paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / I-40 Paintball Field / I-40 Paintball Field / I-40 Paintball Field / I-40 Paintball Field

I-40 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: N/A
Email: N/A
Phone: 405-733-9066
Address: I-40 & Indian Meridian Rd
Choctaw, Oklahoma 73145
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
MyMonkey Tuesday, November 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Zone = Excellent all around.
Dodge City = Very good for beginners.
Directions
to the Field:
Previously provided.
Review: I took part in a Scenario game here over the weekend. This was my first visit to the field. Regarding the facilities, all structures seemed very rudimentary but did provide cover. Other facilities were fairly limited as well such as only one chrono machine and a very small test area for markers. This was a large field though with several different areas in which to play. The woods here are likely thicker than in any other local field.

Regarding the personnel. I was utterly disappointed by the lack of supervision from refs and the refs lack of knowledge of the field and/or the game. I asked the same questions of three separate refs and got three separate answers each time. I understand these refs were new to this field but it seemed they had not even been briefed on the basic boundaries of the game. Furthermore, they set up a dead box so close to an active bunker with no cover that during one match people were hit just as they lowered their masks after a respawn. Safety seemed less of a concern here than any other field I have played at either locally or nationally. Paintchecks were rare.

I will give the field another try and hope for the best but I can not recommend this field for someone wanting to get into the game for lack of adherence to basic safety rules and lack of supervision.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pedrom1985 Thursday, February 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adventure Zone but its too far out for me and one more in Shawnee but im not sure of it location.
Review: -The hours there are awesome, the staff will stay there for just about as long as you want. -The refs are nice and fair, they will make sure everyone is on the same page before we head out.
-The rentals are not that great, I see the new guys coming in and getting them and most of the time they are breaking down.
-They have a good selection of drinks out there to keep us from getting dehydrated.
-They replaced the lego blocks with inflatables on the speed ball course, its sand instead of grass so it makes it a little harder to run. The speed course is good enough for a 5 on 5 and plenty of cover.
-The woods course is huge, I still have yet to explore the rest of it. Plenty of cover and routes.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

D V US Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 16th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dodge City- Fields are nice, refs were slow.
Wild West- Large speedball fields, good woods field, lack of concern for safety by the refs.
Adventure Zone- fields ok, lost city field is my favorite. Have seen refs on the field smoking and wearing only sunglasses, and shooting while players had their masks off. Paint at the field is expensive and shoots like crap.
Adventure World Outdoors- Nice fields, paint ok, owners are great guys. Just wish they were a little closer to OKC.
Directions
to the Field:
I-40 to Chocktaw rd., go north to S.E. 59th and turn right. Go east to Indian Meridian Rd. and turn right. Go to the end of the road (about 1 mile.)
Review: Saturdays and Sundays 10:00 a.m. to 5: p.m.

Great large speedball field with soft playing surface and inflatable bunkers. 80 acres of woods with bunkers and structures.

Paint runs $45 a case, usually has PMI and Diablo available.

Owner and staff very helpful, as are most of the players.

Local scenario team Wolf Guard hosts a mini scenario every second Sunday of the Month.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

02magic Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Club of Choctaw, it is more tourney oriented. I-40 is more woodsball/rec fields.
Review: PRICES- prices are good. They were using Diablo paint when i went.
FACILITIES-there is not much space to set up your gear, just a few wooden spools. Restrooms was just one porta-potty that was dirty.There is a lot a trash around.
SERVICE-great. they filled our air quickly and were very nice to everybody.
FEILDS-one speed air ball feild that they never aired up,and it was on sand.One woods feild, wooden bunker feild and the one we played the most on was a tire feild.the chronograph area was close and well netted.
STAFF-our ref was great, fair to everyone and always paid attention to what was going on.He was priority one on safety also!

PROS-
price
staff
service
CONS
rock hard paint
staging area
small feilds

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

techofnissan Sunday, August 5th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 5th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
adventure zone in okc
paintball authority in richmond, va
1 in richmond va, cannot remember its name
Directions
to the Field:
aviod at all costs
Review: I will never go back to this field. I drove up and there were about 10-15 guys sitting around a 3 man speed ball field. field fees were reasonable as was paint.

We only played 4 or 5 games there due the way things were going down. i have to comment on the fields. the speedball field was a 3 man field. so it was tiny. you start by touching barrels to the back netting, which is good if the players and refs adhere to their own rules(which they didnt). the "lego blocks" were not secured other than being stacked on top of each other, and a few of them were using pvc piping to keep them together. most were not though. there were no ally ways to shoot down, so you had to shoot over top your bunker to hit anyone, limiting the way you play, and making it easy to get shot because you had expose so much of your body to shoot...not happy about that. the woods field we played on was ok for a scenario game. it was huge, no additional structures but some tires stacked as bases. the wooded area were played was in no way maintained. there were paths at one point to the bases and such, but nothing maintained this season. it was ok i guess if you like that kind of game. as were walking back to the staging area we passed by a urban field and spools field that arent used anymore according to the refs. those 2 fields were bigger and appeared to be better setup than the speedball field.

we started out by playing several games of 7 on 7 on the 3 man field. i went with my brother(7 yrs experience), 2 12yr olds(1st season) that tag along and my dad(3 yrs). family fun... so they had a team against us with much more firepower. all of the others had high end speed ball guns vs. my backup gun(armotech wg65), my brothers backup 98, my dads 98 with slight mods, a cheap spyder and a rental gun. 1 of the kids got bunkered by the team, piss poor sportsmanship on the players part. refs were constantly paint checking my group if there was any chance that we got hit. while no paint checks on the opposing team; coinsidence i think not. i got hit, and within literarly 5 seconds of me getting hit, i tucked behind my bunker and checked for paint, i had a ref over checking for paint hits. i got out and was watching the rest of my group during a speedball game, my brother was leaning against his bunker, which were "lego blocks", collapsed on him. the ref did nothing...

in another instance, we were playing with a guy whose supposedly was in a tourney last weekend in san diego. long story short, he got hit, and walked across the shooting path of 3 different players and almost got shot again by his own teammate who was popping up to shoot down the very narrow lanes on the field. and alot of the players that obviously frequent the field were making mistakes of players that were relativily new to the game.

we finally played a woods game. there were several hits that i saw break an opposing player, player didnt call himself out, and the refs saw this happen too; a paint check was called 4 times before a ref slowly walked towards the marked player. piss poor reffing...

all and all i wont go back and will tell everyone i know to stay away from this field and its players, staff, and store. i left in disgust after an hour of playing. im used to playing on nicer fields with good staff and fair players. maybe today was an off day, but i going to assume not seeing as how the people i talked to seemed to not understand why i was upset, saying its all the player and random stuff. i have played speedball at 2 or 3 different establishments and have never had a game like that except when i was new or on the occasion where i was severly overmatched by skill. so the
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Buckfrenzy Tuesday, February 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in OKC, All the Tulsa area fields
Directions
to the Field:
Go to the website
Review: This field is perfect for scenario type games. It has a huge wooded area that has good thick undergrowth all over the place. I played at a scenario here and had an awesome time. The refs did a great job. The paint wasn't that great, but it was cold, so there is no saying how it is normally. I really enoyed playig here and think it would be a great change of pace field for any fan of woodsball type games.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wakewarrior7 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: February 4th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Wild West- More speedball fields, Own air and paint, no supervision and often brings in safety concerns

Adventure Zone - Paint is very expensive at field, reasonable in store. Have seen ref's smoking on field. Other than that decent field.

Adventure World - Fun indoor facility. Great reffing, but teams are very one-sided.

The Bunker- Far north east Oklahoma. Great field. My favorite, but 3 hours away.
Directions
to the Field:
The directions really are not all that clear. You go down I-40 until you reach the Choctaw rd. exit. Go North on Choctaw rd until you get to S.E. 59th Street(4-way stop sign). Go East on on S.E. 59th Street until you come to S. Indian Meridian(4-way stop sign). Go south on S. Indian Meridian all the way to the end of the street. The street ends at the I-40 paintball park.
Review: Hours:
Saturday: 9 - 5
Sunday: 12 - 5

Cost:
$10 Field and All Day air fees
Paint: $55 per 2000 rd case (must be either field or store bought)
8/10

Services:
Porta-Pottys: They don't really smell, so I guess they are serviced regularly.
Food: Gatorade, water, & candy bars. You can bring your own food and drink if you want
8/10

Staff
Referees: All refs that I have had are very good and unbiased. They go out of their way to try and keep everyone happy. Very sociable and will even join in with the story telling after the game is over and back in the staging area.
9/10

Owner
Lee is an awesome guy. Very nice and does not make promises he can't keep. Took a poll and decided on paint based on that poll to try and make the majority happy. He is a good guy that really tries to be fair to everyone.
8/10

Safety
They are really big on it here. It is not a bad thing by any means. They keep everyone having fun, and they do it so everyone is also being safe. Naturally masks are down anytime someone is in the chrono cage (280fps), when leaving the staging area, and they are down until you are back in the staging area. When more than 1 ref is doing a game, they are in constant communication with 2-way radios. That is for ALL fields so in case of something happening on the other side of the park, the refs will all be on the same page. BBD's are mandatory in the staging area, leaving and entering the chrono cage, up to 2 minutes before the game, and as soon as one is eliminated. They have no tolerance for bonus balling, wiping, playing on, or any other cheating. Of course if you get hit in a pod and don't see it they won't gripe at you, but if it becomes obvious they get into you hard. I have yet to see what happens, but I am sure it includes them asking the individual to leave the field. Lastly, on safety, they split the teams evenly so a little kid won't get hammered by experienced players all the time.
10/10

Fields
Almost limitless within the property. If there is a giant group there, they will give you a couple of courses and blend them together for some great scenario type matches. For people who are really into scenario play, they are working on constructing a SPPL field. For people who like to play tourny ball, this field does have a few options available, but the woods fields are the dominating type. As for the tourny fields, there is a 3-man near the front where anyone can see it from the parking lot. A little into the field they have "The Hilton." This is a town like course with small building bunkers to move in and out of. Above the Hilton is another small town like field, but instead of buildings they have tires, and things of that nature. The course near the entrance has the drain pipe things to make up the bunkers. I guess you could call it a lot of soda cans (and they are even made out of metal). The wood fields have a "base" that is on the top of a hill that provides excellent cover with ports for shooting out of. Now to make things fair this is a small fort and only 2-3 people can fit inside of it. It does have a few plywood surrounding bunkers to allow the rest of the team some cover, but they are obviously not as good. The other main "base" is the "OK Corral." This is an interesting structure as it gives great cover from all sides but no gun ports. It is big enough to hold an entire team, but is does have small plywood bunkers surrounding it from all sides. These are some fun fields that have almost limitless possibilities for what you can do. Great for rec and scenario players, but tourny fans probably wouldn't be impressed.
8/10

All in all this is a great field. The staff is incredible and dedicated to making the customer happy. The keep everything running smoothly and safely. Other players that I have seen there are courteous and willing to take a new player under their wing. Prices are fair and the courses are great.
8/10
Last edited on Thursday, February 8th, 2007 at 11:32 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media