paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Fly N' Colors Indoor Paintball Field / Fly N' Colors Indoor Paintball Field / Fly N' Colors Indoor Paintball Field / Fly N' Colors Indoor Paintball Field

Fly N' Colors Indoor Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 2172461241
Address: 12284 Old State Road
Charleston, Illinois 61920
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
cubs4life Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
only other field ive played at was level X which wasnt even comparable.... i think level X is closed down now though....
Directions
to the Field:
got to the website....it was kind of difficult to find though...
Review: First of all me and my friend got their about 11 on a sunday. The staff was very friendly. we are relatively new to paintball so he helped out alot...We were pretty intimidated at first because there were all tourney players there. but they ened up bein really cool. There was a problem with my gun aand one of the tourney guys helped fix it... When we went out there we didnt have the slightest idea what to do Cus i learned alot more than i would of learned with ppl of the same skill level...The onloy down side is that they only have one field, but its amazing...The prices are extremely cheap compared to other fields so thats always good...And ya if u go there u wont be dissapointed..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

acer666 Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
norman paintball love that place
Directions
to the Field:
mapquest.com is ur friend
Review: Field is alright, could be better. For one some times only the staging area is heated, which sucks when you get on the field and freeze, which is also not good for paint at all. The field is about as big as one i could fit in my backyard. If the would have moved the staging area to the front instead of the side it would be a much larger/better field. Also some of the regular (not going to name names) cannot deals with someone being better than them and will treat you like crap.
Also, yeah i know tony put a ton of money into this field but 60 a case is just insane.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mmcgee81 Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: March 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: noone has given this place a review in awhile so i guess i will ad my thoughts and experience. They have open play on Sat. and Sun. from 10 a.m. until everyone goes home. Sat. is pretty much all rec ball players. Usually a little less experienced players to intermediate. Later in the day usually some of the guys that ref usually show up and throw some paint around. They are very personable and fair to play with. Sun. is very competetive with teams in the morning into early afternoon. Mostly recball players after 2 p.m. but all have pretty good talent. i play on Sat. And Sun. Sat to get my ego up and Sun to put my ego in check. Its pretty relaxed (sometimes the college teams get a little amped during gameplay). Tony is the owner is also very laid back and personable. If you can keep your damn mask on and put your barrel condom on when you cross the net you won't have a problem from anyone. Right now its indoors cuzz its still like 30-55 degrees and the field is done right with all air bunkers. In the summer i am told a massive x-ball field is going up and woods ball is suppose to be great too. Come out on Sat. if your unsure and you'll have a good time.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

RhinoGBA25 Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Level X- Closed
Warzone- I love this field, Xball. Friendly environment ,
Sudden impact- IMO best Xball field in Central Illinois
Friendly fire- Small indoor field in bridgeport. I liked this field, very nice turf
Salt fork paintball- Where i was brought up, Woods ball field. I like
Norman paintball- Speed ball field, very fun.
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest.com
Review: Well, I really love this field for many reasons. 2 years ago I met a bunch of paintballers that I still play with. Austin, jordan, brenton, and many more. We have been waiting for this indoor field for a long time now. Its finally here and its at its best. First, brand new air ball bunkers. Second, the lighting is very good, Its nice and bright. Third, friendly environment, all the regulars like my self are very open to new players and try to help everyone out. I really like this field for so many reasons. Price is kinda high, but everyone pays it so, it is 60 a case. Which includes air and entry. 2 case is still 60 bucks.
If your lookin for a good indoor field in illinois, come to this field. Ill be out there rollin with my PM8. :-0.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

giantbryant55 Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 29th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Breakout Dunes - closed
Level X - closed
Directions
to the Field:
flyncolorspaintball.com
Review: Prices - If you don't have a gun or any experience then don't worry. You can play for $65 total, $60 for a case of paint (Draxxus field paint) and $5 for a rental gun (pmi piranha), mask (JT super crap super fog) and all day air.
If you have your own equipment, then all you have to buy is field paint (you have to use their paint). $20 for 500, $60 for 2000.
CO2 and Nitrogen is free all day.
9 out of 10 for prices.

Fields - They have a woodsball field but it wasn't open at that time (winter cold).
The speedball field was indoor and that's where I played for 5 hours that day. The speedball field has all air bunkers via mightypaintball.com. I personally didn't like field's setup but I'm picky. It is extremely narrow, it only has one snake, at the start you can see the opposing team and watch them break (that lane needs a bunker), and the dirt makes it hard to run. The field was decent though, it was playable. The outdoor temp was about 35 and the indoor temp was probably about 60. I played in a T-shirt for a few games and then got cold and went back to my hoodie.
6 out of 10 for the speedball field.

Safety - This was a very safe field. Barrel condoms were on at all times in the stageing area and masks were on at all times on the field. Hats off to Tony for the safe atmosphere. All guns were to run under 275 fps, and players rarely ever bunkered or bonus balled.
9 out of 10 for safety.

Spectators - People who were not playing can easy watch any on going games. There is a wall seperating the stageing area and the playing field but the wall is practically all window. You could also put on a mask, walk out into the playing area and watch inside or outside of the net.
8 out of 10 for spectatability - there's a Bushism

Hours of operation - I believe you can rent the fields during weekdays but you'll have to call Tony for more information. Standard hours are Saturday and Sunday from 10 - 5.
8 out of 10 for hours of op.

Players - There were about 20 - 25 people there when I went. Every single one of them were serious guys running top dollar guns. A few of the staff members grabbed pumps and played for fun, obviously they didn't fair well against the ions, egos, invert minis, timmys, immpys, etc but it was all in good fun. Overall, the players there were in their own tight circle and were reluctant to converse with the new comers (me and my friends).
9 out of 10 for the competition

Overall rating, 8 out of 10

P.S. Carmen Electa is a 9 out of 10, a Ferrari is a 9 out of 10, - this field is not quite a Carmen Electa or a Ferrari so the 8 out of 10 rating is a perfect score for this field, don't cry about it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

X-MANN Wednesday, December 12th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 9th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
oh boy,
Level X, RIP
Chili Pits- Chilicothe IL
War Zone :( :(- Flora IL
Paintballbarn_ Attica IN
Norman's Charleston IL
Toledo Indoor- Toledo OH
Coloseum- Woodriver IL
PGP- Springfield MO
Over The Edge- Benton IL
Xtreme Paintball Park- Milstadt IL
The Badlandz- Crete IL
Breakout Dunes, RIP- Sullivan IL
'Lil Dodge City, RIP- Taylorville IL
Directions
to the Field:
East off I57 Turn North at Owen's Honda
Review: FNC is where is where I was first introduced to speedball. Tony Shriver(owner) and his Friend Tyson were the coolest guys. This was way back when the Impy was new and everyone was afraid of the guy with the Angel. I went back from time to time just to play a little and have some fun with Tony and the guys.
Fast forward 10 years and Tony has done the incredible! He and Tyson and their band of brothers have built an amazing indoor field right here in central ILLINOIS that is not 30 miles off the beaten path. The staging area is large and HEATED. The field is more than accomadating for 5 man teams but we've been playing some epic 8 v 8's that has been a total blast. The bunkers are all brand new Mighty bunkers. The air system is brand new and cost Tony a fortune but it's something Tony knew he needed to do what he has in mind. Tony isn't even close to being finished with everything he wants to do. He has the desire to make everyone happy. This will take time but as long as we show him our support and appreciation for what he's doing he will stay focused and get the job done.
Outside there is a woodsball field and this summer will bring an Xball field. If you are even the slightest bit close to Mattoon Illinois and have even the smallest itch to play paintball then FlyN` Colors is where you want to be. Everyone is easy going. There is some really good talent but none that will act as though they are something great. No one fights or really even argues. It's like everyone is everyone's best friend.
Come on out and ball with us, you won't be sorry.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

murder junkie Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: December 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
route 16 inbetween mattoon & charleston from charleston turn right @ osage rd then left @ stop sign @ top of the hill. from mattoon turn left @ owen honda go staight till you see a big barn with a blue roof off to the right.
Review: THIS FIELD IS THE BOMB! they got a huge 3 to 5 man INDOOR barn with lights & heated staging area .they have a xball field going up out back in the spring.they have a big woodspeed field with a big ass bridge tree house and a big creek running thru it all wood bunkers and it always changing.woodspeed field out behind the xball field .cool staff ,fair prices,feild paint only.you buy their paint for 60 a case or 20 a bag and THERE IS NO FIELD OR AIR FEE !!!,refs are vevy good and very fair NO FAVORTISM THERE !!! they are all about safety so on the field mask on @ all times sleves on in staging area, their working on gettn some tournys set up in neer future.i would say if you want to have a damn good time thats the place to go.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 11th, 2007 at 6:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikskater33 Saturday, July 7th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 19th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Norman Paintball, Level X, Sudden Impact
Review: This is a great field to play on. It is my favorite local field so far, and i will explain it.

Staff: Really cool, will help you out with your gun, fun to talk to AND play with.

Fields: Theres one woodsball and one speedball, speedball is a lot of fun, makes this field my favorite.

Shop: Nothing to buy, but there is good paint and air and co2 fills so what mroe could you ask for??

Safety: Very important, rules enforced very well.





Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stormin-Norman Thursday, June 14th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: June 14th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Norman Paintball
Level X
Warzone
Directions
to the Field:
Turn Past The Calvary Baptist Chruch When coming from I-57 on 16. You will see Owen Honda, a large 4 Wheeler dealership before you turn at the Church. After you turn left keep going till you see the school, after the school take your next right and about 500 feet down will be a sign to turn into flying colors.
Review: First of all I have to say, Tony Shriver is awesome, and a dedicated field owner who doesn't just enjoy playing paintball but loves to run the field. You can tell it is not about money for him, because he is constantly investing in his field and his equipment. I really admire Tony for his passion and wish I had the same drive for my field.

He has airball and a building is in progress. This is definately going to be the field to play at year round when the building is fully constructed. I like Flyin Colors because the competition is always fierce, and most of the time I am sore the next day from having to play up a level.

It's hard to really review the individual fields because the field is always changing. Tony, keeps you on your feet because you never know what the field is going to look like the next time you go. Tony has good chunk of woods and always has at least one good sized speedball field setup. No matter what you do, your sure to have a good time, I know I always do!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media