paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / RipTide Paintball Field / RipTide Paintball Field / RipTide Paintball Field / RipTide Paintball Field

RipTide Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
17Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 401-293-0669
Address: 553 Old West Main
Portsmouth, Rhode Island 02871
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
RI_PBaller420 Monday, March 15th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I havent played on really any other fields, so I can't bad mouth any other field. But i can say that the people at Riptide Paintball know their stuff and it's great fun. Me and my friend can't wait until the season starts again and are hoping that others will join the game at Riptide.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ppaint83 Thursday, September 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I'm not a serious paintball player, I've only played twice. Here is my review
We had a private party of 25 people for 3 hours.
Cost us $75.00 deposit(we get that back), $25.00 per person w/ gun and 500 paintball.
You could bring your own gun but you have to buy there paintball.

They have two fields Woods and Air field.
Air field has turf now. The woods field had a pretty nice set up. It has 5 wooden forts, each fort has a ladder which leads to a sniper tower, four of the five forts have two exits to it. One each on top and bottom of the field. Between those two fort they have two bigger forts with a connecting bridge and one smaller fort sitting across. They have a lot of bushes too the left of the connecting forts, the bushes are really thick and can act as bunkers.

In those 3 hours we played a couple of games.
1st game Combat Team vs Team rules last team standing win

2nd game Mayor rules one person is chosen by the ref to be the mayor. The mayor chooses his team to protect him. While who ever is left over is the team that has to hunt the mayor. The mayor and his bodyguards is spread out to all the forts and the hunting team comes in 5 mins later to attack. The mayor is not aloud a gun to protect himself and the bodyguards are not aloud to leave the fort. Game is over when the mayor is shot or the hunting team has been knocked out.

3nd game same as the 2nd but teams changed roles.

4th game Civil War. We moved to the air field. Two teams again. Each team is lined up facing each other about 10 yards away from each other. When the refs say fire you are only aloud one shot. Each person shot sits out and they move on till one team is left standing. We go two rounds of this. On the second round I was the last one standing on my team vs five players on the other team. Ref counted 1 2 and said to the other guy "hey let it lose on him." I took like 15 shots to the back, I only managed to take about 5 shots.

5th game Combat on the air field. Two teams last team standing.

6th game Close Combat. This was really fun. Two teams each starting on one fort(the forts with the connecting bridge). Game ends with last team standing. This game is very fast paste and we are very close to each other. We played two rounds of this.

7th game which was the last, I think there was more games but I can't remember.
It was same as the first but with 5 second respawn after your get knocked out. Good game to use all our paint before we leave.

Price for everything was good seeing how we had a private party. They only had one ref working. The ref we had was really cool, on the last game he somehow got a gun and joined in the game which we really didn't care. They didn't have much of a proshop. They had snacks and drinks, I don't know the prices because we brought our own. Overall great place to play we planning to go again in winter or early spring.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ctan00 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Playboyz - Great field, but no Xball
Fox 4 - Sandy
Providence - Worst. Field. Ever.
PnL Bridgewater - Awesome woodsball, great grass for speedball when they put it out.
Boston Indoor - Best indoor around.
Directions
to the Field:
From the north: Take Rt. 24 South to 114 South and get into the rightmost lane immediately, take the first right (there is no signpost it's a service road). Last house on the left, either park on the street or drive into the backyard. If you go past a light on 114 South you went too far.
Review: They have a regulation size Xball field. The woodchips look like they suck to play on but it's actually as good as anything else and better than mud and I think they are going to get turf soon. The prices are very fair, (as of this post) $5 for entry/air if you buy their paint and $20 if you bring your own. They have both CO2 and compressed air and they fill to 4500psi.

The field is run by the Quicks and all of them are real nice people who care about the sport. When the weather is nice, Gina busts out the bubba burgers and grills up cheeseburgers for 2 or 3 dollars a piece. Otherwise, they order a bunch of pizza and it's like $5 for two or three slices.

If you want to play Xball.. this is the place to go. If you don't want to play Xball and just want to have a fun time.. this is the place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

protoballer66 Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
friendly fire, Eastside paintball park, p&l paintball, maynard paintball, fox 4, warzone, and playboyz. playboyz is awesome all the other are basically woodsball fields except maynard and eastside.
Directions
to the Field:
portsmouth RI on west main road
Review: Good field especially for speed ball. They just got an x-ball field from the texas open. the refs aren't that great because only one watches the field. paint cost is good and so is all day air and entrance.have a team who is pretty good. have a woods ball field.have a proshop which is helpful. the field is in the owners backyard. owners names are the Quicks. they all run the field together and do a really good job at it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RiptidepbDotCom Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 5th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Showtime, Providence, PlayBoyz, Fox 4, Boston Paintball, Friendly Fire, cape Cod.
Review: Hey whats up i actually live at the field meaning i can wake up in the mornig and look out my window and see it. We have just purchased a 2006 X-ball field wich is the only one in New England and we also have a woods ball field which extends from the 100 yard field to the 4 acre field witha tower in the center and a river running through the part of the field. We also have the lowest prices of any field in Rhode Island and Mass. The reffing is done by Team Riptide which plays the psp in D/3 x-ball for the 2006 season and will also be particpating in the boston NPPL. So come out and play I garuntee a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

paintball0276 Friday, December 30th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 9th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
providence- good 5 man field, sucky refs, to dark, cold, to many nOObs. overall 6/10
esp- great indoor/outdoor, nice refs/staff, a little on the dark side. overall 9/10
Review: This is deffinatly the best field i have ever been to. The players and staff are very helpful. The prices are the best prices i have ever seen no field admition, $10 all day air, $5 BYOP (bring your own paint). They have 1 very nice 7-man speedball field and a huge woodsball field. The fields only open on sundays but i personaly think thats a good idea. If i could i would give this fieild a 100000000000000/10 thats how much i love it. I really suggest going there over providence, esp and all the other local crap (compaired to riptide) the site is www.riptidepb.com go check it out
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DJ NEM Sunday, October 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
esp: when i played there out door it was good but indoor sucked
providence indoor: i played in a tournament there it was a great time id play there over the winter
Review: ok iv played at riptide over the summer it was great. every 1 is frendly easy going and he offerd me a job reffing part time for when the team gos to tournaments. iv played there woodsball field once or twice and there speed ball field like 100 times iv never hada bad time there. iv become friends with them and try to hang at the store from time to time. iv seen kids come out that have never touched a paintbal gun and they got out on the field and never wanted to leave and iv seen teams there like Distortion paintball wizerds blue and the rip tide tem. over all this place is a great enviorment and fun to play at i give the field a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonj316 Tuesday, September 6th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Show Time; The owner was cool, nice field and good place to play in the winter. But he was a little pricey. I imagine he had a hi overhead to run the field.
War zone. again cool owners. Big place and good organizing of games. But still a little pricey and you had to follow what everyone else was doing at the time. Not as much fun.
Review: The owners ,their family, and friends all do a great job. They keep the field safe, fun and clean. They are very knowledgeable about the sport and helpful if you have any needs. They keep the teams fare so people don't get slottered. Which is great for the youth who are just starting out. There is a good mix of players . Young , old, amateur, pro, woods, speed, ect...Woods ball field is perfect and is expandable for larger games { nice option } . The speed ball field always has cool setups for 5man or 7man. The price is very fare {THE BEST I'VE SEEN} Paint is cheap too. Good paint for the price.
I havn't gone to another field all season. As far as I'm consented I have no need to this one is close by and has everything I need.

Thanks RIPTIDE, HULK
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

burrito Saturday, September 3rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ESP - SUCKS COMPARED TO RIPTIDE!
Review: This field is awsome... even the pro shop which is right up the street from the field. I am in the pro shop all the time. any ways the field is awsome they have woodsball and speedball i would give this field a 1,000,000 out of 10 if i could. STOP GOING TO EAST SIDE PAINTBALL - GO TO RIPTIDE

- BURRTIO! peace out homies.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trajedi Friday, August 26th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
War Zone: In Warwick Rhode Island; War Zone is one of the largest fields I had gone to, mind you this is about 3 years ago. The people are War Zone were very friendly, prices were pretty good and overall the enviroment was good. It was a bit out of the way for us, however, being on the other side of the state (not that Rhode Island is too big). There were a lot players and that sometimes overwelmed the refs.

East Side Paintball: I played on their old field, there were a few speed ball fields and I believe they had a woods ball field. Once again, friendly, good prices and an overall good enviroment. Once again out of the way for us.
Review: I've played at RipeTide a few times now and it has become my team's practice field. The prices are excellent; No entrance fees, 10 dollars for all day air if you buy their paint (15 if you have your own), 40 for a case of Xball from the store (or 45 at the field) [Xball is was RideTide's team uses for practice paint] and 3 dollars for a cheese burger, drink and chips (Or two hot dogs, drink and chips). The owners Tom and Gina are super friendly and accessible while your there. The two really care about the sport, the players and safety. Everyone who comes to the field is very helpful, its like a little community. If your gun breaks you always have someone there to help you; my teammates and myself continue this and always offer a helping hand or tool.

RideTide has two fields; One Speedball field and one woods ball field. I have yet to try the woodsball field but I did a walk through and it looks very interesting. The speed ball field has been expanding a bit lately and has gotten even better. The number of games that one gets to play on the speed ball field is excellent; The longest wait I've ever had to wait for a new game is about 3 or 4 minutes and that was when everyone was eating. RideTide is great for team practice as often you get to play against /with members of RideTide's paintball team. It is a great learning experience and challange.

For a business that hasn't been around too long RideTide is one of the best fields I've played on. I really have only one complaint which is somtimes there isn't a Ref. and that makes it a little diffcult which is why I couldn't give them a 10 as much as I wanted to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media