. With fees this cheap, however, I'll probably just buy paint from them next time, its worth it to encourage field owners to charge reasonable fees and keep us coming out more often! I can't stand price gouging places that overcharge for field, air, or rail you on paint... not the problem here!
2- STAFF... Refs were all top notch, and enforced safety rules very well. The staff at the pro-shop were very nice. I even met one who has the same last name as me and we had a great little chat.. she was a real sweetheart :) My friend's tank had a problem, and one of the pro's spent about 15-20 minutes diagnosing and fixing, and he didn't even charge us for the repair (just parts). I rarely buy stuff when I go to the field, but was happy enough with them and their prices, that I picked up a sweatshirt I thought was rad...
3- FOOD.... I never eat onsite, but my bud picked up hamburgers for each of us.. surprisingly they were very good (cooked on a gas BBG grille)
4- Competition.... We played against some really good players, and most of the time there was a nice balance of folks. The refs mad sure that teams were imbalanced.
5- Fields: Airball and speedball fields were all great. The city field was great as well, very big, but be warned about paint/air consumption. The field is big, cover is tough to root people out, and the games are LONG. I shot over 900 rounds on one game (25bps ramp mode.. stupid me, I set it back to 10-15 for later games). If you shoot a lot, or get into a tough bunker shootout (which I did, finally broken by an animal willing to get turbo-ramped by storming the bunker), you had better air up and paint up before even thinking about stepping onto this field. I recommend that people use a slow ramp mode, or just go semi for this field, or you will eat some @#$N paint up.

Negatives:

1- My truck got hit with a stray paintball... from where who knows, but some of the nets have holes in a few spots and curtains didn't cover a few spots. In all actuality, I think someone shot into the air which can't really be stopped. I hesitate even mentioning this, but believe that if you don't find at least one thing wrong, people don't believe all the good stuff you said :)


No question, we'll go back.. I live in Birmingham, and if we put a group of folks in one car, this fields fees make it worth it to even DRIVE over for the day if you need a change of pace from the local field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ridikulous Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Directions
to the Field:
Off Thornton Rd.
Review: Ok it's been a while since I actually played at the field, but I can tell you from my experiences and the experiences of my teammates that this field is superb. Nice refs, good mix of pros/noobs, a lot of the people who play here are really nice. Back a few years ago when I was a noob, I was lookin for my first agitated loader when my VL200 cracked. I went into the proshop and asked if they carried Revy's. The man in the shop said that they don't, however they did carry the Reloader, and he explained to me differences/pros/cons of the two. I left the store without a new loader, but with a LOT of knowledge about them. A few days before Christmas I bought myself a used Cocker. B/c i was buyin it off craigslist and the guy was local, they allowed us to meet in the proshop and even had one of their techs check out the gun before i bought it for FREE.
My teammates and I are tryin to get our church to take a trip to Classic.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hayrob99 Friday, November 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ultimate is nothing compared to this.
Directions
to the Field:
Go to the website or call.
Review: I love this field i go here every weekend and it rules cheap paint nice fields cool refs like when my gun broke i just took up to the pro shop and they fixed it for me for free!! The refs are so cool and every few months the black hearts come and play so if you want a cool field with a giant town come here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media