paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hopperz Paintball Field / Hopperz Paintball Field / Hopperz Paintball Field / Hopperz Paintball Field

Hopperz Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
10Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 613-256-4835
Location: Almonte, Ontario
Canada
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
nightmarejiffy Tuesday, June 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: May 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
no other field compares to Hopperz Paintball in Almonte but there are other fields
Commando Paintball (east end)
PSI/Paintstorm (central/west of ottawa)
Tactik paintball (Gatineau)
Directions
to the Field:
see their website for directions its actually not hard to find. And Tim Horton's is only 5 mins away too.
Review: this is the number 1 field in Ottawa.
Extremely Professional and safe minded staff.
Lots of fields with lots of variety.
Paintball teams are welcome to practice with their teams or just to use the field too. Plus they have the only Canadian Professional team in the area (CXBL Random Heroes), they also have (MXL Fallen Heroes), RXL (Hired Heroes) and CX4 (Almost Heroes).
They own the only 2010 CXBL field and the only TURF field in the surrounding areas.

Pricing is just perfect plus you can buy booklets of tickets to help save money on your next outting and it also supports the teams there. And they even have group discounts available for sporting teams booking the field for their parties.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

spicymchaggis10 Friday, March 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: July 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Marked paintball --> many bushball fields , friendly staff, X ball field
PSI --> no comment
Directions
to the Field:
almonte
Review: this is a real friendly place (great owners who have made a good name in ottawa paintball) the mobile shop has all the basic things one could need and if they don't have it in they will go out of their way and order something for you ..... no matter how hard it is to get a hold of

simply put the X ball field is the nicest sup air field in the city especially with turf going down. it is all mapped properly and perfectly leveled.

the bushball feilds are fast paced and unique to say the least. i believe their main bushball feild is trying to mimic a COD4 map.... but the name escapes me.

the refs have always been nice and can generally be found runnign around the feild telling renters to keep masks on and condoms on when needed

The paint is at a great price (probably the lowest price for the quality of paint in ottawa)

sometimes i noticed that it was hard to get on the X ball feild during hopperz team practice days.... although the owners (more specifically Gena from what i remember) would try her hardest to make sure that everyone was able to get on the feild.

- perhaps this could be solved by changing the practice hours.... although this is probably more easier said then done

i also found that sometimes it was hard to get a full fill 3000 fill ( i was informed by the owner that they keep it at that level for safety reasons .... that is renters or some players who don't know or forget the difference between a 4500 fill station and a 3000 fill station) this would only occur on busy days such as team practice days. but generally speaking the compressors are able to compete with the demand

-- perhaps installing a seperate 4500 fill station would correct this problem

The reason why i'm not giving this place a 10 is because there may not be enough bushball feilds for hardcore bushballers who love 4 acre feilds and such. but other than that great people, great x ball feild and great price.... Overall 8 /10 --> 9.5 / 10 if you just play speedball

Note: I know it is not always the nicest thing to give negatives in a review but i am trying to make this review fair and not one sided
Last edited on Thursday, March 11th, 2010 at 7:17 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

50cal.shooter Wednesday, January 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JT's - Alright, but only was there once.
Paint storm indoor - I found this field to be very small but I enjoyed the inflatable bunkers.
Commando's - I played there lots and it is a great place . But they don't have a airball field
Directions
to the Field:
Google Maps
You can get directions from there web site.
Review: They have a great fields to play on . You are not there half your game waiting for someone to come by to shoot at. All there fields are fast playing witch is great you are in the action right from the start.
They have 4 fields small bush field that is fun. There wrecker field is great to play on with all the cars.
The BOG FIELD is fun they have a bus and lots of bunkers and a tower. They are adding stuff every month to there fields. The ditch is a sweet place to play.

The best is there OFFICIAL XBALL SIZE field. They have a 2009 Pro Xball /CXBL field.
It is fully netted with lots of room on the side lines so if you want to take pictures.

There trailer has most everything you will need for paintball . If they don't have it they can get it for you.
The staff is really great and super safe. They don't fool around with that there.
They have the best teams there, They are all really friendly and want to help out younger players. They have Ottawa's top teams playing there. There paint is great always fresh and works great in all markers. They told me that it is a custom DRAXXUS paint at a great price.
I have asked them for help with my game and they will let you use there marker if you want to try them out.
This place is like a family place where there are lots of young kids dropped off to play and have a fun day of paintball.

If you want to have a great time you got to go there and try them . If you don't you are missing out on a great place to play .
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

BFD Tuesday, September 29th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 27th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
JT's Frontline
Paint Storm
Commando Dave's
Some Private Fields
Review: I have been looking for a home field all summer long this year, I have played most fields in the Ottawa area andsome as far as Kingston and Belleville.

I wish I had went to Hopperz sooner. The fields are fantastic many to choose from and some really unique items like the school bus. The employees were great they are very good a giving just enough coverage without baby sitting.

There prices are simply the best in the area !!!

I think we have found a new Favorite field.

Thank you
Last edited on Tuesday, September 29th, 2009 at 6:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SoaringEagle Saturday, October 11th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 11th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tactik, Psi
Review: This is the best/only field I play at in the ottawa area. everyone is kind and helpful and prices are good. anyone can go there and find people to play with from any level of skill. There are 4 fields, full size xball, pallets, cars, and woodsball. they have 2 teams competing in the CXBL series that you can practice with and will answer any questions you have. HPA and co2 fills.

Great field. would reccomend to anyone. 10/10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Esprit_inCANADA Tuesday, September 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: September 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at all other Ottawa area fields. Nothing compares to Hopperz.
Review: This is the best field in the Ottawa area. They have BYOP every Saturday and Sunday for equipment owners. They are available for group bookings 7 days a week. There open from May-October. They sell there field paint cheaper then any other field in the city. They have a regulation XBall field with PSP and CXBL field set-ups most weekends. They have a large "pallet" field which is a great attack defend scenario. A large trench runs through the middle of it with a bridge crossing in the middle. Shooting towers on both ends with many pallet bunkers for cover. They also have a large wooded field and a car field. There on site proshop consists of consumables and things you would need at a field. They sell cold drinks on site for cheap. The staff does a great job of helping things run smoothly. Many of there sponsored players can be found Saturdays & Sundays. Unlike the staff they generally aren't working so if you need to chat or ask a question when its busy they would have the time to speak with you and help. Its overall a great field with improvements all the time. Its been a greta season so far and theres still 6 weeks left. Check out the website for details, prices, and tournaments. Join the forum well your at it.

www.hopperzpaintball.ca
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeff black Sunday, July 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SMT (Indoor & outdoor) , Paintstorm ( Perkins, Perth, indoor ) , Renegade
Directions
to the Field:
In Almont , Industrial ave , one block south of March rd.
Review: A great day on what could have been a wasted trip. Only 30 min from my place, I was to meet our club today only to find out after the day was canceled. I was to play stock and saw that all the regulars had high end electros. I was wondering if the days was going to be a waste. I watched a little bit and decided to rent a field marker, Tippman 98 with HPA.

The field is BYOP on Sundays and even if i didn't have paint, low end paint was avail at $50 for a case of 2K. The players were a mix of young high school to University age. I was the old guy at 40 yrs.

The field is reg size X ball , which is what we played all day, they have a pallet field split in two by a deep ditch with a bridge. They also have a field with derelict cars which looked like it could be a lot of fun.

The fields are all netted and they have a trailer with HPA and some gear. Long tables for staging were well covered by long "intant garages". Well worth the 30min drive.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

newwerty Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 7th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
psi
smt
ca
Review: The fields(there are 5) are great, staff is very help full. The 5 on 5 air field bunker is the best there, This is the best air field i have played on. I suggest going on there walk on days because it is only 10 dollers and you meet new people. (plus paint if need) The fields are 5 on 5 air, 3 on 3 air, car(easy real cars that you can go in to) palit and forest. there is a lot of area for you to play. bring you own snacks because they do not offer food but the do have drinks. I would go every week if it did not close for winter. WAY,WAY,WAY,WAY ,WAY BETTER then PSI.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

abacus Friday, August 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
ottawa X-treme (havent been to new location)
PS
Commando Paintball.
Review: This field offers great value. the paint was nice, and it was fun to shoot zap for a change. This is the only field in the ottawa area that has zap paint at a field. The prices are the cheapest in ottawa i beleive. this is excellent since the field is still young there are fewer fields, so it compensates. their supair field is well made, and the car and pallet fields are well laid out and clean. the woods field left something to be desired but it has great potential.

my only complaint would be the experience of the refs on that day. they were very young and we a little shy and green. there are very experienced and knowledgeable people that run the fields. most come from PS(I) and know their stuff. The young guys just need some more training/confidence and guidance from the experienced guys.

this field shows great promise and is worth playing at. we only played 4 fields this day but it did not get repetitive. the fields are large and well planed and they offer many strategic options.

i will surely make a few more trips here and anticipate a much better experience every time.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_4_life Sunday, July 22nd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 22nd, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI-Pretty good, only indoor field in Ottawa, good pro-shop
Paint Storm Perkins-Great Outdoor field lots of space, cheap paint
Review: Today was the first time I've ever been to hopperz, and I must say I was impressed. They have about 5 fields set up, and all are well layed out. Although, the skid field could have used some more stand ups. Fields were in good condition, no unsafe areas to get hurt.

Staging was more than sufficient, picnic tables with tents over top is all you really need. They fill CO2 and air up to 3000psi, they also have a small pro shop, no big stuff like markers, hoppers, and tanks (Well I didn't see any anyway, but there could have been stuff like that hidden in the trailer).

Lunch was provided for a fee of $5 per person, this includes 2 slices of pizza and a soft drink. They also had refreshments available for purchase (Gatorade, water, and soft drinks I believe). Most of the staff was fairly young, but friendly and they knew what they were doing (this includes refs). Paint prices are as follows for walk-on days/parties: $75-Spank $100-Cryptic $140-Proball. I was playing with the Canadian Contingent so we got discounted prices.

For a field that is just over a year old, they've done a great job and provide a great experience for players new to the sport, and to those who've been playing for years.
Great experience, I'll definitely play there again.
Last edited on Sunday, July 22nd, 2007 at 3:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media