paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field / Fox 4 Paintball Field

Fox 4 Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
143Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 159 Milford Street
Upton, Massachusetts 01568
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
1MPUR1TY Saturday, November 27th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
nothing else in the area but...

NewBreed, ABC Paintball, and Cousins in NJ
NVP Paintball in Rochester
Review: **Note: I only played a tournament there once with my teammates and other teams. ( no local players to my knowledge =/ )


I like their setup a LOT! Tons of pit areas placed between the fields and a well stocked proshop. I would have thought the compressor that was by the swamp would be putting out a ton of moisture, but it appeared to be nice and clean!

The field we played on was right by the "swamp". good job netting it (netted from the bottom down) however this caused a lot of old paint to build up around the base of the netting, and in turn, around the snake I had to play -_-



Regardless, I have no problem giving these guys a solid 9/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

moses688 Monday, November 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 6th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Executive, Frendly Fire, Mats Asp, RC splat, Hogans Alley, Matt's, liberty
Review: I like this field, there are always 30 - 50 walk on players. Play is pretty competitive, and good sportsmanship. The refs are good guys, and keep the games fun and in control.

Pros:
Price $65, field fee all day air and a case of paint (stinger or V1 usually) I find this to be incredibly decent.
Fun Games, they mix it up center flag, capture the flag, attach and defend.
Cool fields, they have a bunch of good fields.
A bunch of old guns hung up on the wall in the store, some cool paintball history to look at.
Also if your into it they have a couple speed ball fields also.

Cons:
They insist on 5 min unlimited recycle during most woods games, and I am such an undisciplined player I will empty my pack eliminating players while they can just walk back in after going back to their starting fort. It usually take me 2 games or so to remember not to shoot a ton until the recycle is over. This is my only gripe about this place.

I give it an 8 out of 10, I reserve 9s and 10s for places that are perfect.

No doubt you will have fun here though.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

msdamato Monday, June 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
P&L Paintball #1
A&G Paintball #2
Canobie Paintball #3
Fox 4 Paintball #4
Boston Paintball (Indoor) not included in comparisons
Directions
to the Field:
easy to find with gps
Review: Let me start by saying this review as well as any of my other field reviews DOES NOT incude speedball /airball fields unless they are played in rotation with the woods ball fields, or I specify otherwise.

Safety= 4
Although the refs were on top of all the normal saftey issues (barrel bags, masks down, surrenders, chrono) there were some major concerns.
1st is the field layout. by that I mean that the main path to walk from field to field is through the center of them all. Meaning when you were done with a game either by getting shot out or game end, you cross through other live games to get to the staging area. On one walk out I was shot in the side of the head and another time in the back. I don't believe either were on purpose but is however a serious safety concern as far as I am concerned.
2nd is about paint type. Most of us know that monsterball and other big box store paint is not allowed on fields. If you don't already know the reasoning it's because their paintballs are typicaly hard shell for shipping purposes and they usually sit for an extended period of time before you buy it off the shelf. This makes for a dangerously hard paintball. On this fields waiver there are pictures of these paints including monsterball. So when a friend needed an extra bag of balls and returned from the on site store with Monsterballs I was confused. I obviously questioned him as well as other people around who I noticed had the same paint. They all responded that the person at the window said that was what they had left. In disbelief I walked to the window and asked for 500 rounds to which the woman said "all I have is Monster" . I didn't need the paint but had to hear it for myself. I thought maybe it's something different but apon inspection the paint was purple shell with yellow fill and HARD!!! I could not break a ball in a drop test and even with a little throw could not break it. I infact had to, not jut stand on it but stomp on it to get it to break! How a field sells a paint to players that they have said is unsafe is a MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN!!!!!
Because of these two concerns and others I will talk about, I have to give this field a below average safety rating.

Fields = 4
There are about five woodsball fields including two small villages. Most of the fields have some sort of a theme (village, Radio tower, town) but are all very similar.
I give the fields a below average rating for three reasons. First is that the boundry's are poor at best and explained even worse. When questioned about the boundrys for a game the ref actually said "just don't go to far". Yes, that is a direct quote. And what the hell is "TO FAR" . So not only did people flank by going outside the boundrys but there was some cross shooting between two different games.
Second is that the bunkers and buildings are poor construction. By "poor" I don't mean unsafe but that there are large gaps in most of the siding, ranging from 1 to 3 inches. These bunkers and buildings provide poor cover at times, and make it to easy to "blindfire" through cracks.
Third that the ground is not well cleared. Meaning there are alot of rocks and stumps to trip over or fall on. This is a common prooblem at fields in the northeast but the better ones have done a good job to clear the feilds of rocks and stumps.

Prices = 8
Paint is $45 to $65 for a case.
The best deal was if you bring your own equiptment $55 gets you entrance, air, and a case of paint (heat or stinger). that's the best deal i've seen so far. Otherwise entrance and air is $25 for the day.
Food prices were good $4 for two dogs,chips and a soda. Burgers were $2 as were gatoraids.
I give the field a great rating for their prices because I would say average for a day of paintball with field paint is about $75.

Services/facilities/proshop = 7
The proshop looked good and well stocked although I didn't use it. The air fill was self serve after a hydro date check and a ziptie on your tank. the 4500psi fill statinon was actually putting out 4500psi which I have found to be a problem at other fields. The chrono station had only one chronograph so that got backed up at the begining of the day. The staging area was good, pleanty of picnic tables and alot with umbrellas or tents for shade. I would suggest being early to get some shade though. Overall was very clean and besides the chrono station was above average. Add one more chrono gun and I'd give it an 8.

Rules = 4
I don't typically comment on this because most rules are universall between fields. This field however has a different blind fire rule than most. The blind fire rule is typically that your head must be visible behind your gun. This means two things, first is don't stick your gun around a corner and fire, and second when firing through a window or opening the opponent must be able to see your head behind your gun. This keeps people from firing through cracks. At this field (and I asked more than one ref) the rule is that if you can see where you are shooting it's ok. With the poor bunker conditions a player can find a crack to stick a barrel through and another to look through and successfully hold off the opposing team without being in danger of being hit. This rule is not condusive to a good and fair game and does not keep games moving and exciting. In fact it creates a easy means for a single player to stall a game.
The recycle rules were vague at best some games you had to touch your fort and then your back in and others you had to wait in a place until the refs called out that you were free. The problem was no one followed the rules!

Refs = 5
The refs here were on everyone for safety related things. They even made an announcement about "overshooting" halfway through the day, saying it would not be tolerated. They however did a poor job of breaking up teams placing a majority of experienced players on one team, and not keeping the numbers even. In one instance they counted players and moved a few from one side to the other. No big deal! But when I counted It was now a game of 15 on 11! Being on the deficient team my friend and I spoke up and the ref said "I know, thats ok". Needless to say a four man advantage was enough to win both games we played before heading back to staging.
They were all young, not to say that was the reason for any actions good or bad but I have seen some comments regarding that and it was true.

Conclusion
The speedball fields although I did not play on them looked to be the bread and butter of this operation. I have read many reviews saying they are some of the best around and from what I could see they were clean, the turf was in great shape, and the two fields were positioned for a good viewing area from staging. BUT it's summer now and it dosen't last forever, you have all winter to play speedball indoors. And for as well kept as the speedball fields were I expected a little better from the woodsball fields. I personally would go to any of the other fields I've played at over this one. That being said I will give this field an average rating teetering on below average, but i'll be nice.

Out of 60 points this field scores 32 on my scale.
Last edited on Monday, June 29th, 2009 at 2:18 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

imapost2003 Thursday, July 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 31st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire - best around
Directions
to the Field:
right on 140 not too tough to miss
Review: excellent speedball fields - turf, 3 fields, viewing area, couldn't really ask for more
decent woodsball - little dated, could use some updating and rearranging

Fox 4 draws quite a crowd on weekends which makes for busy games. The refs are clear with rules and games start promptly with creative variations. The food is well priced as well as the shop/paint and admission.

The refs at fox 4 are teenagers and at some points lose focus on the game and the players. They are afraid of confrontation with players and usually let players yell or battle it out while just observing from a distance. Also this is just my opinion but it seems like fox 4 caters to the higher end speedball player with little to no regard for getting newbs to enjoy their experience. The speedball teams are rarely made fare by the refs and there are many players out there that are out for blood, not just a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

dgshearns12 Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 10th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None no need to go anywhere else
Review: Fox 4 is awesome. The refs are great and they will help you with anything. The shop is great with good prices and great gun techs. Wookie has helped me up-grade everything i have. I would recomend Fox 4 to anybody.


P.S keep up the good work Fox 4
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmyman666 Thursday, February 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie Paintball (over priced)
Planet Paintball (speedball only, closed down)
Review: Ive been to fox4 a few times and some things i like about it are the refs are nice and they are knowledgable, the proshop can help you with any problems you have with your gun and they have good deals, they got a place to get food for a good price (2 hotdogs, chips, and a soda for $4), the courses are good, people are friendly, and they are open all year round (in the winter they have a fire in the staging area).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

P8ntballer06 Thursday, January 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 26th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Habitat paintball, Warzone paintball, Providence paintball.
Review: Hell Fox 4 paintball well fox4 has the best referee staff & the best Proshop staff. the first time i'v played there was for 1 of their scenario's Dea agents vs Cartel 3, I had a blast. Their referee's gave me great advice their proshop is insaine, great prices awsome gun tech. If i didn't live so far i would go to Fox4 paintball every day. The players that play speedball, woodsball, & Scenarioball are great people, their nice they give alot of advice to the No0bs, I cant forget the mess hall, great food to keep you warm on those cold days.
Last edited on Thursday, January 17th, 2008 at 8:38 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jaan Thursday, January 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: October 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Friendly Fire
Review: The one thing that I love about this field, more than anything else, is the spectacular reffing staff and their commitment to safety. In fact, the owners who started the field came from another field and it was the staff that I followed to the new field.

I've played at all sorts of fields and to be quite frank, most of them are terrible when it comes to safety. I played a couple of weeks ago at a local indoor field and it was my group of older players who were reminding players to put their barrel bags on and put their masks down. I even had to remind a ref to put his mask down inside the speedball field while he was trying to fix a gun. You won't find any of that going on at Fox 4.

fox 4 is pretty much the only place I'll take a newbie to the game. I know that they'll be safe there.

Oh yeah, the woodsball field is great, although swampy sometimes. I don't play speedball but the fields look nice.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

wellesp8bler314 Tuesday, January 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: November 24th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Playboyz, Friendly Fire, Boston Paintball
Review: These guys take safety seriously and it is one of the few fields i have played at that i feel 100% totally safe while on and off the field. the refs and staff are second to none, and go above and beyond to ensure everyone plays safe and fair, but above all has a good time and a great day of paintball. They run games very fluidly never leaving a dull moment out on the field. they have a great pro shop with everything you'll need and a marker repair area should you run into any kind of problems. Fox4 is a BYOP field but their prices are very reasonable. for fields they offer 40 something acres of woods packed with bunkers and themed bases, the woods field also include the western style town of Tombstone. for speedballers they offer two large fields with brand new turf (no more sand). Food there is pretty good and decently priced. cant go wrong with fox4, they do it right., which is why its the only field i will play at in MA.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sabertooth Sunday, December 30th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 20th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: The senario games are awsome. We are always helped by everybody that is there, both players and staff, if we have any questions or just dont know what we are doing. The staff really makes us feel welcome. There are other fields closer but we do not even bother with them we only go to Fox4. New players are always welcome.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media