paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Outdoor Adventures Chesapeake City Paintball Field / Outdoor Adventures Chesapeake City Paintball Field / Outdoor Adventures Chesapeake City Paintball Field / Outdoor Adventures Chesapeake City Paintball Field

Outdoor Adventures Chesapeake City Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
8Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 410-885-5555
Address: 2941 Old Telegraph Rd
Chesapeake City, Maryland 21915
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
scapesnmc Friday, October 1st, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: September 26th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Directions
to the Field:
This field really should be listed under Delaware as well because it is JUST over the Delaware line into Maryland and conveniently serves Delaware, Maryland, PA, NJ customers easily due to close proximity off of I-95
Review: Beautiful, country setting. Professional staff and referees. Open play Saturdays and Sunday 9-4. Physical address in 2941 Old Telegraph Road, Chesapeake City, MD -- but is just over the Delaware line! 65 acres of themed playing fields (6 woodsball fields, 8 speedball fields). OACC is also the home of the Mid-Atlantic Paintball Tournament League. It is definitely a top-notch paintball field!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

lonewulfe83 Saturday, August 8th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I have played at OA C. City twice now. Once for a walk on game and the other today for the BT Big Game. I have to talk about these two times separately because they were two totally different experiences.

The first visit was great. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly! Their prices are extremely reasonable and offer a multitude of grades of paint. If you have an issue and they can't fix it, they will find someone who can. Their fields are spectacular and a lot of fun to play on. The firebase and the jungle fields are a blast.

As a walk on field and a place to spend a day and have a lot of fun i give OA C. City a 10 out of 10!

Now for the not so pleasent experience which was the BT Big Game.
Going in, I was sure what to expect because they kind of a smaller field and from what I saw from my first trip, not a lot of refs. That came down big today. The scenario play was great and the field they set up was very fun. However, the extracirricular activities that went on during the game, I think are unacceptable and almost got to a point where someone was going to get hurt.
It started with safetly kills. I tried to call a safety kill on someone from about maybe 15 feet away and when I popped up to his side (he had no clue I was there) and called a safety kill he turned and shot me at least twice in the face. I chalk this up to the what seemed like a large volume of amatuer players but this is still not acceptable as it was even stated by the owner about the safety kill policy. However, the ref never did anything about it. The player remained in the game and i was eliminated.
The other problem (again I chalk it up to amatuer players) was the abundance of overshooting opponents when they call out. You could almost bank on taking at least a half a dozen rounds even after you put your gun in the air and called out. In one instance a player called out, put his gun in the air, turned his back to walk back to rejuv and I watched 3 rounds bounce off his back. This too happened right in front of a ref and was pointed out by both the person being shot and the other players around and yet again the ref did nothing.
One last thing that really seemed prevalent was the fact that some had taken it upon themselves to turn up their velocity after chrono'ing. Some peoples rounds were so hot they had no velocity loss over a substantial distance. This was also noticable when you got hit by one of those rounds.

I have seen this whole problem before at Skirmish when they were up and coming and they had a few large scenario games that were just out of control. This game was really out of control. I know they will come around but until that happens, i will not be playing another larger scenario game here for quite some time. Most of the refs they had seemed to be very inexperienced and had no control over the game. When you point out an issue to a ref that involves safety, you except them to take care of it. They didn't seem to know how to. I even overheard one of the teams that frequent the field (i think may even be sponsored by them) say most of their guys walked off the field because of the lack of control by the refs. It was shear chaos.
I give the scenario side of it about 2 out of 10 just because all the amatuer crap really made the day very frustrating.

So the bottom line is really this. They have a great operation going on and I will definately go back as a walk on and encourage anyone else to check them out but I would stay away from the larger scenario games (40+ people). They are very reasonably priced and I have had fun playing, but don't like the other "stuff" that was going on during the scenario. They have a lot to fix, in my opinion, in the scenario realm and I think they will take care of it!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

bigwoodman Wednesday, July 1st, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: June 14th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Review: I have now played at OA Chesapeake City twice. I played once while it was ECX. Overall since becoming owned by Outdoor Adventures I would say that it has gone from being a good place to play to an excellent one. Their field is huge! I really love the fire pit, all of the staff is extremely helpful and the reffing is always top notch. While I haven't been able to play as much as I like, heading out to this field has been a pleasure. Their prices are reasonable and the play is a good mixture of beginners, parties and experienced players. The refs and staff do a solid job of mixing in playing abilities and which really adds a lot to the experience.

Overall I would have to say that this field is one of the nicer overall that I have been too. The pricing and size make it a good place to play at and they seem more than willing to accommodate any needs that you may have. I would recommend that anyone near this field check it out for a solid day of play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

newpbpimp Thursday, October 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
newark feild...i forget what one it is
Review: Very very very nice feilds. Extremely great staff that are willing to help on any matter of anything paintball. Very clear on rules and safety. One big woods ball feild and like 8 speed ball feilds. Great pricing thou they charge a tad bit too much on paint. Other than the paint its fantastic pricing. The proshop is somewhat small but the guy who runs it is friendly and helps with any problem. Staff are unbelievable. They helped me from the registration to the end, and everything in between. Every player is treated equal no matter what skill level and they all know how to have fun. If i could i would give this place a 12 out of 10. I am definitly goin back again real soon
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt. Fox Sunday, October 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Delaware Action Sports, Newark (Glasgow) DE. A nice place for beginners, but not comparable to ECX.

Robin Hood PB in North East, MD is greatly inferior to ECX.

I've played verything in the Washington DC area. Pev's in Virginia is superior, but too far for me. Outdoor Adventure in Bowie, MD is equal. Anne Arundel Paintball is equal.
Directions
to the Field:
It's just south of the C&D canal in Cecil County, MD just west of Chesapeake City, between routes 213 and 896. It's also just a mile west from the Delaware state line. You need to check the website for directions and call them if you're unsure.
Review: ECX the best in the area, hands down. It won't compete with million $$ operations like Pev's in Virginia, or Skirmish in Pennsylvania, but YOU won't be competing with the big-city crazies with their $2000 markers, either. Also, if you're like me, you don't want to travel 150 miles to get there, spend $90 per case for their paint, and get home at midnight.

ECX is for beginners, mid-grade guys like me, and they are moving up into serious tournament play. Their key traits are:
- Safe fun for all.
- Clean, professional facilities.
- Outstanding, personal-touch staff (one or more owners there every time).
- Fair prices.

I've played PB for over 12 years, and I regularly take my grown kids or their friends with me. I wouldn't hesitate to take a newbie, or a highly skilled veteran to ECX. They all show up to play, but if someone is too aggressive, or wipes, or uses automatic markers, the refs WILL throw you off the field. I've played side-by-side with Greg Hastings (a very, very cool guy by the way) as well as other professional players there, and I've also wound up as spontaneous squad leader for groups of 12-year olds just starting.

Lots of women play, which is something I can't say for many PB fields. Regular walk-on and party games on weekends, and there are Big Scenario games that span the entire 65 (I think) acres several times a year. I have seen as many as 100 players there on one day. Typically 50. So it's all there.

Lots of refs and they are bugs for safety. I mentioned the owners being there; very hands on. Clean modern restrooms. They can fix some markers at the field, however, their full service store is 30 miles away in Newport, DE.

Downsides?
- No CO2. You need to bring or rent ($5 ?) an air tank.
- No tall wooden or stone forts. (I love them, but they're expensive to build and worse to maintain.) They have a good variety of fields, however.
- No close bunkering or "barrel tagging" allowed. If you like to hurt people, go elsewhere.
- Flat terrain, pretty much. A few ditches, and one honkin' big swamp.

Free instant air fills. Paint is priced well. I play all Saturday long, so the field fee doesn't bother me. I can't believe they can pay for all these facilities at the prices they charge, but that's their problem.

I gave them an 8 only because I have seen fields that have $millions$ invested. ECX is highly, highly recommended, especially if you're anywhere near northeastern Maryland or northern Delaware.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

nsecamig Thursday, June 5th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: June 29th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None in the area
Directions
to the Field:
http://www.ecxpaintballpark.com
The sign is camouflage! Don't miss it!
Review: ECX Paintball Park is the only field I've been to in this area, because once I went there, I quit looking for other fields. The staff and refs are friendly and knowledgeable, and the pro shop carries a decent selection of equipment. For more, they also have a store in Newport, Delaware, by the same name (ECX). Everyone I've met there (players included) seems to share the philosophy that paintball is a game, and should be fun for everyone, no matter how much or little experience they have.

The facilities there are top notch, with male and female restrooms (not port-o-pots), covered staging area with lots of picnic tables for setup, 3000 and 4500 psi air fills, free popcorn, and drink vending machines (soda, sports drinks, water). There is no food there, and although local places will deliver, you must make sure you are not in the middle of a game when the delivery arrives. It might be best to pack a lunch if you plan to play all day. They also have seperate cronograph and target ranges, along with a cookout area with grill if you want to have a party there. Oh, and lockers are available for personal belongings during games, but I've never had a problem with theft, or even heard anything of the sort.

As far as prices go, they're pretty reasonable. $25 field fee (a little expensive, but not too bad) and $55-60 per case of paint (FIELD PAINT ONLY). They usually sell Diablo Formula 13 and RPS premium. Rentals are $10 or $15 for BT-4 and mask, and either $20 or $25 for an electronic gun. The hours (I think) are 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., and they have a lot of different fields suited for many different game types, so the $25 dollars is pretty worth it if you play all day. My favorite field is the Firebase. It is a military-style fort in the middle of a clearing, surrounded by bunkers. They play attack-and-defend type games, and also a race-for-the-base type where both teams start outside the base and battle for control. Other fields include The Jungle (woodsball with manmade bunkers), the Dark Triangle (woodsball with all-natural surroundings), and the Village (small, almost speedball type field). More may still be to come; the place isn't quite finished yet.

They're pretty good about safety there, too. Masks and barrel bags (not plugs) are required, of course, but if everyones barrel is bagged and marker on safe, the refs will let you lift your mask. They have a 15-20 ft. rule, like most fields, where you have to say "Surrender" or something of the sort once you're close enough, to give the opponent a chance to avoid being shot at close range by surrendering. They also have a three-shot rule, meaning you can't needlessly shoot someone more than three times. You also can't aim for painful areas on purpose, or shoot players who are already out. All of this is pretty standard, but I thought I'd give everyone the whole run-down.

Anyway, ECX is a great place to have a lot of fun. I highly recommend it.
Last edited on Wednesday, July 2nd, 2008 at 11:56 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Oklahoma Skinny Wednesday, May 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: May 4th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Review: I am not too sure how other paintball fields are, but I can't help but want to come back to ECX in Chesapeake City, Md. The fields and sinarios are wonderfull, they have a great picnic area where you can grill and eat. I think that the staff is wonderfull and friendly. They made me feel welcome and rememberd me when I came back. I am telling all my friends about this place and am getting my boss to do a team building event there. I am planning on going at least once a week.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

MILITIA36 Monday, August 13th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 11th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
SplatZone
Absolute Paintball
Skirmish
EMR
DelMarVa Paintball
Review: This was my first time at ECX and I was totally impressed.

ECX is outstanding, here's why:
The place is clean.
The people & event were well organized.
They were prepared for any emergencies with an ambulance on-sight.
Plenty of refs, who were very involved, quite patient & quick to pull people when they were hit.
Very safety conscious- Just about all the refs were quickly on people about goggles and barrel plugs. The chrono area had a screen door on it.
And these guys are still building up this place.

Our leader for the attackers side was a paintball celebrity, Greg "Reds" Hastings, (who is an awesome guy and had a great plan of attack), very cool.

Scenario game pricing for this event ($25) and RPS Premium and Diablo Formula 13 paint ($60 a case). Decently priced, in my opinion, and it included a free event t-shirt, barrel condom and lanyard.

Basically, its about as close as you can get to the perfect paintball park.

One and only draw-back I saw, regular day play is a little pricey, $25 for the day.
Just a note, I would pay that without hesitation, because ECX is that cool.

Even with the $25 for a day of play, I have to give this a 10
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media