paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Silver Creek Paintball Field / Silver Creek Paintball Field / Silver Creek Paintball Field / Silver Creek Paintball Field

Silver Creek Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (780) 855-2247
Address: RR2
New Norway, Alberta T0B 3L0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
JWoods Monday, July 26th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 25th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sylvan Lake Paintball, Outcast Society Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
North of New Norway, South of Camrose. Its on Silver Creek road.
Review: Excellent staff and service. All of the courses were above par, and for me being more of a woodsball player. I was disappointed to see that there woodsball field had little development; other than a few pieces of cover. The urban course consists of: grain silos, old shacks and houses, cars, buses, old trailers. Was amazing to play on :D Then it somewhat merges with another course that has similar cover, but on one end there are bails and an airplane. The side opposite to it had a helicopter, and being a predator themed day while i was there. We just had to include an Arnold style game. We had one goal: "GET TO THE CHOPPA!" It wasnt exactly an easy task... The other team put up a good fight. That just leaves me with the castle. It is a very large wooden structure, has trenches and wood-built cover out front. Garrison towers along the perimiter of it. In the predator themed day, we had to storm the "predators main base" (castle). Which was also challenging, considering the only way to kill predator players was to get a headshot on them. OVERALL: Good staff and course, definately worth checking out.
Last edited on Monday, July 26th, 2010 at 10:59 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xGuardianx Monday, September 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
YGP in Spruce Grove. From Calgary so we don't play the Central part of the province too much.
Directions
to the Field:
3 Hrs from Calgary, 30kms east from Wetaskiwin
Review: Saftey was excellent, barrel bags and plugs were in abundance and the staff was excellent at enforcing it. Everything was netted and I can honestly say that this is probably the most safety concious field that I've ever played at.

The scenario was a "Fantasy" setting and all of us from our team, while willing to try it, were colder to the idea of a non-military themed game. But the Knights from Silver Creek really pulled it off and we enjoyed ourselves immensly. Dragons, Gods- both good and evil, Black Knights etc. You get the idea, and very fun!

The reffing and staff were also very good. It makes such a difference when the people that run the show are ensuring that the players are having a good time by effectively enforcing the rules and keeping the "spirit" of the game going by not being rules nazis. Good job.

The only downside, as mentioned by Warrdogg, is the lack of treed areas for us Milsim players to do our thing. It would be nice to have a scenario that would have one team fight their way into the town from the woods or vice versa. But the total urban CQB setting was very cool indeed.

Overall an excellent time and we'll be back for a game next year. Thanks again for having us up!
Last edited on Monday, September 15th, 2008 at 10:51 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

warrdogg Monday, September 15th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've only played Young Guns in Edmonton. I am from Calgary.
Directions
to the Field:
2.5 to 3 hour drive from Calgary.
Review: My team and I were invited to come up and play in Silvercreek's scenario day. The theme was fantasy and at first I wasn't too warm to the idea. It was a very fun day and even a milsim player as myself enjoyed the fantasy theme.

Safety - This field had the best emphasis on safety. There was a ref in each deadbox to ensure that barrel sleeves and goggles stayed on. There was a chrono at the start and a stamp to show you weren't shooting hot. I would have liked to see the refs do some spot chrono checks during play.

Services - The layout of the staging area, proshop, parking, air fills etc were all very close and well laidout. There were a lot of picnic tables to put your gear on. The dead boxes had rags to wipe the paint from your goggles. There was food being served, but never bought any myself. They have 4500 fills that you can use yourself. There were also 2 3000 fills close to the playing areas.

Field - The field was a mix of houses, hay bales, woods, trenches, and bunkers. There is a huge castle but I never got close enough to see inside of it. It still looks very cool. I did enjoy the urban fighting and the battle that went on in the hay bails. The trench field is really overgrown and is more like a bunch of grass covered mounds. It was very fun playing through there and had a few intense firefights. One thing I didn't like was there wasn't any woods to play in during the day. I know there is a wooded hill field but we never got to play in there. Being a milsim player this was a huge diappointment for me.

Staff/Refs - I thought the staff and refs were great. Very helpful and friendly. They walked around and asked us if we were having a good time. The refs on the field were doing paint checks and trying to watch all the players. Staff/Refs ran a pretty smooth event. We did have some miscommunication on some rules between the refs on the rules.

Players - Most players I saw were speedball type players. I found them to be friendly and approachable. I did not witness one incident of cheating or wiping all day from both sides. I did experience some over-shooting on a few occasions. I found the players in general to be good sportsman and fair players. There were some young players and renters in the mix as well.

Prices - Field fees were $20 and a box of paint (2000 balls) were $90. I found the paint prices to be slightly higher than I am used, but not outrageous. I didn't really look at the food prices or rental prices.

It was my first time playing at Silvercreek and know I will be back there next year. I would recommend checking it out.

Last edited on Monday, September 15th, 2008 at 8:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

WyKeD Sunday, September 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 14th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PAG Outdoor and Indoor - good guys help you out awesome friends good courses.
Young Guns - alright wood courses

Now Silver Creek paintball
Review: the owner is awesome guy the referees were horriable as they didn't enforce any of the rules that were implemented at the beginning of the game. Guy was crack shooting behind a pallets ref was watching him for the longest time and I got hit by him in the mask. I said "ref why didn't you get on him for crack shooting" Ref said I'll talk to him well I was walking away to the dead box and the ref just went to the same place right beside the slot shooter and stood there. I got out of the dead box and went to the same place and the dude was still crack shooting and I told the ref "what the I thought you said you were going to talk to him" the ref said just play.

Bad ref bad experience and big flop on the refs part.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

themonkeyman Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PAG not even close to as good
Directions
to the Field:
15 min or so south of camrose, towards new norway
Review: Alright so heres the 411 on silver creek...... ITS GREAT. they just got HPA the proshop is constantly growing, they have 7 fields and are constantly growing. the field owner is a great guy, very knowledgeable he caters to the newbs and the regs at the same time. speakers in the main town level(which is incredibly built buy the way) and a second town level with the fortress a bit off would make it great for scenario games(these havnt been created yet but im workin on it) rentals are your basic pirhanna's nothin fancy but durable and get the job done. very enforced safety rules, a very friendly environment, all the refs are great guys none of the levels are delapitated whatsoever the are all very well kept. point and case YOU MUST TRY THIS FIELD



hope to see you there
this has been a james corp. review
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

maple titan Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hellderado near sylvanlake AB good woods ball field, every thing else not so good
TAG Ryley AB wide selection of feilds, great for scenario games (held by TAG) great
PAG indoor Edmonton AB muddy but theve got astro-turf since then
Review: This is a great place. good staff, fire pit, picnic area, BBQ, good equipment.

town field is big (but not to big) right amount of spacing and good obsticals great for scenario, night games, and capture the flag. MY FAVORITE

bales field good new bales good spacing great for capture the flag.

trench field not recomendedthey need to be dug out and reinforce.

tires field Great spacing and good size of bunkers both for defending and attacking.

woods field not buch brush but loots of cover Steap Incline of the hole field.

fort feild good for attacking and defending fore towers on each corner.

good staff that is knowledgeable and concerned about fun and safety.



Best Part is it has HPA
Last edited on Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 at 9:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

evomon Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ive played at screeming eagle, but the service at silver was phenominal
Directions
to the Field:
look for the silver creek greenhouse sign, (if your heading from caerose u dont go through new norway, if u did u went to far, also dont go past the golf course)
Review: i loved this course!! the service was the best i have recieved. the prices are fair seeing th\at they have no admission fee or playing fee. i went on mine and my buddies b-day and had an absolute blast. i jus perchased my gun online and got it that day and the batery wasnt charged, but with their service he have me a fully charged battery and paint for my birthday. they have a wide arrangement of courses and they fit all skill levels. i didnt have time to play every course, but the ones i played were awesome. Top notch course and i hope to visit asap.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

seufee Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
weekend warriors in olds, it was a good course but the service in silver creek was way better
Directions
to the Field:
just a few minutes north of new norway, and then past the golf course was a right turn, then down a gravel road for about 10 minutes
Review: i LOVED this course. Their castle is great and so is their town. The part I really enjoyed was when one of the workers drove us around in a van and we had to shoot the other team that was hiding in the town. Their paint is relatively cheap, $150 for 2000 paintballs. The service was the best that I have ever seen at a course. Clayton was extremely helpful when watching us. Anyways its an amazing course and you won't be disapointed in it,
Last edited on Wednesday, April 19th, 2006 at 5:06 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tweeter Saturday, July 30th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
TAG paintball-Ryley good field, large, host semi-annual scenario games :)
PAG indoor --> haven't been there since they got astroturf
Directions
to the Field:
From the highway 13 and 21 junction, take 21 south untill you see a sign 'Silver creek road <--' make a left and follow that road untill you see a sign pointing you towards silvercreek greenhouses (a smaller paintball sign underneath).
Review: Silver Creek is a field I am proud to call my own...constantly building new courses and expanding their current fields.

I'm going to be perfectly honest here. I just got a job here reffing. All the courses are geared toward rec play, with the exception of a a hyperball style tire town.

Klayton (feild owner) is a great guy and he definately does whatever he can to help you out, which is pretty hard to find these days.

Paint prices are pretty high, but you get pretty decent paint as standard (unupgraded paint (PMI Stingers). Team practice night may be coming up soon, so I'm assuming paint prices will drop for those nights (likely going to be on a weekday night).

HPA and CO2 fills are free with play and there's no field fees.
There is no HPA compressor, but right now there aren't many people who use it so the tank stays pretty full for a while.

Like I said, most of the feilds are geared toward rec-play (sometimes it's nice to play the game instead of the sport). Theres a huge castle, which is a pretty new addition to the course, small woods field, huge town (a fan favourite), a small three house course, huge bale feild (closer to tourney play here too), Tire town, trenches, and a newly added airball field. Eight courses in all.

The proshop is growing bloody quick, and there's been talk of building a new splatshack to house the larger proshop. They sell blowback markers including Piranhas, spyders, tippmans, and a few starter kits too. Squeegies, a few upgrades, one or two air tanks, a few masks and assorted trinkets also line the shelves. The proshop is very moderately priced.

This place has firepits and barbeques to grill up some meat after the game and you don't have to pay for any wood/propane used, which is pretty great.

Another thing...their washrooms are outhouse...just one.

This place would get a perfect 10 but I dropped it down to 9 because of paint rpices (which aren't entirely aweful) and slight under-developement (no compressor, small ariball) and it's not too hard to get around either problem.

Last edited on Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 at 11:39 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media