paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Marked Paintball Field / Marked Paintball Field / Marked Paintball Field / Marked Paintball Field

Marked Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
20Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 613-863-6423
Location: Ottawa, Ontario K0A 1L0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
sameagol26 Monday, April 11th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 10th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played on many different fields including Bronson and Bronson in Kingston, SMT in Otter Lake, and Real Deal in Kemptville and although I have had positive experiences at all, Marked Paintball has had the best customer service by far and the best prices!!! A++++ to them for affordable paintball :)
Directions
to the Field:
Not exatcly sure. Check their facebook page called Marked Paintball. All I know was it was in Carp.
Review: So I went to this field my first time for a speedball tryout and I had the best time I have ever had paintballing. The day started with me getting there and a friendly guy greeting me and my parents. (The friendly guy was the owner) He chit chatted for a bit while i got ready and later on gave me some tips and marker advice. I was also greeted by many other players at the field and had a good time talking. The people that go there aren't jerks and I had nothing stolen.

The field is a bit mucky so bring an extra pair of socks or shoes if you complain when your feet get wet. When I went to buy paint, I was absolutely astonished that I only had to pay 60$ for a case of Draxxus Frostbite paint. I am used to paying 90$ at the cheapest in most places in Canada. It was also great paint and shot great even while playing in the rain. Not one break, chop or anything bad at all. Also, the air was free and they had 4500 psi fillers and 3000 psi fillers at the field.

They have several woodsball fields mostly speedball or hyperball format and they also have a legal tournament sized speedball field with a lot of bunkers all perfectly inflated. It was really fun to play at and a great experience.

If you are ever in the Ottawa area, check this place out. The owner pays quite a bit of money on charity events and leagues he hosts. please check this place out!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

caelen22 Monday, August 9th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: August 8th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
i haven't been to any other paintball fields.
Review: I went to Marked paintball yesterday and i had a great day, the staff was very friendly and open to questions. I had such a great time that I will surely return. If i had to recommend a field to a friend i would definitely recommend Marked paintball field. The safety there was amazing (well explained, and enforced).
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

keithparlee Friday, August 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
none so far
Review: I played last year for the first time with a group of guys from work.
I have since played numerous times at marked with friends and co-workers, I even won a membership online!
Marked paintball's staff are always courteous and friendly. The refs are all avid players, and really know what they're doing which i have heard is not the same at all fields.
The staff are very clear on rules and safety.

I realize that I have no other field to compare this too quite yet, however I've always had an incredible experience at marked. always the best day out i could possibly have.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Benny Boy Friday, August 6th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 1st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI indoor
Commando

Review: I first herd about Marked by a friend at work, a very experienced paintballer. He had just had one of his friends bachelor party's there. He said that the fields were nice and that the refs were very laid back but professional and kept the game safe and on course with little down time between games. Me and 3 friends went to go check it out the following week. Upon arrival, witch was a very short drive from Kanata we were greeted by a very nice young lady behind the counter. She quickly explained to us the pricing and answered the questions we had. We were placed in a small group of other walk on's and set off for the chronograph. After the chrono came one of the most fun filled days of paintball I've ever had. We played probably 30 different matches and went through cases of paint.

So how does it compare?

Refs----- Marked has the best refs. They actually play paintball and it seems like every match they take it seriously and there not just there baby sitting. They keep the game on track. My last trip to Commando was a giant s**t show. The refs didn't do much at all, people were walking around with there masks off and they would lackadaisically tell them to put them back on. The refs also seemed to be 12?


Fields-- Markeds' fields are very well set up. The fields are set up to be fun to play on. They make the games quick and have everyone engaged. Marked also has a regulation X-ball field that is always set up like the next CXBL match. Commandos fields are bigger and more advanced but at the same time they can make the games take forever. They also seem to be more visually impressive then fun to play on.


Equipment-- Marked has HPA fill stations and is the only place in the Ottawa area that fills to 4500psi that I know of. They also have awesome rentals; A-5's, Sp-1's,and Vibes. There rentals are also in great shape with there masks being cleaned regularly. I brought my girl friend to a day with some co-workers and there girls friends. They used the rentals and all was well with them. Commando uses the typical 98 custom, but there in really really rough shape. Wile playing on "the naval base" a kid was shooting at me and his balls were maybe going 150 fps and were drooping way short of me. They also only rock a little hand held chrono


Price-- Marked uses Draxxus hellfire paint. This paint is an awesome field paint. They also always have deals on. Most the time I pay $~20-30 a bag. There walk on's are paid for by a food donation to the food bank or $5, and rentals are $20 I think? Commando charges $50 for a bag of basic training!! Basic training is JUNK. I wouldn't even use it to chrono my gun..... pure junk.


Overall Marked is my go to field. Best people, price, atmosphere. No other field compares right now.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

madboymatt Monday, August 2nd, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 31st, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
PSI - good for a couple of hours
Commando - Great fields. A little pricey.
Directions
to the Field:
use google maps...

4120 Vaughan Side Road
Ottawa, ON K0A 1L0
(613) 863-6423
Review: I recently popped out to marked with my buddy to check out the field and test out my a5 as I was experiencing a few issues with it.
The owner took the time to walk us around his property and show us all the fields as well as their future projects.
After our tour, we sat down and pulled apart my marker, the owner brought out his tools and helped me fix it. This blew me away. Not too many ppl will take the time on a saturday to help a customer with an issue. We fixed it up and then we went out and played.

The fields at Marked are by far my favorite, as I found them to be easily playable. A lot of fields that I have been playing are beautiful in detail and design, but most matches end up being slow paced and very campy. All of Marked's fields were fast -paced allowing for very exciting gameplay.

I was so impressed with the quality of the field, paint, and customer service; I bought a membership. I cannot emphasize enough how professional the owners are. From the very detailed safety briefing, to teaching us how to refill our air, to teaching us actual tactics, to taking apart my a5 and making sure it works. Marked Paintball has earned a new customer and member.
A lot of my friends are not always up for going paintballing every week, and that would normally deter people from going out on their own. I see no issue in going out to Marked by myself, as everyone there was so friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended. Great Staff. Great fields. Great Prices.

Matt
Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2010 at 10:31 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nihilist Monday, May 17th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 16th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Ottawa Xtreme Paintball
Directions
to the Field:
Took this straight from their site:

Directions from Downtown Ottawa: 25 Minutes

* • Head West on the 417 towards Arnprior
* • Once you have passed the ScotiaBank Place and [HWY 7], Exit at March Rd (#155) heading towards Almonte.
* • Turn Right onto [HWY 3] - Upper Dwyer Hill Road (Heading North)
* • Turn Left at the second street on your left - Vaughan Side Road (Heading West)
* • Go up the hill and look for the two large yellow gates, you can't miss the driveway.

Directions from Almonte: 5 Minutes

* • Head East on [HWY 44] Ottawa St which turns into March Road
* • Turn Left onto [HWY 3] - Upper Dwyer Hill Road (Heading North)
* • Turn Left at the second street on your left - Vaughan Side Road (Heading West)
* • Go up the hill and look for the two large yellow gates, you can't miss the driveway.

Directions from Arnprior: 10-15 Minutes

* • Head South on the 417
* • Take Exit Panmure Road (Heading West)
* • Turn Left onto [HWY 3] - Upper Dwyer Hill Road (Heading South)
* • Turn Right on - Vaughan Side Road (Heading West)
* • Go up the hill and look for the two large yellow gates, you can't miss the driveway.
Review: Well this was my second time ever playing paintball and I have to say this was my favorite place to play. I have only ever been to Ottawa Xtreme before and that was before they moved to Stittsville. But I am not here to discuss that field, I am here to discuss Marked. The things I will cover include safety, fields, hours of operation, prices, rules, service, staff, refs, players, facilities, and food.

Safety: Upon showing up to the fields we were greated by the staff and shown everything we need to keep ourselves safe. We showed up as a large group, about 16 people. The staff showed us what to do if god forbid our masks came off mid game, showed us the best way to get off the fields after getting tagged and just general safety tips. Best tip: the trees will not get out of your way. I loved that one and its true, I know I definitely ran face first into two in a mad panic.

Fields: We played on a number of fields, I don't remember how many they actually have but our crew really liked 2. Speedball or X-Ball I think it was called was intense, well layed out and fun as hell to play. There was also a Hillbilly field with hay bails and assorted farmer-ish items to use as cover... this was my personal favorite! All the fields are well maintained, no dangerous nasty things like loose nails or any of that. Your biggest danger is maybe slipping if it was wet (which it was not) or running into that damn tree who wouldn't move.

Hours of operation: We weren't sure when we wanted to go so we decided to just head out there as soon as they open. 9am it is! Well then we didn't know how long we wanted to play for. Luckily since the staff is friendly this wasn't an issue at all I think we played until about 1, but more people continued to play later on into the day.

Prices: This was the only thing which confused me. The website states 1 price for paint, as well as a price for rentals but our costs were different then those shown on the website. I didn't really mind since it was still much cheaper then any other field I looked into around the area. But thats one thing I would like to see fixed up. The price for paint was very cheap considering the quality of paint as far as I can tell from my searches on google to explain paint qualities and costs. Also there is a membership program which can save you some big money on paint if you go regularly. I am trying to convince some friends to join so we can go back more regularly.

Rules: General paintball rules were explained to the group as soon as we got there. One of the refs would explain it and one ref sort of acted out a scenario behind him showing what he was talking about. Before each game the refs would fully explain the rules be it a capture the flag match or spy match. Refs made sure each game that EVERYONE knew what was going on.

Service: I never even knew service like this existed up here. I honestly felt like I was on vacation. Some sort of vacation where my friends destroy me with little paint filled gelatin balls, but a vacation none the less. The staff looked after all of us, engaged us in conversations between matches as we walked to different fields, and gave us all a good laugh with stories about how much they get shot at by players all the time. I know a team mate of mine definitely thought a ref's bright yellow jersey was a camo shirt and fired like crazy at him. But back on track, service was exceptional and always polite and professional.

Staff: The staff was unbelievable. They really made you feel like you weren't just some other customer and just wanted to make money. You could honestly tell that each and every one of them truly enjoy what they do. I am not one who is easily satisfied with people, but I actually enjoyed my time around the staff there though I really wish I could remember names to really point out who each person was. Next time we go back I will write the names down because honestly they need to be given credit for the work they have done.

Refs: Well... I pretty much already covered this but, here we go again. The refs were fantastic. They went over the rules each match. They would explain basic strategies that teams have used in the past which might prove useful for our team. They called the games fair and kept in interesting by taking us to all sorts of different fields. Just really great fun.

Players: Well I went with a group of 15 others, 16 total. Players ranged from a 15 year old girl to a 40 year old man. I think the majority had either never played or only played once before. There was some fears at first, I know my fiancee had played once before and hid the whole time. This time however she tried to be more active. Overall I think we had just the right mix as we ended up splitting games on almost every field. We had a couple of folks show up who were not from our party but we played with them, they turned out to be great team mates as well and added a new dynamic too the game. However I am almost certain one of the younger ones shot me in the back repeatedly just after a capture the flag started. So to that guy I say... damn you.

Overall I had a blast. I will definitely return. In fact we are looking at coming back with an even bigger group June 27. This time with hopefully 30+ players.

Cheers to you folks, and I wish you continued success. I think my days of looking for a field ended due to the price and quality of service I received. I highly recommend this company to anyone who wants to play paintball. If you have been here and had a bad time, honestly I don't see why you would have. I think you should try it again. All 16 of us had a blast. Hell, I am going to start my bachelor party here next year!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

spicymchaggis10 Friday, March 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: August 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hopperz --> great speedball feild but bushball feilds are limited
PSI --> no need to comment
Directions
to the Field:
off of march road
Review: ok here we go.

i would like to say first that if you enjoy bushball this is the place for you. there are many feilds and new ones opening in the spring. there are plenty of scenerio maps and a variety of bushball feilds at a variety of sizes.

as for speedball / X ball marked recently acquired a custom feild and 2009 was the first year that marked had a speedball feild. so yes improvements can be made and yes they are in the process of being made.

marked paintball is orientated towards bushball players but the owners of marked have reorientated themselves to include speedball players. speedballers should be prepared for an amazing season in 2010 because there will be improvements to all feilds including the speedball feild

this place is very friendly and all of the marked players will be more than happy to help you with anything related to paintball

the paint is kept in a fridge to keep the balls consistant and the price is good for gold paint.

i suggest you try this feild out and create your own opinion because of recent feuds between feilds bad mouthing has occured and some of the reviews are incorrect and are published to try and gear you towards their reviewers home feild. that being said look at the reviewers name in this thread and look at the review they gave and then look at other ottawa feilds and you will see that the same person (unless they used a fake account) will list that their feild is the greatest feild ever.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Samiz Monday, February 22nd, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: August 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Painstorm indoor- Its a indoor field that is actually pretty clean. This field has been open for 5 or more years and has done a great job for what they have.
Commando- Nice outdoor field with variety. Played once along time ago and was decent.
Hopperz- One of the nicest Xball fields I have seen. It suppossably will be turf for 2010. They also have many teams willing to practice against you. Decent outdoot field. The terrain is flat but there are varieties of bunkers, refs were also pleasent just a little young. Pricing is the best I have seen.
Directions
to the Field:
Almonte
Review: Marked- Decent fields but I found some loose nails on one field. Its common though I understand bunkers get shot up, just field sweeps need to be done more. Also think self promotion has gone to a all new low with these guys. Every paintball site in ottawa's wrong URL will lead you to them. Not a fan of that!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
6 Comments - Add Comment

pbfreak2010 Saturday, February 20th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: June 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
everywhere in ontario.
Commandos-amazing looking fields.
Hopperz-sick airball
JT's-great woodsball play
Flagswipe-incredible indoor setup :)
Review: -refs don't know the rules, don't think they even play.
-paint was not hellfire, I was using a tune DM and it was making soup. when I talked to the owner about why the paint was in DXS field boxes and yet they claimed it was hellfire, his response was that DXS was trying to save money.........
-couldn't handle how much paint I was breaking so I left, went to Laval the nest weekend and they said the paint looked like 2nd hand bronze
-half the air ball field was up a hill, and the tape lines aren't straight, like one corner is 10ft further back then the other corner.
-ridiculous memberships, they have 2 memberships, the regular one and then the speedballer one, which is 300$, and after you pay the 300$ you can only play on the airball field, cus that makes sense?!?!?!?! and if you get the regular one (for 200$) you can play on the all the fields..... and the 100$ difference between the memberships doesn't even get you a bigger price break, it saves you 20$ on a box of junky paint.
-they do have all the fields netted off, EXCEPT for the ghetto hay bail field, which is about 200 feet from the parking lot and has absolutely no netting around it, even though it would be possible to get a couple shots into parking lot, where there are people without masks on......
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

GR8 Thursday, February 18th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 18th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Tactik
Combat 307
Commando
PSI
JT's
Directions
to the Field:
Google it
Review: So I have played around the country and have seen some nice fields.

I have to say I was excited about this place when I heard the news and saw the pictures from a buddy of mine.

They currently have 5 fields, and I was told that another 4 from last year are being revamped

I want to do the pros and cons about everything so here goes:

Cons first:
-When we were there everything wasn’t complete, (Meaning Netting, Landscaping, etc.so that was really the only negative
-Would have been nice to play on the X-Ball field, But I understand if wasn’t set up yet.
-No Co2…But they will loan you a HPA tank

Pros:
-STAFF!!!!!! Wow, the nicest group of refs and staff in Ottawa by far. These guys took the time to explain everything, SUPER friendly and knowledgeable and the owner seemed like a nice guy.
-Port a Pooops with a Wash station to actually wash your hands (Great before LUNCH!)
-Fields, very unique…you can tell there was a lot of thought and planning behind the 4 fields they currently have….LOTS OF FUN!
-Paint is AMAZING, Hellfire Gold Paint for $25 a Bag of 500…Never seen prices like that ANYWHERE and the consistency was unbelievable
-They Rent SP-1’s and 8 of my buddies rented…not on ball break throughout the day….I can NOT say that about Commandos and Jt’s as there RENTALS are CRAP!
-NO FIELD FEES!
-They have a compressor on site and do 3000 and 4500 PSI fills
-ITS actually Landscaped….HUH! YA prob the nicest Park I have seen, not JUNKY like 99% of them.
-Customer Service Oriented, I saw a group of 6 guys come that didn’t want to play with anyone else and they gave them two refs and they 3v3’d all day.
-They are starting a League in Ottawa….THANK GOD!!! We all want to join!
-FULLY NETTED!
-They actually took the time to put up boundary flagging tape around all their fields, I mean some of the fields are under 2 ACRES….this was GREAT! Cause I use to spend my days at commandos not knowing where the heck the lines were.
-The have a WALK IN FRIDGE!!!...Ya the owner showed me, they build a custom walk in fridge for Paint, so the consistansty never changes…its HUGE!

This place has MAJOR potential and is in a great neighborhood as well…We have SO waited to have a NICE good field in the West and it has finally come!

Overall the place is GREAT, staff is good…Excellent Quality paint for an AMAZING PRICE!!!

Compared to the others around…

Charge a field fee of $10-$20 and then paint

Tactik $180 A CASE (For RPS)
COMMANDO $170 A CASE (For WhiteBox)
JT’s $120 A CASE (For DXS Bronze) 2 Grades LOWER!

AVG DAY Shooting 1000 BALLS anywhere else will cost you Over $100 when you add in all the fees.

We spent $55…
-Got 1000 High Grade Tourny Balls
-Air for the Day (I brought my 4500 and it was NICE to be able to fill it!)
-Lunch: 2 Slices of wicked Pizza, a drink and a JUMBO Freezee!!!!!

THANK YOU MARKED PAINTBALL….You have once again made paintball AFFORADABLE!!

Go Check them out!

Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media