paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Warpaint Paintball Field / Warpaint Paintball Field / Warpaint Paintball Field / Warpaint Paintball Field

Warpaint Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
4Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (440)-548-2442
Address: 12006 Fenstermaker Rd.
Nelson, Ohio 44231
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Thrall Tuesday, May 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 2nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pinnacle Woods- More courses that are more unique but much more $.
Review: The guys down at Warpaint (which is actually just a branch of the Targetthing/A & A shooting range in phone books, websites, etc.) are based in Nelson with a Garrettsville zip code right next to a racetrack and within a gun range. Firstly the gun range is safely to the side of the paintball course and adds realistic booms and sonic booming cracks to the battlefield which would likely only be found only in a large scenario game with propane cannons. Enough about that--let's get to the courses!

The field has 3 "speedball" courses and 1 small woods course that it currently under construction but admittedly has a lot of potential. The first course if full of earthmover tires (basically the tires from full sized tonka trucks) and barrels and is easily the best course there in terms of even-ness of sides, playability of all ages (nice big bunkers), and watch ability (it's right by the staging area). The second course is technically an extension of that course lengthwise and it full of barrels and plastic pieces that make another great speedball course with more smaller bunkers rather than a few large ones. Next there is a "facade" course which is in the woods (they do a great job at killing the poison ivy in this course) and is just a bunch of wooden walls with windows and in my opinion the best course there during the summer because it's all shaded and has a lot of strategy to it., not to mention improvisation (i decided in one of the bunkers it was easier to fly through a window then go around the side for a door). And again, lastly, is the woods course which is really and assault like course at the moment--there's a lean to type fort with and few random turned over tables and stick piles as cover where the defending team basically hides out in the fort and the attackers hail paint down on them hoping to get one out.

The field is run by one guy, Nate, who takes care of any of the paintball stuff there on weekends including filling tanks, selling paint, and selling stuff out of their well stocked but small paintball store. They usually sell co2 for $3 for a small tank and $4 for a large one, paint is $50 a case on gameday (it's good quality rec paint, no monster balls here) and $40 any other day. They will run on any day that they get a call in for 6+ people to come out and play so no walk ons. The prices are very fair and they do have good 98 rental markers. The refs are very nice, although a few of them can be over anal about safety in my opinion, but will put you in charge of getting everyone together to get a game started.

I have recently had a few fundraisers with them to raise money for my marching band and a local food bank and they where great about it--we took care of charging for admission and rental (in which we got all of the money form that) with free co2 (which was a good incentive for my friends because they rarely play at professional places like this) and each time we raked in over $300 a day with only about 20 people each day, so you can imagine how much $ you could make by having 0 then.

Overall they are just a mom and pop type field who believe in good prices, safety, simplicity, and helping out thier community and i would recommend them for birthday parties, bachelor parties, fundraisers, and just a day out with your friends because even if they "only" have 4 fields you don't pay an arm and a leg for crappy paint and overpriced entry fees like many other fields around here.

Edit: they may also let you do a $10 Bring Your Own Paint fee depending on the event.
Last edited on Tuesday, May 26th, 2009 at 5:10 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrobb Sunday, August 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
private fields
Review: After getting together a large group of people for a private party, we managed to find our way up to Garrettsville for a day of paintball at Warpaint. It was an hour drive for us, so we were worn out prior to arriving at the field, but once we got there everyone was excited to play. The guy that was working there (the owner) was the only person there. He was our ref as well when we were on the field. He was a nice guy and very relaxed. He made sure we were aware of the safety rules but let us know that we were pretty much governing ourselves in terms of being 'shot out'. He took care of everything including airing up tanks and he did a real good job.

The fields themselves are rather small and the one woooded/fort 'speedball' field was loaded with poison ivy. About half of our group got it really badly. Other than that, the field functioned well, although one side of the field has more of an advantage over the other, where you tend to get pinned inside the large fort and cannot advance.

The other field with the large tires and drums was nice. We preferred staying in the wooded field though because of the warm weather. Both fields were pretty wet from rain over the weekend but managed to drain fairly well aside from a few really wet spots near the back.

Overall it was a good experience and if it wasn't so far away, we would give it another chance. The prices were reasonable and the staff was friendly. Because the field is attached to a gun range, it was a bit nerve wracking listening to pistols and rifles blasting in the background.

The Bushido paint that he had was good and didn't break in the barrel. He said he used to order Empire Bullets but his guy stopped carrying it and told him this paint was comparable.

I would recommend it to people who live locally but urge you to not expect a whole lot. Compared to my local field (Splat in Canal Fulton), it is a more relaxed place where the rules are loose but enforced, whereas a place like Splat is trying to appeal to tourney ballers and woodsballers both and hold tournaments. Warpaint is not on that level but is still a decent little place to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

kas330 Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
local woods
Review: Refs are nice and helpful. Two fields: a bunker field, and a fort-style field. First time playing at an actual field, not just in the woods/other random places of play, and it was great. Cheap to play. Bring your cooler and some drinks, and definitely a change of clothes if it has been wet at all within the last few days. Overall it was very well, and I'll be going back within a few weeks or so! Enjoy.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Omniscient Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
first trip to a field
Directions
to the Field:
It's off 305 west.
Review: Gameplay / field-- They have two speedball fields. One is big and they play half of it at a time. It's constructed of big tires and drums on a grass field so sliding is cool. if i remember correctly it's 80 feet wide and 100 feet long with surrounding screen.
The other field is an enclosed wooded area. It has bunkers made of slats and various trees. when i played here someone mentioned that everyone usually leaves at noon. There were only about 10 people when i played there on a Sunday morning.

safety-- it may be a new field but the dude who was reffing doesn't take any ****. Goggles only come off when all marker's are either plugged or bagged. The ref said he will tackle you if you pull any crap here.

Pricing--- again. this is the first time i have played at an actual field so i have nothing to compare to. Admission is $10 bucks for halfday and $15 for all day. Paint is $14 for 500. $50 for a case of diablo heat. I bring a buddy and play all day through one case.
co2 refills are $3-4 buck depending on your tank but the owner has a bunch of tanks he brings back to the field if you need one. No hpa fills.

rules-- basic speedball. hopper/ gun hits count. you can ask someone to surrender if you're close and you can light them up if they raise their marker. Bunkering is legal if you do it on the run. No stopping and pulling a point-blank headshot.

Players-- about 8 people were there between 9:30 to 12:00 and more were coming as the day went by. Cool folks who just play the game to have fun. No wiping.

Proshop-- they have a small proshop where you can buy all the nescasary stuff. barrel condoms, pads, swabs, squeegie's stuff like that.

Facility-- the field is actually part of a shooting range where you can shoot clay pigeons. The paintball field is just part of the land.

*conclusion*--- great place to play. Go there if you get the chance. I enjoyed it and will return. If you don't mind playin with only a few people this is a great place. I'll give it a nine cuz no one's perfect.
Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 1:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media