paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field / American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

American Canyon Paintball Jungle Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
126Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-552-2426
Address: 2 Eucalyptus Drive
American Canyon, California 94591
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
kanhokeung Tuesday, October 30th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 28th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
been to Santa Clara PB, Los Gatos PB, Davis PB and PB Jungle in Nor Cal. Also been to fields in Sol Cal but it says to only compare this to the ones near to it.
Directions
to the Field:
search on google or on the field web site
Review: first time coming to this place, wasn't a long drive for me from SF, about a 35 - 45 min drive. a lot closer than the field that i am used to going to in Davis. the first thing that i saw when i got to this place and was really happy about was that they had shades. you could park under the tree shades all day and not have to worry about scorching heat during lunch or afraid your paint might swell or melt.

Location - the location of the field is great, right behind a resident area, 2 mins away from the field there is a 7 eleven, and maybe about half a mile away there are basically all the kinds of restaurants or supermarkets. Great location i would say.

Service - The service at the front desk is like all others, friendly and answers questions you ask. i think their proshop is right beside the place where you sign in. my friend had problems with his marker a couple times, and the person at the proshop spent a great deal of time in the trying to fix it. i wouldnt say they seemed like a expert at fixing markers, but basically did what people would do to check for problems. at first didnt know what the problem was but after a while we figured out the problem. one more thing is they will tell you about the raffle tickets and how to win and stuff like that if you get them.

pricing - i'm not a rental player, so i will do a non-rental player pricing pricing first. there is a $20 admission fee and $10 dollar all day air and $15 fee if you dont buy paint from them. their 40 dollar paint is actually ok in my opinion, but seems like a smaller caliber.

equipment - For Rental players its much too expensive in my opinion. most people rent tippmann 98's that are customized in to Mac 10 ozzies. never shot it before so dont know about the accuracy of the markers cause of the changed barrels, but the original 98 shoots well i think. the face masks seem decent and clean.

Referee - the referees are nice people, and try and answer questions that they can. but sometimes they have bad communication problems. for example sometimes one side starts first or one might say the game is over, but actually there are still one or two players still in the game. the ref do come and check the person if requested and would call out players who are hit. the only problem i had was that the ref didnt fully explain the boundaries and the objective of that game. they have many different types of games, there is capture the flag, elimination, 2 flags, etc.. BE SURE TO ASK THE REF OR OTHER PLAYERS IF YOU DONT KNOW, OR YOU'LL JUST BE WALKING AROUND AND BE SHOT OUT.

players - there are mostly experienced players who play on the main fields and noobs who play of the side small fields. people are friendly, and would play on the small fields if you ask them to play. people usually dont cheat, they just dont know that their hit usually, especially the noobs. if your experienced dont blaim them, just call the ref.

food - like i said , restaurants within 1 or 2 mile. hot dog stand on site and ice cream truck.

safety - i was there late so i didnt hear any safety speech. didnt need to chrono markers, but should do so on ur own. same mask and plug rule enforced well.

fields - only played in the zulu field and corcket field, they were pretty big for a group of i would say 30 + people. the bunkers were made of stacks of logs, the forts were alright sized, i think you could fit about 15 people in them, im not sure if there were 2 floors for the fort though.

Raffle tickets - you get raffle tickets i think if you buy paint or rent gears from them, also if you finish objectives in games like capture the flag and some other stuff. the time of the raffle is during noon about 1: 00 - 1:30. the gifts arent much, but i would say its better than nothing.

had a good day there, would go back often.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 30th, 2012 at 7:00 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baller76 Friday, December 31st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 29th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
google it
Review: Don't believe what you read in way of negative reviews. This field is the best you will find anywhere. They have been around for over 20 years and people leaving bad reviews are either fired employees or the competition field owners and staff with no lives of their own. It makes me sad to read the negative reviews after all this field has done for the community. Magic Carpet Bob and his team do not cheat blatantly, and if anything it is just a few really really bad apples that have nothing better to do than destroy one mans legacy with Internet rage. Come out and see for yourself what the field is like. Do not let some idiots with a keyboard dictate history and ruin your experience before it even begins. There is a target range with a chronograph, any responsible player would check his or her own gun before going out to the starting stations that both have chronographs. Most people are intimidated by any form of organizational skill, and will complain to no end rather than attempt to become better. Personally I am proud of Paintball Jungle and the fun it has provided for over 20 years. All the other paintball playing fields in competition have either died or pale in comparison. Rock on Jungle. You are the best of the best.

Last edited on Friday, December 31st, 2010 at 8:34 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hadokn Thursday, July 29th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: July 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None yet, but Bear Creek back in the day.
Review: So I came to the Jungle a few months ago for my Buddy's birthday and I was hooked. I was into paintball for a minute right out of high school and now I'm super hooked. I've been to this field 5 or 6 times since then, and I'm sad to say that each experience had kinda been worse than the one before.

So the Hornets totally cheat. They wipe. They either get a head start during the Beeswax or they don't start at their base. They'll say a shot doesn't count, and since they are all kind of Refs, I guess we're just supposed to do what they say.

One Hornet got into it with me about a supposed 'No Full Auto' rule. My buddy has a full auto Spyder and a Hornet told me that's not allowed. When I asked why no one told us about that during the morning orientation he got kinda heated and said it's in the video. Well, no one makes us watch a video. Carpet Bob does his same old shpeal everyday and there's nothing about Auto in there. It felt a little like someone changing the rules in the middle of the game.

It just sucks because I really wanna like the Jungle. They have an amazing woodsball field. Zulu is a blast and the Speedball fields rock. The proshop guys are hella cool, and the pizza guy is awesome too.

You should definitely come and check it out if you're into woodsball, but skip the Beeswax game, cus it gets pretty frustrating. It's just a bummer because paintball is an honor system sport, and the Hornets don't at all play honorably. Bad form, guys.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

B00GEYMAN Monday, July 19th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 18th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Davis Paintball
Review: This is my first impressions of my day at paintball jungle:

THE FIELD(s) (10/10):
Although I did pass by the airball and speedball fields, and they looked nice and all, I spent most of my time on the large field playing the bigger games. I got to say, best field I've seen (even from a few total hours of scanning through woodsball fields on youtube.). This field is a thick forrest with some good cover scatters throughout, and on either side of the map is a base which has defensive fortications all over it (including trenches and sniper towers :D ). There is plenty of shade so this place is pretty cool.

THE STAFF AND PLAYERS (9/10):
Well first thing I noticed was that many of the players were really nice and willing to use strategy and teamwork if suggested. Our team won a few games clearly by communicating and working together. IF YOU'VE EVER READ ANY OTHER REVIEWS OF THIS PLACE YOU'VE PROBABLY HEARD THAT MOST HORNET PLAYERS WIPE. To be honest, I witnessed none of this shenanigans, I played a couple games with hornets on my team and didn't see any of them wiping. You might have also heard of the Famous big game of the day: Beeswax. This is where all the hornet players vs. everyone else. The man with the beard (appearing to be the team leader) had mentioned earlier that they had lost to customers the last couple games; However, when we all assembled for briefing before the beeswax game, the hornet team leader said that "alot of the customer players looked like noobs and wouldn't stand a chance". To be honest I didn't agree with this, and believe that the team leader just wanted to retain the good name of his team by skip the beeswax game for standard games. This was VERY disappointing.

VALUE (8/10):
This place is the most premium field within 90 miles I'd say. Admission is $20, Air is $10, and you are charged $15 if you don't buy any paint. $45 at first seemed like it was totally out of my budget, but after playing there I'd say (for me) it was worth it. If you have a large budget, this is a great place to make your weekly paintball stop. However, if you go every OTHER sunday (you'll have to call to ask which sunday it is), there are particularly larger games that also host raffles where everyone gets raffle tickets (and are eligible to get more tickets by capturing flags in ctf), raffle prizes seem to include an ion brand gun, and various ammounts of different paint balls. You can only be eligible to get extra raffle tickets if you buy their paint though... (some people have a billion tickets and win like half the prizes.)

In Conclusion:
I came into this field with expectations that everyone would be paint wipers and poor sports as some reviewers said. I was pleasantly suprised at the sportsmanship and kindness of all the players and staff. Overall, when I get a job, I plan on making this place my regular paintball place. (except for when other fields have large events like davis's once a month thing)

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rred Saturday, April 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: March 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwwod forest, peteluma paintball
Review: Its a pretty good place. other then the very one sided beezwaxs its awsome. they have cheap paint and a couple cool feilds. a few of the hornets cheat but thats nothin to cry about. they do have big games and theres airball courses there too. the reffes are cool guys. way funner to play here than sherwood forest its really serious there fro some reason and the reffes always help the other team. but its fun. it cost about the same to go tho either place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CalifLove Tuesday, April 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 13th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Davis Paintball Park, Capital Edge
Review: Safety -
Everyone around the park is pretty good about making sure everyone else is adhering to the barrel plug and mask down rules in areas off the field. This is a good thing.

Chrono stations are hit and miss, it could be that I am somewhat of a regular now and don't get asked to chrono but I don't see mandatory chrono checks happening very often at all which is somewhat concerning.

Hours of Operation
Seems to be pretty standard, 9a - 4p . I wish PB parks would go to 5p but this seems to be standard in the area or maybe the industry? The initial safety speech time seems to vary. When I first started going to this field I would come on time and they would have the speech right at 830 and have the first game start right at or very close to 845-9a. Lately it seems games are starting at 930 which obviously eats into the day right on the jump.

Rules
Rules are good and enforced well except for the above mentioned lack of chronoing

Services/Proshop
The guys at the proshop are typically very helpful, even if they don't know the gun you have very well they will offer to help. They keep a good amount of spare Orings, batteries and other misc items that you may need which is great. They are very into ION/Tippman guns so don't expect to have an expert DM or PE tech on-site.

They have a deal with a pizza guy from straw-hat who brings pizzas and sodas, the ice-cream man comes around 2pm as well and now Jamba Juice ladies come to sell premade jamba juice as well.

Refs
Most of the refs have been there a while from what I can tell. Some of the younger guys play a little too much and are not all that professional at times. Some of the guys obviously do not care about evening the teams which leads to a LOT of completely 1 sided games which pisses everyone off. Usually the regulars will figure out teams and switch accordingly but this should be done by the ref to ensure every game is as fair as possible from the start. This is one of my biggest problems with the jungle - you can have really great days and you can have really crappy days just based on who’s running the games that day.

Players
99% of the guys/gals that come to play come to have a good time, shoot people and keep it fun. There are that 1% of guys that take things way to seriously. Accidents happen from time to time - you will get shot when you’re walking off the field, you will get shot when you’re putting your barrel cover on and walking off...crap happens. It’s not always easy to tell when a player is in or out and better safe than sorry right?? I've seen way too many incidents with players getting overly upset about getting shot while they were already out and/or not getting let out.

Finally, pricing
The jungle to me is far to expensive -
As a self equipped player who does not use their expensive paint, you can expect to pay abput $46 to play with unlimited air fills. Their CHEAP paint is $40 but it really is cheap and I would never want to use it in my gun. I would say they get the rejected balls from Karnages’ lowest end line as their cheap field paint. I believe they sell Karnage Tear for $60 which blows me away - Xo Spectrum for $50 etc...Their paint is pretty much $10 -$15 over what you pay at other fields and that is already marked up $10-15 what you can get by buying at your local PB shop so you’re looking at paying $25 extra for paint just because you buy it at the Jungle - ripoff. I guess that it wouldn't be SO bad if you didn't already have to pay $30 just to get in the door.

I am hoping that enough people complain about pricing so that it gets a little better to the consumer. At the very least there shouldn’t be such a steep penalty or any at all for bringing your own paint.

One thing I did not mention is the complete lack of "real" air ball facilities. For some reason the staff at the Jungle feels it is not necessary to have a normal air ball field. They do have air bunkers they half inflate and set out on a bark covered dirt field. It's always a pretty half assed attempt at airball and by mid day the bunkers are heavily deflated. From time to time workers care and inflate but its pretty weak overall. It would be awesome if they would get an NPPL style field again complete with turf - I believe they used to have one but it was located in the boonies of the park and nobody knew about it thus it wasn't used!

Overall - Pricing aside, I have more good times at the Jungle than bad which is always a good thing. I think that pricing could be worked out to a point where it’s a little cheaper for customers. On good weather days you there is typically anywhere from 100-150 players which makes for awesome games when the right refs are working. The thing that keeps me coming back is the setting as "woods ball" like this isn't really avalible at any other bay area park as far as I know. I can say that I find myself wanting to play at Davis and CEPP more and more given pricing and ref concerns at the Jungle.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Navy Sniper Wednesday, September 9th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only other field in the area that I've played was the one in Clayton, which closed down.
Directions
to the Field:
Directions are on their website.
Review: They are open 7 days a week and the first game starts about 9 am. There is a pretty good line to sing up and get gear (if you need) so come a little early.

The prices are pretty good if your self equiped ($20).

They do have a deal where if you bring your own paint you have to pay ($15). I don't know how much they check on this. They sell a box of 2,000 paintballs for $40, but I wouldn't recommend it. We used their paintballs twice. The first time they seemed ok. This last time they were total garbage. Reading reviews on this site I know that everyone has their opinions and favorites, and there really isn't any actual testing of anything. The house balls we used this last weekend however were really bad. My Tippman A5 kept jamming up on the balls when it was feeding them and left me exposed with a jammed gun a few times. My idea of fun is not taking my gun apart while people are shooting at me. When I would pull the paintballs out they looked like they were half full with paint. This is what caused the jams I'm sure.

Lastly the staff is very helpful and the tech is very good. As for safety I haven't seen them ever require chrono checks of anyone, but do have them available at the front and in the field for those who want their guns to be legal.
The games are 30 min long and about every 30 min or so. The bad part is that by the time you get back to the parking lot, they are calling for the new game again, and it's a pretty good walk back. Also they move you to different areas and have the teams swtich sides. This is nice, but it would be a lot nicer if they had decent signs so you could tell where your going. There are game trails all over the place and you can wander all over looking for the starting base if you don't happen to follow people that know where they are going.

The filed itself is pretty nice. Some green places, other with bare trees, and there are also bunkers here and there to hide behind. The area is pretty big so you have a lot of area to move around without everyone watching you.

The paintball field sponsers thier own team (the SF Hornets). After lunch they have whatever Hornets are there play you in what they call Beeswax. It's not bad as you play with people you have been playing against and will be playing against the rest of the day. Some of the Hornets cheat however. I read the reviews of them and the beeswax game before we went to the field and thought that people were just being poor sports. However after my daughter saw someone wipe and three months later someone I didn't know said that he saw the same guy wipe I'm more convinced. People were talking about how they would hit a Hornet up close, then the Hornet would retreat, and they would see them later during the game playing.

I shot at three people. After they got me and I was out as I was walking by two of them the guy said that I didn't hit him, and I could check. I didn't say anything like that and had to wonder why he would just blurt that out. The other guy who I shot at and was pretty sure I hit said the same thing. Funny thing was that there was one of my exploded paintballs still on his bare neck and paint around it. How do you not feel a throat shot? I showed him and he went off the field with me. I have to say that I was pretty disappointed.

Overall it's a good place and the prices are low enough that we will keep going out. I just may just have to wipe myself when we play beeswax just to keep things fair. Ok, I won't, I don't cheat, but it's a thought.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crewdog78 Saturday, June 13th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Have not played at others in area.
Directions
to the Field:
From I-80 take the Napa Sonoma exit that goes on to CA-12. That'll take you through wine country where eventually you'll hit Napa Valley Hwy. Take a left and continue as the road turns into Broadway Street. Then take a right on to Rio Del Mar, and then immediately take another right on to Eucalyptis (it's nearly a U-turn it's so close), and then follow it through a few stop signs until you see signs for Paintball Jungle on the right.
Review: Upon reading good reviews for the course I decided to try it out for myself and found it to exceed expectations. My experience was very enjoyable and I'd recommend the course for anyone.

The staff was helpful and polite, the fields were well setup and well taken care of, and the Beeswax game was a ton of fun.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

agent22 Monday, May 18th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: January 1st, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: best field i played at EVER!!!

i last played here in 2001, i did not have access to this website back then. i have since joined the military and have played at alot of other places and i plan to go back one day and play again!!

so here is a review of what i remember .

field was awesome . their speedball field was amazing and the best ever. it had trees and wood instead of blowup bunkers. much better i think.
rest of the field was huge and had very nice well placed bunkers.
they also had an area for marker cleaning, target practice, chrono, shop and personal gear staging area.

they had a decent proshop with quite a number of markers and gear.

they had food sales at lunch time that were priced well and tasty.

there prices for everything from field fee to paint and air where very good.

staff was very friendly and knowledgeable and there were always lots around to help.

the refs were very good at their jobs and were very fair.

the "hornets" thier sponsored team were very good and i enjoyed playing with them and all the other players on the field.


I apologize for this very old review but i figured this is such a good field they deserve this review even though it is many years late.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Citabria Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I used to play at Mare Island, Vallejo and east coast fields back in the day.
Directions
to the Field:
See their website
Review: I played for 10 years 1987-1997. The days of Nel-Spots, pump action, CO2 cartridges and Auto-Cockers. I stopped playing when I earned my pilot's license. Now that my son is 11 and into paint ball, I figured I would take him out for a game and reacquaint myself with paintball. We both enjoyed our experience at PBJ. The woodland setting is large with a varied landscape with bunkers and forts. The staff was friendly and the players, a good mix of hard-core, intermediate and newbies were friendly as well. My son did complain that a few people he hit didn't go out. That's an unfortunate fact of paintball. The basic rental guns are really beat up and it may pay to pay extra for an upgrade. I used my old Tippman Pro-Am (semi) and was outgunned by the terrific rates of fire of the newer markers. I'll leave that home next time and rent a modern marker when we go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (13):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media