paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Command Decisions Paintball Field / Command Decisions Paintball Field / Command Decisions Paintball Field / Command Decisions Paintball Field

Command Decisions Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
16Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (828) 495-4155
Address: 84 Reganswood Drive
Taylorsville, North Carolina 28681
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
shockerairmail Saturday, October 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Big Pearl Paintball, Paintball Virginia, EMR, Red River, Splatter Mountain, Splatt Bros
Directions
to the Field:
? I don't know, but it wasn't hard to find
Review: Just played there on a Sunday. Took my team down. Great prices, good staff. Very large playing area, more then you could ever dream of playing on in one day.

Only two minor complaints. One, at times our assigned ref should have been more active in paint checking and calling players out, but our group that day didn't really have many problems, so I guess they got a little use to people calling themselves out. Two, some of the woodsball seemed a little spread out in terms of bunkers. I would much rather be defending then attacking any of the concept fields I saw. Let me say again though, the field was unbelieveably large, one of the biggest I've ever seen. You can't have it all I guess.

We played more of the day on two of the fields that seemed to have the most bunkers. Played a little speedball. Really had a good time.

+A couple of the tech's worked on some of my guys guns for free
+They ran out of white box, so they upgraded us to Proball for free. Some of the people didn't like the paint, but I didn't really have a problem with it. I've definatly had worse.
+Good level parking
+Port-A-Potty that's in good shape
+Nice little store
+The ref's kind of let us do whatever we wanted in terms of games & layouts. I've been to some field were the ref's try to invent stupid games. These guys did a nice job of letting us make up our own games & divide teams as we agreed to. Nice job on that one!
-There weren't a lot of people there on the Sunday that we played, but what can you do about that? I guess the day before they had a ton of poeple out, go figure.
+They have like 3-4 large scenario tanks that really look the part and fire nerf rockets.

CONCLUSION-I would love to play a large scenario at this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nachodaddy Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Predator in Salisbury ( My home field, smaller ; but great games and awesome attitudes)
What used to be DC in China Grove...( good speedball, crappy woodsball)
Review: Since I dont play paintball very often anymore, its rare for me to get the chance to make the hike up to Hickory area for play at CDP.
This is one of the first fields I ever played at, back when the current owners first took it over. Back then, it was a big field, with some pretty neat forts in okay to decent shape. Play was fun, but there was the usual problems with occasional cheating , and a bad Ref or two.
Ive got to say, the owners have taken this field a LONG way in the past few years. The field has expanded from big to HUGE; and although the games are tough , the owners and refs are good enough folks to make sure that even the walk ons and Noobs have a great time.
I would say this is one of the "MUST PLAY" woodsball fields in the Southeast; and if you do run into any problems out there (like you may at any field where the public is involved), just let one of the staff know and I bet they'll handle it ASAP.
Great location
Awesome people
Good refs....and even a decent store....what more could you want?
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hudboy7 Thursday, October 4th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Vital paintball, Extremist (now closed), Dickens farm, NC tactical
Review: First of all I have to say that Guadalcanal was a great game and I loved it!
I recently went to the MPP game at command decisions and i had a blast
Friendly people, great prices, and awesome paint!
The bunkers and bases were some of the best i have ever seen! i would have to say that fighting at REX was more fun than anything! The tanks were awesome! good job team ODX!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

stephen14 Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
this is my frist time playing at a field
Review: This was my first time playing at a field but hey, you gotta start somewhere. It is a huge area with a speedball area that is fenced in and it also had around 60 acres of woods to play in. There is also a makeshift town with old trashy traliers and cars to hide behind. There were refs for the matches and there was a small shop where you could find a spare part u needed or even rent a gun to play for the day. It was $15 for all day of playing and it included free Co2 fill-ups. You could rent a gun, mask, and everything you needed for $35 for a total of $45. Its a great deal of you have your own gun. They do not supply paintballs!Overall id say its a pretty cool field.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 at 5:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dantheman9403 Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
NC Tactical, kinda "out there"
Directions
to the Field:
Not to bad, a little country drivin, at the end you gotta make a right.
Review: This is where I played my first game, and fell in love with the place. Nice fields, friendly staff, and good prices. So far Ive played three games there, and each one was better than the last. I am a member of RECON-1, and I am happy to call this our home field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

daniel combs Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 24th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
BRPP(never go there..........ever), PBC ( cool but i like this place as much)
Directions
to the Field:
ya gotta drive it sweet
Review: OK my name is Daniel Combs. I used to think this was a O.K. ehhhhhh kinda field ya know. I used to think it wasnt the best. Now after being to another in the area It is AMAZING. The reffs are helpful. The prices are way better. And people there are alot better to you. If you are desiding on a field for speedball or woods this is the place. 60 acres of woods(i think) WOW. The air ball field is REALLY NICE hoppen to play on it soon (seen but never playd on). Thank you for giving me a good experiance unlike some of the other fields in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rattydaddy Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
C.J.'s,Gold Diggers, Paintball Kingdom,
Review: I've played at this field twice, (all day scenario games). To put it in one word "AWESOME". The people who run this field are nice and friendly peopleand know what they are doing. The refs here do a very good job. They got right in the middle of the action. On our first visit to CDP, we took a tour of the field during some slow action in our area, and found a ref station in one of the fort areas, no action was anywhere around the fort, but they was a ref in case a firefight broke out. Now that is safety in my point of view. The firebases, bunkers, & Sim-city are some of the best that I've played. I would say anytime that you get a chance to play at this field you should go for it!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Longball_1 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 16th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Carolina Paintabll Park, Extremist, Predator(Salisbury), Golddiggers
Review: Overall, this is a GREAT field physically, run by a good group of people; but before you pack up your newbies and head there, I would have some EXTREME reservations first.

One: The field: As you’ve read, this field is AWESOME as a woodsball playing/ secenario field. The online info on their website doesn’t do it justice, and all of the facilities are in great shape. And it’s size is great (50 acres +/-). But again, that size has its negatives. The days we’ve been there, their have been between 16-40 guys playing a huge area, and only two refs to cover tremendous grounds. The Refs that were onsite were fair and did a good job, but there is just too much acreage for two guys too cover. The result is some pretty heated battles without supervision; and because the level of combat is pretty intense, we saw a lot of “local” players up there sacrificing fair play for the sake of winning, and using some pretty harsh language towards the opposing players. From a setting standpoint, the terrain can be pretty challenging to maneuver all day long. Bring plenty of water, and carry all your support gear. You’ll be playing a long walk from your ride.
There is a speedball field or three that looked decent, but as I’m not a speedballer I don’t feel qualified to comment.

In reference to Game play itself, this field IS FULL AUTO. Again, nothing wrong with that for us adults, but you WILL take a lot of paint. Here lies my primary warning for newbies and/or young players on this field. My nephew , who’s 12 and really wanted to try playing, took 7 shots to the back after yelling “hit” and throwing his hands up from about 30 feet. It’s seriously affected his desire to ever play again.

Their resident team, Gray ODA, is almost always onsite, and I can guarantee that it’s older members will be helpful outside of game play. But just don’t expect them to take it easy on little Sally just because she wants to learn to play. Interestingly, most of the folks who post as members of their in house team on their forum have also posted reviews of CDP on this website, so take those reviews with a grain or two of salt.

They have a good store as well, with decent paint prices, CO2 and HPA fills, and misc. parts, as well as a chrono station. Chrono rules, however, are only enforced from the standpoint of getting “caught” shooting hot, and many of the “locals” seemed to go from car to field without giving the chrono station a passing glance. With only two ref’s in play and 50 acres to hide; why not? Too me, this attitude seems to be not only poor sportsmanship but incredibly stupid and dangerous behavior on a full auto field.

So to sum it up, I would call it an awesome field FOR MORE EXPERIENCED PLAYERS who don’t mind a little rough language and some heavy shooting; but I would let your newbie friends get their first paint experience somewhere else. The great bunkers , awesome forts, and size of the field most ( but not quite) make up for the overshooting and lack of chrono enforcement.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
8 Comments - Add Comment

JesterTLS Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 2nd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtremist Paintball. Good field and good group of players.
Action Quest. No longer in around.
Review: Well, I started playing at Command Decisions when it was Carolina Paint Slingers. The field use to be pretty good, but now it is great and getting better. 2005 saw most of the bases upgraded, and three new one's built (Sim-City, the Air Base, and the new Fire Base Rex.) Not to mention the addition of the tank, PAV-Paintball Assault Vehicle. Like Trevor posted, they are opening up 20 more acres and building eight new bases.

Well, the staff is top notch. The owner is a great guy, and runs a safe, family oriented field. Prices are pretty good on paint, field fee, and equipment. You can buy anything from scenario gear, Flurry vest, BDU's, boots, Markers, stocks, barrels, paint and smoke grenades.

They run around five scenario's a year here, and I have only missed one so far. If you can make it up for a scenario here, you will not regret it. The fields sponsored scenario team are some of the best players I have ever seen. They were extremely friendly and helpful to me when I was getting back into paintball after not playing for a few years and never doing scenario play before.

If you are into speedball, they have three fields, of various types and designs. And as previoulsy stated they are upgrading them as well, and doing a little tournament hosting in that arena as well this year. Anyway, you should decide for yourself, and go play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Trevor25 Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 23rd, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Action Tagg, Xtremest PB, woods with friends
Review: I've been playing here a long time.. And i think it's by far the best field in North Carolina..
They have super cheap prices..$10 field fee.. and $10 if you want all day air.. and their scenario game prices are $25-$40 and there always is alot of people there.. and paint prices are great too rageing from 30-60 dollars.. The fields are amazing.. and in October of 06 there will be a 1000 person game.. and right now the field is building a new bases for woods so it will be even better!.. the speedball fields are great too.. there will be a new air ball field for 06.. And on the first saturday of every month is Gray ODA pratice the woodsball team Command Descion sponsers.. and theres always alot of people out there playing with and against ODA so everyone should come out and play here.. Once you play here you will l ove it.. the staff is very friendly and gun techs help alot too..

This is a must play field!!
Last edited on Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 at 8:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media