paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field / Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field

Cousins Paintball of Coram Long Island Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
50Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: N/A
Location: Coram, New York 11727
USA
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
ballin123 Monday, July 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
idk 20000 miles on the lie in bumper to bumper traffic...
Review: i played @ this field in big game 2010... the gameplay betweeen the two teams were great... many experienced players there to compete w/ including rob navas and chris lasoya... tanks, overhead chopper gunner and many smoke distractions made the game play great. food was also great and many vendors to see from tippmann right up to EMR paintball park... the only downfall to this field is the refs here are bad... they were all between 14 and 17 besides the lead ref and a few choice ones...other than that they didn't pay attention to the game and were to busy smoking and laughing all day... i have been to many fields both good and bad but these refs were downright rude and didn't care about the game...cousins...great day of play but you guys need some more mature refs and ones that know the game.........thank you hopefully better time next year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!btw pepsi drinking contest thru a dirty sock off ur foot...epic!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lattimus Wednesday, June 16th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 12th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity
Review: Price: Good...except didn't play as much as I could have (see ref comments below)!

Refs: Refs at Cousin's are a bunch of kids that don't really know what they are doing. No instructions re: rules before games. Alot of down time b/t games because refs are usually sitting around joking/smoking/doing nothing (lazy). Also, refs don't know much about the facilities or paintball rules. One ref in particular (Thorny) is biased and thinks that he owns the field! He is extremely unfair. Refs were TERRIBLE!!!

Fields: Played on only 4 different fields because refs were lazy!! Otherwise the fields were pretty much the same.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

zazor18 Monday, October 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
A whole bunch of fields in NJ, PA, Upstate NY, Cali, and Chicago.
Directions
to the Field:
Exit 64 off the LIE and then a few miles down Granny Rd. It was easy to just use mapquest or something like that.
Review: As a note, I'm a casual player so this will be good for newbies and rec ballers. If you like woods ball this is a pretty good place. Speedball I would go elsewhere (no air bunkers if that's what you like) though I do like the junkyard style field they use for speedball.

FIELDS:
I got to play on 4 or 5 fields. Not sure if they had more. As I mentioned above, it's mostly woods ball which is good for some old school player like myself. The fields are pretty big in size and can take some time to walk out to from the staging area. My suggestion is to bring as much paint as you can carry since going back for extra balls/air will be a pain.
You have some nice hills and valleys to use and the 'junkyard' speedball field was nice since it's a flat playing area which changes the dynamics from the majority of the fields there.
A lot of dead branches on the ground so you can't really run up to quickly.

Rentals:
Tippman 98's and I didn't see anything else you can use. I played with a group of 28 guys that day and I only saw a handful of problems with the rentals. But the refs got you a new gun or air pretty quickly so that was very helpful. Most guys got jump suits but I don't remember ball haulers in the package. We did get grenades.
So in summary the package for the day included:
1000 rounds
Mask
Gun
All day air
Some grenades.

Price:
We got some group rate that day. I think a case went for $87. Paint was Draxxus.

Refs:
Pretty good guys. We had 2 refs covering between the 28 guys on fairly large fields so you're going to get some overlooked hits. But the group we had was real good so this wasn't an issue.
Very good at the mask on field rules and plugged barrels.

Wait Time:
No real wait time. Each time we were off the field to load up, it was time to hit up another field. Games you get 2 per field by the way.

Misc:
They have C02, Nitro, and Compressed Air.
Bathrooms are portojohns and were real nasty.
There are one or two PB shops on the road to this field if you need gear.
Food: you have a truck with all sorts of things which was pretty nice.



Last edited on Monday, October 19th, 2009 at 8:06 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dr. K Friday, June 19th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 13th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Liberty, Hornets Nest, Montgomery, others
Directions
to the Field:
fairly easy to find
Review: I found the place well organized. They have stations to sign in, get air, etc. Staff very friendly. They have stations to get things which is nice. Many tables for staging made
it a nice atmosphere. some fields were quite a walk and need to bring paint for refill as they play 2 games at each field. The entry fee has a paint fee built in. I did not need to purchase any additional paint the remainder of the day. They have a "roach coach"
on site to sell drinks and pizza etc. it is very expensive.
What I was most impressed with was the number of refs and how engaged they were during the games. It appeared that they were right on the spot of any activity and ready
to call out hits. Very little wiping which I can't stand.
Major down side is significant gaps between games.
All in all for the excellent reffing I would go back.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

richr1985 Tuesday, November 25th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
top gun, ecx, graveyard, fireball mountian
Review: I recommend no one going to this field. I have been playing paintball for 6 years and have NEVER had such a unprofessional experience.
I am warning everyone right now that one of the refs that works at this paintball park almost made me go blind in one eye. I had gone as a private group with about 20 other friends. After one of our game I was discussing the previous action when the ref pulls me over, verbally distracts me and throws a paintball in my face. I had no mask on and did not do anything to warrant the delinquent behavior. The paintball broke b/w my eyes and leaked into my raw eye balls. About 10 of my teammates saw this occur this is not a fake story. Again for no reason the ref distracted me and threw a paintball AT MY FACE AT POINT BLANK RANGE. If the paintball hit me a couple millimeters to the right or left my vision would have been in jeopardy. The ref who was responsible played on the cousins home team, tall, skinny, and clean shaven. I do not recommend you play at this field due to the unprofessional inappropriate atmosphere.

Safety (most important)- terrible as I described above. Also kids were taking their masks off during games.

Prices- I brought all my own equipment it still cost me $50 plus $89 for a cast of paint. Rip off.

Fields- I only got to play at the rec ball fields and did not see anything to impressive except for the base setup. little cover in the rec fields

Game and Rules- the refs decided we would not count gun hits?!!

Food- no promise of food in the area for an extra fee they could order pizza.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Soul06 Saturday, October 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tri-state area: High Velocity (outdoor), Skirmish, Top Gun
Directions
to the Field:
L.I.E. to exit 64
Left at first light
Right at Granny Street
Review: As shown I rate this field about a 7 out of 10 (mind you I don't feel ANY field will ever rate a perfect 10). This was my first time visiting this field and let me tell you the reasons for my opinions.

Safety (most important)- Here they did an excellent job form my opinion. They adamantly maintained that every player keep their goggles on when on the playing fields. And upon exiting the fields, that they insert/put on their barrel plug/bag. Even so much as in having 3 or 4 refs standing at the entrances to the fields checking each player as they entered or left.

Prices- Here I am on the fence. The day cost me only $78 in total ($56 for a full 2000rd case of Xball bronze paint from their Hempstead store + about $21 to play...i had all my own equipment) which is by far the least I have EVER paid. That is excellent. But where the problem comes in is that I was originally planning to go with a group the week before. I had to back out because I bought my own paint from Cousins only to later find out that I woudn't be allowed to use that paint; their paint, if I was playing in a private party. It seems that you can only use the store paint if playing as a walk on. Private party paint MUST be purchased on the field and it costs around $80 a case. Its a rule that makes NO sense to me. So long as its THEIR paint why should it matter if its bought in the store or on the field?
Another plus however is that you can get your own fields for private parties with only 10 people. They offer pretty good group rate packages.

Fields- I have to admit that of all the places I've played Cousins has had the worst fields. The problem is not the upkeep but the layout. As I understand its pretty much ALL woods. Also they have a lot more fields then I got to play on that day but for the ones I did get on they lacked in having a significant amount of cover. After playing at Skirmish I have grown accustom to heavy, dense wooded fields. At Cousins I found the fields I played on to be very open. Most trees were very narrow and there weren't many bushes around. I found myself having very little options for where I could move. Usually where I planned to run too I could not because there would already be 3-5 guys all crowded in that bunker.
Now as I do enjoy woodsball I prefer speedball; houses, castles, forts, towns etc. But if I am to play woodsball I like for the fields to be far more dense making for a more competitive game.

Game and Rules- I know usually you don't see this in a review but I had to bring it up. All games were total elimination, save for the 1 attack/defend game we played. One problem I had here was the All Hits, INCLUDING GUN HITS, Count. I have been playing for a number of years now so I can get wit that, heck it makes it easier for me, but when you are playing open rec games with walk-ons, some of which are playing for only their first or second time, I personally don't feel that's a rule or style that should be played. For one its puts new/rec players at an extreme disadvantage against the much more experienced players. Those exp.players know about snap shooting, tuckig their body in, decreasing their profile. All things that new players don't do; often over exposing themselves and their markers to take/make a shot. That was especially evident that day seeing as we had 3 Cousins sponsored teams mixed in with rec players and walk-ons. Everywhere else I have ever played, when it came to recball, has left gun hits out so that rec players were put on a more even playing field.
Second the time between games was far far too long. I understand the need to come back and reload/gas up after games but i found myself at times waiting upwards of 20 to 25 minutes for the next game to start.

Hours of Operation- I believe its either 8 or 9 to 4pm. Good hours. Plus walk-ons are allowed to enter at any point throughout the day. Only problem is that getting them split up on teams and ready to go adds to the wait time between games.

Staff- Staff was friendly to me. Had no problems here.

Food- The had a "Roach Coach" on premises offereing pizza, sandwiches, drinks, snacks etc. It was not the best food but keep in mind you come to play paintball not eat out at some buffet. If food is a major concern you are allowed to leave the field between games and visit any of the fast food locations in the adjacent surrounding area.

I cannot review the Pro-Shop or Tech Services as I did not utilize them.

Conclusion: Despite my complaints Cousin's is still a good place to play. The prices, specifically if going as a walk-on, are amazing. And though the fields are not stellar by any mean, especially when compared to HiVi's structured fields down the road, you can still have a very good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xmarkerman Wednesday, October 1st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: September 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity
Review: Iíve been at Skirmish, Cousins/Coram NY, E-Jam and High Velocity. Cousins at Coram NY is my favorite one so far. . Their fields are not really well maintained but I go there to play woodsball so I can care less. Fair number of bunkers. Most fields at Cousins are big enough so you donĎt get taken out by 10 paintballs at the same time right away when referee blows his whistle to start a game and that's a plus IMO unlike most of the places Iíve been at. Safety is enforced so donít be surprised when you are screamed on by referees if you take your goggles off while on play field or when you take barrel condom off your barrel when not suppose to. 80% of the time my marker gets chroned by referees. Unless there are mad number of people which happens once in a while itís fun to play there if you are into woodsball. IMO this is not a play ground for those who are into speedball. You have to use their paint but if you buy it from their pro-shop and show receipt at the field itís between $40-$60 (another plus). Parking lot is big enough for most of the days and close to staging area and fields.
Last edited on Thursday, October 2nd, 2008 at 1:40 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SLYVEST Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest
Review: I went to cousins a few weeks back and I was not really impressed!


PRO"S:

Alot of fields if you like woodsball. (although the ref I had made us play the same 2-3 all day)

Cheap paint if you go to there store the night before

Safety extremely cautious about chrono and barrel plugs

CON"S:

Ref I had was terrible no paint checks and didnt enforce rules.

half an hour to fourty five min wait between games

No one at chrono area

verry unorganized even with getting air it was a dissaster

All in all I dont think I will be going back to cousins. The paint was better priced than high veloccity but the fields dont compare. They need to put somr money into the fields and get more organized before I go back. Ill be going to jersey fields next and I am from LI so that should tell you something.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

guardianco Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
High Velocity and Survival NY
Directions
to the Field:
LIE to exist 64 route 112 to granny road make a right , down the road make a left
Review: First off let me start by saying do not wash your car the day prior to going to the feild the main road is a dirt road and you will waste your money. Just thought i would throw that in.

Ok lets touch the subjects

#1 FIELDS
I think the feilds are great for outdoors type of paint ball. They are very well set up and are very much fun. And for those who complain about the walk to the fields well get real we are playing paintball.
#2 FOOD
I thing this is even stupid to discuss. All i have to say is i have 2 solutions #1 Get up early and get a good breakfast then run to the food cart and get something to eat at lunch time . Really the food is not that bad. #2 Get up early have a good breakfast and bring a sandwich along and a cooler. Thats it problem solved.
#3 PRICES.
i have never been to a cheap paintball field that was a quailtiy paint ball field. Also cousins gives you the choice to buy the paint at the store at cheaper prices. The only catch is you have to be there the day before because the store opens at 10:00 a.m.
Also go easy on the trigger and stop trying to shoot people from 100 yards and you will keep the cost down.
#4 PRO SHOP AND GUN TECHS
Never Never Never let the techs at the field touch your personal gun it is better to miss a few games drive up to the store and use the store techs those guys are great. And about the proshop at the feild i am still looking for it.
#5 RULES
I think the rules are fair even the surrender rule stop whining about the surrender rule fist off kill your enemy and you will not have to worry about it and also i have seen alot of people get lit up even kids so i think its fair.
#6 REFS
Now here is my problem. I grew up playing the game with gamesmanship if you were hit you called yourself out. Now the rules have changes its wipe and wipe some more. The refs at cousins are you and lack the hustle to do a paint check. I do not even hear any one yell out paint check any more. So i have to be honets i have also perfected the art of THE WIPE. Sorry i am tired of hitting people watching them wipe and trying to find a ref. So what i do now is hit them until they can not take the pain any more. Seriously the refs here are really bad and most are kids.
#7 STAFF
To this date i still do noty know who is running the field. That says it all
#8 HOURS of operation
The hours are fine with me . What i hate the most is how long it takes to start back up between games. It like takes forever. This is the one reason i have started to go to High Velocity. ( even though they are way more expensive not alway the money)
#9 WHAT I WOULD CHANGE
Establish who is managing the field. Make the ref's earn their money and ref the game. More organized get the games going faster. I know there are people who come from far away to play and they end up sitting half the day. Get a head ref and let him give the old play fair speach i used to hear when i started. Trust me it worked but how can you play fair when everyone is cheating.
I Started playing when all guns were pump guns and the paint balls came in cigar tubesand all guns had thesmall co2 cartridges. WHEN YOU REALY HAD TO PLAY WITH TEAM WORK AND SKILL. Paint ball has changed but it is still fun but they way it is played has fallen off. Yes i go to High Velocity often but i still have to get my fill of cousins but it always seems like they have never fixed what i dislike and this is why my visits get less and less.

Signed
One of the original MASTER BLASTERS from survival ny
Have Fun And Play Fair

PS I give cousins an 8 overall they are one of the originators but have become lazy they need to get back to what they did to get to the top.


Last edited on Sunday, March 16th, 2008 at 6:42 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbmarines Sunday, November 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Cousins Hauppage Indoor
Review: The refs were good and nice. Extremeley safe, but almost to a level of agitation. We were with a party, so we are not sure of the prices. But we do know that it is extremely ex$pen$ive, though, for the paint. They also now charge you for the co2 fills.The rentals were not the best, but were not as bad as some people said. They werent the greatest loking, but they got the job done. The fields were pretty good. The day we went was the US Marines birthday, so it was pretty crowded. Due to that, we did not get to go on the attack and defend field, supposedly the best field. I bought a Tippmann Squadbuster grenade. it was $5.50. They worked allright. Whats cool is that they give you pods and holder. Overall, we were mostly satisfied.

** One Really Annoying Factor: They have a really retarded surrender rules unlike other places--- (1) If an opponent runs to the bunker you're in and taps it yelling Surrender everyone in that bunker is out
(2) Surrender is 20ft. instead of 10
These rules really dissapointed me and my team.
Last edited on Sunday, November 11th, 2007 at 4:52 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media