paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Sylvan Lake Paintball Field / Sylvan Lake Paintball Field / Sylvan Lake Paintball Field / Sylvan Lake Paintball Field

Sylvan Lake Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
4Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 403-887-4487
Address: RR 39-2
Sylvan Lake, Alberta T4S 1P7
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Wa_Wa_We_Wa Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: May 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I been two almost every coarse in central alberta
Directions
to the Field:
Its straight across from Jarvis Bay campground
Review: The first paintball coase I when to was sylvan lake, It's where I started to love paintball. They only have three corses but the ones that they have are lots of fun. The woods ball has lots of advantage points hills and bunkers. The tire/ wood speed ball corse is alright but only one side is realy that good. And they just got a new air ball coarse witch is realy good its got doritos, snakes, tombs stones the works. And the staff is realy good they actuly enjoy what they do. Exept for a fat kid named Drew he's just a moron (dont listen to what he says) Prices are realy good to just bring your own crap.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dinkboy Thursday, August 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
One I can't remember the name in red deer a long time ago??
Paintball Busters
M.R Paintball Bragg Creek
Review: I had been out of playing paint ball for a little while, spent a year or so playing on and off in Bragg Creek and then came to Sylvan Lake paintball. It was for a B-day party and I was the only one that had my own equiptment but my friends complained a lot about the goggles being all scratched and not being able to see crap out of them. On my own experiences, the coveralls were pretty stank, it took forever to find anyone who could give me an air refill. I've got a 68/4500 and figured I'd get a refill around 1500 to be on the safe side and they only filled me up just over 2000... wtf? When I buy a nice tank I want all the air my tank is rated for or at least what a 3000 could handle. Also I found that safety was not enforced at all. Condoms were never on guns and the refs didn't say a thing. People were firing their guns just outside the enterance to a field and nothing was said. I got shot from someone pointing their gun through the netting who was already out, hitting me from behind and again no one said anything. Overall I wasn't too impressed with how things were handled and I'd rather not go back there again but around Red Deer right now there isn't a whole lot of options.

Safety asside, the fields they had were a little lacking from what I'm used to. They had 3, an inflatable field, regular bunker one (tires, wooden crosses...) and a crazy woodsball field. I like the woods best myself but it was friggin hot out and games in there took way to long to not have the mask fog up.

I'm giving it a 6 because although safety and service were almost non-existant it was a fun time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sylvan Sniper Thursday, July 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Busters. Busters didn't have a woods course, and is on hiatus due to real estate issues. Busters had it more "together." The lack of local competition is a great boom for SLP, but are they taking advantage?
Directions
to the Field:
Couldn't be easier to find. It is directly across the street from the entrance to Jarvis Bay Provincial Park. Take Highway 11 West from Red Deer and turn right (North) on Highway 20. Continue north on 20 after the four-way stop at the interesection of Highways 20 and 11A. About three minutes up the road. Again, look for the Park signs. It's a left (west) on Township Road 392 (I think 392, don't quote me)
Review: SLP has potential written all over it. If any field could ever brag about "location," this is the one. The speedball course is oddly addictive, even if the "cross" bunkers are limiting, and the airball course gets switched up with refreshing regularity. The only negative I can think of field-wise would be the woods ball course that had a positively insane number of mosquitos earlier in the year. If they paid field fees the owner would be richer than Gates. This problem has lessened, however, and is hardly his fault. Undergrowth is dense, but not tangled and usually waist-high. Lots of snap shooting and ambushing, and a reasonable size. Little time wasted moving from a to b, action starts quick in the woods.

As mentioned in the area fields block, SLP's closest competition, Busters, has closed for the summer so some players from the Red Deer area are now coming to Sylvan, but not as many as you might think. I'm not sure SLP has jumped on this opportunity. I've seen no advertising (not saying there's none, but I haven't seen it) and I wonder if any effort has been made to reach out to the displaced Red Deer players.

The other problem I have I've been observing the whole time I've been going to SLP is that "Walk On Wednesday" can be a bit of a pain. The problems are groups of kids, and older teens or adult renters. For different reasons, but the key element is supervision.

The little kids have no concept of what walk-on means, and they routinely refuse to allow any players outside their group, however small, to play with them. The staff usually supports this. An unfortunate few push the boundries a little further, and I have "lost" minor equipment at this field. Small stuff that was in my bag, and suddenly this renting kid happens to have the same kit. "Nice tubes, Kid." Frustrating, but to be fair I can't prove anything. I've also experienced more than one paint beggar. What this field needs is consistant, enthusiastic supervision of the kids in terms of behaviour, not safety. So they shoot lots of paint, and are controlled from hogging a course for seemingly never ending one-on-ones.
One thing that is out of control for them (and all fields, I'm sure) is the increasingly interesting "Paintball Mom." I found it entertaining and distrubing to watch young junior take his marker to Mom complaining about not hitting anybody, and watching Mom remove the condom and fiddle "to see what's wrong." Suddenly she's a tech? In that case, staff was on her like a hawk, but she was most indignant that there was something wrong with the gun. Of course, it couldn't be that junior was three feet high, the gun was as long as his leg, and it was his first time playing. It was almost comical. As a completely useless aside, at least some of the Moms have been smokin', smokin' hot.

I should repeat that the kids at the field are kept in line in terms of safety, googles on, always. I have never seen SLP let safety slide with their young players. Sportsmanship and behaviour, yes, safety, never.

As for the renting adults. More-often-than-not they also have a problem playing with people with their own equipment, but are generally more open to the idea if the teams are mixed well. Even more so for the older crowd, supervision is minimal, and I am not alone at having seen a rental adult walk off after being hit, through the middle of a game, paint flying, with their mask off. You'd think having the spectators freaking out and yelling "mask! mask!" might get the owner or staff's attention. So far it hasn't. Seriously, just because you're eliminated doesn't mean you're immune. Older teens and adults are trusted to self-police too much.

There's a minimalist proshop, but their online business is growing, and they're more than happy to help with fixes, upgrade ideas, and if he hasn't got the part he'll get it.
Walk-on paint prices are great, and there're burgers on by 6:00.

I am surprised that SLP has not jumped on the opportunity that they've got this summer, especially considering how easy they are to find.
The owner obviously loves the sport, but his staff needs a tune up. They clearly love the game, but that has to translate to some sort of business thinking, and responsibility. Many of them (not all) seem to be there to hang out, not work. Enthusiastic refs/officials would do absolute wonders for this place. Combine that with a dedicated campaign to get Red Deer players out, and SLP would truly be off to the races, and hard for Busters to catch next year.
Last edited on Thursday, July 26th, 2007 at 8:26 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Helldorado Wednesday, September 13th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at Helldorado.
Directions
to the Field:
It is close to Jarvis bay campground.
Review: One of the staff members (my coach and friend) had a 7000 $ marker which got stolen along with a lot rental Tippman 98s. That made me really mad but as for the review It is an awesome place with 3 fields: Bush Ball Speed Ball and sweet newly added Air Ball field the only down side to SLP is they took out the tire course to put in the Air Ball course. I give this course a 9.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media