paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field / GatSplat Paintball Field

GatSplat Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
30Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 972-956-5500
Address: 582 N TX-121-BR (N)
Lewisville, Texas 75057
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
xTheirOut2GetUx Sunday, April 18th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 21st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenaline
DFW
Official
Fort
Pretty much every field within an hour and a half of the dfw area.
Directions
to the Field:
Google it.
Review: I gave this field a 2 instead of a one because the doors opened and there were places you could shoot paintballs. Other than that is was the worste experience I have ever had playing paintball and I have played a lot of paintball.

Price: 3/10 (would be a 1 if it wasn't indoor) Ungodly expensive, sure entry is 20$ but with a case of paint and tax it's like 90$ a person. You must shoot their over priced paint because it's indoor which I expected, and I knew what it cost before I went. It was raining so I paid it thinking it could be worth it.

Fields: 1/10 The 'main' field is tiny good for maybe 3 v 3. It was busy because it rained and they were running like 20+ people on it. If you know what a 'can' is picture one layed on it's side with 4 people stacked behind it. Thats what your going to be playing.

Not very clean (greasyt paint residue left on everything) the turf was so slick it was like running on greased up marbles. I don't think they clean the bunkers very well either.

Refs: -1/10 Worste refs ever. I don't expect much from a walk on ref. I don't expect them to paint check every time someone yells that they shot everyone on the field at once. Maybe a check or two a game if that, it's not a tourny who cares. A walk on refs job is to make sure no one dies, and I don't think they even could meet this requirement.

They don't care at all. They didn't make anyone chrono. I did, and I think I was about the only one shooting the 260 we were suppose to be at on this tiny field. They let people use retardedly obvious ramping, some people were using like psp/nxl uncapped.... This really doesn't bug me, I can still shoot them and they just waste all their paint. I saw a lot of people get over shot pretty bad, the refs did nothing.

So get ready to bleed and then have a ref shrug at you if you aren't good enough to avoid getting shot all day. Which brings me to my next point.

Players: -5/10 Normaly even if the res suck you can expect some level of decency from the other players, no one attempted to follow the rules.

If your looking for any sort of competition don't go here. The only reason the 'good' players can stay in for more than 30 seconds is they cheat constantly and blatantly and the refs don't do anything. After you gog them like 10 times they might go out. It doesn't really matter though because they will probably never hit you if you have any level of skill.

Over all this place is god aweful. Get ready to be shot will 300+ fps on a 260fps field. If the horrible players/ 10 year olds with rich parents can even hit you. Then when your on the ground with a concussion the refs with probably be too lazy to call you an ambulance.

Last edited on Sunday, April 18th, 2010 at 6:11 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Alex4108 Saturday, December 26th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: December 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
XDrenalin
DFW Adventure Park
Directions
to the Field:
Ehh... Read the others XD
Review: Okay, so this is my... 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 10th time going to gatsplat (maybe more?) Today I had a new Pirahna GTI. Thought I'd try it out, and from what I've seen, as long as you put a gravity hopper on your gun, you can play with beginners. Weeelll I registered intermidiate, and learned that we get mixed with advanced people the hard way. The differences between intermediate and advanced are countless.

ADV.
RPS Marbalizer Paintballs (Straight shot, but nearly impossible to get a break with)
Pads + Armor
RAMP @ 13 bps.
Bunkering is allowed

INT.
Diablo Zen Paintballs (Little bit of a warped shot, but they break very easily)
Jeans, Shirts, Hoodies, ehh whatever
SEMI @ 15bps
Bunking = Big no no

Lets not forget that just skill matters too.

I still remember the safety video, and now i remember that 260 fps rule! Okay, my old gun chronoed at 240 with HPA. ehh i was fine with that. New gun chronoed 250 just to be safe. One guy starts shooting his G3 over the chrono, and it tops 320. I'm just wow... didn't the video say you would be ejected if you over chronoed (oh by the way, this guy was playing like all day, and this was the first chrono check). Eh no biggy, just turn the gun down, he turned it down 10 FPS. (it is now 310) And kept playing, refs didn't care.

The other thing that this field REALLY NEEDS is some better refs. You normally aren't allowed to slide under nets, ESPECIALLY DURING A HOT ROUND. Well one of the guys that works behind the counter came in with no mask, and slid UNDER the net, into the game, to ask his buddy what he wanted for lunch. I'm just staring, thinking I must be high. The guys behind the counter are normally friendly, but even asking for an alan wrench, which they normally have out, is apparantly bad.

Overall, 2/10, it would be 8/10 or 9/10 if these guys working here would grow some BRAINS.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chaetah Sunday, August 23rd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 22nd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Factory, Adrenalin, Splatters
Review: I finally talked myself into going to this place. I will admit I do not like indoor fields. Anyway we get there and the first thing is we had to watch the safety video. This is no big deal because every good field I have been to has a safety briefing of some type. Usual things, no horse play, no throwing paint, no climbing under nets, always were a mask in the field area, 260 fps, etc...

We get geared up and chrono and go out to the fields, half the bunkers are at least half deflated. No problem there, it happens. We start playing. Over the next 5 hours several things happen...

1) Not one time while we are there does a ref do a chrono check. I have been playing over 6 years and know what it feels like to be hit. I also know that at 260 fps you do not get bruises, i left with several and a good size bump on my head, all from paintballs.

2) Not one time while there was ant field maintenance done. There was so much broken paint on the turf if was difficult to run at times. The longer the day went the more paint shot and the more that got broken from being stepped on instead of being cleared from the field. Also the bunkers were never blown back up. When we left several of the bunkers were so deflated they were just lying around in lumps.

3) At one point 2 of the refs were chasing each other around the field and throwing paint at each other. One took a running start and slid UNDER the net to keep from walking over the the entrance, and another ref walked into the playing area without a mask and proceeded to discuss what to order for lunch.

4) The last straw was when I confronted a player that was leaving pretty good marks on other players about shooting hot. He said "I just did awhile ago" and walked off. The ref standing there just walked away and did not think twice ab out it. The next game the player I questioned bonus balled me with 5 shots as I was walking through the exit. The 2 refs there just laughed. It was time to leave.

While we were packing up I was cleaning a marker with NO tank or hopper. I had a ref come over and grip about not have a barrel condom on. lol It was very obvious that none of our group was happy but the owner never even made an attempt to talk to us and see what was going on. I was very disappointed in his lack of concern.


Conclusion:

Cost - About $80 per person with entry and 1 case of paint. Pretty high for my taste.

Field - Lousy maintenance and upkeep

Refs - Annoying, unprofessional, and definitely catering to their friends and local players. Thought it was strange that almost ever rule in the safety briefing was ignored and broken by the refs.

Owner - Seems friendly till he gets his money, then seems very uninterested.

Over all I would not recommend this field and will not return.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

PMRdude199 Friday, June 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: June 9th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenalin Zone
DFW Adventure Park
Fort Paintball

None of these fields listed above can compare to Gatsplat.
Directions
to the Field:
Just east of I-35 in Lewisville.
Review: Pricing - The pricing for this field is good, but I've seen better. Entry is about 20 dollars with all day air, and a case of paint is 60 dollars. The is a FPO field, so you can't bring in outside paint. 7/10

Fields - The fields they have are great. they are on turf, which makes sliding into bunkers effortless, and they have a variety of bunkers. Another great thing is that every week the field is different. The only downside is that they have two fields. And the back field is only for beginners and private parties. 9/10

Staff - The staff is wonderful. They help you out with anything you need and are very friendly. The refs do their best to be fair and separate teams evenly, and if you want to be with your friends they will let you. 10/10

For Beginners - They have the best rental guns i have seen at any field. You can rent a Piranha GTI with an upgraded board for 15 dollars. I used one for fun the other day and very much liked this gun. 10/10

Overall, this is the best field i have ever been to. If you are looking to play paintball in the DFW area, this is the place to go.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

i use a mini! Tuesday, December 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I'm not sure.
Directions
to the Field:
Uhhh google maps?
Review: Ok i love this place. They have 2 fields, each of them great. The refs are fair and good at letting you and your friends be on the same team. The safety is good there one time this guy bunkered me and had above 260fps and got kicked out. If you have something wrong they will fix it(my gun broke and they had no idea what was wrong but they kept working on it
and after 4 hours they got and in the mean time they let me use an ion for free. If you want a fun day of paintball then i would highly suggest this place.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajbjoust Monday, September 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenaline Zone and Fun On the Run, cant compair any to this indoor experiance. Sure they all have speed ball but neither of them have AC and they both have larger fields
Review: I have played at this field 2 times now. The first experiance was great, refs were friendly and enforced rules and I really enjoyed it. The second time there was a totally diff. set of refs there. These refs knew alot of the advanced players so they stood on the side line telling the players where me and my team was at on the field. I knew they talked to the players on the field because when I got out i stood 5 feet from the ref who was doing it and heard him. When I asked a ref about it he said they did no such thing and said if I wanted to argue about it I could leave the building. Same trip 3rd game of the day playing with advanced players, once again the refs buddies. I took a direct google shot to a brand new V-forge Grill mask, the shot shattered my lens. I showed the owner and he had all the players chrono. Every single play was shooting above the set 260FPS and one was over 300FPS. Refs told them to turn it down but never rechronoed to check. I think it was just this lazy bunch of refs that day acting like it was a day to hang with their buddies instead of doing their job. So right now Im running 50-50 with my experiance there. Other than that the AC is great. Fields are fun and the back room is the best if you really like a fast game where you are forced to move. Pro shop was awesome huge inventory. Im giving a 5 for now due to my 50-50 experiance there. It does not matter how great your facility is, its the refs that make it good and that one time not only did they make the games unfair they allowed my equipment to get damaged and could have caused serious injurys to players
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

contractkilla8 Saturday, July 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
not any that i know of
Review: The safety is great because of the indoor conditions. The prices are very low. The staff is full of funny nice men. Playing days are Tue., Fri. ,Sat. and Sun. The bunkering rule is for advanced players only, not for newbies or anything else. And you cannot take your mask off in the fields. You must keep your barrel sock on every time you go back into the main room. The pro shop has a large inventory of markers, accessories, clothing and spare parts. I highly recommend Gatsplat.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xtylerrrx Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xdrenalin,Fort and Farmers branch
Directions
to the Field:
on 121 very easy to find.Huge sign
Review: I have been going here for about 2 years now and i have loved it.The guys here are so helpful and they always have a tech on site.Larry is very nice and very helpful.I had to put a new battery in my gun and didnt have any money so he gave one to me for free.You might think thats a big deal but other fields dont do that for a fellow paintballer.The fields are great,divide begginers and advanced,rules are fair,refs are great.Overall great field.i love it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dexarco Tuesday, January 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fort Paintball - outdoor field.
Directions
to the Field:
south 121 until just about to hit 35. you'll have to u-turn right past the field.

or, if your coming from 35, hit 121 head north. it'll be on your right.
Review: I have been playing at this field for about 2-3 months. I go every Saturday, with a couple of friends and its been a blast for the most part.

How it is set up:

walk in the door there is the staging area, usually there is someone there to greet you and ask if you need anything. The first thing you'll notice is probably that the staging is huge. Lots of tables, unique choice of paints for the walls. its never hard to find a table. The floor is clean and they have drink and snack machines as well as numbers for pizza and theres a Wal-mart a min up the street if thats not good enough. Most players are willing to shift their stuff to accommodate players. I have never had a problem with any of the players.

Staff: friendly, helpful, and humoring. They will help you out with just about any dilemma you have. This customer service is fantastic. only problem maybe that all the people are busy and are not at the desk.

Prices: 20 bucks all day air and entry fee, choice of rental packages, 3 dollars for an air tank, paint is kinda pricey, but the quality of the paint is good. 55 dollars a case of 2000, standard price for good paint from what my research shows.

FPO: This field is a field paint only field. That means you must buy their paint, and you risk serious problems should you sneak non field paint on the field, you may regret it for the rest of your life.

Fields: The indoor fields are air conditioned. They are cold when you first walk on them, but after running around its not bad at all. The field set up is different week to week, and maybe even day to day. This adds a unique characteristic to this field. Field set up is usually pretty balanced, one time I don't think the cover was set up completely fair, but when your dealing with matching up 10-15 bunkers on a field perfectly with a squad of people and no instruments or makers, error is bound to happen. The turf on the field is nice, and is slide/dive friendly. I have bad knees and I can slide with no pads easy, it kinda hurts when I do it, but I will get pads eventually.

Play setup: After you are checked in, you are established with a level of experience. Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced. If you are unsure, they will help you figure out what level you belong in. Here is the real cool thing. Say your a beginner, and your just wiping the floor with your opponents, you want a challenge. you can as a beginner step/play up to an intermediate or if your gutsy enough advanced level. However, you can not play down. This means the advanced players can not play with beginners unless the beginners want to play with them. Rounds are called for each level on a regular basis. so you will get to play, just depending on when you show up you may not be ready to go straight into play.

Pro shop: The pro shop is stocked with stuff from jerseys to gun parts. The prices may be negotiable, again the staff are willing to answer questions about equipment, or prices. I have not purchased anything, but my friend bought some arm pads. The pro shop extends all over the staging area, this prevents a mass of people huddling in an area. Weather it was intentional or not, its a good design.

Food: The only thing i have a problem with is that the machines are picky about the dollars they take. Snack machine and a soda machine stocked with soda, Gatorade, and monster. As stated before, numbers for pizza are availiable, and there is stuff all around 121 should you feel like something else.

Security: Cameras everywhere. I feel safe leaving my stuff on a table and playing a game. There are a ton of visible cameras around, they have probably every inch of the place on 3-4 different cameras. RF ID tags in the rental equipment, so the alarms go off if you walk too close to the door with the equipment, rather have them over sensitive than under sensitive.

and finally...the refs.

Refs: Refs are fair, and approachable. In game it may be a little hard to get a refs attention as they are watching for hits and violations. I have managed to get a paint check when I asked. They're not afraid to run in the middle of the firefight to check for hits, last time i went, there was a party for beginners...I think it was teachers against students, but the refs would run around with pods of paint and refill the players on both sides to keep the action going. I have never seen that. oh yea, and refs make it a point to say "Player is out, let him out" so that you don't get shot repeatedly, although i have a couple of times. Fair count, and they make sure both sides are in clear before the count begins.


This review is as objective as i can make it. I can not say that this review has no subjectivity to it. I do not work for the field however it doesn't seem like it would be a bad thing to do, the environment is friendly enough. I received no payment or compensation for this review. I will stand by my points made in this review. This field is good, but is not perfect, I give this 9 out of 10. The only downside to this field, is that it only has 2, I hope they expand. another field would add that much more to the mix.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

thecoolbrad Sunday, July 8th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
not any very close by.. i live up in north texas
Directions
to the Field:
business 121
Review: AWESOME FIELD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
every thing there was great.. the owner is the coolest guy ever and the refs are freakin cool to.. and unlike a lot of fields they actually know what there doin and they do there job...
they make shure to not put the intermediate and advanced players with the noobs..

the field and staging area are very very well kept.. the field is cleaned every week and the staging area has brooms so you can clean up your mess..

there is a room with a hd tv wifi and a bunch of chairs for parents to be in a quit place while there kid is playing or if a player just wants to get away from the noise and relax..

there are restrooms in the back next to the crono room (but the refs also crono you before you get on the field) but the main crono room is nice and it is too as far as a room made to shoot paint in goes..

thereare a crap load of tables in the staging area and yes it is all air conditioned!!!! there are 5 spots in the fill station, 4 go to 3000 psi and 1 goes to 4500 psi..

the price isnt the best but it has to be like that.. the entry fee is $20 for all day air too, and a case of paint is $55 and its a fpo field cause they have to have there paint specially made for alot of reasons..

all in all this is a great field!!!!!!!!!!!! every one there are nice especially the owner!!!!

GO PLAY THERE NOW OR MISS OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

o yeah and they have an awesome pro shop with a huge selection of guns packs pants jerseys goggles you name it..

EDIT: i forgot the Astroturf is fun as crap.. i love that stuff, you can slide a mile on it if you wanted. and eather cleats or turf cleats would work best on it..
Last edited on Sunday, July 8th, 2007 at 9:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media