paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Urban Quest Paintball Field / Urban Quest Paintball Field / Urban Quest Paintball Field / Urban Quest Paintball Field

Urban Quest Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
57Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: Gonzales Rd.
Oxnard, California 93036
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
snowboardgeek1 Monday, July 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
California Paintball Park
Directions
to the Field:
Off the 101, Victoria Blvd. Go west, right on Gonzales, follow the signs to the paintball field.
Review: I just played at Urban Quest yesterday. When I first arrived at the place, it didn't look like any other paintball parks that I've seen. Its TINY. Only 3 fields. I was one of the first people there so I actually thought about leaving since I didn't think anyone else was coming. I asked the guy running the cashier spot if people actually show up. lol He assured me there would be others showing up, so I stayed.

I thought the guy running the cashier spot was nice. He answered all my questions.

The urban quest paintball team were nice guys as well. I asked one of them to help me out with their "lingo" such as what they call certain spots on the airball field, e.g Dorito 1, cheese, carwash, etc. That was my first time playing on an airball field, and I had a lot of fun.

The other two fields were decent. One field had the huge truck tires, the other field, a mini village. Both were fun to play on.

The only gripe I have about the place is the kid referee. It was hilarious watching a 14-16 yr. old kid thinking he was the "boss." He really needs to work on his people skills. The fact that he had to "yell" at the adults was funny. If he continues with that bad attitude, I can definitely see this place getting horrible reviews, as I've seen on other sites. In addition, one guy asked if they have to chrono their guns. The kid said yes and that he's the one that chrono's the guns, but, in his exact words, "I don't feel like chrono'ng the guns today." What professionalism.

Overall, my experience at urban was great. If not for the kid referee, I'd say this place is excellent. Great weather, decent fields, lots of fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

1337pb Sunday, June 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA - Simi Valley
Directions
to the Field:
jus make that turn into what looks like a farm and keep driving straight. watch out for speed bumps and dips.
Review: Safety: Chrono check just once during the day and they mark your gun with a fluorescent tie around your gun to show that your marker is under field regulations.

Fields:
1:Tires: a Rec Ballers version of speed ball. the angles are crazy since your dealing with tires laying down. u love it or hate it.
2.Town: the field seems a bit one sided. the side closest to the staging area has a bit more cover. the other end has this nice sorta dead space but ply wood, a tree, and a dog house sorta help with this. but it really depends on how your group plays.
3:Air Ball: good grief this is really a 7man field. a few dead open spots around the center 50 but just like with any airball field this setup may change. u love it or hate it.

Hours of Operation: typical field hours that i'm used to. 9am-4pm.

Prices:
$27: includes field fee and all day air
$22: military discount for field fee and all day air.

Rules: 300fps, and typical rules like any paintball field. mask down and barrel plugs on.

Services: techs are there. what appeared was a bunch of teenage kids working on markers. i saw him kept putting air through it and it kept leaking and said "why is it leaking here?" your the tech... u tell me.

Proshop: they got o-rings, barrel plugs and all the basic necessities from what i could tell.

Staff: The big boss dealing with the money and waivers was really chill had his moments of being hot headed but i don't blame him. thats what a boss does.

Refs: The kid on that lil motorcycle was our ref. yelled at us to get in a straight line, we heard you the first time. the same kid tells us to meet at the tire field and when we were ready, he rides back n forth 3times while there was brush stuck in his wheels. then asked if we were ready, while we were just there waiting the whole time. when he finally got the game started, he goes off and picks the brush out of his bike instead of watching the game. thanks for the paint check. same kid i was gettin a drink for sale had a tone of voice i did not like saying "HEY! where's the money?!" as i was pulling out my wallet.

Players: they had their team players and others. nobody was a douche that day. everybody helped each other out.
one game that ref with the lil bike made it so one sided it wasn't even funny. he put the team players on one side plus people that played before on that one side versus the other half consisting of 3 experienced plus brand new people that never played before.
the side you are on will b decided solely based off your gun and gear and that ref kid yelled at a few kids because they wanted to stay as a group yet he split them apart.

Facility: gotta love that porta potty. if u dont like it, oh well u better hold it till u get home.

Food: $1 for water or soda. not sure if they had food nor did i see any pizza.



A good field i'd say. my time was enjoyable. jus that ref...
$65 for a case of paint is not worth it so i strongly suggest u byop. reading from previous post, safety has really picked itself up and with the new owner, he sure kept his word. for those people that stated they will never come back, i strongly suggest you come back and try this field again. he kept his word.
i gave this field an 8 because the field is great, big boss kept his word and upgraded the safety, and knocked it down due to the ref.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Fubar86 Thursday, August 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball USA
Fields of Fire
Fields in Canada
Directions
to the Field:
Off the 101 on Victoria, turn towards beach. Right on Gonzales. Field on your right, inbetween stawberry fields. Keep an eye out for a 3' x 2' sign.
Review: Pro:
Weather:
You're like two and a half miles from the coast and so the weather is always nice. Never been too hott and its the middle of summer.

Refs:
The Refs are super nice and fair. You usually only get one ref per game so in turn you're going to have a fair amount of cheaters but thats unavoidable on every field. Right?

Prices:
20 bucks for all day pass, 7 for all day air. Thats all I pay for, food and all the other stuff is pretty raked but it is at every field. You're able to order lunch in the morning, they order a bunch of pizza, I think you get like two slices for around seven dollars, but not positive. Paint is approx. $65, but you can bring your own, which I reccomend.

Players:
Players are super nice, I saw a bunch of guys lend out tanks, paint, and stuff like that. No party poopers here. It seems to me a lot of players here are frequent visitors and all know eachother.

Tire Field:
By far the best field, tons of cover, lots of angles and tons of FUN!



Cons:

Chrono:
No chrono? whats up with that? I've been there about times and not one time did anyone check the speed of guns on the field. This is a big problem since just about everyone without rentals is shooting hot. But if you like getting nasty welts this is the place for you.

Down Time:
It sometimes takes a while for a game to get going. They'll say game in five minutes and 25 mins later everyone starts walking over to the field.

Air Field:
Their airball field is extremely weak. They have to refill bunkers at noon just took keep them barely inflated. And its quite small so when they have large games you'll end up with 5 people going into the only available bunkers.



With this field, you definatly get what you pay for. Cheap prices for an ok field. If they fix the chrono issue, I would give it a better rating but its a BIG problem, possibly cancrack lenses, permanent scars ect... But everyone is friendly, weather is great and haven't left wanting more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

painteater31456 Wednesday, April 23rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
close encounters paintball usa (much better)
Playing in teh backyard
Fields of Fire (better)

Directions
to the Field:
in the middle of a strawberry field
Review: Ever since paintball usa closed this place is the only place where i can go without driving for two hours. i think the location is pretty cool and the weather is great.
Im just gonna go with the old pros cons thingy

Pros:
good cheap food
insane tires field
reasonable rates
$7 for all day air!!!!!!
refs are friendly but lazy
shaded tables and benches
they let you bring your own paint
their paint prices arnt to bad (still a rip)

Cons

The airball field isn't always the same layout (they only make it good when they take pictures for their website)
they don't have any water fountains!
you can't go inside the houses on village
wasteland is like ... way far away, and they play it right after lunch
the staff don't really seem like they care
on busy days, they try to fit like 75 people onto the tiny airball field (like 6 tippmans in every bunker)
There is no chrono requirement and pretty much everyone is shooting hot


Really i don't see why people complain so much about the team, i play with them some i don't really notice any more wiping than with regular games.
So really it's better to go there than to drive forever to get to a better place (i think)
oh and also always eat by the benches or you will get eaten up by red ants.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

tazman1 Monday, February 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
california paintball park, fields of fire and warped paintball park. Each field has airball
and related fields. Urban quest fields are somewhat more narrow.
Review: This location is easy and quck to get to if you are looking for a very local place to play. I have been playing paintball for approximately 16 years and have traveled up and down California to play this sport.

I have played at Uban Quest over the years since it is close by, but the hospitality has yet to be desired. There was no one there to check the fps on the markers nor did the staff go over safety rules prior to the start of the opening session.

Since we( the group I was with) did not wear jerseys, we were catergorized as new players and we were told we could not jump up to play with the "advanced players" as the owner put it. How can one tell if you are a "newbie" or "advanced player".

As for now, I will go other fields where the hospitality is better and where safety is a big concern for the field operators/owners. I have 3 - 10year old sons that have just started in the sport and the first thing they said was "they are not very nice here not like the other places we have played at."


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

heavy-damage Saturday, October 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
Well for me its 5 minutes away.
Uhm, hard to say actually, if you know where Oxnard High School is (or Victoria Estates)
then cross the road from there passing the intersection to the farms and there will be a sign on the right saying "paintball."
Review: I give it a 9... the maps are good but i think 3 maps isnt good enough (maybe 4, but for some reason they havent let us play speedball).
-The map wasteland, its crazy and very long... ADVICE: NEVER GO FOR THE FLAG! its like some giant desert jungle thing, you can move through bushes and they give a huge advantage, just ignore the bugs (or use bug repellant) and just shoot people!
-The tire map, its nice and small.. my favorite map. Just a bunch of tires piled on each other, you start and find cover right away, not much to hide at, but depending on where you shoot from gives advantages.
-The village map, just a bunch of house...you cant go inside of.. many holes in the houses lets you shoot through them to hit people across the map.

The food, well i only bring my lunch..

The staff, the referees are kind but the guy at the counter can be a real pain in the... sorry its like he has a thing against people, especially the new guys.

The paintballs there, good quality, dont care if its pink but its not worth buying!

The players, the players are good, lots of them bring really good guns and they are kind... if they cheat then it wont really matter cause you can get them again :P.

They have an FPS testing range there, you can go ahead and waste paint there.

And their prices... $3 for compressed air? WORTH IT!! Sports auth. is $5.
$7 all day for compressed... i dont know about CO2 cause i dont use it.

Overall, everythings good! Just bring bug repellant and dont spend too much on rentals! Oh and watch the fire ants...they tend to climb onto you..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

MrBuggle Sunday, June 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Closest is Paintball USA
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: The fields "Tires" and "Airball" are good. Both names are pretty self explanitory. Another one called "Village" isn't very good. It's a poor attempt at making a scenario field, but that field can get VERY intense which is why I like it...sometimes. Another field is called "Wasteland" and that is not Urban Quest's property so they don't maintain it AT ALL. But you only play Wasteland once a day at the most so you don't need to worry about being stuck there the whole day.

The staff...are dicks. They used to be cool, well Archie (the one ref that now works there) was cool a while back but now he's a dick/jerk. There was this other shorter ref that was cool but he quit or got fired or something because I never see him around anymore. Shrek which is the guy that takes your money when you pay admission is and always has been and always will be a crap head. I heard one time he threatened to shoot a customer, not clear if it was a real gun or a paintball gun (but on the range you can see bullet holes so that may mean that they have a gun somewhere around there...), although I have seen Shrek throw paintballs at some friends of mine and that pissed me off, I wanted to light him up right there but then he might take out the gun, assuming that is true. And then there's Dave. The owner. He is a dick, although he's usually in his hummer so I don't have to put up with him at all, even though I have seen him light up a guy when he DIDN'T HAVE HIS MASK ON, which makes me all pissed off but the guy (who might have been on the Quest team) was cool about it, if I were him though I'd file a freakin' charge on that guy.

And as far as lunch is concerned, unless they get pizza it sucks. When they BBQ the food was so hard to chew I just threw it away, plus when they BBQ you don't get a drink randomly, so be prepared to not drink, or bring your own stuff. But even when they give you a drink a soda which isn't as good for you as water (which surprisingly they don't have fountain or anything other than a porta pody which is retarded) so just bring your own.

And finally, my friends have been going there for over a year and it's been getting worse and worse each time so we are going to Paintball USA next time, try that. One thing for sure is we are NEVER going to Urban Quest ever again. They used to be good but now they suck.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

bananafone Saturday, March 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 17th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire and Paintball USA in Simi Valley
Directions
to the Field:
A bumpy dirt road through strawberry fields.
Review: PROS:
-Cool weather.

CONS:
My major complaint about this place is the utter disregard for chronographing the guns. There is a chrono station but it is just used as a place for target practice. After getting hit when I got off the field I told the ref that he needed to chrono these guns, he didn't reply or even acknowledge that I had said anything.

Generally the pain from a hit is fleeting but some of the hits I took hurt more than usual and the pain lasted longer. I was once hit in the stomach at about a five foot range and these shots today felt alot like that. I wear a Hundredth Monkey Padded Cap and I never feel headshots, it just feels like a thud. Today I got hit in the head and I felt a sting through the hat although it was minor, to feel it through that hat the gun had to be shooting hot. Another player also voiced his concern to me.

Paintball fields chronographs exist for the safety of the players. Your lens could fail if hit at a high velocity, you could break a finger. A place that does not enforce this rule is not somewhere that I want to play. This will be my first and LAST time playing here.

You'd be better off going somewhere else.

Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 9:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jivefuzzy Friday, August 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest, SC village
Review: This field is great. the only thing I would say is bad is the lack of chrono checks. they do have a station but not everyone uses it. And some people run HOT i got a welt on my knee that hasn't even healed up yet. But if you are looking to beat the heat, this is the best field to go to. It has the beach like a mile down so you get that really nice breeze coming in, and that's like AC after you been playing a few games. they have both HP and Co2 fills, the HP fills are done by your self, they have a refilling station but it only goes up to 3000 PSI, which is fine since unless your a major paint thrower, it should last the 2 games you play back to back.
The staff is really cool and friendly. The refs play as well on their off days. The 4 courses we played were;
* the Village which is a bunch of wooden sheets and windows. so they look like the side of houses.

*Tires, which is like what it says, a bunch of monster truck and reg size tires to hide behind.

*Air-ball field, which is a reg speed ball field with air bunkers

* Wasteland, this field sucked. for 2 reasons, its out in the boon docks, felt like a mile long hike, then its nothing but brush and bushes. my friend got tore up in the field from bug bites, it doesn't look maintained or has any rhyme or reason. and its freaking LONG. took awhile to get to the other side where the enemy was.

But besides that, the other fields are great. If they can clean up the Waste land, then it would be a perfect.

I gave it a 9 because everthing else of the field is great!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

radiationchild Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
well grannys but thats an illegal course
Directions
to the Field:
oxnard
Review: urban quest is a great place to go and its kinda hardcore to, the staff are really funny and if you have about 6 friends you can use one of thier courses for practice and one thing is you see pretty much the same people every time you go there every time I go there, there are always about 5 people with urban quest signature gun, the quest, the quest is my favorite gun, thier hours on walkons are 9-4 on the weekends, but can make a private party on weekdays with 20 people no less, if you go there you will not be dissapointed, I will explain good and bad,



THE GOOD: everything is awesome, there are three main fields: airball(hopefully you know what airballl is) village(a bunch of rundown wooden buildings) and my personal favorite, tires(TIRES!) all of the courses are well laid out. The food is GRRRRREEAAATT!!! PIZZA! ONLY 5 DOLLARS FOR A FULL ON MEAL!! the atmosphere is good to, it is really close to the ocean so you get a great breeze every now and then. the refs may be young but they do a great job at what they're paid to do. sometimes they will come in the game and help you like telling you where and when to move up. the owner is nice, but you need to be on his good side. he is usaully on his laptop working on his website. my friend made a video that is on his website. I'm the guy with the red i3 dye mask with the upgraded tippmann.


THE BAD: the only bad thing is that there is a fourth field, WASTELANDS, it is a scenario course, a bunch of bushes, trees, etc. Its the best course except that they hardly ever play that course because, well, #1 is that its not there property, and #2 there are a lot of strawberry pickers, kinda a long walk. rarely, there is some stupid newb shooting at the chrono with no mask, IDIOTS!


10/10!
Last edited on Thursday, December 28th, 2006 at 5:12 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media