paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Insane Paintball Field / Insane Paintball Field / Insane Paintball Field / Insane Paintball Field

Insane Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (423) 624-2121
Address: 1200 Wisdom Street
Chattanooga, Tennessee 37406
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
The Inflicted Sunday, August 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: August 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Sir Gooney's- abysmal
Adventures in paintball - closed years and years ago.
Various outlaw fields
Review: I should have written this review years ago.

Insane paintball is the best paintball field and store in the history of Chattanooga. I've been playing there on and off since opening day, and have played there very regularly for the last 2 years or so, and only after moving out of the Chattanooga area have I realized how exceptional a facility it is.

Pro Shop: Far and away the biggest and best-stocked paintball store I've ever seen. Stylish too, with all the blue neon and black shelving. I have been consistently impressed with how quickly Insane gets in new products (DM9 and TPX were in stock within 2 weeks of release, if not sooner) and how well-priced everything is. Most of the time, Insane's price for gear is as low, if not lower than what you'll find on eBay or at the various online stores. Parts and clothing sections are very wide too, and the store's products are split about 50/50 between milsim and tournament equipment.

Field Pricing: Very, very reasonable given the overhead a place like this must generate. I think their regular price is around $15 with all-day-air but I really couldn't tell you since I was always taking advantage of some sort of promotion or coupon or something. Insane runs specials on memberships all the time, and I think they're currently giving out a number of free passes with gun purchases. As often as I played, the marker I bought from them paid for itself. Paint is around $20 for a bag of 500 and $65ish for a case. Make sure you buy paint from the field desk though- the proshop carries all kinds of paint but the field requires white DXS field paint only.

Rental Gear: Tippmann 98's/BT guns with 48ci HPA bottles. Perfect, really, and the field has many, many kits on hand. The rental masks are the lower end Vents masks I think, but there's a bit of variety. I don't rent these things but what I've seen has always been working and in good repair. Chest protectors and camo coveralls are also available for rent for younger players.

Fields: This is where Insane really shines. There are currently 5 fields in operation and usually all 5 are available for play. First off are the two indoor fields. These have astroturf floors and are primarily airball bunkers with the odd plastic barrel thrown in. The smaller of these fields is lit and painted for glow-in-the-dark "Cosmic Paintball" on certain nights. Both of the fields are frequently cleaned and every couple weeks the layout of the bunkers is rearranged, so if you think you've learned one, think again. There is ample viewing area along two sides of both of these fields, and 3 if you count the overhead balcony viewing areas accesable via the stairs.

Outside, there is another field dedicated to airball, usually X-ball. This field is often used during the weekends for dedicated tournament practice so don't count on it being available every time. Of course, if you ask the players drilling there they might let you join in, I never asked.

The real star of the show is Insane's new "Chat-Town" urban/castle field. This is the largest of their outdoor field and is a real treat for new players or anyone who wants something different. It has a number of plywood house-like bunkers arranged very carefefully to avoid giving one side an advantage. 4 of these bunkers are two-story, with railed access ramps leading up to the balconies. One of these two-story bunkers is a very long fort-like structure that lends itself well to attack-and-defend games. I've spent a LOT of time on this field and it's a blast, especially with lot of players.

Finally, there is a long but narrow wooded field in the rear area of the compound. This field simply too small to afford a "true" woodsball experience since you can see the other team as soon as the game starts. Also, a number of ditches and trenches in the field provide for some interesting hiding places but are usually full of mud or water, and I've found some bits of jagged metal half-buried in the dirt out there. Some newer players enjoy this place but I don't.

All the fields, inside and out are VERY securely netted, and the nets are always in good condition and cabled tightly to the ground. There are gravel walkways between all the outdoor fields and astroturf walkways inside to keep players from slipping in their cleats.

AMENITIES: Excellent here too. Insane has a very large restroom for players that is kept clean and functional. You can drink water from the sink (you're going to need something) or buy a cold powerade or energy drink from the desk. They sell microwave sandwiches and a few other snacks there as well, and the field is less than a minute away from a Burger King, Subway, and there are dozens of great restaurants in downtown Chattanooga about 5 minutes down the road.

Insane's staging area is terrific also. They have a couple dozen tables and benches for players to work with their gear on and trashcans everywhere. I'm writing this after a hot Tennessee summer, and the fields, especially indoor, can get pretty toasty. It would impractical for Insane to air-condition a field this large but they do what they can with lots of ventilation fans inside and a water-mist cooling station outside.

PAINT: This is one area where I have a bone to pick. Except for special events the field only allows the DXS field paint. For the most part it's been good paint, but occasionally they get in a pretty bouncy batch and I've played some days where I take 4-5 bounces a game. It's also a VERY small paint, so make sure your gun is equipped to deal with paint in the .682 range. Like I said, it's usually fine but if it's bad you're stuck with it and so is everyone else.

Staff: For the most part, good. I've gotten to know all of Insane's management very well and have great respect for them, but their reffing staff on the field tends to be mostly teenagers and not all of them have as much experience as I think they should. They do a great job of keeping barrel blockers on guns and masks on faces, but I wish they would work harder to enforce the field's 280fps and 10bps limits. One thing I will say is that whenever I've seen a problem and mentioned it to the staff they have been very understanding and have either fixed the problem or patiently listened to my complaint. For the last year, at least, cheating has not been a problem at all on these fields and I credit the staff for that.

Bottom line: This is world-class paintball operation and deserves your business. If you're close enough to check it out, do so. Insane has somehow developed a field that is family-friendly while still having something to offer to the serious rec/tournament player.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

icd_guy Tuesday, March 31st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball on the Plateau-ok field
YJP-AWESOME(but not as awesome as Insane)
Review: Location-actually quite easy to find(if your room-mate doesn't forget the directions) 5/5

Facility-Seemed to be a converted factory, but very nice overall. 4/5

Pro Shop-AWESOME pro shop, never seen anything like it, it looks like something out of a movie, haha. Bought my V-Force Profiler Amber lens from them. =] Don't bother with the weekend techs though, that is unless youre sporting a Smart Parts. They wouldn't touch my buddy's ICD. 5/5

Air Ball-Didn't play on either of the inside fields, but the outside one was just like your standard 5 man field, not unique but overall, very fun. 4/5

Scenario-Chatt Town is where Insane REALLY shines(other than the Pro Shop). Large enough area to support 15 man teams with 2 story balcony's. 5/5


Woods Ball-Basically this field is one sided, unless you start out at the far end, you will be f@$%ed. The far end provides FAR more cover than the closest side. You could call me biast but I haven't liked woods ball since I got out of paintball the first time. 2/5

Staff-The staff is very helpful as for maintenance but as for chrono goes, they just asked if we were chronoed, same goes for the 10 balls a second thing. 3/5

Paint-$60 for Draxxus I can understand but this was either ancient Draxxus or cheaply made knock off CRAP!!! I was breaking about 30% of the time if I was lucky! They should allow only certain colors to the field and charge an extra $5-$10 for bringing your own paint. It wasn't entirely bad, I've shot bad paint and this was just mediocre. 3/5

Food-Didn't care to endulge, there's a McDonalds a block down the road, haha. -/-

Overall, statistically and being critical, it deserves an 8 at best, but because of all the fun I had, the friendly staff, and the incredible field and ProShop, I give it a 9 out of 10. Keep it up guys cause I'll be back. =]
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikey_mike22 Saturday, March 21st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
this one is by far the best to play at.
Review: I aint been paintballin very long but i loved the feilds. the woodsball is questionable, but the others were outstanding. I have two things to say that i did not like about the place. If you have a paint budget this is not the place to play because they rip u a new one(if you know what i mean). They over charge for paint that is not worth it when u can shoot it and watch it bounce off bunkers. If i could change one thing there it would be allowing people to bring there own paint (every color but pink). The thing that pisses me off the most is i went up to the proshop with a working marker which i took to the weekend techs and walked out with it not working. their people shouldnt fool with a marker they dont understand if you want any work done go during the week. and once we got home the guy who fixed it originaly did it again very simple adjustments too.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

powersclan97 Sunday, January 25th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: First the good, Both indoor cources are really fun to play on. Have a woodsball, scenerio, and turny outside. scenerio just opened on the 24th of this month. A complete blast to play on. Now the not so good. Faculty staff really aren't concerned if you play on there field or not. They are about the most un courtiuos personnel I have ever run across. House paint is no where near $60.00 quality. No safety brief for new walk in's and refs really don't enforce chrono regulation acordind to their web site. Overall fields are fun but won't drive 100 miles to play on there field again,. For Safety concious peaple if you use these fields, Play at your own risk as for safety doesn't hardly exist.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

maycam10 Monday, October 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Adrenaline sportz
PB&more
Review: my first reaction to the field was eh it looks ok..... but boy was i wrong. this is the definition of a compound. It looked ok from teh ouutside but was amazing on the inside. The indoor field was top of the line. Perfect turf. awesome layout. just over the top. The outdoor fields were no exception. This place is plain out amazing. will be going back
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

tnp8ntballa Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
BKA (now Cross-eyed) - Pretty Good Field
Horn's Creek - Not that great.
Directions
to the Field:
Off Amnicola Hwy, On Wisdom St. (Look for the big Insane Paintball sign)
Review: This is the best field I have ever played at. The indoor airball fields are awesome. You can really slide around on the artificial turf. The outdoor airball is awesome too. The woodsball field is OK, but the day before I went it had rained so it was very muddy. The refs are very big on safety. YOU HAVE TO HAVE A BARREL COVER! They make you chrono, which is good, and also have very good rules. The Proshop is the best paintball store in the southeast. The techs know what they are doing, the staff is very friendly and will help you with anything you need, and they also have great deals. In my opinion the refs do a great job, because you really can't see every shot that is made. The players that were there were all the from beginners to tourney players. I'm an intermediate player, so I basically played with everybody. The staging area is very big, and they have concessions in it. Another cool thing about this place is they have push-button nitro fills, you can fill your tank up as many times as you want by yourself. A lot of people say this place is expensive, but I think for the quality of the fields the prices are fair. Paint is reasonable also, I think I paid $40 for a case of Spank. I would recommend this field to anyone. I'm definately going back next weekend for more fun. Check Insane out, you will be glad you did.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xsvboy Wednesday, August 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crosseyed
Review: Dude this field is awsome. It has good refs, awsome help, and a really really good shop. They have like 6 fields 2 indoor 4 outdoor, so you can play a lot of games. I would highly recommend people to go and play at this field!!!!!! So if you want to go and have a really good day of play go to insane.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skateparknigga Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This is the best facility I have ever been to. The refs are very helpful when you have questions and will start games quickly.

There are a few problems even though the refs are helpful they arent really worried about safety, and you could jut walk in and play without being cronoed.

The good things are for $25 you can play all day with free air fills, and the place is not too packed so you can play a lot of games.

I highly recamend this cource to anybody it is a great facility the have 6 cources( 2 indoor, angel field, X-Ball field, insane field, and woodsball field) so go have a great day of paintball in beautiful Chattanooga, TN.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdwella Friday, August 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 25th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Nashville Paintball INC.
Bearclaw
Review: i like the fact there are indoor fields cause now i can play when it gets cold and they are open fridays unlike other places and open till 10 pm eastern time ...but yeah i loved both outdoor fields and indoor fields. they were not over priced at all it came out to be $65.55 and that included : ZAP (spank/white fill) case of paint all day air and field fee...yeah i coulda bought more expensive balls but it was my first time at the field..will have to go back..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Siress Thursday, August 17th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Regulators Outpost -Now PB&More
A-1 PB
Big Daddys PB
Southern Guns
Villianow
PB Atl
Arkenstone
Paintball planet
Bear Claw <- best scenario field in the world.
Review: As far as convience of use, nothing can compair. Completely indoors for those that can't man the outdoors or just don't want to. However, the indoor fields are dismally small. The Angel field is the best one there if they'd keep the bunkers inflated through out the day, as they seem to leak. The wooded field is tiny, I can just almost see from one side to the other. One good sprint would take you completely around the field but there's enough crap in the way to keep that from happening...most of the time. Then you get to the players though. They cater to the kids that blow all of mommys and daddys money on every little thing in sight, spewing paint as fast as they can because that some how makes them better, cheating left and right even directly in front of the spectators, refs are lathargic every time I've been but very helpful getting games started and keeping things safe (which is all they really must do at a ref field to be great refs, imho) but catering to these types of players will forever turn me away. I'll only go to Insane when I have a group of friends or honest players that play aside from the regular crowd. I know cheating can happen any where, but when it happens at most fields they'll crush the offender. I've seen people set up execution style for every player on the oposing team to let lose a furry of paint to make sure they remember that it should only take one ball to eliminate them. Not condoning that, by any means, but do SOMETHING to prevent cheating.

Jared seems like a really nice guy, with a fairly sharp business mind, but I hope he realizes he can only cater to the new players for so long before there aren't enough of them left to pay the bills. People will move on to better fields after being cheated out of games over and over. 7/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media