paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Thunder Valley Paintball Field / Thunder Valley Paintball Field / Thunder Valley Paintball Field / Thunder Valley Paintball Field

Thunder Valley Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
5Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: (478) 987-0900
Address: 301 Valley Drive
Perry, Georgia 31069
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
crgdan Sunday, March 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
OTP, disapointing
Review: during the COD: WAW we did have dificulties with the refs. it seems to be a reacuring problem adn we will be staffing future games with members of the 4th ga. scenario team instead of speedballers. One other guy and myself were the writers of the missions and the game as well as desingers of props. We are working with the management of TVP to "get it right" we will be running another game soon. some of the troubles we encountered were unseen, mainly the teams were way of ballance, we have identified this and are going to address this on upcoming events. the sign in went much faster this time than ever before, we just need to pay attention to who sings up where. we also had 20 walk-ons join the game during play. the weather also killed the game the previous weekend. we had lightning and tornados followed by snow. next time will be much better as this one was better than the ones before it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
3 Comments - Add Comment

187WoLf Sunday, March 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: I attended the COD: WAW scenario this past weekend, and it will prolly be the last i attend here. Don't get me wrong, this is probably one of the best scenario fields i've played, but the management and shop was TERRIBLE. If you bring your own equipment, make sure it works because the shop has NOTHING. The only gun the field can work on is a 98 (which is the rental) The "shop" has a counter filled with snacks, barrel socks, and a few CO2 tanks. Thats about it excluding 1 or 2 masks/ vests. The refing is terrible. I bekive this is because out of 12 refs, 10 were kids. I understand there is not enough refs to be everywhere, but most of the time all were at one spot. If you decide to go, don't think a single hit is an out, people will take multiple hits and stay. I saw a guy with a shot to the face shoot standing next to a ref. To top that, 2 people and myself ambushed a group of ten. The enemy was walking with a ref who never called a single one out besides us. When we got out of the brush, we decided to look for hits on them and four had dripping hits. When confronted, they wiped it off and walked on down the trail. The ref just went on too. The older refs would actually check, but there were only 2. If you want to run around pointlessly shooting people who wipe, this is a field for you. You just won't see me. It gets the sympathetic rating of a 2
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

foxtrotter Sunday, December 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dan's Land (Hard to Compare- though Dan's Land was much more organized)
Review: Okay for starters- YES TVP has a very nice BIG field. For a player like me this is a huge plus. Unfortunately = / that is probably the only reason why this field is going to get the Rating that I gave it.

Paint Issue: Had the paint been at regular conditions I'm sure it would have been fine as TVP14 said. However, It wasn't and yet the Field Owner still required the players to use FPO- As a result A LOT of guns were messed up a few even to the point of permanent damage. If the box of paint you are selling says store at above 59 degrees and you know for a fact that your store is lower then 25 degrees- DON'T SELL IT.

SAFETY: Personally, I preferred the lack of concern for mercy rules and limiting what could be done with the field. From a not crazy stand point though a big problem a lot of broken roots and such sticking out of paths including the pongee sticks mentioned before. The murder holes on the castle wouldn't be a problem if the Refs would call those getting shot out, instead it turned into players just lighting each other up without calling themselves out.

REFFING: ...ha... The biggest problem here is NOT that they were understaffed that day. IT WAS that I couldn't tell they were understaffed since a good 4 or 5 refs were standing in the same 25-35 ft. area for a majority of the time. Every time I looked at the area in front of the castle there were at least 3 refs standing together talking and even one time 3 talking with 2 rolling each other down a bunker's hill. Now I don't mind refs having personality and having a good time BUT COME ON. When you have 8 refs for a field the size of a National Fair you need to stay in the game. Not that it really mattered if they were all together or not since most of the time they were in the action, they were having trouble calling people out. SIDE NOTE: there were 3 or so REFS that from what I could tell did a superb job. The most unenjoyable aspect of the game was that half of the players you eliminated didn't have to leave to respawn because they weren't calling themselves out and the REFS weren't either.

GAME PLAY: The Game itself was another positive note. It was very fun and not hard to participate in. They even had real maps made out. On The Other Hand, It would have saved the entire rating had the gamplay been more organized and clear. There were many moments where it was hard to tell what was going on.

CONCLUSION: The REFS NEED TO MAKE THIS A LEARNING EXPERIENCE. The SHOP needs to be MODIFIED to properly store paint. The FIELD is Great but needs to be finished.

I REALLY HOPE THEY TAKE CARE OF THESE ISSUES BECAUSE IT HAS HUGE POTIENTAL BUT RIGHT NOW NOT WORTH THE TROUBLE AND NOT! WORTH THE MONEY.

(HOPE to be writing another review for this field a year from now with great things to say about it.)

If there were decimals I'd give the field a 3.8 - 4.2

FIELD: 8
GAME PLAY: 6
REFFING: 3
PAINT: 1
SAFETY: 4
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

TVP14 Friday, December 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: November 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: The guy below me was right, our* field mnagement is pretty bad, and i was also at the gates of troy scenario. Our refs were bad but only because the referee turnout was so low. Usually on a regular day we have 7 or 8 refs. Usually the field paint is pretty good but the shak was like 20 degrees all night. But the field layout is AWSOME!!!! I would engourage anyone in the area to come out and play.



*The reason i say our is because i play there all the time not because i work there, just to clarify.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

highwayman Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Attended to the Gates of Troy scenario this last weekend, very disappointing...... The field lay out was great and with some proper management this could be a premier field for Middle GA. The scenario did not have enough refs to cover the 100+ players that showed up (6 was the count that I had, there could have been more but I did not see them). Didn't seem like the refs really cared if players cheated or not and really did not pay much attention to what was going on the field with exception of a couple. The newbie’s were not properly briefed on the rules of the games (a lot of blind shooting, players not calling themselves out and players not getting out of the field of play once shot). Was some safety issues noticed on the field, team mates noticed a machete left on one of the paths and some of the recent cuts that were made to widen the paths on small tress were cut at an angle (pongee stick style). The paint was horrendous, probably the worst that I have ever played with (but with it being left in a shack over night in 20 degree weather that is to be expected, (once again back to management or lack of experience). This field has great potential but I feel is lacking in management (fairly obvious if all they can get for refs is a half a dozen guys). I would not recommend this field to be played on until some changes were made (safety and across the counter manner). The only reason I gave this field a 3 was because it does have a killer layout, with a nice fort and a lot of other bunker type set ups with tunnels, but sadly that does not make up for the negatives.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media