paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field / Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field

Hawaii All-Star Paintball Games Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
38Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (808) 630-6147
Address: 2475 N. Nimitz Highway
Honolulu, Hawaii 96819
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
panhead4411 Friday, March 1st, 2013
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 9th, 2013
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Several fields on the island, no experience with them as this was my first time on O'ahu.
Directions
to the Field:
Right off the Nimitz on/off ramp
Review: Preface: I'm an avid player, and whenever me and my bro go on vacation, we usually try to find a field to play at (as renters) if the schedule will permit. We were going to be on O'ahu for 10 days, i found a few fields, picked this one b/c it was easy to get to, and was definitely still open. Also, while reading, please note, i have experience running a field and reffing.

After finding as much info as i could about this field online, my expectations were fairly high.

We arrive about 10:30-11am, lots of cars already, good sign, we won't be lacking bodies.

Pros:
-BYOP, (since we were traveling and didn't have a GPS, we opted for the 'field paint')
-Three nice concept fields.
-Lots of shaded table space.
-Average price for renting, not the best, but much much better than some places i've seen.

Cons:
-Renal masks were terribad scratched, and didn't even look like they'd even been cleaned in any form since their last use.
-The paint available at the field was horrid, especially for the cost per bag, took my full weight stepping on the ball on gravel to break it.
-Netting in dire need of repair. Lots of holes and tears, plus the tallest net i think i saw was only 10-12ft high
-Was NEVER given a 'safety/rules' brief at any point, never even asked by any of the 'staff' if we'd even played before.
-^Was staffed entirely by kids. Oldest one there was maybe 15?
-Ref's were really only there to start/end games, no attempts to move from the '50 to do player requested paintchecks.
-Mounds field (neat concept, i like it) was very very dangerous. Grass up to your waste hid ALOT of pot-holes and large rocks. While trying to move through the grass, three separate occasions i was almost seriously injured.
-ALL players were put into the same game, all skill levels, and 'teams' were kept together, even when that severely stacked the odds. (i'm all for a challenge, but its different when your paint can't break, or fly straight out of a rental i'm not used to)

A couple examples of how our experience was not the best.

CHRONO:
As someone who has worked at fields before, this is one thing i tend to pay alot of attention to. I only ever saw a ref in the chrono area twice, and once was to help us get my bro's rental up from 210 fps (always doublecheck rental chrono). And the ref that 'helped' us didn't even know how to adjust THEIR OWN RENTAL!!! I had to show him?

REFS:
First few games were good, 7-7's or so, then as a few more ppl came, in came a 4-5man tourny squad. Okay, i'll take on race guns all day (normally play pistol or limited ammo Semi, so not a new challenge). Next game, refs pulled all 30-some paintballers together on the 'pipes' field, and put the tourny team together on the other team. We had a few pumps and a couple speed guns, the rest were renters. We break, i end up on the same bunker with one of the pumps, countering the tourny crew. We hit one of their hoppers, it ducks, comes back up clean, hit it again...wipes it again. Get a guy on the side of his mask...plays through. This whole time we are yelling for the ref to paintcheck those guys, he stands still at the '50. Game ends, switch sides.

After realizing my paint won't go straight worth anything, i decide the best option is for me to just crash the snake after one of the tourny crew ducked into it. I catch him with his gun down while crawling, put 5-10 rnds into him before his back-men stitched me. Dude didn't even look to see if he was hit, just kept crawling (15ft infront of ref). I'm standing on the side, i look and see some orange paint on his arm, i point it out to the ref, without moving he says "its old paint, he's good". I asked him to actually check it, it takes me nearly dragging this kid to the player to show him, the paint is still wet. "oh yeah, that is a hit." Good thing i dragged him over b/c dude was wearing an absorb jersey (really, against renters, you NEED an absorb jersey?). After he steps to the sideline i mention that one of his guys was wiping in the previous game, and how he never checked his own hits...his response "i play till the ref calls me out." And with these refs, that wasn't likely. I was frustrated, i chose to complain to 'whoever is in charge' about the situation with the refs not really reffing. They point me to the 15yr old who we gave our money to when we turned in our waivers. "Okay" is pretty much all the kid said. We, and several other players sat out the next few games b/c whats the point, if players are wiping and refs are 'reffing'?

After sitting a few games out, we decided to burn the rest of the single bag we'd purchased the next time they did the "mounds" field, then go and find something more constructive to do with our vacation for the rest of that day. just as i got eliminated for in the next game, my rental's valve blew. Good timing, as i was done with this place. Gave our remaining paint to a group of kids as we walked back to the car.

Conclusion:
Yes, we had some fun, got alot of eliminations, even some surrenders, but the sheer amount of frustration brought on by the kid ref's who's only care in the world was to blow the whistle to start/end the games really tainted our attitude. If your gna run a field, have more than kids running the thing. I get that you are trying to teach them responsibility and all that, but really, they just didn't have the gumption to actually REF the game. And if we ever return to those amazing islands, will look at other fields if we get the itch to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

<Blink> Friday, October 22nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: September 4th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Bellows Recreational Field
Directions
to the Field:
To the right of Nimitz Highway
Review: Good:
*Field- 3 fields, diversity, and has stands! They have rounds (3).
A. Mounds- bunch of dirt, large, little cover, hills.
B. Hyperball- many cover (small), a lot like speeds ball.
C. Houses- Lots of cover, lots of hiding places, many houses

*Refs- none

*Rules- none

*Players- Some are really good and decent enough to know what they are doing most of the time, got to play with Team Tropix (felt good to shoot one out), played with Team Tropix, and are very sportsmanlike



The Bad:
*Field- Is kind of messed up in a way that it looks unorganized and old. The netting doesn't protect anyone.

*Refs- Make bad calls MOST of the time, and are too young, don't explain rules very well, somewhat play with themselves.

*Rules- There are none really, they allow blind firing and (apparently) wiping

*Players- A lot of new players go there (they shouldn't), a lot wipe of the paint and refs don't call it.


Overall I enjoyed it because your more of a lone wolf because everyone goes there seperate ways on the field, everyone towards the end of a round either makes a last stand or makes a huge charge, I loved the diversity of the fields, and NONE of the players are asses
Last edited on Friday, October 22nd, 2010 at 6:01 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jasoncredible Saturday, August 28th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: The is my first time paint balling on an actual paintball field. I came with my own paintball gun and gear. The field let me use my own paintballs which was a plus because I was using ones my friend recommended. I only had to pay $15 to play all day which was a shock to me because I was expecting it to be more.

The Good-
*The owner was friendly and helpful especially when I broke my o-ring and he gave me one free of charge.
*The three different fields made it very fun and interesting.
*People there were also very helpful and showed good sportsman ship.

The Bad-
*Some of the refs were young but they still did a decent job.
*The field is not in the best of shape.

The Ugly- *Safety rules where not well enforced. I noticed dry firing under the tents and that's about it


The is a good field for friends, family and beginners. I enjoyed myself and had a good time. I would rate this field a 7/10

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Smokechoke808 Thursday, February 28th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Hawaii, Bellows,Indoor brothers
Directions
to the Field:
?
Review: I have been playin for a long time now. I just want to say that i have been to alot of fields on the islands...But this one is just well not quit there...The fields are in bad shape and the nettin...Well what is left of the nettin does not help. Good people... Well some of them... There is no safety meetin like at other fields I think that this is one of the most important things in paintball if you dont have it well...Anything can happen... I dont know about you but i dont like the fact that there is 10-11 yr old kids as refs. I mean dont get me wrong props to them for doin it but where the adults. Adults listen better to adults better than little kids. Well im gettin all worked up over this i dont think new players to paintball should go there. Go some where they will watch out for you safety. Because when it come down to it if you are not safe you should not play......You Be the judge...
Last edited on Thursday, February 28th, 2008 at 2:45 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

da Esclaw Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: January 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball hawaii the kaneohe 1..ya it compares
Directions
to the Field:
um by airport like the far right bottom road go to there and yo have to watch to the turn into the field if you dont you might miss the field
Review: First of all the staff if preety nice a few rude ppl ...um the owner is nice..
they have 3 fields:
mound
hyper ball
and air
they start registration at like around 9-9:30...You sign up either as walk on (intemediate),rental (beginner), or tourney teams...They dont allow dry firing under the tents.The set fps is around 285.They have a lunch wagon that comes in for food.Rules a pretty basic field rules ....You have to buy paint at the field...The airball field is a pretty basic layout. But the hyper ball field sometimes the tourny players change it...I personally dont like the mounds because i tripped on a hill/rock/weeds/ watever.. The fields a pretty rocky so if u plan on doing slides bring knee pads...
They open from 9-4 or 3 something.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

radoilanit Monday, January 15th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Pattaya Thailand, Israel, All American Sports park Las Vegas, Run-a-Muk Hawaii, Okinawa Japan (18 Services), Kaneohe Hawaii, Paintball Performance Hawaii, St George Utah, MCB Camp Pendleton,
Directions
to the Field:
Near the Airport, a little complicated to get to.
Review: The owner is super nice ans easy to deal with. There are three fields available to play on. There is a Hyper ball, Air ball, and "Mound" Field. The field is near the coast and was swept by the coastal wind. The Air ball field didn't have any tall bunkers to stand behind for back players. This might be in part to the trade-winds. The hyper ball field was like any other hyper ball field that you would play on. The "Mound" field was the least interesting field. it was filled with old school spools and mounds.

The field had the best field gun set up that I have ever seen anywhere in the world. they fielded Automags with Level 10 bolts. They all had U L E bodies on them, reducing the gun weight, and they were all aired up by Crossfire tanks.

The fill station had multiple fill hoses that filled to 4500, they only had one hose that filled to 300 which is what the house gun filled on.

Field Fees are paid in one area with rentals, and paint and air is paid for in another areas entirely. If your rent a house gun with air all day and your have your own tank that you want filled your are going to have to pay double. One for the rental gear and air all day and another to fill your own tank.

Air and Paint prices on all of the fields that I played on Hawaii was expensive so if you plan to play in Hawaii plan to pay a little more. This is probably in part to the fact that all paint has to be shipping in from the mainland.

There was a staging area with tents, the day that I was there, they had a couple private parties being ran through which had their own area of the tent taped off and under that tent gun racks line the outside of the tent.

The running theme while playing in Hawaii is for the entire field to take lunch break for a given amount of time. This field is not different from all the other fields. A lunch truck pulls up and affords players a venue to get "grinds".

Tourney players were running drills on Sunday and each group were ran through all of the available fields.

The down sides that I saw was that they only fielded on ref per field, guns were never chronoed by the refs and some of the netting could use with some tightening up. I personally never received a safety brief.

I would highly recommend this field for your intermediate and tournament level players. Because of guns not being chronoed and no safety brief I would not recommend this field for newer players.
Last edited on Monday, January 15th, 2007 at 12:37 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

Snowie Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 18th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Review: Well it has good fields(they have their "little" problems) and the owner is nice. He lets me borrow alot of parts that most owners of other fields would say "are you kidding me?!". He lets you borrow most things free of charge. The refs could be better though. I ask for paint checks and they dont always check. The also let their friends wipe off the paint and let them play some more. Heres what happened to my friend. It was a normal game and he was playing back with his tip. a5. five minutes into the game the ref says hes out and when i look at him he clearly had no paint on him. theres also a lot of rocks so be carefull when you slide. the division of players based on their guns i thought was a good idea. their chrono stations have 4 chronographs and all work. The area is well covered with tents and has a lot of seats. Their is also a lunch truck that comes over at noon that sells food for a reasonable price. The prices of paint are a little more than fair. For the quality of the paint it could be sold for a lower price. They could also take away the "field paint only" rule so people can bring in better quality paint found elsewhere. I did think it was wierd that the compressed air and paint is not offered by the field, but by a paintball store at 99 ranch. I would think that the field would offer their own air fill stations and paint but i guess not. The quality of the paint is ok but some have dents in them and tend to break in the gun.(this sucks when you have a cocker) The rental guns offered are great. Ive never heard of any place that uses automags with compressed air as a rental gun. And finally, I like how the owner stresses safety. Most fields do not stress safety as much as brandon does.

on to the fields.....

hyperball field: its a good field except the bunkers are free standing which means people tend to knock them over on accident. The wind also blows the bunkers down.

air field: ok i had the worst experience on this field. The bunkers were all deflated and the wind blew them left and right. This one game, I was the last person left at the back standup. The wind blew it off to the side and 2 guys lit me up(not fun). One guy had an ego and the other an ion.

mound field: this field is unique. Ive never heard of any paintball facility that offers a hill like field. If you guys dont know yet you ARE allowed to go into the forest area off to the side. You cant go past the "marker"(which is a stick with a flag on it) Its also a field that requires more strategy to win. The only downside would be those weeds with those poky things on them and the rocks. Those things are kinda annoying to pick off your pack when you get back from playing.

all in all its an ok field. I give it a 6.5 which rounds to a 7.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

doughboy99 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: April 15th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Hawaii KMCB, Bellows field, Extreme at Campbell Industrial Park.
Directions
to the Field:
Good Field, that's about it
Review: This field has been progressivly getting worse over the years. Where it used to be staffed by ref's that cared quite a bit about enforcing rules it is now staffed by younger kids that allow their friends and teammates to get a way with nearly every rule that they "enforce" upon others. Earlier this year they started a field paint only rule whch would be fine if they sold better quality, nothing is wrong with the brands but the fact that the paint sits in this guy's van baking and getting severely dimpled just takes the fun out of the game. Paying $45 for his "better" paint that is supposed to be .684 but kept rolling out of a .679 sizer (due to sever dimples) is just frustrating.

On the up-side, I love the field, always have. The air-field and hyperball field are great, the mountain field is kind of dangerous but still fun. It is also much closer to my home than my prefered field, and with the price of gas in hawaii that makes a big difference sometimes.

Conclusion:

While it is a good field, it's poor staffing and double standards really remove from the experience. Paintball is suppossed to be a fun, competitive sport, not a game where you can get away with "wiping" because you know the refs. The owner is a great guy but he needs to find some more reliable people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

mikediamo Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 8th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
bellow ( woods style)
Review: overall i consider this field average overall and above average for the island.

This field is excellent for the novice and family based players. levels of expectation are not as high from family based clients compared to seasoned paintballers. The day of the week you go determins the type of players at the field. The seasoned and advance players tend to play more on sundays then saturdays.

PRO:
Normally someone there to help you with tech issues.
lots of parking covered area's and seating
lunch is served via a catering truck at noon so bring lunch money.
3 fields(soft air, lego style, and what i like to call a woods field without the trees)
family style enviroment
clean
was impressed that the hydrostatic test date on my bottle was actually checked this a plus score for safety.
seperate skill levels.

CONS:
The owner is excellent but i think he is limited in quality of staff. Most of the referees are kids that tend to show favoritism to their friends and frequent players. They seem to get a little snotty when questioned. Im 32 yrs old so i guess i tend to notice things like that a little more.
My biggest complaint is more of a safety issue. There is no velocity enforcement on this field what so ever. They have an excellent crono station but no one check to see if people were running hot . I almost never see anyone adjusting there gun just checking and shooting targets. I got shot by someone with a hot gun and when i asked him to check it was running at 315 fps when field requires 285 max. Thank goodness the player was a honest person who turned it down and apologized in an excellent sportsmanship manner. As i am licking the nasty wound i got i thought it would be nice to not have to worry about it happening in the future. I did get annoyed however that when i mentioned it to the ref he blew me off.
What i found also interesting is that the field paint (you have to use) is supplied by brothers paintball in the back of a van. This supplier is new however, the lower grade balls($45) had dimples in it. This issue could be resolved by not stacking on pallets so high and to rotate the boxes which i think is not done after seeing it stored at their store. Also i guess i have old man mentality, they kids that are there selling the balls are more concerned about having a bs session with their friends then doing their job.

CONCLUSION:
For the family this is an excellent field since family style players don't have as high demands from a field. Next time i go to the field im going to bring up the issues to both managers. Im giving this place a 9 out of 10
I did list a lot of negatives but im a harder grader and i don't want to detour people due to my high levels of expectation. I just want others to know so that if they have the same expectations they will know what to expect
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PinoyHawaiian Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 29th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Xtreme paintball complex in Kapolei - Great field and great staff.
Review: Let me start by saying I went there to play after the paintball field my son and I usually play at temporarily closed down. I have never played there but my son had when he was younger. He told me that it was not a great place to play but I went there with a open mind. But after a day of playing I was totally convinced that I will never play there again. Let me list some on the good things about this field.

Strenghts:
I was impressed with the amount of tent covered benches.Lots of room to put your gear.
Big chrono station.
Location is in the airport area which is more accessible to people that live in the down town area. Other fields are located in the country area.
Lots of parking.
PA system to notify players of upcoming games.
Players separated by experience and equipment.
Lunch wagon comes at noon so you can buy lunch.

Weaknesses:
"Field paint only" field which is not the problem but the paintballs are sold by another person out of the back of his van. I think this is very unusual as other fields sell there own paint. The cheapest paintballs he sells are $40.00. These are a mix of several types of paintball paint. I was actually not going to buy these but he reassured me that these were good. Well after going though half the case my son and I had lots of broken paint. This has never happened to us before and we have used alot of different paint. I recommend that you do not buy these paintballs and go for the more expensive type he sells which will vary from $45-$60.00

All day compressed air is also sold by the same guy that sells the paintballs. Again very unusual? There are 4 stations but only 1 of them actually worked to fill my 72ci 3000 psi tank. Very disappointing as I paid $20.00 for all day air for me and my son and the service was defintely subpar.Compressors also took awhile to fill my tank when it did work. It took about 2 mins to fill.

The walk-on games I feel could have been managed better. There were about 20-30 players playing on one field!! I think and players should of split to 2 fields making for smaller better games. The overpopulated field to me wasn't fun.

The referees were all young teenagers which I do not have a problem with. But being yelled at because I forgot to put on my barrel cover well that's a different story. I'm 36 years old and lucky for him I showed restraint. But my concern is that the next guy probably would not. The refs should enforce rules but also should show some common courtesy. He did not need to yell at me but could have politely warned me. Also there were some players that were trash talking during the game and I feel the referees should have warned the person to stop but never did. I think this was because he was a friend of the refs. This should give you an idea of the whole attitude on the field and the lack of control.

Now the last thing is that all throughout the day I observed many people dry firing their guns under the tent area. My son was dry firing his gun trying to clear some paint in his gun because of the crappy paint we were sold. Well my son was told over the PA system no dry firing under the tent area. Well that really struck a nerve as the other people who were dry firing earlier were never warned when they were doing it. But the group that was dry firing were "Friends" of the field so I guess it was ok for them to to it but not ok for us. I also saw several people of the same group fire their guns in the chrono station without a mask on and they were never warned not to do that. The rules of the facility should be the same for everyone but be more stricter for employees and their friends as this will leave a bad impression on their customers that the rules only apply for certain people.
Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 4:00 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media