paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / VB Splat Zone Paintball Field / VB Splat Zone Paintball Field / VB Splat Zone Paintball Field / VB Splat Zone Paintball Field

VB Splat Zone Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 757-422-6419
Address: 700 S. Birdneck Rd.
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23451
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Mr snuggle Saturday, June 11th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 1st, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox
pirite paintball
Directions
to the Field:
dont need to know trust mee
Review: alright guys well since the last update on this "feild was 2 years ago i rekon i should update it well it goes like this theres 2 maybe 40 yard feilds a spool feild and a air bunker feild

i enjoyed the air bunnker feild better but it was terrible okay 1st the ground was mulch 2nd the bunkers were not filled for probly 3 months they werent tied down so one time i went slding into a bunker and it flew off and resulted in me getting shot 4 times :)

the spools were completly pointless given one side much more advantage

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS PARK

they dont carry c02 so if you have a c02 tank and go there for a refill then theyll give you a compressed air tank for the time being which was nice but the guy running the office thing didnt know splat "vb splat zone..." my pals run messed up and asked for help his response was "i dont know anything to tell you the truth i work here for the money" the nets are torn the balls are cheap and expensive

there was no ref!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there was no order it was a waste of time although it was fun just because paintball is fun just go to fox since its near to it and if you work/own splat zone seriusly plsss look into making your feild better becuase it it complete crap if i were 8 still itd like it but no dont go here its not worth the gas or paint price :/
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ovskimmer Monday, April 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox, the Paintball Store
Review: The field is crap. the ground is hard dirt with mulch, the nets blow everywhere and arent tied to the ground. The air bunkers are never inflated. The only bunkers the field has is spools. its one medium size field with like 20 spools and only 3 nets, but they arent tied down. The refs dont care. The ref left after the third game i played. We all reffed ourselves. the paint is overpriced. 55 bux for 2000 balls, and it isnt even a good brand. the brand duznt even hav a name! 175 for a can of soda or water! rediculous. but the fields can be fun to play on if you have a lot of ppl. Me and my friend went and there was like 10 other ppl and we had some good games. one on one is even fun. the spools are all right and they are placed in good spots. the field is an alright size, and if you get tired of this stuff, you can go across the streets to motorworld and get a bite to eat or race go karts. its xpensive, but its fun. it would be more fun to go somewhere decent like fox or pirate paintball or the paintball store, but if you REEELY need to go and those arent your choices, come here.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

shatteredd09 Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox
Directions
to the Field:
This place isnt even worth trying to find.
Review: If I had to describe this field in one word...that one word would be terrible.

This field has no refs at all. There is no one to enforce the FPO rule, No where to chrono, nobody cares about safety there. Kids were taking their masks off mid-game, and the staff didnt care.

The nets have multiple holes in them, and are stitched together with a few zip ties. You can be shot by standing outside the field. I actually saw a mother dodge a few paintballs that happened to get passed the nets.

The staging area is worse. No body uses a barrel sock, and people will fire a few "test shots" from the staging area. You can get a few paintballs flying into the staging area because the net on the backside of the field is down.

The bunkers were a joke. There are a few doritos, and a ton of spools. The doritos were either torn, or werent inflated. The actual field is on hard dirt. No grass, and I slid on a few rocks. Have fun trying to dive behind a bunker at this field.

Most people that played there were rentals, who had no clue what to do, and had no direction because there were no refs.

DO NOT waste your money at this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

757eclipse Sunday, March 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
fox
Directions
to the Field:
address listed above
Review: This field is terrible. pulling up in my car i got hit atleast 3 times. the safety net is torn up and the owners have what seems like no desire to fix it. there are no refs so dont expect a fair game. the "proshop" has nothing, not even experienced players running it. i was talking to them about my slg and they actually told me that other than the rentals they had never shot a marker before. they said it was just a job to them. the bunkers are torn up and hardly useable for even the smallest player. i ended up refing foe them almost the entire day, only playing one game, and i didnt even get a thank you. overall i give this field a -100 out of 10

edit- i am about to start working here and i've already been approved to make any adjustment to the field that is required. almost talked him into writing a blank check for it.
Last edited on Saturday, March 20th, 2010 at 10:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DCBob2 Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 21st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Overall I'm not very impressed with the field. Nets have multiple holes in them, most of the bunkers weren't inflated, the spools were slimy from all the paint that has accumulated on them which is then transferred to the markers which were almost as slimy. The marker I played with performed well (the hopper was split but still held the ammo), but others had to take them back to the proshop for a replacement(s). Bring your own equipment if you can - paint included since I don't really think that they pay that close attention to what the players are doing since we played for half an hour before anybody showed up to pretend to be a ref.

Prices were pretty reasonable - on par with most facilities out there. Don't bother with the optional coveralls, they were just cheap throwaways and the paint bled through them anyhow. One nice thing is that they have paintball during the week where others don't but you might have to wait for enough people to show up to have any kind of fun.

Both fields were pretty small with very little cushion for sliding.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

henasty Saturday, July 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 17th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox
Review: Only 2 small worn out fields. The X ball field is usually deflated and theres old paint absolutely everywhere. Holes in the tarps protecting the 2 fields, and go kart track next door from each other. The people working at the stand knew nothing about the sport other than the high price for cheap paint. Air bunkers have holes in them so they stay inflated for about an hour before needing more air, and the spools arent secured to the ground and move when you do. However no one ever goes there so my team practices up there since they are open on weekdays, and nights. Thats nice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wakeride Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Pirate Paintball, The Swamp, Bethel park, Paintball Authority, Master Blaster. Pirate, PBA and Master Blaster are far superior to VB Splat zone. Much much nicer fields and bunkers. Vb Splat has half of an xball field set up (no X) and the netting is terrible there. Holes in the nets for spectators to get their eyes shot out . VERY dangerous. They also had mulch instead of grass. I guess that is better than rocks but anyone would prefer grass. The field was also very very small. I suppose you have to work with what you have. I did like, however, how they kept the games moving. That was the best I had ever seen. The refs were very biased to the home team but that was expected going in to it since they were FROM the home team
Directions
to the Field:
Birdneck Road
Review: SAFETY: Very Bad. The nets were a joke. Holes everywhere. noone cared if you wore a mask or not, even on the field. The only net seperating the spool field and air field has fallen all the way down creating no barrier between the two fields.
FIELDS: Kind of pathetic. They have a spool field (prehistoric) and they have newer style x-ball bunkers but no X. It is squeezed onto a very small piece of land. Almost a joke but you can still play.
HOURS OF OPERATION: 10-5pm. Very good hours for paintball players.
PRICES: field and air prices are $15.00 a person. Its a decent price but probably high considering all of the above.
RULES: There are really no rules that are enforced. Would be kind of hard to enforce rules when the fields are in such bad shape (HUGE holes in the netting).
SERVICES: N/A
PROSHOP: Small but close the field. Plus.
STAFF: Very friendly staff.
PLAYERS: There was a good amount of airball players out there which is always good. i think Hate City Kids (home team) were there with a couple other teams. They could have been more fair on the games but like I said before that was to be expected.
FACILITIES: The paintball is located inside of a fun park. They had indoor bathrooms which was cool. Facilities were pretty good.
FOOD: N/A
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CMartin444 Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 28th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox Paintball, Ft. Eustis
Review: Awful, just awful. Got there an hour after they opened, and we were the only ones there. We go pay, thinking more will soon show up (prices were terribly high). We started playing 1 on 1 on the spool field which was fair, except it was on gravel (dangerous). The speedball field was only half inflated. After an hour of play we leave.

The field is surrounded by O
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

hokiefan1 Sunday, March 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
1st field ive played on always jus played in the woods
Directions
to the Field:
By Ocean Breeze lol
Review: OK the field was pretty good but I thought it was expensive and the workers dont follow the rules we walk up to pay and they're cussing but I would go back if they lowered the prices there was only 1 ref when i was there like working 2 fields it had real bathrooms but a small pro shop
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

thogge14 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
swamp-sooo much better
bethel-good but havent been there in a while
pbstore-small
hotshots-slipfest
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest but still hard to find kinda
Review: we get there and there is 5 guys sitting eating pizza and watching court tv they look like they were gonna be mean and stuff but one did help me find a part so that was good. on the field, NO REFS no chrono,all bunkers were built for midgets. only 3/4 of the 1 of the 2 airball fields were inflated. paint was everywhere in huge piles. the spool(sp?) was small but alot of cover.all on the airball fields it was 2 on 2 tops. on the spool field it was 3 on 3 tops. it did have indoor restrooms instead of a port-o-jon. can fill up to 4500. this field is good if you are a beginner and want easy competition. i wont be going back to this field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media