paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park / California Paintball Park

California Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
83Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (310)261-2439
Address: Charley Canyon Rd.
Castaic, California 91384
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
LompocLegendary Monday, September 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warped Paintball
Review: Ok for starter this field did not live up to my expectations and if you are thinking I am here to say the exceeded them you are gravely mistaken.

Safety:
1) The refs are very big on safety which pleased me
2) there is a safety briefing before every game because rules change for every field.
3) If you miss the safety briefing even if you know the rules and have been there before. you have to sit out till the next set of rounds
final score 8/10

Chrono:
1) their chrono area is pretty good
2) they have a target range in there which is pretty nice
3) two chrono things but a lack of allen keys
final score 9/10

Fields:
1) i have quite a bit about their fields
2) they didnt fill up their air field which me and my brother spent close to $200 to play just because some airsoft people where there. it disappointed me greatly
3) as stated above they have rule brieifng for every field because rules change for fields.
4) they didnt play the hyperball field in the few hours i was there. which was the only alternate to airball
5) two of their fields have a major side advantage and games drag on. the last game i played (tire town) i ran out of air and the game lasted way longer than i was prepared for. i was able to still call out positions etc.
6) while their fields are big it is a very bad idea to dive or slide on the terrain without knee pads
7) they allow airsoft players to play at the same time which was not cool thats the main reason they didnt do speedball i suppose. but i dont believe a field should be working two things.
final score 6/10

staff:
1) their manager or field owner what ever you want to call him is pretty cool
2) the refs are amazing my respect to em
final score 10/10

pricing etc:
this is my biggest problem im sorry but i am a hard reviwer
1) first off the web site listed $30 for a case of paint get to the field a case costed over $40 we got the sc village price.
2) admission was $13 no complaints there. my home field is $10
3) their compressed air station caped off your tank at about 2500 maybe 3k. disappointed
4) taco truck was good def the best food at a field unless brinign your own.
5) the drive in was extremelly bumpy. it seems it was self paved then dirt then proffesional paved and then back to self paved then dirt drive way
6) the treck up to the briefing area was horrible. i thought i heard there was going to be stairs apparently not.
final score 3/10

my conclusion do not go to this field unless you are the weekend warrior just looking to get in some paintball. Definatly bring your own paint because buying from there you get jipped a good 400 paintballs and they over price it majorly. thank god its a byop field just wish i woulda done that instead of believing the website.
Last edited on Monday, September 6th, 2010 at 3:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jman996 Saturday, March 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: straight to the point

pros-
Staff and players, are really nice . Probably the best out of all other fields ive been too.

cons-
you have to hike up mount everest to play on any field, then walk down mount everest to go to your car or take a break after every game. By the time we would get up to a field to play some of the guys would fall on the floor, and im not talking about tippman newkid.i saw some dude with a dm9 fall to the floor when we got up there.

driving to the place is really bad for your cars suspension, really really really bad bumps. i wouldnt reccomend you take any new car up there. i remember jumping up completely out of my seat at one point driving up there. i would not reccomend anyone to take new cars up there, you will destroy your car.

other then the location, the staff is really nice. players are awesome too. if your into woodsball type play check it out, you might like it.

im more into speedball didnt see any teams there that day. and no airball field.
Last edited on Saturday, March 20th, 2010 at 11:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

eddomars Saturday, March 20th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 20th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of fire I heard was around it.
Review: Well my first thoughts about the place was getting there. For a sedan its no fun to drive on the road but it was bearable. Having arrived we head to registration which took about 30-40 minutes because it was one line and around 9 o'clock you are in big trouble. The prices are all similar to other parks and fair. The staff are great! They talk to you and are social, some humorous. The people are fun as well and social. I talked to many people, worked with many people, I never had an experience like this. So all and all you feel I'm giving my blessings to this place, here is where has me deciding if I'm going there again..

The fields are a mountain hike! Honestly by the time i get to the starting area I'm out of breath, to make matters worse it was hotter then africa out there. I like the defend the castle field, I don't know why they didn't put up speedball which is initially what I wanted to do most. This one map where it feels like D-day is the worst. The people on the bottom are always pinned down, the field advantage is terribly proven. You are going to be exhausted, possibly the most exhausted you have ever been.

Now don't take my exhaustion as a reason to not go but honestly I felt as if I was doing interval training rather paintball. And right now as I speak I am half dead. My body is couch locked. So-cal needs some indoor places. I have been to conquest, simmy valley, here and all these areas are deserts. Happy Painting!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

kayburni Tuesday, January 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 3rd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: California Paintball Park is having a Re-Grand Opening weekend in February from 10am-4pm! What does that Mean for all you Ballers?
February 20th Will be our 1st ever Scenario Event "KING OF THE HILL". It will be a Castle Attack and Defend Big Game format. We will be having a 29$ Paint Special (Box of 1600) and FREE all day Raffles. For just 35$ per player you get all day entry and air, PLUS a FREE one day admission for ANOTHER day. Outside paint is allowed as long as it does NOT break Red.
February 21st is "PARK APPRECIATION DAY" For just 20$ you get all day air and entry, FREE lunch served at 1pm, and a FREE one day admission for ANOTHER day.
CAN'T WAIT TO SEE YOU ALL THERE!!

For additional Info call (562)-867-9600 or visit our website at www.paintballpark.name
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

creeping death1 Sunday, December 6th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 6th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Field of Fire - Better Refs, Worse fields
Paintball USA - good for hyperball - not for me
Review: I have been going to CPP for about 6 or 8 weeks and I am on the fence as to whether I will again. The field is great as far as the look and feel. Interesting maps all over the place. Up until now I have really enjoyed this place.

Today the field didn't start play until 10 am, when it is supposed to start at 9 am. Not a good start. My real problem is that they played rec ball people against 2 teams of Pro's. They played them on the fire station Alpha map. You have 20 pro's with 300FPS guns shooting downhill on all of the walk on people. Sure, there were some good players with the walk on's but the rental kids didn't stand a chance. It is one thing to learn from your betters but this was not the case and completely uncool. It was like a live video game for the pro's amusement. The reason I say that is because they cheat. They wiped They used shields. Got coaching from the sidelines, etc. I shot one right in the mask, he ducked and like a miracle came back up without the paint!!! This was bad form on the part of the ref and the field. I know that the pro's pressured the ref to do it because he knows them and probably wanted to be on their good side. The better players on the walk on side were OK with the game until the cheating became obvious. Most of the players were pissed after the match and several packed it up and left.

Nice way to get new players involved in the sport. Nice role models those pro's were. There are no Pro's in this sport with out the cash and interest that the walk on's and amateurs provide.

Yep, I think I am done with this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

always_afk86 Friday, September 25th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 20th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
warped
Review: On the fence about this place...

~Refs don't really care what players are doing, they just stand and watch as if running in for a paint check would kill them

~Fields are covered with paint, sharp rusty things everywhere..messy sums it up pretty much..although work can be done to fix the place up i guess

~Speed ball field was actually pretty nice..had turf

~Don't know if this is true but i heard sometimes on slow days games wont start till 10am

~Manager seems like a nice guy <never really talked to him>

~They could use some more bathrooms, only a new portables

~Thought they had sold food here < burgers, hot dogs, etc.> but all they have now is a food truck that only stays for about half an hour

Overall in my opinion this place is living in the shadow of its former glory.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BarrelTagz Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Went out with some friends to check out the new fields at cpp. To be honest this is only my third time playing here, first in over a year. Wanted to see if what everyones been saying is true, how they are making improvements to the fields.

Got to say, I had a great time. Always fun when you can byop. Especially if you're using pumps like me and my amigos. Had a great day out there, huge group of walk-ons. Not sure if this is normal for out there but if it is then i need to go there more often. Im loving the new fields, huge scenario player and its almost like being out at Sc Village again. I like how they are adding shaded areas for the players, considering how hot it gets out there. Talked with Josh, seems like he is really working hard out there to make this a great field. Im looking forward to playing there again when it cools down.

Awesome fields, lots of players, good employees, just a little too far out of the way to make it my new local field. Overall 7-8/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

patsfreek Saturday, July 25th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 25th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest, S.C. Village
Review: I have been to this field four times and have been unsatisfied by this field four times. The only soul reason I say this is because the staff there are not that smart when it comes to simple things such as filling up a Co2 tank. Almost everytime I get it filled they break it some how or they just don't fill it up at all. The refs aren't very vigilant on the feild. A lot of time times they don't notice that half the team has there mask off. I always ask for paint-checks but they never do it. I've seen many people cheat and I even do it myself because they just don't pay much attention. There also are no lockers or anything to leave your stuff without it being stolen.

Other than all of that you could still have fun there. The feilds are pretty decent but not a lot of woods considering that it's in the desert. the bunkers are mostly like cars, metal sheets, tires, barrels, etc. Compressed air fills sre easy because you do it yourself. There is a lot of parking places but it isn't clear where to start a row of cars.

I wouldn't recomend this park mostly because of the staff.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

Schancky Saturday, July 18th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
warped
conquest
paintball usa
(none have as good of staff as cpp)
Directions
to the Field:
up the 5 first exit in castaic
Review: Dont even bother reading the review of the person under me they have obviously never played there and are just a competitor trying to hurt cpp's buisness.

Cpp is a great field

1 Staff: The staff are some of the friendliest i have ever met and they are always there to give out usefull advice.

2. Signups. The wait has never been a problem only a few people in front of me everytime i go. 10-15 mins max Although there are always exceptions do understand somedays they are busy but the wait would never be as long as he claims. (also they recently built another shaded area right over the line so you wait in the shade.

3. SAFETY: The refs are always strict on safety always making sure the inexperienced players keep their masks on While giving a good example of keeping it on themselves

4. FIELDS They have many fields many of which are being refurbished (ghetto city) and new ones being built (new wwII one) the walk can at times be tiresome but they are not that bad and the ref often allows a minute for everyone to catch their breath and what not. Also the turnaround for games is the best in the area. Im not going to bash other parks but honestly some have like a 60 minute wait between games while cpp is like 8 mins, just enough to get your stuff on. The refs even wait an extra minute to let the inexperienced players catch up and get their gear on.

5. Equipment. The rental guns are like rental guns at any place no better no worse and they are always trying to keep them clean but there are a lot to maintain and the inexperienced players often mess them up. Yes you can only use field paint with the markers but that is so they make sure someone doesn't use really really bad paint (like some crap from walmart) and cause them more trouble of cleaning the broken low quality paint. It is easier to just say you can only use the field paint. (if you talk to the manager josh(great guy) about using higher quality paint im sure he would be able to make a few exceptions, he just doesn't want to worry about the lower quality paint some people bring in damaging the guns.

6 PRICES. "I heard they lowered their price, but it is ridiculous that they in charge people to get in." wtf is this i hope you realize that as a buisness money needs to be made so they can remain open, thats the kind of ignorant phrase i would expect from reading the first line of your review. They are great with coupons especially since some of them arent even made by them but the old cpp so they are not making any money at all.

Cpp is a great field with great helpful people there who would love to see you come.

-Michael
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mycockerrocks Thursday, July 16th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 11th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warped (Way Better), Conquest, (Awesome), Action Paintball Park (Great), Paintball USA. Anyone better than CPP
Directions
to the Field:
Off the 5 freeway by Castaic. DONT GO HERE
Review: Ok First off, the review below is a bunch of garbage. You can tell that the person writing it is either an employee or the owner them self.

I have been wanting to play at CPP for years and just never did it. I decided to try it. I heard it was taken over by SC Village of which I like but not my favorite.

HORRIBLE PLACE TO GO. DON't PLAY HERE. THIS IS THE BIGGEST JOKE OF A FIELD EVER

Breakdown,
1 Staff: The staff is rude and does not care about you as a customer at all. They only care about their little inside jokes and constantly laugh at NOOBS when they see them. HEY GUYS REMEMBER, NOOBS BRING THE MONEY. I over heard one of the refs laughin at this guy who was renting, because he had BRAND NEW Camo's and went out and bought a ton of gear like chest protectors, new mask (Walmart) While it may be funny, there is no reason to make fun of him. YOU TOO WERE A NOOB AT ONE TIME.
When I mentioned it to the ref. I was very nice. He just scoffed at me and walked away.

2. Signups. What a joke. Well over an HOUR just to sign up and wait for some punk ref who doesnt care about his job to give me orientation of which they didnt follow any way through out the day.

3. SAFETY: While the ref may yell and scream like some 12 year finding candy, They do NOTHING to people who violate safety rules. HELL I saw on of the REFS on the upper field (The one where you have to walk a LONG way). His head gear was up on his head and one of the players made a remark and the ref barked at him and said he could do whatever he wants because he is experienced. ( I AM SURE THE OWNER WOULD LOVE TO HEAR THAT AFTER YOU GET YOUR EYE SHOT OUT)

4. FIELDS While the fields are not half bad, you can tell that they are old dingy and have not been worked on in a long time. However, the way the fields are laid out are terrible. TO LONG OF WALKS and Turn around time for games is atrocious. OH THE GUY BEFORE ME SAID THEY PLAY A VARIETY OF GAMES.. NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT EVERY GAME WAS ELIMINATION.

5. Equipment. I own my own equipment, However my friend had to rent. What a piece up junk. We all know that Tipmanns are known for their constant working through abuse, but the gun they gave my firend was garbage. It looked like it had been through 40 years of abuse. Not too mention if you rent their guns you HAVE TO BUY THEIR PAINT. My Firend could not use my Procaps paint which is 40 times better than the field paint they sell.

6 PRICES. I heard they lowered their price, but it is ridiculous that they in charge people to get in. They should pay players to play there. Dont ever go in with a COUPON. IT IS A TRAP AND THEY UPSELL EVERYTHING ELSE.

While they have good shade and decent parking, the bathrooms are sick and dirty.

Oh one good thing is, I will NEVER return.


Last edited on Thursday, July 16th, 2009 at 8:30 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media