paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Gorilla War Paintball Field / Gorilla War Paintball Field / Gorilla War Paintball Field / Gorilla War Paintball Field

Gorilla War Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 770-757-9152
Address: 500 falling springs rd
Rydal, Georgia 30171
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
GFX260 Thursday, March 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: March 14th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none nearby
Scenario paintball is a little far away, but they run a great operation out there in Lindale as well.
Directions
to the Field:
directions are on the website, but it's 3.2 miles north (on 411) of the intersection of 411 & 140.
Review: Currently they have an air / hyper ball field, capture the flag, man hunt, capture the fort, a small old school woods speedball style field, & the four in the woods can be combined into a larger scenario field. The fields have plenty of bunkers & play pretty well. For the most part groups can choose where to play and they aren't going to herd you around from field to field like cattle.

Hours are flexible due to inconsistent customers, but it's always good to call ahead & see what the weekend looks like anyways. generally it runs from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm, but they aren't going to run players off just because it's getting close to a days end.

Like any field, Safety is very important. That's why the safety talk isn't just 2 minutes. There are a lot of important things covered under the talk like rules, starting positions, point blank, and how to exit the game in a way that is less likely to get you shot up. I like the way they allow each group to decide which rules they want to play with for point blank as well.

The prices are great, $9.34 for air, $9.34 for entry, and the Nelsplat shoots amazing for just 41.12 a case. You can bring paint if you want or if you get the hookup from somewhere as long as it's not reaction/impact/monster balls/recon, or any of that Walt-Mart crap. I'd just suggest getting it there.

Gun tech services are available, a lot of times they are even free if it's simple & you are willing to inflate the field or ref a game while someone fixes your marker. Sometimes they give out free hot dogs or Popsicles too.

the pro shop is not very well stocked, but they can probably order anything you need.

Generally, the other players are great. Since it's a small field, everyone gets to know one another fast & gets along. Every field gets the occasional hot head, but very rarely do you see them again in a week or two at Gorilla.

They have a very clean Porta John, it practically never gets used, and is serviced weekly.
A charcoal grill is available as well as microwave & crock pot.
The playable areas span about 30 acres on mostly rugged terrain, so it's good exercise.

The staff is very friendly, The "15 year old ref " mentioned in the following posts is actually a great guy. He's never claimed to be "pro" & would actually be the first to correct anyone who said that he was. Some people just slap that label on anyone who has a Jersey, Pants, & nice gun.

Overall, I would say it's a great place to play. If you're from Cartersville, Canton. Woodstock, Fairmount, Adiarsville, Acworth, Calhoun, or anywhere around in that area, you should at least check it out to see for yourself. You might want to make it your home field like I did.
Last edited on Friday, April 16th, 2010 at 7:03 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thegoonie Friday, September 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Rydal Ga.
Review: Pros
Great woodsball
Very helpful
CHEAP!!!
Mix things up
Very nice staff
Always giving great tips

Cons
Unless you call ahead, plan to wait about fifteen minutes to start playing
Wish they had more parts for markers in the shop

I have only played this field, but they make it so much fun and affordable we (7 of us) keep going back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

matt78 Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I went to this field on a Sat. and was overall very pleased with the setup that i found. I am new to paintball and had ALOT of questions. Doug, the guy who was there was more than willing to help. Safety is the goal at Gorilla War Paintball. There is no exception to this, i was told if anyone did not comply with the safety rules they would be asked to leave. The Pro shop is small, but adequate for the 4 fields they have. Pricing is also comprable to other fields i have searched ing the Atlanta area. I give this field an 8 becuase of cleanlyness, sevice and safety.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kujo Saturday, December 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Atlanta Painball, Nitro
Review: The Pros-
Large fields for full battles-1
Small fields for tiny skirmishers-2
Great woodsball field-3
Price-4
Time (10:00-5:00)

The Cons-
Hire a 15 year old "Pro"-5
Took an hour just to play-6
Takes 2 hours to get there-7
FOREVER to explain Rules-8


1) Large fields that can fit 15-20 people on each Side
2) Small fields for 5-10 people on each sie
3) Some of the best woodsball fields ive been to
4) $16 for field and all-day air
5) One of the ref's was 15 years old, which so am I, but he thought he was "Pro" and knew everything about paintball...wich he didn't
6) Ive gone here twice and the last time it took an hour to play after we got there, the first time it didn't. Im a woodsballer but all they played was speedball, but i think it could have been the large group that was there.
7) Self explanatory, took two hours to get there(wont count in rating)
8) Again, happened the second time only and might have been due to the fact there was a large church group


I give it an 8 because Im not sure if half of the cons were because of the day. I would recommend this field to anyone, in spite of the two hour trip.
Last edited on Saturday, December 1st, 2007 at 5:58 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

JoeyTheMost Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Cons-
The drive

Pros-
The owners and refs are so kind, chill, and helpful. Even his son lil' nicolas helped out!
clean restroom.
Well kept fields, lots of places to move around and hide. Good for 15 on 15 or 3 vs 3.
Really good woodsball and speedball fields.
The best prices for field/air fee, paint, and rentals i have ever seen.
There are so many tables and chairs to put your stuff and rump.

I give it a 10 for the best place i have ever played.

Just give it a shot, its worth the drive.


Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

africo Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 27th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: Had a group of around 25; carpooled from Kennesaw and Villa Rica to get there. Long drive but def worth the trip. Refs were great, fields were fantastic, and price was low. Hell, I'd play there if the price was higher. Maybe I shouldn't have said that.

Anyways, will def be back. Speedball court is larger than I'm used to, but was surprisingly more fun as well. Speedball accommodated 10 vs 10 teams. Woods fields were expansive and lots of equal cover available regardless of starting side.

A++. Only bad thing was the 1.5 hr drive, but that should say a bit about the field.

Ok that's all!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

sand_man Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
None really
Directions
to the Field:
Just check their website
Review: Ok, I'm a paintballing noob, but this is a GREAT field. The owner is really nice, he reffed a few of our games, and he was very helpful to my party and I (it was a few of their first times playin paintball) The prices cant be beat for around here (I've done research on prices) It is only 20bu cks for field fees and UNLIMITED co2 refills. HPA is only 5 bucks more for unlimited i think. If you are renting equipment, you must use their paint, if you bring your own equipment, you can BYOP. The rental markers are nicely maintained, they are tippmann 98cs, not one of them had a problem for my friends....can't wait to go there with my new SpyderMR1 I'm hoping to get =)...They have 4 fields, 3 woodsball and one reg speedball. The folks that play there are nice, they answered Qs and let us play a few rounds in with them.....All in all, it is a great field, just 1 mark off since they only have 4 fields, but they are going to make more, since they have 160+ acres of land...PLAY HERE! you won't regret it
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

DemonSpawn Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 10th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Directions
to the Field:
From I-75 Exit 312 travel East to Fairmount/Hwy 411 when you get to Hwy 411 make a right Head south on Hwy 411 you will pass the county line on the way when you see mile marker 25 start to slow down because there are little signs that say paintball that are on the left and you will need to make a left. Look for the signs or mailbox number 500 on the left.
Review: The Field's are fun me and my friends really enjoy this place its great for competition and the family to go out and have fun. I think the sign says ages 10 and up. The last few times I have bin there has bin several family's there. I highly recommend this field for all people that like to have fun. There is plenty of room for spectators and picnic tables. The Field Fee's and paint prices are great. If you don't have any gear don't worry the rental guns are good there Tippmann 98 Customs. I hope you will check this place out.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IrishMan12 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ultimate Paintball
Paintballs and More
Review: This is a new field and I love it because it is so close to where i live. It's like one of the mom and pop shops the staff is cool it's not like the big fields. They are just starting out but they have great potential. They have three fields so far and they're all fun one is capture the flag another is a woodsy form of speedball and the other puts you on a team that has to protect or storm a fort on a hill. they are now trying to bulid a speedball field. It's a lot of fun and the PRICES are the Lowest of in other field in the area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media