paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Magnum Sportz Paintball Field / Magnum Sportz Paintball Field / Magnum Sportz Paintball Field / Magnum Sportz Paintball Field

Magnum Sportz Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (616) 667-1508
Address: 596 Baldwin
Jenisona, Michigan 49428
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
papapaint Monday, July 20th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Crossfire Paintball - Holland, MI.
Nice outdoor fields, including what looks to be a fun hyperball field (not yet played on). Polite and accommodating staff/owners.
Review: Hats off to Magnum Sportz & T.C. Paintball in Jenison, Michigan for a couple of very nice tournaments over the weekend.
Excellent instructions to the rookie teams on Saturday.
Both tournaments well run...kept moving along...well ref'd.
Sportmanship not only encouraged, but insisted on.

Already very nice indoor & outdoor fields made even better with white netting added indoor, new netting outdoor, outside air added, extra seating & table added outdoor as well.

If you haven't visited lately, you might want to swing by.

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gribble98 Monday, July 14th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
M-40 Holland, MI
Apocalypse Games Angola, IN
Splat Tag Hudson, WI
Review: I went on a Thursday night for Reball and I loved it! I have only played woods ball my entire life and wanted to try something new. I have never used Reballz before and this was great, you play on a indoor turf field, and no mess!

Pros: (most reball)
Only a field fee $20 and no cost of buying cases of paint (makes playing paintball cheep) haha
It was indoor on turf so you don't get dirty hardly any gun cleanup, this was great for someone who has always played in the woods
Face paced

The only thing I didn't like was it was a little dark inside, I can see why they need the netting on top of the field for safety but it would be nice if it was more bright inside.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

gvsujustin Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Review: I've just got into speedball about six months ago and have only been able to play about three fields, but the indoor field at magnum sportz is definitely my favorite (which I played once or twice a week). The field and bunkers are well kept allowing for very efficient setup of the field layout. The refs and staff usually consists of people who regularly play the field so they don't wald around lost or confused . most of the weekend is open play with fairly experienced players and some novices, and occasionally there is a thursday recball opening. If your looking to just have a good relaxing time I recommend sunday morning, and if you are looking for more tournament style play with some D2 level guys show up on saturday night for unofficial "fight night" where you can play with teams like the GVSU team, "TC Machine" and "Rip Tide." the indoor enviornment along with the dark netting can make it difficult for someone who is used to playing in the outdoors in the sun, but you get used to the dark pretty quick. air is free (CO2 and CA), and the field fees ($25) let you play for the entire open play period for as many rounds as you want. paint isn't cheap (stinger and whitebox starting at $40-$45 a case) but if you buy a case you won't have to pay entrance. there is a repair/retail shop right on the field and the staff really knows what they are doing. refs are fair and very flexible allowing for a more enjoyable time.
I'm rating this field an 8 because I haven't played many fields so I don't have much to compare it to. they also have their new outdoor field up and running so keep an eye out for those reviews.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Englandude94 Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've moved recently but compared to others in my previous residency in Westport,CT this field has a clean, safe field
Review: the extremely well kept field makes paintball intense and just fun! whether you have paintballed or not its a whole new experience. The price is great its 5 for a gun, gas is free (co2 or compressed air ,big +) and being there and playing is 15 for the whole day. The balls are a little bit pricey but you'll manage. staff sometimes plays with you which is fun and they know what their talking about like Tom or Kevin. rules are up to standards and they shake up the game types like with medic, where you have a medic with two lives 4 each team=). players very b/c its a serious place with lots of hiding spots and angles. The consestion stand is a big plus. The outdoor field is coming soon which will make this place like 20x better even though its already awesome. 8.85 out of 10. go play, have fun. be safe. kick the crap out of the new guy. haha just kidding
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drew M. Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
My local spot is Excalibur in Battle Creek. I've also been to Chaos during its short-lived time Battle Creek and an indoor field in Holland. Magnum, bar none, has the best indoor field out of all these other places while meeting the similar prices for paint and rentals. Might I also add that Exalibur doesn't have an indoor field...yet.
Directions
to the Field:
The field is located in a Soccer Zone building to the left of a local Meijer grocery store. We had driven from the south of the area and it got a little confusing for us.
Review: Let me start off by saying that this field has an awful lot of potential. They have set up a superb air-ball field with very nice turf. My friend and I were immidiately impressed with the layout and the sheer size of the field. Also, the staff, (basically consisting of one guy at the time,) was helpful and seemed to get the job done right. The place was obviously well kept and stood firm on rules and regulations. Like most fields, they also typically offer rentals and have a pro-shop in the building. They also allow you to bring your own paint, which was a surprise to us. Now, there are some improvments that need to be sought after for this field to really shine. First and foremost, the refs, I swear, were no older than 10. They were young and they were scared to get in the mix. Older, more experienced, refs need to be out there and check players for hits. Second, lighting was a factor on the field. One side seemed much more dim than the other side and was hard to track down players. A regular said, though, that they may replace the top netting to a lighter color. Finally, the bunkers were not fastened down in anyway. They were quite easy to accidently tip over and blow your cover, (which happened to me several times). Overall, this field was good. 250 fps seemed a little low for such a large field, but thats their call. I suggest to anyone near the Grand Rapids area.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

V3ngeance Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: February 9th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Behind the Meijers, further than Culvers
Review: This field is a really great field to go to. The refs and pro shop and owner likewise are really nice and helpful in every way. The regulars are also very nice and helpful, and had my friend with me, and his gun broke down and a regular let him borrow his marker, which i believe was a very nice marker(ego) with a halo and all, which I thought was awesome. The area is very clean and lit well, everything about the place is awesome. Culvers is about a 30 second jog so theres no worries about food, or the concession stand inside soccor zone, which is a little exspensive, but its there. The facility is the one I'm sticking too, the guy working the pro shop is always willing to help and has helped my friend many times for free. Go here! You will not be disapointed!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unatommer Thursday, December 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 12th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Between Chicago drive and Baldwin, behind the Jenison Meijers...in the Soccer Zone building
Review: Played here for the first time last night and wanted to write about my experience. It was a reball (not paint) night. This is based on this one experience only and should be taken as such.

Pros:
Area is clean and well thought out/setup
Field itself is well kept, they seem to wash it down pretty good after paint (non reball) days.
Airbunkers can be rearranged for different field configurations
Decent spectator area with two levels of seating
Compressed air for rentals/self fill compressed air
Prices are quite reasonable (which means I get to play more!)
Refs seemed to do alright (however this was a reball night, which is pretty much a game of honesty)
Good staging area with spray bottles to clean off goggles

Cons:
1.) Staff was a bit lethargic (guy manning the equipment booth was on his cell phone for 10 minutes while we stood there waiting...once he got off the phone I actually had to say "hey can I ask you a question" and he was like "oh, you needed help?" I think his name was Tom.)
2.) Field was WAY short on reballs. There weren't that many of us playing and the bin was empty. The last half hour or so of play people were picking reballs up off the floor... Buy a few more cases or something, please. Most of us were shooting semi auto guns too. Imagine if we all had full auto/select fire.
3.) CHRONO was BROKEN. I guess it had broken during the tournament they had the previous weekend (and we played on Wednesday). So the refs had people shoot down the field and kind of eyeballed it to see if people were shooting too hot. I hope they resolve this soon because this does reek of unprofessionalism. (sorry guys, but it does) If anything they should have one of those $30 handheld ones as a backup just in case something like this happens.

Overall this seems like a great field to play at. The negatives that I mentioned can be easily fixed and probably will be soon (i'm not sure about the service from that one guy but oh well). I will go again and post on my experience. Note that i'm still giving it a 7 even with the negatives (my assumption is they were just having an off day). DESPITE THE NEGATIVES I RECOMMEND YOU GO CHECK IT OUT.

(review edited on 3.10.08 to add field recommendation).
Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 8:57 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

Chris2506 Monday, August 27th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 26th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: This is the best place ever. I called in to make sure they were open, and they were getting ready to close because no one was there to play. I told them i will have a group in soon. we wound up having car trouble and showed up over 30 minutes late and they still waited for my group. The staff is extremely helpful and know what they are talking about. They have a pro shop so if you need something they probably have it, and at a good price. it has turf that is great for sliding and a great field set up. The refs are fair, and everyone was just really cool. I liked it so much im goin back this coming weekend.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

IGetBounses Monday, July 9th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tc paintball, woodland
Directions
to the Field:
right next to the meijer in jenison in the same building as the soccer zone
Review: oh my god!!! i love this field!! the first time i went to this field was so much fun!!! i imidiatly loved the field. it has a nice viewing area complete with bleachers and plexi glass windows!!! and i also noticed that this place was very clean!!! they do reball tues - thursday and paintball fri sat and sun. the staff is likeble and refs are nice. the reffs keep games going and make good calls. the turf is incredible!!! its really easy to slide on and plus they just got brand new nppl bunkers the field is like 175ft or so by like 60ft-75ft i think. plus its very cheap. reball is only $20 for the whole day!! i would HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS FIELD!!!! plus if ur new you can go to a noobie night which is all day an tuesday. Basicly all players are allowed you just can NOT use electronic hoppers. any other day u can use them. wensday there is a deal that if you bring 2 cans of food you get 5 dollars off. great field!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media