paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Giant Paintball Park / Giant Paintball Park / Giant Paintball Park / Giant Paintball Park

Giant Paintball Park

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
8Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: N/A
Phone: 877-442-6897
Address: 88 Fair Drive
Costa Mesa, California 92626
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
veronica Tuesday, August 10th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: July 15th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Review: This Park is beautiful, hands down. Even though I do have a favorite Park, This Park is super fun. Go out their and try it out. You will love it, and go ahead and recommend it to your buddies out their too. You'll have a blast trust. It is soo worth it! And don't worry about getting hurt the reffs out their are incredibly good. No worries!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fattymcnasty Tuesday, December 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 6th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all of them except camp pendleton
Directions
to the Field:
405 exit Fairview
Review: Well i have played at this place a few times. When i arrived at giant i noticed it was very small w/e...i wasn't expecting giant fields in the size of the Orange County speedway. The parking lot is small but never is full because this place really never gets too crowded.

The park this year is very clean. There are always at least 2 employees sweeping the park at all times. the bathrooms are always clean and they are never broken. The vending machines are broken or were broken when i went but are not owned by giant paintball. so don't go complain to them. they wont do anything about it eating your money.

Speedball. This year it is a mega arena. it is completely worthless and i dont think its even worth putting up. its smells awful with the mud, and is really small. the arena is placed on like half concrete and half dirt so don't try to slide you will tear your knees up. the bunkers are blown up tanks and like blow up people like you would see at football practice with the o so mighty left 50 cannon. lol its bad.

Rec ball. The recball field is run length wise down the whole field. it is run as 1 field this year and not split in two. the mud makes it difficult but you really get to get down and dirty which is half the fun of paintball. They took out the old cars from last year as some of you might know and put in Styrofoam rocks instead. they work alright.

If you are looking for some place with big fields with cow poo everywhere and smells like someones butt hole, don't go here. this park is a very small close knit place that is kept very clean all day. (for a paintball park of course)

The Employees. They try to help as much as possible and if you have any questions they will help you out with whatever you need. but if you just go up to them and ask them to fix your gun, there not going to do it.(being that the gun you are asking them to fix isn't a rental, they will give you a new gun or fix yours on the spot) that's what gun manuals and bringing tools to the field are for. Also if they break your gun they are held liable, at least that is what they told me. A few of the refs are very knowledgeable of the sport and a few are complete morons and probably have never paint balled in there entire lives. Safety is the main thing they press on to everyone. "keep your mask down at all times while you are on the field" i cant tell you how many times i heard the ref say that, still, moron little kids will pick up there mask during the game or as they are getting shot at and just ask for a shot straight to the eye. The ref will either just boot you off of the game as kind of a warning. if you lift up your mask again you watch the safety video again. If you do it after that you will be kicked out and your wristband pulled for the rest of the day.

The paint. You buy the cheapy cheap crap paint. they are going to give you cheapy cheap crap paint. easy as that. its not really the paint that makes the balls shoot straight. its paintball to barrel bore sizing. Don't go up to the ref and say, "hey my paint balls aren't shooting straight." hes going to say, "cool" there's nothing he can do about it. what do you want him to do magically make your paint shoot straight? learn to go up and shoot people point blank (they do no advise this though, surrender is always an option)

The players. Mostly beginners, a few scenario wannabe marines and a few speedballers who are under 16 and are sponsored by mom n dad that act real cocky around the beginner players like it is an actual accomplishment to shoot noobs.

Food. Go to the swap meet, its there every weekend and they usually have some cheap good food.

Rules. They are said every game and get repetitive. but if all the players would listen to the rules and not have the attention span of a monkey, they maybe wouldn't have to do this.

Safety. as for being safe that is really up to you. if you don't want to have your barrel plug in when you walk off the field and you accidentally shoot someone in the eye, blinding them. that's your problem. The refs re iterate the rules of safety every game and constantly remind the players of the safety rules on and off the field. people just think they are above the rules and can do whatever they want. I'm going to laugh at them when they go blind from a shot to the eye.

Hours of operation. The hours of operation are Friday 4-8 (not sure about Friday..sry) Saturday 10am-8pm Sunday 10am-6pm

In conclusion i think this field is very good for the beginner paintball player. It is also great for a private group, birthday party, or a business outing or whatever. The ref will basically do everything for you (carry your paint, help your kids out, pick up all of your trash, keep your area clean, as well as ref all of your games for the day and keep you and your group safe) I would not recommend this park to the avid speedball tournament player who actually knows what they are doing. stick to the compound or hsp if you really want to paintball in the ghetto.

I am rating this field a 7 because of its location, the weather is usually nice, staff and fellow paintballers are nice, and they keep the park very clean all day which is a nice change of pace from SC or jungle island and HSP.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

SxEDGE Wednesday, July 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 15th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village
Directions
to the Field:
I wouldn't give directions to this place even if they were my enemy.
Review: I have never been to this field, and after yesterday I plan on keeping it that way. I am very sorry to post a review with out actually going to the field but after the way I was treated, I don't see why I, or anyone, would want to. I'm hoping I'm not breaking the rules, but I feel the people who are working for them or are associated with them has an impact of how the field looks.

I was walking around at the OC Fair Tuesday July 15, when I see the booth setup for "Giant paintball" and at first it makes me think, "Wow that's cool, I haven't seen a paintball booth at a fair before that's exciting." I want to go over and check it out, but that turned out to be a mistake.

I walk up and there is some black guy in a bright orange shirt for Giant Paintball talking about how they're selling passes for Hollywood Sports or what ever he was doing, so I listened for a bit. I was just making conversation and asked if you still had to buy the paint, or is that included some how or if it made it cheaper. The guy just gave me a cold stare for about a good five seconds, and just said, "NO. It's $40 for a case." He was talking down to me like I was some kind of idiot. When people have a question about the product you're selling, I don't think it will make them very motivated to buy it if you give responses with such attitude.

I didn't realize it yet, but after that I should have just walked away. I continued attempting to talk to him, since I like paintball and its something I'm interested in why wouldn't I want to check it out? I tried to politely ask him in a curious manner, "There's a lot of people on pbreview giving Giant Paintball bad reviews, and saying the fields are really small. How many fields do they have there? How big are they?" His response to me was, "I don't know." That just baffled me.. He is sitting in the GIant Paintball booth... selling passes.. WEARING A BRING ORANGE SHIRT THAT SAID, "GIANT PAINTBALL PARK" and he doesn't know anything? I confronted him because he was being so rude and told him "You're wearing the shirt..." He replies, "I don't know. I don't know anything." Again giving me TONS attitude, like I just personally attacked him, when I was just finding out about a paintball park I haven't played at and just wanted some information about it. Before this point happened I was hoping to try it someday, but this killed any chances of that happening.

After he told me, "I don't know." I was extremely upset because of the way he was treating me, and the attitude he was giving me, so instead of standing there and being insulted anymore, I just said "Ok." Just turned and walked away. I was wearing a band shirt and on the back it said "You make me sick" (lyrics) and he yelled out at me after I stared to walk away, "YEAH THAT'S RIGHT, YOU MAKE ME SICK!" He was referring that I myself made him "sick." Not only was that EXTREMELY rude, mainly it was UNCALLED FOR. Was that necessary to further aggravate me when I was leaving? I'm walking away from him, yet he's still being a jerk.

If these are the people that Giant Paintball park chose to represent them, the people who are spreading their name, the SALES people that they have to try and ATTRACT customers for their business, there is no way I want to find out how the people at the field are.

Please forgive me for posting this with out actually going to the field, if I am breaking the rules just delete it. But after that I was so upset I wanted other people to be aware of how their employees are treating people. I didn't do anything wrong, if he's going to get mad at me for asking him questions and tell him I've never been to HSP yet because I always go to SC and trying to talk about paintball with him, I don't think he is the right person for that job. I tried to talk paintball with him, and pretty much got yelled at to the point where I just had to turn and walk away mid-sentence.

This is not a park I will not be attending anytime in the future.

Thank you.

I gave the field rating a 5 since I haven't been there and can't accurately rate it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pir8aaron Monday, June 9th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 10th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village - infinitely better
Hollywood Sports - much, much better
Directions
to the Field:
405 off of Fairview
Review: I helped set up a private group for this field and we were there when the gates opened, however games didn't start for another two hours. We got to sit around with our arms crossed waiting for a ref to be assigned to us while our group leader settled a conflict with whomever was in charge regarding private group rates sent to us in one of their mailers.
When games finally did start, they were a complete disappointment. The courses are EXTREMELY small and limited in number. There are 3 courses and they are a good size for a 2v2 or 3v3 match, but sticking 20 people on them is just awful.
The staff was mostly useless and far from knowledgeable in the field of paintball and our referee was a power tripping control freak (ie: refusing the blow the whistle until we were touching the board regardless of the fact that it put us in shin-deep mud).
The bathrooms were okay.
In conclusion, I give this field a 2 and advise you use it only if you have to poop.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skp8ntballer Friday, March 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: January 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC Village - Lots of walking but fun fields when it is not 100 vs. 100 and summer is frickin HOT!

Jungle Island - Just right but further to drive

Conquest - Longer drive but a fun small area.

Hollywood Sports - First time I went; I HATED it! Don't know if I'll go again. Refs were crappy.

Camp Pendleton - Trying it out on 03/22/08
Directions
to the Field:
I could tell you, but then I would have to kill you.
Review: This is perfect for company team building exercises and only if you need to paintball but do not have enough gas money to travel. While in the staging arear walking off the field or getting ready to go on; keep your mask on! Too many children and other newbies leaving barrel plugs off. You're always hearing, "put your barrel plug on player!" or else you are the one saying it. It used to be 2 master bedroom size rec fields, but they changed it to one bigger rec field and a speedball field with too many air bunkers. A lot of wanna be pro players below the age of 18 think their all that and like to overshoot people.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coryjohn Saturday, January 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in Costa Mesa. I go to hollywood sports and sc though.
Directions
to the Field:
You don't want them.
Review: Well basically i hear all this hype about a new paint ball place, so i decide to look it up by information and ask them the time there open and directions because i was going to go straight there from work and didn't have access to a computer and there not listed.. So i drive home go on there website. They have 2 different numbers posted wow...I found the right number to call and According to there website it says Saturdays 8-10pm and Sundays blah blah well it was a Saturday and i wanted to call to make sure. They say they close at 4 today.. Um its Saturday.. and its around noon for me and i ask how much would it cost to play for 3-4 hours. 25 $ she says and the lady was a complete *#%$* to me when i asked why was it so much for 3 hours. When i saw posted all over signs at holly wood sports that it was 5$ play.. So i just go because i Really wanna check this place out and i get there and this is the smallest place i have ever seen. Horrible 3 courses super small terrible staff. No thank you ever again.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

vertigo2470 Monday, December 10th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 8th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Jungle Island and SC Village

There's no comparison. Giant Paintball is a nightmare. Please see the review below.
Directions
to the Field:
I'm not going to give directions, because honestly. . . you shouldn't go there. . .
Review: First I'll describe the park, them I'll give you my experience.

I find it funny that they called this place "Giant Paintball." That's like calling a 6'5'' 300lbs man, "tiny." This place is so small it's a joke. 3 fields. Each field is very small. Put it this way. . . there was no reason to advance forward from a bunker. From the back of our side, I could accurately hit someone on the other side. The shop was ok. Unfortunately, the people working there didn't know what they were doing (more on this later).

There were two positives to this park.

1) The rest-rooms were nice, and they worked!

2) There were no walk on players! (seriously!)

Normally we do private groups at Jungle Island. They have a lot of enjoyable fields. And if you get the right ref, you'll have a lot of fun. Most of us have our own gear and bring our own paint, so we can usually start rather quick. At Jungle we're usually playing by 9:30am. And that's with a group of 30-40 people.

Ok, now for this weekends experience. . .

We started arriving around 7:30am. We wanted to get good parking and get geared up by 8:30 so we can start playing right away. Well, 8:30 rolls around and our group of 16 are the only people there. No walk on's, no other private groups. . . nothing. Around that time we walked over to their shop to get registered. We thought, "these fields suck, but at least we're going to have the place to ourselves!"

Any of you who have done a private group before know how it goes. Get your waivers signed and get the money together so you're not waiting on anyone. We did that. Well, the kid working the register obviously didn't know what he was doing. Enter, Chris (I think that was her name). This very well may have been the first time this lady has ever seen a paintball. The word "clueless" is an understatement. It easy took her 20 minutes to work the credit card machine. Another 10 minutes for them to print the correct amount of wrist bands. Now it's 9:30. Oh, and I forgot to mention, they force you to watch a video to explain what paintball is. (Geee, thanks Hollywood sports, I would have never known that wearing a mask is important).

Another big problem, on Saturdays, they force you to buy their paint. Fine. I was expecting the typical Hollywood Sports paint. It's not great. . . but I've had worse. We asked the kid behind the counter about our paint. He said, "I don't think you bought paint." Oh yes we did. What was that extra $35 per person for? The kid picks up his cell phone and calls our favorite person Chris. She returns. After a careful (10 minute) examination of the receipt, she said, "I just need to check what's the price for 500 paintballs." ????? Now it gets interesting. First off, if she turned around she would see prices behind her. And second, it was $35 for 2000, not 500. In her mind $140 for 2000 rounds is a bargain, I guess. This clueless woman needed to consult with 2 more people for over another 20 minutes to figure it out. (Seriously, how hard can this be???) Next thing I know, I see them carry this paint out too us. It's in a generic brown box with a label that says "SECONDS". Every one of us have high end markers, and they're giving us "SECONDS". Great. . . just great. And too top it off, every bag had broken paint in it. Fine, I give up. At this point it's 10:30am. We have crap paint. We're frustrated. And honestly, I just wanted to go have a margarita and call it a day. But let's give it a try. . . .

First game, I realized something. . . I can't hit the side of a barn with this paint. I've never seen a ball fly so bad in my life. After 30 shots, my first break. The paint broke about every 30 to 50 shots, and when it did, it was bad. It was that thick blue gunk that you'll see noobs using from time to time. I couldn't take it anymore. . . I switched to my own paint. What would they do, tell me to go home? That would be a favor to me. . .

Well, you get the point. About 12:00, my marker decided it's had enough. It stopped working. At that point, I was done. And I was happy about that.


Here is the one and only thing that was awesome about this trip. . .

Bruce, our ref.

This guy is awesome. It was his first time at Giant. He normally ref's the intermediate games at SC. This guy was the coolest ref I've ever had. He kept everything fast paced. He didn't disappear on us. We just kept playing. When some people needed air, he would just keep games going with who ever was there. Even some 2 on 2.

Thank you Bruce! We'll see you at SC!


To conclude. . . Giant Paintball is horrible. If you see a middle-aged, heavy set, white lady named "Chris" at a Hollywood Sports park. . . run! She made we want to give up the sport.

Giant is a waste of money and time. Do yourself a favor, drive the extra 20 miles to SC or Jungle. And if you don't want to drive. . . just shoot each other in your back yard. . . it's going to be about the same thing (Well, at least the same size).
Last edited on Monday, December 10th, 2007 at 8:30 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

woodballa89 Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 18th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SC village is not in the area, but its my favorite.
Directions
to the Field:
why would you want directions??
Review: Basically, here is the whole park. A parking lot that fits maybe 30 cars, 1 small speedball map, and 2 "scenario" maps that are the size of a speedball field. Everything is covered by this black mesh material. This is a place to go if you live in the area, and just want to go and play a few games, or have a birthday party or get together. Im a hardcore scenario player, so this was an absolute nightmare for me. Alot of little kids playing. There are no groups, so the little kids are playing in the same game with guys who are shooting full-auto. Refs were somewhat kinda ok. Not many staff members to help with air, calibration, etc. They have a nice little store that has alot of things you might need like pods, packs, hoppers, o rings, anti-fog, etc. Thats about it.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media