paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Mansion House Paintball Paintball Field / Mansion House Paintball Paintball Field / Mansion House Paintball Paintball Field / Mansion House Paintball Paintball Field

Mansion House Paintball Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 302-438-7366
Address: 2656 Porter Rd
Bear, Delaware 19701
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
DangerMan Monday, November 29th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 27th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Action Games - Consistent ref's, STAFFED refs, the list goes on. Attention to safety such as MASKS DOWN at all times is never overlooked. Standardized rental guns all consistently maintained, more fields, better woods fields, more players.... I have to say I'm partial but for good reason.
Directions
to the Field:
Relatively close to PaintballActionGames off of Porter Road.
Review: I visited after a friend told me I had to check this place out. I play 3 to 4 weekends a month. I know what to look for and while this place is OK, it isn't the best. I have to be honest.

Like many fields it's a small owner operated operation but this one felt very shoe-string. I don't see a commitment to making the playing experience here better. It's more of a, "this is what we got, enjoy". Seeing this usually forecasts a limited time of existence. Heck, even Graveyard which seemed like a well oiled machine went belly up after a year.

I have my own marker and didn't need a rental but the rentals I saw here were not standardized. The player crowd was OK, with attitude players that talked more smack then could bring game. Mostly teens with big mouths.

A lot of downtime between games.

There were also good, nice players there too.

Ref's were not on the ball. Wouldn't enter field of play for paint checks. Attention to safety was not like other fields.

They have a sup air field. Good. But still the choice in fields was not too exciting, maybe it was just the lack of players as I'm used to playing on teams of 10 to 20 per side.

Comparing this place to other fields is how I see the best way to give my opinion. We all like hamburgers so would you prefer a Big Mac or Whopper or would you rather have your mom put a burger on two slices of white bread? That's how I saw this place.



Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

SlowBackPlayer8 Monday, May 24th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 22nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
On Porter Road. has a big sign that you cant miss.
Review: The prices at mansion house are pretty cheap compared to some other fields in my area that i have heard about. paint is usually $40-$45. the field fee is $15 and to rent all of the equipment is $10. They sell drinks and food there.. the staff there is very nice and after you come to their field your like family and they are all friendly. they have a chrono. if you do not have a gun and you have to rent, mansion house will give you a tippmann 98 custom. They usually do a good job of mixing the skilled players and the new players. usually the teams get picked by captains but the refs will make sure that the teams are equal. Usually they have 2 or 3 refs per game. They have 3 fields: air ball, woodsball, and a place called the construction zone. Every once in a while the owner, Benny, will play a game or two. HE HAS A LUXE THAT TALKS!!!!

Overall I would rate this field a 10 out of 10
Last edited on Wednesday, July 7th, 2010 at 12:49 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

juli229 Sunday, March 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Had my son's 13th bday party here and it ROCKED!! It was fun for both his paintball experienced friends and non paintball experienced friends. Staff was helpful and courteous. Would write more but, we have to go out and buy paintball guns now. I have never played anywhere else, but would definitely recommend this place based on the people who work their, the price, and the FUN!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

swordguner95 Monday, June 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
crims a to z and oa
Directions
to the Field:
right on porter road you cant miss it it has a giant sign
Review: the saftey is pretty much like any field exept for theres no bunkering gun shots dont count and if you shoot at the louy the ref he has an ego he will shoot back but faster. The times usally change so call first to make sure someone is there if not make sure you have at least five guys to play cause then don cambell will call me or any of the other refs.
Some times there will be food but the do sell drdinks and what not
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnowFlakeMaunz Friday, December 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: November 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ecx, graveyard
Directions
to the Field:
Its right on prter road in bear delaware
Review: This has to be without one of the bestfiels that i have ever gone to. I origanaly went there to get a home feild for my team but i ended up staying for the people that run the place. They are all great people that will help you every step of the way through think and thin. unlike other paintball feilds that only rememeber there "inportant" players these guys will remember you and no matter what will make shore to there best of ablity make you happy and have a fun time. Im now part of the home teams playiers and i ref there everynow and then i loved the field that much.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cursed Company Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Picasso Lake, USANA, Accurate Paintball, Skirmish, EMR
Directions
to the Field:
contact us:
cursedcompanypaintball@yahoo.com
Review: Friendly staff and refs. Prices are great. Store opening soon. Great place for real woodsball. Field being built up and speed ball field coming soon. This is a great field to play at if you want to play real woodsball. Owner of the field is currently working on upgrading and now has a home team to help him. He will soon have HPA and currently has co2 only.

This field will be holding tournaments and a variety of other events in the very near future. Give them a call 302-838-1647. WALK ONS ARE ALWAYS WELCOME.

THIS FIELD IS NOW OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK!!
Last edited on Friday, July 13th, 2007 at 3:57 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

qqq Friday, June 1st, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Graveyard
Directions
to the Field:
On Porter Rd. by Glasgow Church
Review: I like this field a lot. It is new and relatively uncrowded, leading to easy access. I have played here three times, and each time I go, it gets even better than before. As the company progresses, more will be available. The field is four large wooded acres with plenty of cover. The course includes bunkers made of many different things, such as barrels and large junk scraps. Although easy to navigate through, this course is relatively heavily wooded. There is only this one course, and the place contains no speedball, but is enjoyable nonetheless. It is not very advanced at all. This is possibly because they are brand new. Most of the people who play there are there all the time. Safety-wise they are somewhat below par. The refs often play in games when business is slow. Everyone that I've gone with says that Mansion house was their new favorite place to play. The admission price is unbelievable: only $12. Food, candy and drinks are also sold at thrift. Rentals are available for $3-10. Free CO2 all day with admission. Purchasing paint is a joke for $48-$60 for only one case of paint. I forgot to mention the flower shop out front. Overall, this course is worth the small price, as long as you bring your own paint. Either way, it is still my favorite place to play and will continue to be for a long time. During the summer they will reserve weekdays for play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodLustDE Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: May 6th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Action Games, Robin Hood (Much Better)
Directions
to the Field:
Right off of porter road. Turn into the little flower shop parking lot.
Review: Safety: Not much of any really. My friends and i are experience players so i feel fine with them, but goggles and barrel plugs weren't even mentioned during the day. I'd prefer them to be a little more strict. Although _specter said they got a chrono, it wasn't there/available yesterday when we played.

Fields: As far as i can tell they only have 1 field, but it's a great woodsball setup. Lots of pallet bunkers and downed trees to give you cover. Each end has a little "fort" setup which would make for some GREAT capture the flag games.

Hours: Just weekends right now, but i bet if you contacted the owner, Don, you might be able to work something out. Saturdays and Sundays 10-dark basically.

Prices: $12 bucks for the whole day, including CO2. They don't have HPA yet, but said they are going to get one soon. Rentals are available, but they don' t have many of them.

Rules: Since my group was the only people their we made our own rules for how we like to play. They pretty much let you play however you wish to, which is nice.

Services: None really, this isn't a pro-shop or pro-field by any means. Just some folks renting out a field they setup. The Flower shop has food, snacks, sodas and a portapotty. It's basic, just the way i like it.

Staff: The owner Don is a very nice guy who will do his best to accomidate players. We wanted to start playing before they technically opened on Sunday, and he let us get started before they arrived. His wife was working in the shop and was very friendly and helpful getting us signed in and started.

Basically the deal is this: It's not a pro field. It's a farmer and his family trying to make extra money to keep their farm running by roping off a woods and adding bunkers. If you go with a fun group you'll be fine, they'll pretty much let you play how you want to. They just need to up the safety a bit and then it'll be fine.
Last edited on Thursday, August 30th, 2007 at 12:53 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

_Specter Tuesday, December 19th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Action Games - I've only played here twice., but my experience was that it had good fields, good refs, and good crowd. Expensive, though. They don't let you bring your own paint and they charge $60 for a case of Diablo Nightmare.
Absolute Paintball (Red Mill Field) - hybrid woodsball/speedball. The owner, refs, and usual crowd are good. Smaller than PAG but cheaper and has consistent groups that play every week. You can bring your own paint.
Directions
to the Field:
It's right in the middle of Porter Road, between 896 and rt. 72.
Review: Well to start off, I've only played here once. I'll change my review to reflect additional outings as I go there again.
Sentences in Italics reflect a revision after having gone there a second time.

CO2/Air: They only fill Co2 at this time.

Hours of Operation: 9am-7pm on Saturdays. 1pm-6pm on Sundays.
Cost: I don't know what they charge for paint, as I brought my own. Rentals are $10 for generic spyder clones. Field Cost is $6 per person w/ unlimited CO2 refills. They just started the field this season, so all the equipment is new.

Field - At the moment, they have one very large field for woodsball. They could probably easily slice it into two fields for woodsball. It's roughly square in shape, making it fun and feasible to flank an enemy on all sides. There are pallets, fences, barrels, and bunkers made of sticks and logs through some parts of the field to supplement the tree cover. The center of the field is taken up by two fallen tree trunks, making a great bunker in the middle of the field. The boundaries of the field are marked by yellow police line. The field is new, and there are some parts of the field on the edges where there are thorns. Maybe time or the owner will remove those, because it's very uncomfortable without thick clothes. There's little modification done to the field and it will likely appeal to hardcore woodsball players.

Refs - By coincide of the date (dec. 17, close to christmas and cold), they did not have any refs at the time I went. However, the owner, Don, told me they usually have a few refs on a normal weekend and 10-20 players and that the refs are avid players themselves.
They only had one ref the next time I went, but he was unbiased and knew what he was doing.

Facilities - Nothing fancy here. They have a clean porta potty (surprising considering the stereotype) for restrooms. They also have a shop were you can buy a decent variety of refreshments (candy, drinks, chips, etc.) for their usual prices.

Summary - Mansion House Farm is a good place to play woodsball in an environment that is not ultra-competitive. The prices are cheap, and they told us we could play closing time if we didn't need rentals, CO2, etc., but we still left early. The owner, Don, is a nice guy to know, but I haven't met the refs. The only problem I spotted in terms of safety was that at the time I went, they did not have a chrono. I wasn't overly concerned because I knew the people I was playing with, and we had left our guns the same since we last played, when it was 30 degrees warmer. The velocity likely dropped if anything. However, this is a potential safety concern, and I plan to mention it to the owner the next time I go.
Also, this field appeals to woodsball and recreational players. If you'd like to go to it, I recommend you to expect your gun and clothes to take a beating.
Overall, I enjoyed it, and I plan on returning.
The second time I went there, they got themselves a Chrono!

Rating - I really enjoyed the time there. The field is new, and it still needs some time to grow and improve. I rate mainly based on the quality of the experience rather than small criteria. My only complaint was the lack of a chrono. For this I'll give it a 7.
They got themselves a chrono. For taking care of that, I'm raising the overall rating to 9.
Last edited on Sunday, January 21st, 2007 at 7:36 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media