paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Best Shot Paintball Field / Best Shot Paintball Field / Best Shot Paintball Field / Best Shot Paintball Field

Best Shot Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
18Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 563-588-1077
Address: Bankston Park
Dubuque, Iowa 52004
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
kikkia Wednesday, October 14th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: October 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Head North of Bankston
Review: Very Nice!!!

I love this place!!!

I go about every other Sunday. They have 3 good fields. I love the ghost town. If you go there I think you will like it too. The Refs are very good and the staff is very friendly.

Paint is $50.00 for a case of JT Hydros

Overall I like this place a lot
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coldhell9 Tuesday, July 7th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 5th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Overall experience was great. The referee's were outstanding and were better than some tournaments I have played in. The ghost town is awesome and with special "bunkering" rules all but gauranteed kids and inexperienced players were not turned off by point blank shooting. I had an awesome time and will be back!!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

_WARRIOR_ Friday, June 15th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
I haven't been to any of the others.
Directions
to the Field:
About 40 minutes from East Dubuque, directions on website.
Review: They're good on the safety, always checking for barrel covers and masks.

Paint is good at $45 a case with a season pass.

They have a speedball (hyperball), ghost town, and woods. They did set up airball on a walk-on Saturday this year, too. The slight hill in speedball isn't really that dramatic...

I have a season pass, so I'm there about every other Sunday. I don't agree with a lot of these reviews, the refs are nice and I can't imagine them doing what some of you have said. They do allow bunkering in speedball if everyone agrees.

It's a good field, nice staff, and they keep the games moving.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

DBQpaintballpro Wednesday, June 6th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: May 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Steeple paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Go on Northwest Arterial, turn left onto Asbury road, follow Asbury road for about 12 miles and you will come to a "T" intersection. turn right onto Bankston Park road, follow Bankston Park road for 2 miles, and Best Shot Paintball will be on your left, you can't miss it.
Review: I have been to Best Shot about 4 times and since there isn't any fields close to Dubuque, I think the closest one is in Davenport, but you don't want to drive that far to go paintballin for one day! Safety at Best Shot is very important to them, you have to have a waiver if you are under 18, and you need a parent or a legal guardian to sign it. While on the fields or anywhere on Best Shot property they always make sure that you have your barrel cover on and if you are on the field you always have to have your mask on. They do a pretty good job on the safety part, they may challenge you on whether or not you are doing the safe thing but that's because they want to keep you and everyone safe so that everyone can have a good time. They have a Woods course, Ghost Town, and a speedball field, they also have an airball field that they set up for their tournaments but only when they have tournaments, not any other day. The woods course is okay, one side is up hill, the other is down hill so the team that starts on top of the hill has a big advantage. Ghost Town is alright, it's different because there are buildings that you can run in and out of. The speedball course isn't very good because the bunkers are made out of large, plastic tubing and plastic satelite dishes. I have never been to one of Best Shot's tournaments so I can't really tell you anything about that airball field except that the bunkers are inflatable bunkers which are way better than the plastic ones on the other speedball field. The hours are good, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Groups reserve on weekdays, walk-ons go on saturday and sunday. Prices are very expensive, high grade paint is $80 a case! Rental equipment sucks, $25, you get a Tippmann pro carbine, V-force goggles, and CO2. All day air is 6$, free if you get rental equipment. I just recently heard that Steeples Paintball opened in St. Donatus, which is 10 miles from Dubuque, IA on highway 52 south. When I got there, I got to know the owners, some of the players, and I got to go paintballin out there. They have 2 airball fields, a 5-man, and a 7-man. They have a 4 acre woods course, and "Baghdad", which is a field made out of sand bag bunkers and wooden spools. I went on both airball fields and loved it! the fields are just awesome, the people out there are just awesome, the prices are way cheaper than Best Shot, and I guarantee to you that you will have a way better time at Steeples rather than Best Shot. The only bad thing is that you have to buy there paint, you can't bring your own. There paint is almost half the price than Best Shot! When I went to Steeples for my first time, after the day was over and when I was on my way home, I told myself and my friends that whenever I get the chance to go paintballin I am definitley going to Steeples, nowhere else!

I rate Best Shot as a 4.

I rate Steeples as a 9!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jmalin77 Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 12th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Velocity in West Liberty, The Edge in Marion, Adventure Park in Shellsburg, Iowa Paintball Park in Vinton
Review: The owners and refs were all very nice, and the refs did a good job during games. As far as fields go the Ghost Town is pretty cool. I'm not sure I dig the rule about not entering the building if it's occupied but hey it's theiur field their rules. The hyper ball field was on the side of a hill and I wasn't too keen on that. The woods ball course was alright, but one side starts on top of a hill, and the other side at the bottom. The top of the hill has a really big advantage over the bottom. Seeing as it was an hour and a half drive for me from Cedar Rapids I doubt I will go back unless I'm already in the area. Not saying it's a bad course, personally I wasn't too fond, and I live a ways away.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyenasty27 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 13th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
outside bankston,20 mins away from dubuque.
Review: I have to say that this Field was well run.there staff is very nice(my gun was broke so i got half off the rental)There reffing was great although i wish there was bildshooting.There is a ghost town which should be made so that the games end quicker.They also need to make the air ball open to rec-days. THAT WOULD BE FUN!!!!The prices for paint r expensive but i bring my own anyways.Unfortunately they do no have a proshop at the filed and the closest one is and hour and a hal away.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

-=Mescalito=- Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 14th, 2004
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Total paintball Davenport IA. (just air ball field), Ducks blind Davenport IA. (3 different fields, 2 woods 1 speed), Velocity Paintball Coral Valley, IA(1 hyper, 1 woods, 1 air)
Review: Now i only played here once, and the atmosphere seemed nice (though there was a lot of young-bloods). The woods ball field they have is good, ample bunkers & fort structure, ravines and hard rock cover pluss the whole high gorund low ground thing its got going on is cool. The speed ball field is not bad (especially when you use the snake to flank the whole team and find 3 noobs hiding behind thier satellite dish LMAO) the ghost town is good too, but i only played on it once or twice before i was ejected from this field for my "overly aggressive" playing style. I was using a freinds marker, a spyder, and surprise, it broke mid match. So me never having had heard of this 25 foot rule in any other field ive ever played on, i proceded to "bang" folks. the ref gave me the first 2. but then i guess i got carried away and ran through 2 other buildings and kept "banging" loud as i could possibly yell. well there was two refs, one was cool about it, even complimented my assault (male age 20-26 or so), however there was a different ref (older heavyset woman, maybe 35-45) ooo boy did i piss her off... my buddy told me i kind of luaghed / smirked when she was yelling at me fro breaking 25 foot rule so she ejected me.... i was amped from what i knew to be a well played round and didnt even realize it... so if you know who im talking about b2koneballer, tell her i said sorry, but that rule is lame, and if newbs cant handle it, F 'em... LOL
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

auggie84 Friday, July 1st, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: Best shot is a fun field to play at. true the location is a little far from town but what is a short drive for a fun day. The speed ball field is a good size, since games usual only goes for three min. The town is a ghost town so its suposed to look the way it does. For those people that dont like the 25 foot rule, deal with it. If you were bunked on your first walk on day by a better player you would probably never play again. Thats no way to expand a sport that has enough people trying to kill it. Personally I love the field because it has such differences. The one thing that needs improvement is the fill station and time to get filled. they are working to fix that.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

b2koneballer Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Review: ok i disagree with alot of these reviews, especially the one writen by "crappyone" ok the whole thing about your friend getting thrown out is the biggest piece of crap. ok in the history of the field that the current owners have owned it they have only thrown out 2 people one was alone time ago when they first got the field and the other was because two people were fighting. so i personally dont know what you are talking about because i work there and i havnt heard about anything like that, and i dont know one ref that would freak out about that. it is a common mistake. and another thing about the 25 foot rule, it is stated like that in the insurance. and best shot does allow bunkering only if every one agrees. and on the airball field it is always bunkering. so the 25 foot rule is really there for groups who dont play every sunday like we do. i personally think that it is a great field not only because i work there but because it has stuff that other fields dont have. and one thing about the speedball<hyperball> course what is wrong with it being on a hill, nothing thats what. it is something diferent and not like every one elses. so there is my 2 sense worth, and one more thing, dont bash field owners, unless you yourself own a field and know how it is done, STOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the field owners try there hardest to keep every one happy, its not that easy running a field when everyone and there brother wants hand outs, nothing is for free so get over it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

drum_head_70 Monday, June 20th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tiffin, Best shot, Powerstation just to name a few in the area.
Review: I played one Tourney at Best shot and the home team had KIDS on there team that would go back and forth from team to team and did not sign up with more then one team. The home KIDS won due to there cheating and talking to the refs that they knew and talked them in to making bad calls and stuff like that. Not all the refs were bad but i will not go back to a RIGGED tourney again. The field sucked, SOME refs sucked (enough to make a game) and it was a mess to try getting air cuz no one was there at the stand. A poor run place and they need to think about getting better refs and if there going to have a air ball tourney get an air ball field first. This goes to the kid that cheated, you know who you are. YOU SUCK stick to filling pods.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media