paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Antioch Paintball Park / Antioch Paintball Park / Antioch Paintball Park / Antioch Paintball Park

Antioch Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
16Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 925-757-2468
Address: 1201 West 10th Street
Antioch, California 94509
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Anioch Sucks Tuesday, August 3rd, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 30th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Jungle- American Canyon
http://www.paintballjungle.com/index.html
Directions
to the Field:
http://www.paintballjungle.com/index.html
Review: The Antioch Paintball Park SUCKS!
if your in the area just go to Paintball Jungle in american canyon it so much better than this small place. Paintball Jungle is 65 ACRES of pure fun. If you know the S.F. Hornets, well they play there too! They have thee small speedball courts just like in antioch but better off all they have big games with bunckers in the forest!
Gun Give-Aways
Capture the flag
Center Flag
Elimination
Beez Wax
Jungle Ball
http://www.paintballjungle.com/index.html
Last edited on Tuesday, August 3rd, 2010 at 7:16 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

josh03193 Sunday, July 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture games paintball, Sherwood forest, Paintball Jungle, Modesto Extreme.
Directions
to the Field:
check the site
Review: This is honestly a great field, to anyone who knows anything about paintball. The X ball is NPPL style, except for the corner x's but they aren't always used. The people are great, and they help you with ANY problems you might have. You meet great players there and the expirience is incredible. The Rec and speedball field could use a little adjusting but other than that the field is aces.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jang Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Indoor Milpitas- Closed, Sunol- not as good, Venture- only woodsball, SantaClara- Good but far, pretty equal
Directions
to the Field:
ill just give u their address, they're right next to a Big RC track area,

1201 West 10th Street
Antioch, CA 94509
Entrance on 18th and L St
At the Antioch Fairgrounds
Review: Overall= 9/10

Fields:
there fields are awesome. They have 3 fields but i think they close that one unless there are tournaments. The 2 that are usually open is an Xball field and an airball field. They are both good fields. -8.5/10-

Refs:
Really nice and chill. Willing to be fair and give paint checks. -5/5-

Prices:
Just like any other field. 15 for all day entrance, 10 for gas all day. They're paint is 55 bucks i think. Im not sure because i just bring my own. -5/5-

Go this field if u live somewhere near the Bay Area. This is one of the best fields in the Bay. If you like Santa Clara, this field is pretty close to it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Moose Man[] Wednesday, May 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway
Venture, good for noobs
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest
Review: This is a very nice place. When got outa the car i was happy to see the fields looked deccent and that they had nice facilities. I payed for a half day session and got myself ready to play. As i waited and waited no refs came out to start the games. The teams were out practicing ond the walk ons were just sitten there. When it was about 10:30 the games finally started.(This is not good since i was playing half day so i only got a our and a half of play) We played one game on the little junky haybale field and then i got ready to go to a nicer one like airball or x-ball. This never happened. The little time i got to play was all spent of haybale crap field. I was also stuck with a bunch of little kids and noobs with like spyders and ions. So my day was pretty much wasted because of the bad field, and the poor timing.

The good things were that the ref we had was great. He would sprint everytime he was called and was very friendly. The guy at the front was nice to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

smokingterran6 Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
sunolpaintball, paintballjungle,sherwoodforest,norcalpaintball,santaclarapai
ntball
Directions
to the Field:
go to map quest or google much easier
Review: basic things of the field play and style:
ok what i like about this field that there is allot of people going for a year old field. and is your trying to practice for tournaments they two speed ball fields you could play in, why because allot of tourney player go there and play. and the rec field they have is good for beginners who want to try out and play paintball and another thing beginners could play in all the fields but i would suggest if you guys want to play in Ball field or speed ball field play when there is no teams playing or if you don ot care on how much get hit go for it and i will give you props for that. another thing the refs are sometimes good on putting the teams even.
detail of each field:
the first filed the rec field is a good field but much better because is a kind of small for big parties but just to give a suggestion to the owners of the field (you guys have allot of space to make a longer on the back .)any ways there is allot of cover around so beginners you guy do not need to be scared not finding close cover or bunching up in one.but one thing to remind you guys if you do not want to get really bad scrapes you should buy some knee pads of any sort because the field has really hard dirt in certain areas.
Ball field: the ex ball field i think is really fun but kind of small and little crowded the only thing i don't like is that big x in the middle wish the put it up like some fields and put some more bunkers up. and just a reminder for snake runners the dirt is hard think before your sliding ok that is the only about it. and finally the there air ball fields always when is windy some times the bunkers fly from there positions so you to grab them so that you the don't fall or fly to a norther place. another thing that sometimes the bunkers are deflated so just ask the ref to fill them up again to play better.
speed ball field: ha vent really played there because when i go is occupied by the home team the have or is not open.
other things to know: well the hours and the prices for everything are in there web site so go there. and in lunch they always have pizza for you to buy and drinks. and the have bathrooms with showers if people who want to shower. and they have basic rules as many fields have. and the people who register are really nice and have some supplies they you could make a quick fix for your gun. i gave an 8 b/c but wanted a 8.5 because this field could be much better
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Geebus77 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 30th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear creek paintball- amazing field, but indoor so its hard to compare
Operation paintball- tiny, tiny, good prices, nice people, but seriusly way too small
Santa Clara paintball- this is probably a reasonable comparision. good field about as good as antioch, but usually way too overcrowded
Sunol- terrible, only one airball field, in the middle of a farm, very dirty, just not a nice place to play
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest or yahoo maps
Review: I started playing here when i joined team hooligans.

Pros: Its a great field for teams to practice at. Theres always some good competition. staff and reffs are really friendly. Team pricing is great and its byop. they change fields quite often so its a different experiance every time. Layouts are always well thought out. Reffing staff is pretty decent. They do their jobs. Management from what i'm seen is pretty tough on them. reffs will do all checks that you ask for and get along with everybody and i haven't seen too many bad calls.

Cons: there isn't really too many cons. I guess the fields could be a little longer. they feel like squares sometimes. So, its pretty easy to lane/get laned of the break. Kind of a long drive for me but its worth it.
Last edited on Monday, February 19th, 2007 at 12:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bonesnapper Saturday, January 20th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bear Creek Milpitas-the best ever
Venture-good rec ball
Op-way to small
Review: Well the fields are pretty good, they just recently rearranged the field lay out. I like the fact that you can bring your own paint. The refs are ok, but some of the players take it way to seriously, and yell at you a lot. It is relatively cheap to play as well. The refs need to pay more attention to the players when they ask for paint checks. Another thing i don't like is that when it is busy, they put maybe 15 on 15, in a kinda small rec field. It is insane.(not fun) They don't really take good care of their bunkers, like today one field was completely flat, because they don't care about their bunkers. The games were supposed to start at 9:00, but they started at like 9:45, which shortens your playing day. Like I said before it is an ok field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

MrBuzzard Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
VentureGames (the best woodsball ever)
OP (to small for my taste)
Directions
to the Field:
Antioch fairgrounds where they use to have the rodeo
Review: I play there every once and a while to full-fill my X-ball needs. They have 3 out door fields which include 1 rec ball, 1 X-ball, 1 Sup-Air/speedball. Decent field, but i have to rag on a couple points on which they can improve on. Most of their reffing staff blows, they stay on the side lines and watch from a distance, paint checks are very far and in between. Even the head ref rubs me the wrong way. 2 of my friends almost got into a fist fight between 2 older guys (their 16-17 and the guys were probably 25-30+) because they were playing on the X-ball field and were accused of overshooting when they were out. But whatever, i guess you can only care about yourself and your group when you go, not a very friendly atmosphere staff wise. The reff's paycheck is all they want and to get it, they do the least work possible.
Last edited on Saturday, April 7th, 2007 at 10:26 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jenarelJAM Saturday, December 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 2nd, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Venture - best woodsball imo
Sherwood - okay field, but they play the woodsball too much
Operation - too small, slippery when wet
Santa Clara - Pretty good, but they don't(or didn't) change their air filters
Sunol - Read my other review - BAD REFFING
Review: Safety - Very good refs. Refs are watching, check people, etc. Their orientation speech may need a little work, but all in all, very safe.

Fields - three fields. A "rec" spool field, an "airball" field, and "xball" field. First two are about 3-man size, and the xball is like a small 5-man. I don't actually play tourny-ball, so I don't know exactly how they compare, but that's about how it is. Xball field has a decent snake, and the giant X is laid down, so you can hide between the crosses. You may or may not like this, I personally thought it was fine, but none of the bunkers are tied down. On some, it means you may need to crouch a little lower, because it's fallen over, and on some, it means that if you run into it, it will start rolling down the field. The refs didn't mind when we actually did that on purpose, as long as we put them back afterwards. It was fun playing with movable bunkers.
I really liked the ground. It's packed sand, not soft(hard to run), but not packed hard(hard to slide). It was a very good balance between the two. I actually found myself sliding, just because it was convenient, and not having to worry about hitting a rock and slicing my knee up. That said, my knees, as I'm writing this, are pretty sore, but that's just because I was sliding probably twice a game on average.

Hours - 3 hr morning session, 3 hr afternoon session. I don't know what their night sessions are like. They've got an hour break for lunch between them. Annoying because I ate before the break, and wasn't hungry, I wanted to play. But it was alright. If you're only there for one session, it makes it easy.

Prices - $20 for both sessions, $10 for air(up to "4500", but it's about 4000 consistantly, they've got a compressor).
Paint is a little expensive. $50 for white box karnage, $55 for upgraded version, $60 for their higher end stuff. I just brought paint. It's cheaper. If you buy in less than a case, I believe it's $20-500, $35-1000, $50-2000.

Staff - Very pleasant, very helpful, very nice.

Refs - Always available to ref a game. If they weren't on the field you wanted to play, all you had to do was ask to go there. There were many, many refs. I never played a game without a ref, and I usually had games with 2-3 refs(and these are mostly 3 on 3 games). Very Very good reffing.

Players - Imo the perfect amount. There are enough players to get a 6 on 6 game going pretty easily, but few enough that you don't feel crowded when you're trying to set up a 3 on 3, etc. Everyone was having a great time. Also, the players there were really good people. For the first session, I hung out with two guys, we played everything, hard. For the second session, I hung out with a group of 5 first-timers, I took a break and played a bit easier. There was no overshooting, there was no aggressive swearing(I mean, people swear when they're just talking, but no "F***!"), and there was alot of handshaking as people walked off the field.

Facilities - Bathroom, Game room, etc. I don't know... that's not why I went to the field.

Food - Brought my own, but they've got pizza for $2 a slice. Didn't try any, so I don't know if it's any good or not.


In conclusion:

I just left a field because of bad reffing, I got kinda turned off about paintball in general. I hadn't been in four months, prior to today, and in the past, I played every other weekend. Playing here has turned my whole attitude around. It's like that first time again(well, almost) where everything is still new and exciting.

Hands Down, Best field I've ever played at.
(And I've played at a few over the last four years...)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Labon Jones Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played on all the fields in this area and each one has it's own high points, This one is nice, I like the fact that it's close to my home- and the prices are great too.
Directions
to the Field:
The entrance is on the south end of the Fair grounds next to Hwy 4
Review: This staff seemed to be right on top of safety. I liked the service, they we're very friendly and fair
The prices are not hurting my pocket book either
Lots of kids playing ( just means more targets to shoot at) I don't discriminate I shoot every body " yes even friendly fire"
I read they were going to enlarge the park, "If they do" I would like to see more of a larger urban style set up with building where you can hunt your targets
Last edited on Saturday, October 21st, 2006 at 11:59 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media