paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / SaltFork Paintball Field / SaltFork Paintball Field / SaltFork Paintball Field / SaltFork Paintball Field

SaltFork Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 217-778-7793
Address: 2053 County Road 1100 N.
Sidney, Illinois 61877
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
ochsy Friday, October 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: This was the second time I had been at this field. I happen to find out about the first Swing base though special ops, since there are no descent scenario field close to where we live we thought it was worth a shot to drive up to Sidney ( about 2 hr drive). As we first arrived I was a bit worried, there didn't seem to be much to it. The shop is a sectioned off part of the barn. But as we checked in it became apparent that Jake ( the owner) was fairly organized. Check in was smooth and we geared up and hit the field, after a few times back and forth on the field I found my groove and the field played great. The idea of a swing base was great, and I know this was Jake's first scenario at the field. The second game of the two swing bases saw some much needed improvements. The tower in the swing base is very nice, but plays from one direction a lot better than the other.

I thought the refs were very good. It seemed that when you needed one that they were not to far away.

The food that was served was of the best I ever had at a field. props to the cooks.

The only real problem I saw was the lack of a pro shop, and lack of (or at least lack of display) of gun parts. I did hear of a young kid that said his gun was broke and the SPF staff member told him that he would give him a rental gun for free. Way to take care of you customers.

I still think there are some issues to iron out as far a scenario play goes but for SFP's first two games I think they where a hit and I'll keep coming back as long as you have them.

one last thing before I leave this post. There is NO speed ball field here (at least none I saw) this is a true woods ball field. it is excellent for the newest of players to the more experienced. if you still can't make up your mind after some of these reviews, just go a head and take the drive. I don't think you will be disappointed.
Last edited on Friday, October 24th, 2008 at 7:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

irlesquirrel Wednesday, October 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
this has been my only visit to a field - I visited other sites online and read reviews to narrow it down to play at this one
Directions
to the Field:
go to the website
Review: First experience was a birthday present to my 16 year old son July of 2007. SFP was the closesest paintball field. My group of 12 people and I were treated well by Jake and the crew and a good time was had by all. Now, as of this writing (10/22/2008) my son and I have our own Tippman 98's (purchased from Jake) and we have made every scenario since at SFP. When I can afford it we hit the open plays also to "hone" our skills. It is a great escape from the real world and an opportunity to fellowship with some good people. Occasionally we have ran into some hardcores but we have survived them. The local paintball groups - the Ragamuffins and the Corn Field Assasins are accepting of us "newbies" and we have enjoyed getting in the trenches with both groups. The last scenario on the 18th was perfect weather and I could tell Jake and the gang worked hard on the field - adding extra bunkers, forts, etc... I look forward to many more visits.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SWAT Theory Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Backwoods Paintball (Private Owned), Action Assault's field in Seelyville, various other locations. This field is like a god send compared to the other ones.
Directions
to the Field:
Best to mapquest the address. We take 63 north to 36, then take that west to 49, and follow that up to Homer, and turn right at a subdivision 2 miles east outside of Sidney, head down a road until we come to an intersection with a huge house 200 yrds west of the intersection, then follow that road to the sign...like I said...just map quest it.
Review: I have played at this field three times, and I can honestly say that all three times have been a complete blast! The first time I went up there in June to test the field out to see if it would be any good for there up coming scenario game, it blew away my expectations! The second time I went was for the scenario game Swing Base Assault, and it was a colossal hit! I came back for part II two days ago, and once again had an absolutly amazing time!

They have very friendly and supportive staff, port-o-potties for your sudden "Gotta go" needs, great prices on rentals and food, plenty of rental gear for amazingly cheap. They have some gear for sale too in a couple of display cases inside the store. The main store consists of a pull barn with plenty of work space for them to repair anything they rent out. They also have 4500 / 3000 psi capability, CO2, and paint on hand to sell. The general crowd that shows up is about as friendly as the staff that works there. All in all, the only thing I can really say is you truly MUST try this field out, you won't forget it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dirka-Dirka Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Realms of Ruin - Custar Park, Il., Fox Sports - Wilmington Il., CPX Sports - Realms of Ruin has the best pricing and "down-home" feel of the three mentioned here. RoR has excellent, well-developed fields and holds several 26-hour scenario games annually. Great Place to play, but paint is expensive and there is no pro shop.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest it. It's tucked away on a little farm near Sydney.
Review: Last Saturday, July 18th, 2009 was the re-schedule of Swing Base III. What a day! The game ran until 18:30 hours and the weather was perfect. Jake and his crew have done a wonderful job of sculpting the field and adding more playing area. I ran my ass off all day. Everyone got to see a taste of what the upcoming "Vietnam" game is going to be like on August 15th, '09! (Not giving away any hints, sorry. You'll thank me later for the surprise. All I can say is "BE THERE!". I can't wait.
HIs Pro Shop is becoming pretty impressive too, with an assortment of field-label gear, top name markers, air tanks. And don't forget he's a Tippmann dealer too. Open play is gerenally every other weekend on Saturday, with some exceptions. See his home page for a link to his Calendar.
The refs at the field are all very cool dudes ( and the girls too) and are all dedicated players themselves. Groups are always welcome at decent rates. Jake sponsors our Team, "Cornfield Assassins (CFA)", out of Hoopeston, IL-Danville, IL-Champaign, IL-East Lynn, IL, and more and we try to make it out to all the open play days.
Last edited on Monday, July 20th, 2009 at 3:31 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

justgotfinished Sunday, October 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Firemark, Level X, Flyin colors, and Norman Paintball. For this area, Salt fork and Flyin Colors are the nicest fields. Salt Fork is the largest playable field in the area. Level X is at this time closed, and is not supposed to reopen, as they sold all of their stuff.
Review: Salt fork is the only field in this area that is holding scenario games. Salt fork is getting better every year, with better staffing, field improvements, and a genuine desire to enjoy a fun day, with an emphasis on good sportsmanship. Any one going should enjoy their day. One last note, this is woodsball, so come prepared and be careful, safety is the most important thing!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yobtaf1 Monday, May 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Private fields, Realms of Ruin, Fox Paintball, Cpx Sports
Directions
to the Field:
I suggest using mapquest or yahoo... Or visit SFP's website.......
Review: Our team has been shooting for about three years now.. Last year, we found this little jewel hidden in the trees between St. Jo and Sidney.

First off, the owner Jake and all of the staff are great!! Everyone at the field is helpful and friendly.. They make the effort to make you feel like a part of the family and not a customer.. If you don't have your own gear, rental prices are reasonable.. It is field only paint, but Jake lets you reuse paint bought at the field from other open game days.. The paint prices are reasonable.. A few dollars more for a case than at the Walsmart.. And it is good, quality paint!!!!!!

The Field itself is a beautiful mix of thick bush, open spaces, small and large trees, and little ravines set against the Salt Fork River... There are three bases to defend and a bridge for some interesting assault games... Jake likes to keep the woods natural and uncluttered, so beware the dirt mounds and foxholes littered throughout the woods.... Also, during the summer months, SFP does speedball...

Last and certainly not least... SAFETY!!!! Jake and the rest of the staff make safety number one!!!!!!

Overall this is a great field for everyone from the first time shooter to the experienced woodsball team.. A Family owned and operated field that makes every effort to provide you with a great woods ball experience!!!!

Thank again SFP!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

walkerboh Monday, June 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have seen Level X, and have heard SaltFork is better. I have played at my house, and one about a mile east of mine, both in the area with a similar setup as saltfork, wooded area with the salt fork in there somewhere.
Directions
to the Field:
like 2 miles south and then west of my house.
Review: You cant beat this place. I have been there twice, and both times were the greatest paint ball experiences of my life. The first time I went he only had like 10 guns to rent, and only like 15 people were there. It was awesome, we played a couple quick games, and then did an Island game that took about 2 1/2 hours.

I come back about a year later and theres a huge shed set up with about a hundred markers to rent, and probably about 60 people. Jake and the refs are great, this place has grown and its going to keep getting better. When I was there June 9th they had a deal on the field balls, some were broken so they were selling 500 for $5, best deal ever. Only a couple were broken, and the other 498 worked fine. He also has camouflage military jackets for sale, very nice, for $15 each, you can't beat that with a stick.

I can't wait until the next open game, and the Big Game July 21st.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

FirebirdLover88 Saturday, April 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: April 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Level X. I haven't played there, but from what I've heard other people say, Saltfork is better.
Directions
to the Field:
Check out Saltfork Paintball's website.
Review: I've been to Saltfork Paintball many times, and every time is a blast. The prices are cheap, and there are different rental packages. Jake (the owner) has around 120-130 guns to rent out, and he fills Co2 and Compressed Air tanks. Jake and and his staff are a great bunch of people. They will help you as much as they can, and they are fun to be around. Jake puts a lot of emphasis on safety, which is just common sense. Saltfork Paintball has 2 speedball courses and woodsball. Simply put, the woodsball area is HUGE. Jake does tons of different scenarios, so it never gets old.

I've talked with Jake about what he plans to do with his field in the future, and SF is only going to get better. A few months ago he bought 35 more acres, and he has tons of stuff planned for SF.

The only negative of SF is that is is somewhat unorganized. Jake is a laid-back kinda guy, and he has so many people playing that it takes a while to start the games. SF usually gets 40-60 people easy playing on open game days. About a month ago, he had 130 or 140 people from the U of I playing.

SF is an amazing place to play. It's cheap, it's tons of fun, and there's also cheap food (what more can a guy ask for?). I highly recommend playing at Saltfork Paintball every chance you get. I know I'm going to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

han_daddy Saturday, March 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: March 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Only ones back in Florida, and too long ago to really count for anything... But for what it's worth, SaltFork is a pretty nice field.
Review: Safety: All guns now require tip covers and must be pointed down when not in the field. They also chrono everyone. Masks on at all times in the fields. All in all, they have pretty strict rules about safety, and Jake (the owner) will call you on safety issues. This is both great and annoying -- great because they care about safety; annoying because it can sometimes take a little long to get organized when there is a huge group of new players (e.g. chronoing and adjusting speeds; though it just goes to show you how big a group they can get at this field).

Fields: They have a great woodsball field (very big and lots of good places to bunker up). Next to the main gathering area is a smaller field they also use for speedball. The field is really nice, and almost always generates large crowds -- regardless of weather. And the players are almost always friendly and honest (i.e. no wipers that I've seen). Everyone seems to have a good attitude and a good time. I once played in freezing rain, and there was still a good group wanting to play. If you like woodsball, this is definitely a great place. There are lots of good scenarios that they play. There is also a target practicing area. Once they're open, they will keep games going for as long as there are players wanting to play.

Prices: Pretty good rental prices starting at $25.00 (you get a complete Tippman 98 set and 500 rounds of paint; free compressed air refills, though they also have CO2). And don't worry -- you won't be renting a crap gun. Paint is $12 for 500 or $40 for 2,000. They also have premium paint and premium rentals (BT-4 and A-5) for a higher price. Field fee is $5 if you have your own gun. I believe they are soon going to have BYOP passes, if not already. But given their prices on the paint and what you can get on the market, I really don't think it makes all that much of a difference. From what I've heard, these are very good prices, especially compared to the nearby fields.

Staff/Refs: They are a great bunch of folks. I think Jake and his dad run the place, and they really do a good job of running the show.
Last edited on Sunday, March 25th, 2007 at 4:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

robobart Saturday, February 24th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Level X -- has an indoor playing area
Directions
to the Field:
From UIUC, I recommend just taking High Cross / 130 / 1600E all the way to Country Road 1100 N (there is a big sign that says "tourist info" before you get to 1100N), and then take that road East to the place.
Review: Great place to play woodsball!

Jake was really cool and we had a great time. The first time we were playing in freezing rain and all the rental equipment worked great! They have hot dogs that looked very good (though I didn't try any myself) and the other refs were really cool. Everybody there was nice.

Another time we had two teams and alternated defending/attacking an "island"
That was awsome!

Jake has 98c's, bt-4's and even A-5's to rent.

Good times!
Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 11:22 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media