paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field / New York City Paintball Field

New York City Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 718-361-8337
Address: 47-11 van dam street
Queens, New York 11101
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
snakeplayer128 Sunday, August 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
cousins paintball. i would have to say cousins is much better for many different reasons because cousins has many different fields ans each and every field they have is bigger than the ones at nyc paintball and are much cleaner because at nyc paintball the carpet is so slippery and there are paintballs everywhere,and also theres not much bunkers so the games dont last very long , both have great staffs which make sure safety is included in every game but honestly the ones at nyc paintball dont really care about the noob matches and are also brash but overall i like it
Review: Cousins paintball. i would have to say cousins is much better for many different reasons because cousins has many different fields ans each and every field they have is bigger than the ones at NYC paintball and are much cleaner because at nyc paintball the carpet is so slippery and there are paintballs everywhere,and also theres not much bunkers so the games dont last very long , both have great staffs which make sure safety is included in every game but honestly the ones at nyc paintball dont really care about the noob matches and are also brash but overall i like it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bob5457 Sunday, November 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: November 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
liberty
Review: This field is a nice field but small. Theres two fields one big and one small. The big field is as long as the little field but about 50 feet wider. The turf is nice but realy slippery and was covered in burst paint. They tried to clean it off with a leaf blower but they missed most of it and at the end of the day it was like walking on ice. The smaller field was much nicer in that the turf wasn't as slippery but it was tiny and there was not a lot of bunkers which offered much protection. But if you moved up across the first two sets of bunkers and got in the snake you could pick every one off in a couple of shots. But overall it was a good field and I would go there again.

Turf=3
Fields=7
Workers=10
Food=7
Prices=9

Rating= 7
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ruthlessart Tuesday, September 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi-Velocity Indoor/Outdoor
Arena
Cousins
Skirmish
Directions
to the Field:
Take the 7 Train to 33rd St, in Queens or the LIE to exit 15 which is Van Dam Street, the Street they are on 47-11 Van Dam
Review: So I finally got to make it out to NYC Paintball. I've played at every field in Long Island and some in Jersey and PA like Skirmish. I play both indoor speedball and outdoor scenario play so I have both woodsball and speedball equipment.

Having said that let me begin. I like this field. It's not the biggest field , they have 2 speedball fields, one is 100 ft x 100 ft and the other they told me is 125ft x 55ft, but they have tons of bunkers that are always inflated with the exception of the Giant X which they had to keep inflating every 1/2 hour or so. The carpet on the fields is not all pretty and green like there photos, photos are probably from when they opened, but patchworked with old and new carpeting, however it has been sewn together and the big field, although slippery, has got the best traction of any indoor i've been to so thumbs up on the turf. The smaller field is a little bit more slippery.

The play is very fast as it is speedball. I think I averaged probaly about 1 min per game but this is speedball. The games with noobs ran slower. The noobs tend to sit behind bunkers longer so the games were probably about 3 mins each, definetly longer than the hi-tech players. I loved the fact that they seperated the experienced players with hi-end guns from all the noobs with rentals. When I played I played only with hi-techs which was great because I actually had real competetion. At all the other indoors i've been to they mix everyone up experienced and inexperienced together which is fun if your a masochist but no fun if your a noob or looking for real competetion. Again thumbs up. Also there were more adult hi-tech players than any speedball field i've been to. Usually it's all 13-18 year olds but this place had alot of 20 and 30yr old guys playing and about 4 organized teams that were drilling. Everyone was really friendly and I would understand why older players like playing here instead of dealing with all teens.

The staff is friendly but they had some refs that were great and a couple that really sucked, probably my only real complaint. Some of the refs can be overbearingly loud and annoying with the safety rules. I read a prior post about people walking around without barrel sleeves. There is possibly no way anyone walks around without a sleeve because they kept on yelling at me to put my barrel sleeve on everythime I was coming off the field. This place probably goes overboard on the safety but I guess I understand. Suggestion less high school kids as employees as they can sometimes be obnoxious.

Cleanliness, well its a paintball field so your gonna get dirty, But they have bathrooms which is saying more than most fields. They also had AC but I dont think it was on because it was a little warm. There are plenty of vending machines and they let you order pizza so not bad.

Pricing was really fair. I came on a weeknight and they were running a player special which was $55. I got a full case 2000 balls, admission , and unlimited air!!!!! CHEAP!!!
I think rental players get a package of 500 paintballs and the gear for like $36 which is also cheap.

Overall I think this field is actually better than the local indoor fields like hi-velocity and Arena not because of location but simply because I had more fun here than the others. I think they need to have better reffing and definetly a proshop as they dont's have a real pro-shop. I've played here 3 times and sometimes it's been a mixed bag but overall it's a good field.

8 out of 10 Thumbs Up!!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DEAD EYE SLY Sunday, May 10th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins / HIVI / Arena / EJAM
Directions
to the Field:
LIE to Van Dam ST
Review: First of all I have to say I think the greatest thing about this field is it's hours. Today was the first time I have gone here and I think I will be going back. They are open till 1am on the weekends so I got there at 7 and played most of the night. The refing was not really being monitored every game and there are no refs on the field while the game is in play. The reffing was really horrible. They enforced barrel plugs strong and one of the workers who told you when to go out and get air who makes you wait was unpleasent to everyone he spoke to. The staff is mostly young and not to organized. Waiting to play started to take a little to long so we had to say something. The fields were very slippery my boy fell 2 times as well as some other people. There is little to no proshop and no food but you can call out to order. Overall it was fun and for some reason I didnt shoot much paint I guess because the field is small but overall it was cheap especially if you only buy half a case it cost $55 with air and admission. Other than refs slow games and slippery turf I was happy. I will go back because for me to go play on a sat or fri night for $55 is even cheaper than me going out to a bar or something and its a half hour from my house so for me it cant be beat but keep in mind I have never played at any other indoor field so I cant really say weither the field layouts were anygood it seemed like there were too few of bunkers to far apart but I am probably wrong. The older guy probably the owner was nice and I have some paint left so after I go here again I will be trying somewhere new and I will update my review in comparrison to the other fields.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

killerdog Friday, April 17th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hi-Velocity, LVP, ZJ's,
Directions
to the Field:
On there website at www.nypaintball.com
Review: I've been playing at NYC for about 2 years. I've read some of the prior reviews and do agree that it can be a hit or a miss with the staff but overall I still think it's the best indoor in the NYC/LI Area. The main thing I like is the playing feild, all though slightly slippery, is still way better than any indoor I've ever played at. I don't know why other posters say the safety sucks, I think it's actually annoying how overboard the refs are with safety. If you come off the fieled without your barrel bag on they start screaming at you real loud which can be real annoying but I guess I understand because there's always a noob around that might not know what there doing.

Another thing I like is they seperate the noobs from the Hi-Tech players that way noobs arent treated like targets! I have my own equipment but I've bought down friends including my girlfriend to play and it's great they don't have to deal with pysco's only intrested in lighting up noobs. I've also done private play with a group of 10 players I bought down, you can't do that at any other field because they mix everyone together at places like arena and ZJ's.

The paint they use is stinger RPS at $65 a case on weekends plus $20 admission or you can come in on the weekdays for there power session which is $55 for a full case and field pass, GREAT!!!

I would agree that there bathrooms can get pretty nasty but thats usually at the end of the night, if you get there early they are actually clean, lol.i-Techs will catch better games and competetion on there weekday nights because they get alot of teams that practice with the special they run.

Overall I like this field. I always catch good games and although the refs can be mad annoying I always find myself coming back.

I would reccomend this field to any noob or hi-tech.

Reffing 5
Turf 8
Cleanliness 6
Staff 6
Play 8

Overall 7 out of 10*****
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

stickam Tuesday, January 27th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins
Hi Velocity
Skirmish
Liberty
Hornets nest
NYPaintball
Review: NY Paintball was the worst experience ever. I'm going to break up this review in a few parts. First:

Fields: Not only were the fields small as hell, there were only 3 tiny overcrowded fields. They were soggy and disgusting.

Refs: In regards to safety, the refs were good. but in terms of intelligence, they were lacking. I came with a group of friends, but they refs did not let us play together (what the hell is up with that?) The refs made up teams (WTF?) they are dumba$$es. They are more like punk teenage kids on a powertrip.

Safety: As expected.

Fun: On a scale of 1-10, I'd give it a 2. I would not go back there every again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bobothetinyhobo Monday, October 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Extreme paintball waterbury
Paintball Madness stamford (closed now)
Liberty paintball
Skirmish paintball pensylvania
Review: This field is excellent, they are indoors which means that you can play year round, especially in the winters when its freezing outside.

The playing field is also pretty big, so you have lots of playing space for the games
The staff is extremely friendly, they make a point to talk to everybody and make sure everything goes smoothly, some of the rental people came and took some of our paint and the staff made sure to refund it and let us have more play time.

They don't put high tech and lo tech players together, which is good so that the games are more fair, my friends just bought new markers but didnt feel ready to play with the high tech players and they gave us free rentals to play with the rest of the rentals.

You can order in food or get from any of the machines, and if you ask they can keep your stuff behind the counter for free.

The players are generally very friendly and if somebody is acting out the staff is sure to make them not ruin anybody else's experience


This is a great field, and I will definitely be coming much more now
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

choiboy Sunday, August 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Arena, High Velocity, Atlas, and Cousins.
Directions
to the Field:
47-11 Van Dam St

BIG YELLOW BUILDING (kinda looks like a warehouse or small factory)
Review: Safety: VERY VERY strict on safety which is a good thing, they give 3 warnings before your admission is voided. They give a very detailed orientation for every new private group and/or walk-on player. They don't have a way of telling if a walk-on's gun is chrono'd, but they try they're best to get all guns under 265.

Fields: 2 Speedball fields, 1 large square shape field, 1 small and long field and 1 quick draw field for laser tag parties ONLY. The large field has all new 2008 psp/nppl field bunkers with a new setup every week (sometime even biweekly). Great size for an indoor field, poor lighting though, so bring a clear lense. They fill up the big field about every 4 hours, which keeps all the bunkers filled up fine for playing. The small field has a minimal amount of very very crappy bunkers that will only last one game until they are deflated beyond being able to play. This small field is only opened when there are enough groups, and it is only used after it has been filled up. The quick draw field has a large amount of bunkers considering the field is only used for 3v3 laser tag.

Hours of operation: 10am-2am on saturday (12pm-2am for walk-ons)
4pm-11pm tue-thur
4pm-1am fri
sundays are usually open at 8 for team venom to practice but for the public it is
10am-9pm (12am-9pm for walk-ons)
If you are an experienced player I would suggest going on a thursday (for hi-tech NIGHT which means AFTER 7) You can try calling in and asking if you can join the team practice or just come to watch on sunday morning.

Prices:
Friday and weekends
20 admission (includes air)
65 for a case

Tue-Thur are the same, but they offer a power session which is
55 for admission and a case

Proshop: What proshop....it was closed down in 2007 because of lack of business, but they do sell barrel sleeves, jerseys, hoppers, masks, and headbands up front.

Staff: The staff are extremely nice and most of the time try to help you to the best of their abilities. They are mostly regular's at the field that work for play time and paint.

Refs: Refs are the staff, just taking turns :P They aren't that good, but that's because they only ref from the sidelines, as all the other refs at other fields do. If you ask for a paintcheck most of the time they will do it, as long as they is not to much of a risk of getting shot.

Players: 0-15 hi tech's a day excluding Thursday, Sunday, and SOMETIMES tuesday. Mostly rental groups, but the hitechs that are normals their are usually really nice and helpful just like the staff.

Facilities: It's an indoor paintball field, what do you expect. The walls are all oily, the bathrooms are pretty bad as well. The only thing i have to give props for are the floors, they use cleaning machines about once a week, to keep the field's floor from being really oily.

Food: You can order pizza and/or a birthday cake, drinks are available upfront.

Ratings:
Safety: 8
Fields: 7
HOO: 4
Prices: 8
Proshop: 3
Staff: 9
Refs: 7
Facilities: 7
Food: 9
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vinelandcorpse Wednesday, July 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i haven't played anywhere in NY other than NYC pb
Review: I came down to queens to visit my family here, and decided to bring my gear and play some paintball. i found the closest place to us was NYC paintball, so i went. I heard terrible things about this place, that it was slippery, poorly maintained, and bad competition. well the place is indoor, so OF COURSE it will be a little slippery, it wasnt that bad really, also the field was kept very nice, there was one bunker deflated and it was in the corner of the field, popped. also, they had ALOT of guys with rentals, but they split the people with high end guns, apart, so the competition was VERY fair. it was a great time for everybody. now for points:

Saftey- they were strict on rules. but find a paintball place that isn't and you can have my gun.
Fields- the one open field was a great size for indoor. it was very short though. it was wider than longer i would say, but it's easy to take guys off the break ;] haha. it wasn't to slippery, but great for sliding.
hours-4:30 - 11 pm
prices-amazing. 55 bucks for paint, admiss. and all day air. i love it.
rules- They had a brief oreintation for rentals. same as every place.
Proshop- Eh. they had a few headbands, and 5 pairs of yellow event's, which i already have lol. a few squeeges, wasn't great but eh.
staff- funny guys. friendly. i talked to one of the guys, mike, and he was extremly friendly and cool. they were all great people. :]
players-loads of rentals. BUT later on Team Venom showed up, and there good players so it was really fun.
food- PIZZA, good.

over all this was a great field. one of the funnest fields i've ever played at. will be back again
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hinerleamons Saturday, June 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have been to fields in NH and TX.
Review: Safety: Poor. There were MANY guns around without any form of protection - neither barrel sleeves nor plugs. It felt as if you had to keep your mask on while eating pizza. I was thoroughly disappointed.

Fields: Slippery, poorly maintained, and tiny. Bunkers were poorly inflated, and not much variety in field options.

Prices: Fair, and pretty reasonable.

Services: A bunch of little kids were running the place. Most of the kids did a decent job, but some of the older adults where unfriendly and unhelpful. Lines to get in and buy products were very slow.

Proshop: Very few items in stock, and overpriced for the quality of the merchandise.

Refs: Horrible. Never called people out. Never checked people. Just sat on the sidelines and talked with friends. Very disappointing. Also I played a 10 on 10 game (for real) on an ultra small speedball course. There were literally more people than bunkers.

Players: Mixed. People were hit and never went out. People would shoot you from 2 feet away. Even when you raised your gun and hand and got out, people would pelt you with paintballs on the way to the sidelines.

Facilities: Very unclean. This place is nasty and grimy. Wait times are ridiculous too - an average of one round an hour...definitely not as the website advertised.

In short: I will never be returning to this place, even though it is close to the city and easy to get to. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AT THIS FACILITY. Make the drive out to the Long Island or NJ places. This may be one of the worst paintball places in the country. Seriously.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media