paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park / Hollywood Sports Park

Hollywood Sports Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
161Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 9030 Somerset Blvd
Bellflower, California 90706
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
chrisjlow Monday, April 18th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 16th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village under the same company Giant Paintball Parks better for walkon players you can play more games because more fields and hardcore players love the speedball arenas you can play lots of games as walk-ons. Jungle Island Paintball Park has a great variety of fields and terrains great for walk-ons. Last time I went many years ago not to many speedball fields. Old tombstone was great, I have not made my way out to Inland Empire Paintball Park in Colton hope to go there soon.
Directions
to the Field:
Major Intersection is Lakewood Blvd. and Somerset very easy to find.
Review: I have been going to Hollywood Sports since it has open up. My experiences has always been a positive experience. My most two recent trips was walk-on in February, 2011 and my wife loved the speedball arena because even with the group of 4 we had it was like having a private group where we can play 2 on 2 with our group or play a 4 on 4 match with other groups waiting and sometimes just mixing our group up and playing with other groups and having a great time, all players were very cool, refs were helpful when my sister in law got a bounce and was about to call herself out the ref told her to stay covered and play on. Staff all around were very helpful, even the gun tech helpful when my gun had a very minor issue he gave me great service with a smile.

This past weekend I organized a private group with Hollywood Sports and every time I called and had a question the staff was very helpful and accomodating. Jessie and Sarah were both very helpful in answering questions, booking and making adjustments to my contract when needed. On the day of our private game check in time was initially 9:00 am I was outside on the picnic tables collecting fee, waivers and passes that I lost track of time. At 9:30 am Matt our ref came out to greet me and asked if there was anything he could help me with. I got everything together and he walked me to Paulina in the Pro Shop and along with Matt the Check In process took only 10 minutes for 24 players. Paulina got our cases of paint checked them and we were on our way. Watched Safety video, got rentals, filled up with paint, chronoed guns, got us a field and played 3 games on the first field. Then went out to staging area to fill up with paint went to the next field played 3 games again. Then went to fill tanks with Air. Matt took his mandatory break as we took our lunch came back and played 6 more games ended the day a 4:00 pm. My whole group really enjoyed playing paintball at Hollywood Sports and want to go back. Great fun.

To offset the cost of all day air and field paint only there are many passes that you can buy for $10 or less for entry and necessary equipment rentals for the day. Living only 10 minutes away help me have a fun day of paintball without have to drive an hour and 30 minutes or more round trip to other fields. Having two kids it helps me get to the paintball park in 10 minutes and back in 10 minutes.

I am giving Hollywood Sports a 10 because I have always recieved great customer service from all HSP employees.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mcd0minguez Thursday, January 13th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 1st, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball rancho murieta ca
Review: The courses are set up well with room to roam. The refs are nice and helpful. The games only lasted 5-10 mins and I spent most of the day waiting to play instead of actually playing. Nice play to go if you have a group of friends but if you are by yourself it can get boring while you wait.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Ball Kill Monday, July 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: July 9th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: I've played at this Park for years and I really like it. I always have a blast here at this Park. The Customer Service is amazing and reffs, There is nothing to complain about this Park. Everyone is very helpful here and their just looking out for their guests, for them to have fun and for their customers to have fun. This Park is great.


Hours of Operation Prices
Monday--------- 12pm - 10pm Monday-------- $10 (Airsoft = $15)
Tuesday--------- 12pm - 8pm Tuesday-------- $10 (Airsoft = $15)
Wednesday----- 12pm - 8pm Wednesday---- $10 (Airsoft = $15)
Thursday-------- 12pm - 10pm Thursday------- $10 (Airsoft = $15)
Friday----------- 12pm - 10pm Friday---------- $15 (Airsoft = $20)
Saturday-------- 9am - 10pm Saturday------- $25 (Airsoft = $25)
Sunday---------- 9am - 8pm Sunday--------- $25 (Airsoft = $25)

Hollywood Sports Address:
9030 Somerset Blvd.
Bellflower, CA 90706
Office Phone: (562) 867-9600

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

il-matic Monday, March 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 7th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island & SC Village. All parks are unique in their own right.
Review: Everything was pretty cool except for 2 rules that I have a BIG problem with. First is, I do not like the "No outside paint" rule & then on Fridays they let you, but they do not accept passes on those days, so no matter what, the "house wins" & they get their $25+. Secondly, the rule of "any shot that lands on your marker or hopper is a hit". Are they kidding? At SC Village they clearly state that any marker or hopper shots do not count as a hit. So, since they are both Giant Paintball parks, shouldn't they have the same rules??? So, other than those 2 unreasonable rules, I still had a good time. I will only frequent this park ever so often because of those so-called "rules". Overall I gave it a 5 because I already spend enough money on paintball as it is & I hate feeling forced to spend more than I have to, also a hit in my book is anywhere on the body, just not on your freakin' marker or hopper. Next stop, The Paintball Park in Camp Pendleton. : )
Last edited on Tuesday, March 9th, 2010 at 10:05 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BarrelTagz Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village-true ballerz
CPP-love the byop
Review: So i've been on pbnation for a long time figured it was time to get on the review and let people know how I feel.

I've played at hollywood sports for a long time. I've had good and bad experiences just like anyone else has. Just wanted to let everyone know about my most recent. Decided to play at HSP the day before Decay of Nations just for fun and to test out my markers. Also wanted to test out the paint before the game, see what kind of day I was going to be in for on saturday and sunday. Surprisingly, i was impressed with the improvements in the paint since the last time i used it. I had been talking with David on pbnation, one of the hsp employees, about the paint for some time and was happy to see he was taking our comments seriously about improving the paint. I had a great day out there, just messing around with the walk-ons, even played a couple rounds of hyperball for fun. Usually im just a scenario guy who sticks to playing the big games, "Castle Conquest, Decay of Nations, D-Day oklahoma, and some of the Viper tournaments" but all in all i have to say that if you just want to have fun you really cant beat playing over at hsp, unless you're playing at SC village. but thats another story.

I always hear people complaining about the local fields, its hard to take it sometimes. If you really want things to change you need to stop saying things like this park sucks, and that paint is horrible. Its time that all you paintballers started giving constructive criticism, tell them exactly how things need to change and see if they dont take you more seriously. Let them know why things are good or bad, give them specific reasons "shells are thick, need faster turnarounds for walk-ons" and they will take them to the higher ups. Things can only get better if we decide to help in the process.

Overall, I give my day out at hsp an 8/10
It was too hot to give it a 9.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rascal1515 Tuesday, September 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village....the big brother
Review: I've read a lot of bad reviews on this place and was reluctant to try it out. but with the BYOP Labor day special going on I figured why not give it a shot. I have to say it wasn't as bad as I was led to believe. I would call it SC Village Jr. Check in was easy enough. Chrono went a bit slow since the employee was actually helping people adjust their markers, but I really shouldn't complain about a helpfull employee. Yes we had to watch the safety video, but it was in a nice air conditioned room with nice chairs so it wasn't that bad. We played a lot of walk on games with quick turnarounds. The refs went over the rules of each field everytime (like they do at SC). How quickly that went depended a lot on how much the players payed attention, some chuckleheads just wont shut up. The only field that needed a MAJOR cleaning was the Forbidden City. We were sinking in paintmud in a few spots. We didn't play any hyperball, and the speedball field wasn't inflated. Never have seen it inflated for that matter. Being a BYOP day, I cant comment on the field paints quality, but it was on sale for $27 for a case of 1600, so even if I needed it, the price was decent.

Pros--- Fun recball fields; Refs were good enough in my opinion; played plenty of games over the course of the day; employees were poilte and helpful; great hours of operation (9am -10pm)

Cons--- Fields need to be cleaned; field do get over crowded.

Overall it was a good day of paintball. I prefer the larger size of SC Village, but I certainly would go back to Hollywood Sports for a bit of variety.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

m4mech Monday, August 24th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
sc and cpp. HSP is closer to my house.
Review: Safety: they do make you watch the safety video. at first it kinda bugged but as long as you know the rules u dnt hv to watch it. and if the ref asks you abt rule # 1 or what ever you know

Fields: are diverse and well staged. But I like more open woodland like cpp.

hours of operation: I thing 14-10pm and 9-10 on the weekend. they are open every day of the week until september or something. I ve been going on wed and fri most of the times. coz friday is bring ur own paint.

Prices: you pay for what you get. I guess the price is fair

Rules are there are NO RULES :).. u know basic rules keep ur mask down , barrel plug, etc..

Services: good customer services, When I used to come on the weekends I used to deal with lines and I HATE LINES. but during the week its pretty smooth and I like it

refs: they are helpful and polite.
Food: its chicken fries hot dog and pizza. but there s tons of places to buy around the park

in general I like hsp, it's not woodland but it's different and I like diversity coz I get bored with playing on open fields
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

bracer028 Saturday, August 15th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 15th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
HSP, Camp Pendleton, Jungle Island, Mr. Paintball, Raza Field, Warped SPorts
Review: (parenthetical phrases shall be my opinion of what I am thinking at the time)

Today, I went up and bunkered a player from up top. shot him once within 2 feet. I didn't want to shoot him more than once because....well for safety reasons and I was right on top of his head and didn't want to give that guy a headache if i let it rip.

The player claims that the ball bounced off of him and he didn't want to come out because of it. I informed the ref you have to get him out because well I bunkered him within two feet. Its only fair that he would surrender in that situation. After I shot him i hid on the poison side of the bunker. (refs have made it known that you should not shoot a player up close more than once or twice or shoot a player within 10 feet of you That's one of the rules they preach).

The ref didn't want to listen and said..."well if the ball bounced, he should still be in". I got ticked off because this ref obviously has no idea how to control the game or how to hand out the rules. Let's name this ref BOBBY.

I then popped out of the poison bunker and let 20-30 balls rip on the gun right on top of his head. The situation should not have come to that. I, of course, was shot out because I was wide open ripping on the guy.

After the game, BOBBY approached me and spoke with me. If the ball does not break then the player should not be out.

I told BOBBY, "isn't one of the rules that you give is that if you are within 10 feet of the player, shoot him in the butt, the leg, or body? I was right on top of him and could have ripped his head with red bumps".

The ref replied "well surrender is an option".

I responded "last week, the ref in the orange t-shirt told me that I shouldn't be ripping on players that close". The ref in the orange actually on that day, held my barrel so that I would cease shooting.

Bobby replied, "isn't he the manager, I worked here for 3 years as a ref, I know the rules. If the balls don't break, you are not eliminated" (Bobby is completely incompetent. He worked here for 3 years, can't even get promoted to manager and still making minimum wage, and still doesn't know how to control a game).

I told Bobby, "ok you said it. Next time I'll just keep shooting until i see a break. (which doesn't make sense for the safety of the park, since we all know the balls are crap).

(I believe this field needs some major changes. If you are going to stick by one rule go for it. Don't try to change a rule because you are incompetent to make a decision).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

MrFloppemz Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: July 24th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPP not as good in my opinion
Directions
to the Field:
Bellflower. Check their website
Review: Ok, so i know theres a lot of people b****ing about how bad the refs are and etc. And im going to have to agree with some of their points.

2/3 of the refs there are fine, and theres no problem at all, some are even fun to be around

The rest are just a**holes total and complete machines that only know how to ruin your day. They dont give a dam about what you think or if your one of the only ones playing fair. I havent had too many encounters with these refs but ive seen plenty of them from my 4 years of going to HSP

Their fields need to be CLEANED. There is so much paint build up in some places, it acts like gum, and my friend and I were bunkering the other team, when the gunk (our nickname for the paint build up) pulled his shoe off, tripped him, and he faceplanted on the floor. If they could only have cleaning days twice or three times a week, it would make a big difference.

Oh yeah, they sell stuff in the Pro-shop but usually you NEVER want to buy anything there cuz its all overpriced. And also, if you go on fridays you can bring your own paint, and i highly recommend you do cuz the paint they sell is not only overpriced, ITS CRAP (well at least 97% of the time)

Ok so im pretty sure im done with all the negativity. Now to the positive stuff that keeps me coming back.

Hours of Operation: HSP's Hours are uncontested! What other field do you know that is open 10 hours at a time for 3 consevutive days?? (AKA weekend)

Safety: at HSP Safety is decent, i have had a serious injury from my 4 years of going there. The worst was on my birthday a guy bunkered me with Frozen paintballs AND shooting above 300 fps. Luckily i was only hit in the thigh, but i had to have a ref help me off of the field because my leg was paralyzed for about 30 minutes.

Players: it hasnt changed too much between the four years but now, it will usually be 45% newbies 30% average joes 25% actual good/decent players. The biggest problem i have with the players is that there are two types of newbies: First, the newbie with a rental who doesnt do sh*t and hangs back in the field waiting to be bunkered. Next the newbie who has all the gear, but none of the skill and either doesnt do f*ck, or goes halfway up the field and acts like a total idiot bothering the actual decent players.

Fields: They have a handful of decent speedball fields (i think they call it hyperball at HSP now) but ive only played on them once. The fields i always play on are the main fields (scenario ball) These fields are amazing! they use actual movie props from Mad Max, Starship Troopers, Terminator, and Tomb Raider. This adds a great variety and is one of the main reasons i like going to HSP.

FOOOOD: Theres a bunch of vending machines with, chips, candy, soda, water, ice cream and etc... They are functional MOST of the time. Also they will occasionally sell pizza in the pro shop, and theres also a hot dog stand :]

So yeah thats pretty much my review. Overall i would say go there at least once or twice, because its a really unique paintball field. Who knows, you might like it and come back.









Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

luvpaints Sunday, July 5th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: July 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPP Sc village and Action Paintball Park. The later was horrible. I went there twice and twice was so bad and I am never going back and I am telling all my friends. As for CPP and Sc, they have great customer service and very professional. HSP too and I go there more because I live close to it.
Review: Hollywood sports feels like disneyland, I mean it is just great. I love playing there. the staff is great. When I first started playing I was still new to paintball and they taught me everything from what paint to have to guns and how to play. They are friendly and knowledgeable. The fields lay out is nice because they are close to each other and we can finish one game and change field without having to go on long walks and waste time...itss boom finish from one and to the other. I Like that. The paint overthere is actually not expensive its 36 for 1600 rds . try to buy a case from outside..it cost more. Plus they have restaurant on the premises which is nice after a long day....drink and pizza..mmmmmmmmmmm!!
I can't wait to play next weekend...
Happy 4th of july!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
7 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media