paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Field 51 / Field 51 / Field 51 / Field 51

Field 51

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 207-831-0572
Address: 363 Mosher Road
Gorham, Maine 04038
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
grimacium Sunday, July 5th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 28th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Canobie, P&L, Fox4, Maynard Outdoor, GSP
Directions
to the Field:
Less than 2 hour drive from Boston-North or Southern NH up rt 95. Easy to find.
Review: My experience at Field 51 was during a BYOP open play day. Weather conditions were mild temp with drizzle to light rain.

Safety: I would give Field 51 the highest marks for safety. Safety and game rules briefing at the start of the day was thorough. Full headcount and barrel bag check was done before anyone could remove goggles and at the start and end of every game. Chrono station was enclosed on 3 sides. Only flaw I could find was a lack of netting at the entrance to the goggles on area. In theory someone could shoot up into the parking lot if they were playing with their marker while walking back up the path, however unlikely.

Hours: For walk on play the field opens at 11am and ends at 4pm. This is little later than some other fields but nice if you're not an early bird or have a bit of a drive to get there.

Staff: The owner Norm is a cool and friendly guy who you can tell really loves the game. He's was out on the field to run all of the games. The refs all did a good job too. No bad attitudes.

Players: For a rainy day their was a pretty good turnout. Something like 10 on 10 games most of the day, some more some less as the day went on. Maybe it was the rainy weather but the players there were all good sports. No bad attitudes, no overshooting, willing to help out with problems and chat it up. Great group of players as you could find. Even had some pump players besides myself.

Facilities: Proshop was stocked with the usual neccesities , paint, masks, pods, anti-fog, tippman parts, etc. I was told they would be expanding the proshop soon. No credit or checks so be sure to bring cash. Bathroom / changing area was a porta-potty. It is what it is. Staging area was tarped off with spools for tables. Most people brought ez-up tents and staged out of the back of their car/truck. Air was CO2 and 3K PSI HPA self fill station. Cleaning station with hose and good water pressure.

Food and drinks: Pack your own or there is a pizza place that delivers nearby.

Fields: That day I played on 3 fields. One plain woods, another woods with satellite dish and bunker, and a village with two towers, "spaceship", and a church. The two woods fields were heavily wooded with some thin spots and paths. The village has a good number of structures varying in size from small netted pallet bunkers, to spools, to larger huts and a church with a tower. Their were some muddy spots on all the courses and at the chrono station but I'd say that was a result of 2 weeks of nonstop rain. The village had some ankle bender ruts that could be leveled out and maybe mowed, but other than that the fields are very playable. No airball field or observation area.

Game types: More than just the typical capture the flag or elimination. Played different scenarios such as shoot the cowbell to disable satellite dish, attack/defend the church, protect the captain, color wheel game, etc. Some with respawn for one side or both. Some single elimination.

Overall: This is one of my favorite fields so far. They are still pretty new so I expect that they will keep improving and grow a pretty good player base. If you want to have fun playing woodsball this is the place. They are starting to cater to pump players as well with pump-only days. I'll definitely be back again.
Last edited on Sunday, July 5th, 2009 at 8:44 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

isaacsprowl Wednesday, July 25th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: Well, the first experience I had with paintball was at Field 51 in Gorham. There where 11 of us that went out for a private party, a bachelor party, and all of us but one had never played before. The field itself was a lot of fun to play. It was enjoyable with all of the different scenario games that Norm had for us to do. Trying to take the church over against the opposing team was probably the best game that we played.

The rules that Norm and the refs that day had in place for us where geared toward safety. Keeping our chrono low, face masks on, barrel sleeves on and all of that were great.

I went back and played this field a week after the bachelor party on the 14th. It was an open play day and there where about 30 people who showed up to play. I believe that there where a couple teams there, a few correctional officers, a few teenagers and then myself and a few friends. It was definitely a different day than the bachelor party since the group was bigger but the play was still fun. The games where inventive and kept us moving and laying down the paint.

I would suggest trying out Field51 either as a private party or on one of their open play days. For a first experience I definitely enjoyed it and it even made me go out and get some gear. Try it out, you wont be disappointed!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nu cidd Wednesday, June 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
P&R Paintball in Fryeburg
Review: This is a great field. Its not too spread out, but not too close either. I went on the Customer appreciation day, wich everything was free, and you could bring your own paint. I wasnt there for the whole day, but for the time that i was there, it was awesome. safety is Norms top priority, and fun is right up there too. By far playing defend the church was one of the more fun parts of the day. If you want to make your own game you can, or help him decide waht to do. Every game is flexible, so you never do the same thing more than once.
Last edited on Friday, January 4th, 2008 at 12:14 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scipio Tuesday, June 26th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 23rd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
This year I have played paintball at OSG in Center Barnstead, NH, Fox 4 in Upton, MA and Friendly Fire in Upton, MA. All of these fields are well run and fun to frequent. Field 51 is a new field but I expect it to be as well run as the rest.
Directions
to the Field:
Field 51 is about 5 or 10 minutes from Portland, Maine and about an hour from Portsmouth, NH.
Review: The layout of Field 51 is excellent! It is a large rectangular wooded field with a fort in each corner and a village in a very large clearing in the center of the layout. The village features a two-story church with a walled-in courtyard and a …space ship? The field is designed to ensure player safety. The parking lot and staging area are at one end of the property but a large netted safe area is located on one edge right near the center of the field. Players are required to chronograph a minimum of twice each day and each time any element of the marker or propellant system changes. Field 51’s rules are strict and everyone receives a safety and rules briefing.

Field 51 is a new field and consequently is still building a clientele. About 35 people showed up to play on the day I attended. They were a great group. We played from 10 AM until 4:30 PM.

Norman Richardson is the owner/operator of Field 51. Norm was a very gracious host on this his pre-opening customer appreciation day when I attended. Because this day of play preceded Field 51’s official opening the normal pricing structure was not in place. In fact, everything was free and players were allowed to bring their own paint. There is no pro shop but CO2 was available. I don’t know if Field 51 will provide high-pressure air tank fills. They were not available the day I was there. The field is strictly woods ball.

All that I spoke with agreed that Norm did a great job preparing for and executing this day of paintball. He injected a lot of interest and fun into the games we played. For example, during a re-spawn game players would report to the re-spawn point but could not return to the game until someone else rang the bell hanging there. Another time, in order to be able to leave the start point each player had to shoot the pie pan hanging at some distance from the fort. I thought the most interesting thing Norm had us do was an attack/defend scenario in which we had to advance completely across the field and shoot a cowbell hanging at our opponents’ HQ.


Norm promises to get a couple more chronographs to speed up pre- game check-in. I also look forward to any full-day scenario games the Norm runs in the future. They should be great. I’m eagerly looking forward to playing at Field 51 again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bry134 Wednesday, June 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Rogue Paintball -- Really, there is no comparison. The Field 51 facility, Norm and Seth made the experience we had at Field 51 so enjoyable.
Review: The group we took was mostly active military from the Air Station at Brunswick. None of us have had extensive experience with paintball and we were just looking to go out, shoot eachother and have some fun.

Right from the beginning, Norm made making the reservation painless. The only day that worked for us was a Friday and even though Field 51 wasn't normally open, he went out of his way and made this work for us and was very polite, friendly and professional throughout the day.

The games we played, about 7-8 total, were all a blast... Capture the flag, Attack and Defend, Free for All... our entire group left the field thoroughly entertained and wanting to come back the next day. As a matter of fact, one of the people who were there is scheduling his bachelor party with Norm next month.

After the treatment we received from Norm and Seth, I highly recommend Field 51 to anyone. Well worth every penny spent.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mckenzie10 Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This field was awesome for our B-party. All the guys had a great time. The field51 was great, it had woods and field with a church tower, space ship, and a fuel shed that was so cool. We played several different game and every game was as exciting as the next one. The service was great and the price was great. I'd go back in a heart beat.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media