paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Open Range Paintball Field / Open Range Paintball Field / Open Range Paintball Field / Open Range Paintball Field

Open Range Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 502.243.8282
Address: 6401 Cross Keys Blvd
Crestwood, Kentucky 40014
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
AllStar Italian Thursday, April 21st, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: December 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Asylum- has better variety in fields but the quality of staff and fields don't even compare to Open Range
Directions
to the Field:
In Crestwood past South Oldham High School, and near the new Southeast Christian campus + the strip mall.
Review: Pros-

Safety is a priority
Staff is very helpful and friendly
Field is very well kept up with
Unlimited Reballs and compressed air
Good pro shop (ordering available here) and experience
Water fountains available
Reasonably priced
$30 all-inclusive, Friday after school special

Cons-

Not open as long as other fields
Players tend to be relatively inexperienced
Only one reball field
Field attendance is erratic and unpredictable- you may have to wait to play one day with one vs. one matches the next

Conclusion- This is my home field. I love the place, the people, and the pros heavily outweigh the cons.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ImpactPaintba11 Monday, December 13th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Third Eye,Paintball Asylum,Thunder Struck
Directions
to the Field:

6401 Cross Keys Blvd
Crestwood, KY 40014
Review: I play here with my team because we are 10 miles away.

The Pros are
-Nice Staff
-The Have a good verity of food and energy drinks there if they don't have it its Across the street of next door (like pizza or Chinese)
-Safety is enforced heavily
-Great Pro Shop
-Unlimited Reballs :-)
-And fair pricing

Cons
-none I can see but that's disputable

There is not really a perfect field anywhere but this is close
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyballa07 Sunday, October 12th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Asylum
Fun Farm
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to get to after the first time, for some reason mapquest gave me the wrong directions but its fairly easy and most of the people that live in the area know where it is and give great directions there. visit the website to get the address.
Review: Ok, I called the day before to verifiy they had the friday night special $30 for 4 hours, not bad. The young girl on the phone was very quiet and gave me very little information. They have a new phone system which makes getting information a lot easier. Once i got there, there was about 20 people there, 15 under 15 years of age and 5 over 15 so it was disponding atleast. getting checked in and paying was a snap. i got my air filled, and lowered my FPS to the field rule of 240, which is good for an indoor place. the refs were great, they were even concerned when i twisted my ankle and fell pretty hard. players were fair and very competative. They had energy drinks and some other drinks but only had a water fountain which was fine. the field was great, rules were honor system and no crossing the 50. my time spent there on my friday night was well worth it and would like the staff at open range very much for an entertaining night, inwhich i plan to go back shortly.

I give the field a 10 out of 10. great atmosphere and field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

eclipsepb173 Thursday, May 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Killer Paintball
Futureball
Thirdeye
Asylum
None of these fields even come close.
Review: Of course like every paintball field that pay to play at safety is #1.
The hours are very reasonable and you get the play that you pay for.
Its forty dollars for all day play, air, and all the reballs you can shoot. (alot)
The same as everywhere barrel bags outside of field, goggles on always on the field, the only different rule is that you cannot take reballs outside of the field.
Proshop is the whole lobby basically very good prices.
The refs are probably the best i've ever seen.
Lots of good players play there.
The bathrooms are very clean very very clean.
They sell snack or at the desk you can pay for a pizza and they will go and pick it up.

BEST FIELD ON PLANET EARTH. 10/10
I can say that i've played in the d1 psp, and NPPL divisions and they don't compare.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnapShooter2007 Tuesday, June 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Diehard
unlimitedpaintball
Asylum
Directions
to the Field:
Openrangesports.com
Review: Simply the best field Ive ever played at great staff,SUPER nice field,
clean reballs.
its just simply the best field of all time try it for your self and see what I mean.
Safety is number one priority and always will be.
Field gets a 10/10
hours are not bad at all.
Prices cant be beaten.
The Proshop is soo cheap and its a pretty good size.
staff are great!
Good refs (but its hard to ref reball).
Alot of great players go there.
And they also sell snacks and HotPockets *yumyum*

all in all I didnt believe in a perfect field but now I am a beliver.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BR3WER Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 3rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
their website explains it pretty good
Review: First off, the facility is excellent and very consumer friendly. You walk through the front doors entering their proshop which has more reputable gear than any other proshop I have visited. Their staff is friendly, mainly teenagers who love the sport. It is reball however which makes it hard for the refs to call but the honesty system seems to work there. The turnout was a bit low the day I was there but fun none the less. I was having a bad problem with my pulse not grounding correctly due to the reballs, but besides that my expierence was a positive one. The only negative is that pods aren't allowed on the field which takes some time to get used to.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbkid9000 Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've only been to this one but from what my friends say the other places arn't even close
Directions
to the Field:
go to mapquest.com
Review: great deal 30 bucks may seem expensive but its for all day air all day reballs and 4 hrs of play but this is only on fridays. on sat its like 45 or 55 i think. Thats a little more pricy but its for all day and you get the same stuff..Plus there is always about 5 new players so you won't b the only 1 if u have never played before..go to this site and watch the video http://youtube.com/watch?v=DQVUUt3ofL0 its a little old but its still good
Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 5:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartpartsoulja Friday, January 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 19th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun Farm (sucky farm)
Review: Safety- saftey is #1 priority, masks and barrel bags are ALWAYS enforced
Fields- 1 reball field with AMAZING turf, grafitied walls, music, and sup air ball bunkers (including a snake, dorito, and a mini x) and a paintball field (haven't played)
Hours- dont know for sure, usually open late, chek website openrangesports.com
Prices- a bit pricy, but free paint/reballs, air, gun rentals, chest protectors, pods
friday after school from 4-9 is only $30
Proshop- has uniforms, CUSTOM ion triggers, guns, psi/co2 tanks, gloves, etc.
Refs- friendly and help out any new players, very fait
Staff- OUTSTANDING! owner is very approchable and helps any new players learn the game
Facilites- New building very nice
Food- No restaurants, vending machines, hot pockets, chef boyarde a good pizza place, deli and chinese place all close to the field
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

guywithorracle Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 1st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
The fun farm and they sucked
Review: Ok I give these guys the best i have been there about 10 times. My first time i had to play with their factory team and i got shoot 20 times but besides that they gave me pointers and told me what upgrades to get for my gun and now i am laying ropes with a autococker orracle
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

yeahitskenny Thursday, September 21st, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ThirdEye - Doesnt Compare at all
Directions
to the Field:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&saddr=&daddr=6401+Cr
oss+Keys+Blvd%2C+Crestwood%2C+Kentucky+40014&hl=en
Review: Well i guess ill give a basic rundown of all the areas:

Safty- Safty is Number 1 at Open Range. They strictly enforce it but at the same time let you have fun. Theres no reballs off the field and your mask has to be on at all times on the field which is completly understandable.

Field- The field is great its usally got a great set up of bunkers. Theres now a Mini X and A SNAKE which is amazing. The turf is amazing barry said it cost over 80000 to install and he deffinetly got a great deal on it this stuff is amazing.

Prices- The prices in my opinion are great. Some people complain, but when you think about it $45 for all day air and unlimited reballs is amazing.

Services- The place is also a Rifle and Pistol range which is really great if your into that. As far as Paintball the refs will be happy to help teck your gun for $5 or sometimes for free.

Proshop- There proshop is pretty good its got most all the basic needs they carry jerseys, pants, hoppers, all the basic stuff. They dont really have marker specific upgrades mostly just upgrades in genral like Asas and Fittings and stuff. They also carry Dm6's, Pm6's, Dm5's, Eteks, IOns, Tippman A5's, Tippman 98 Customs,etc.


Staff and Refs - The Refs and Staff are great. I happen to be one of them lol. We all are pretty experienced with paintball and can help with pretty much everything.

Players- The Players Range alot theres always New players up there ofcourse and theres usally alot of good players up there i would say its usally about 50 -50 maybe 40 -60 infavor of the new players.

Food and Facilities - Food wise theres a deli about a stones throws away and a chinese place about a minute away on foot. I did hear that Open Range is maybe going to start carrying food like hotpockets and stuff though so that would be great.

Conclusion- There really isnt anything wrong with Open Range. Its a great place where you can have tons of fun at and get to know alot of great people.


I give this field a 10/10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media