paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Diehard Paintball Field / Diehard Paintball Field / Diehard Paintball Field / Diehard Paintball Field

Diehard Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
21Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 519 839 5002
Address: County Road 8
Cottam, Ontario N0R 1B0
Canada
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
blazeingtots34 Saturday, April 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 8th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest!!!!
Review: I myself have only played paintball once and I just found it insanly cool. I played it here but sadly it was really raining that day. Besides that everyone there was nice and kind to you. They had a 280 FPS limit. Besides the rain it was fantastic. I had to leave though cause it got really cold. (note to self, dont go paintball on a cold rainy day)
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Col. Doubt Monday, July 16th, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 21st, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Directions
to the Field:
Map Quest
Review: I was once invited by a friend of mine to join him at his local field for a game at DieHard Paintball, located in Windsor, Ontario.

So, I left my home in Hamilton, Ontario, withing a few friends off to what promises to be a great game.

The drive was long, but the location was extremely easy to find, a few more signs would of course be nice, but all in all, map quest will but you right there.

When I first arrived I was greeted by my friends, then by the field owner. The field owner I must comment on... He is extremely nice, easy going, a great business man... understanding, he listens, and he acts in the interests of his customers.

The Staff is also very kind. They make sure everyone is adhering to all safety rules, and will be more forceful if needed, but all in all they are upbeat, kind, and more than willing to help anyone out.

Safety at this field is understandably held to the up most importance, they don't tolerate any foolishness, or anyone disobeying the rules. The rules they use are very much so like everywhere else. Barrel condoms on at all times in dead zone, masks on at all times on field, no dry firing in the dead zone, they have a 10 foot mercy rule where you can choose to surrender or not, and they use a 280 FPS max rule, and will punish those who try to crank there velocity up.

Field Layout

Let me just start off by saying this was one of the coolest fields I have played at. It is smaller than some paintball fields, pretty much a square, but once you get on the field... you will find you have more than enough room.

The field is about 75% bush... in this bush you will find complete buildings, HQ's, plenty of bunkers, and some pretty nice sized trees. There is plenty of cover for those that are big like me... lots of room to move, and is a tree stalkers dream. At this part of the field you will see the buildings forming 3 build up areas, like towns... which works great for team vs. team and scenario planning.

Now the rest of the field is where it gets interesting... let me continue by mentioning that the field is completely divided in half by a river... with very steep slops. This makes game play VERY interesting... there is buildings and bunkers along both sides of the river, and 3 nicely built bridges to pass it.

One part of the field is complete with two floor towers, bunkers, buildings, and two school buses... it's a perfect urban playing area, and great for missions and scenarios. There is also a corner that is absolutely nothing but a ton of buildings, big ones, small ones, and ones with two floors.

When all of these are mixed together in a perfect sized playing field... you are left with a well rounded field for everyone... plenty of room for stalking, sniping, ambushing... as well as plenty of offensive and defensive action on the bridge... and a lot of fast action in the urban areas. This feild is excellent, and I highly recommend this field for any large games.

The amount of staff they have is perfect... plenty of friendly people, and refs to catch cheating. Your guaranteed to have a great time!

This filed is open from 9 AM to 4 PM and when you pay admission you play all day.

I cannot comment exactly on the costs, as I do not remember exactly... but I do recall that I was very impressed with the little amount I payed for such a great game. The paint they offer is good quality, a great price, and is very fair. Entrance for gear owners was under $20, (16-18) and includes all day access and air/co2 fills. Paint was the best part... It was very cheap, about $70 a case for premium Stingers.

The absolute best part... is for $15 you can bring your own paint... so long as your paint does not have blue fills. They check all the time for blue paint, will break the paint from people hoppers, and check... blue paint stains. We had one person during the day I was there bring blue paint, and he was caught instantly.

The proshop they have there is pretty simple. The sells a wide variety of paintball items, markers, and trinkets. Great little place, prices are great, they even have previously used items. They can order in anything you need, and will do there best to help you out.

At the staging area/dead zone, there are plenty of pick nick tables, lots of seating, and a snack shack where you can buy chips, pop, gum, etc... and they also serve lunch all at great costs ($1-$2).

The day I went, there was easily 60-80 people, plenty of room for everyone, perfect amount of people for a high action game on the field... on an average day you can expect to have around 20 people, which is also great for a game.

In the end, I think it only fair I give this field a 8/10. The field is very amazing, I love it, and I am sure others will do. This field is however not perfect... I believe there is some room for expansion when it comes to increasing the field size slightly, increased parking would be needed, and maybe a bridge or two more. So, go try this field out, have a great time, and I am sure you will love it too.

Doubt gives this field two thumbs up.
Last edited on Monday, July 16th, 2007 at 10:46 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sub Zero Friday, February 23rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 20th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Other Michigan Fields, some London Area fields. This was my first Windor Area field.
Review: Safety: These guys are good at keeping people in line at the starting area and they chrono people often. Safety is great.

Prices: Good prices for paint and entrance, however i can't understand why they make you pay more to bring your own gun than to rent. Perhaps they want to encourage people with their own equipment to become members of that field. Either way, its 2 dollars more to use your own equipment.

Rules Enforcement: The refs are great, except for this one teenage scruffy kid who looks like he is goofing off most of the time (and he is). One instance i shot a guy in the gun at the city and yelled for the ref to go check him, but he doesnt hear me cause he is daydreaming. i wait 2 mins, then call him again. He still doesnt hear me. Then i come out of cover and tell him go check him, the dude had wiped and shoots me in the chest. the ref calls me out. Then i explain to him whats going on and he calls the other guy out. Other than that, all their other refs are pretty great. In fact, they even let us play in our own area by ourselves as long as we called each other out.

Services: They've got a huge complex with a woodsball area, a city, a speedball arena, and i dont know how he managed but the owner has 2 large schoolbuses in the clearing and they use that as a scenario ball (which is great imo).

Food: Food is good, they have burgers and a grill. They also sell water and refreshments.

The owner is a friendly guys who will help ya out and is very knowledgeable. The best thing you can bring with you (Besides your guns) is a large jug of water. Man does it get hot in the summer and you'll end up dehydrating pretty quickly. Also i'd wear long pants and a shirt in the summer because in some of the areas of the woods there are mosquitos and it can get pretty annoying when you are wearing shorts and a T.

I gave it a 9 out of 10 overall because it is a really great field to play in and player turnout is pretty high on the weekends. Oh and did i mention the paint you buy is premium? pretty sweet.
Last edited on Friday, February 23rd, 2007 at 1:08 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

anti_arrows Saturday, November 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 25th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Wilderness (Not As Good)
Directions
to the Field:
If your coming from Windsor take highway 3 all the way untill you see a sweet corn sign. At that sign turn right onto county road 27. Take that all the way through Cottam untill you see a building with a sign on the side that reads "Die Hard Paintball -----> Second Driveway On The Right"
Review: SAFETY

This is a very safe field. They make people with thier own markers chrony befor every single game and people with rentals chrony when they first get thier gun, after lunch, and any time they put on a new CO2 Tank. They make sure you are not at all above 280 fps. The refs are always on people about goggles and barrel condoms. Thay make sure everyone has a fun...and safe day. If you se something wrong with the cover like a losse piece of wood or a pretruding nail report it to them and they will take care of it right away.

FIELDS

Die Hard has the best field around with over 56 acers of playing area. The are 5 main fields.

BUS TO BUS - This is one of my personal favourites. There are two old busses on either end of the field. Each team starts in thier bus and when the game is on you run out of the bus and to your first piece of cover or stay on the bus and cover your team mates. The objective is basicly center flag. Grab the one flag in the middle and toch the other persons bus. There is alot of cover including sniper towers, barrels, spools, small hills, and fo course the busses.

THE VILLAGE - This vuillage has gone through so much improvement. It used to be 5 houses long and 5 houses wide with all the houses aligned in rows and columns. After a while they put the speed ball bunkers in between some of the houses and it was much better. Now they built a 2 story castle in the bach which is amazing and they took some houses out, misaligned and rataed some of the remaining ones and addedf spools, ply wood barricades, and other cover.

WOODS BASES - There are three of these bases in the field, one is in the far right, one is in the far left, and one is just in front of the village in the back right corner. They are pretty basic with some houses and bunkers.


HOURS OF OPPERATION

This filed is open from 9 AM to 4 PM and when you pay admission you play all day.

PRICES

RENTALS - $15 for : All day admission
Tippmann 98 Custom
16 oz CO2 Tank
Mask
2 Pod Pack
2 Pods
Barrel Condom
200 Round Gravity Feed Hopper
All Day CO2 Fills

OWN GEAR - $16 For All Day Admission And All Day CO2 Fills
$18 For All Day Admission And All Day Air Fills (Up To 4500 psi)

PAINT - The paint they use here is premium paint (Stinger .689 - .691) and costs $70 for 200 rounds which is relativly cheap seeing as how some places charge $150 for 2000 rounds

If you want to bring your own paint you must buy a $15 paint pass *THE PAINT MUST NOT HAVE BLUE FILL* They will cheak everyones hopper if they see blue splat marks that day. If they find you have blue fill thy will dump your hopper, pods and the rest of it into the garbage or step on it. Blue fill stains.

RULES

They will ready you the rules at the begining of the day but heres a brief overall of them anyways

Barrel Condoms always on in the safety zone.
No dry firing in the safe zone.
Use mercy rule if closer that 10 ft. (This is optional but good for noobs.)
No dead man walking.
280 fps field speed.
Dead men don't talk

PROSHOP

The proshop is pretty good. They have a few guns and some parts but they can order anything you want and you can pick it upo and pay them. They carry alot of hopeprs including Empire Reloader B/B2, VLocity, ReVLoutions and some others, They sell tanks and tank regs and maybe evn 12 grams. They have pods and packs and 10 rnd tubes. They crarry full sets of empire clothes and even PCS camos. Thay have lots of tippmann A-5's and some 98 Customs all ACT. They have Drop Forways and they even had an E1 Eclipse EBlade FOR $200!!!

STAFF

The staff here is great. They are friendly and wil talk to you inbetween games and while your going to your base. The refs here are well trained and very knowledgeable about paintball. They can give you advice on what to buy if your looking for something. Everyone here is very friendly.

PLAYERS

Every week-end there is a decent amount of players. I went on a muddy sunday and there were still 20+ players. Everyone here is friendly. If you have a question about any of thier gear i'm sure they'll be more than happy to answer is and show it off. There is always a good turn our. If you like big games go on Saturday. If you prefer smaller games then go on Sunday.

FACILITIES

The facilities here are pretty good. There is a pavillion with 10-15 picnic tables and a counter where you can buy chips ($1) , drinks ($1) and get some free anti-fog for your mask. At lunch time (12:00-12:30) you can buy a burger for $2




Over all this is an amazing field with a very friendly atmosphere and and amzing play area. I give this field a 10/10 for it's uber amazingness
Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 8:45 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

blueman_blue Monday, October 23rd, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: October 21st, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i have not played on any other fields, i had my first day of PB here and i love it.
Review: The staff and refs are strict about safety and they keep it very safe. the field is very nice and there are always improvements, at the moment they are building a castle and it's off to a good start so far. Bus to bus is my favorite along with city, both action games that are fast. The burgers there are good, depending on who cooks. The prices are excellent compared to most of the major fields in Ontario.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

soad_rocks_Cm Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: April 4th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Wilderness...I've only heard about this feild. Never plaed at it because of their price (Die Hard is about 10 to 20 $ cheeper. There have been mixed revies about it but i cant comment because i have never been there. I really dont want to ither Die Hard is AWSOME.
Review: Safety.
Dh is very strick about rules and they should be! If you come into the pavilion without you barrel sleeve on you will get yelled at, and if you leave it of when you enter you deserve it! On the feild, its just like the pavilion.....take off your mask and get yelled at.
They are great with safety.

Prices.
Are very reasonable. And the paint you use is premium....AMAZING!

Staff and Reffs.
Will help you do anything, very respectable and no alot about paintballing.

Food.

Serve amazing hambergers but if you want to bring you own you can!

Feilds.
they have (dont qout me on this) about 10 acres of woods, a city , bust the buss and in the summer a speed ball. um in the winter they have a hay feild.\

Bottom Line
Die Hard is amazing go there, great staff, servace, rentals, food, EVERYTHING!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CABBOSE Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: December 31st, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
wilderness not that great
Review: Best feld ever carl teh owner is the most helpful person ever he help me fix my broken marker and makes amazing burgers he also keep a clean safe and sheltered staging area. ,the feild is always being changed and improved the refs are reat and will help u fix your gear or help u make a decision on a marker and the prices rule!! no tax!!!!!!!
Last edited on Saturday, January 7th, 2006 at 10:10 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ubi_20 Sunday, June 20th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball Wilderness
Review: I played paintball for the first time on this field. I must say it was an excellent experience. The owner is very friendly and easy to talk to. The refs are also very friendly and easy to talk to. The pro shop is awesome. Most of my gear is bought there so there is a lot of variety.

They put safety first. You must have a barrel condom for your gun and the refs watch for people who have their safety masks up.

Their bush games are great. The area is hugh and there's just enough trees/branches to take cover, however, not too much that will prevent your shots from hitting your opponent.

The only complaint I have is the size of their village. After playing in Paintball Wilderness's village, Diehard's village is small, however, this will not prevent me from going back to Diehard!

Keep up the good work Diehard!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

weefek Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
To be honest I haven't played at any other local fields but what I've heard about them doesn't make me want to play there.
Review: This field is amazing. It's my home field and I've been going there for a little over three years now.

The field's accomodations are great. The staging area / pavillion is well sheltered and has many tables that accomodate your gear and whatever else you need to bring. The only complaint in this area would be that the field is actually about a 4 - 5 minute walk from the proshop / office area. but that's not a big deal.

Safety is great, I have never felt in danger or at risk of being hurt. Any rule breaking is swiftly and severely delt with, whether off or on the field. Chronoing is very good, and anyone believed to be shooting hot while on the field is checked again, on the field, with a hand-held chrono. In the staging area, barrel plugs have been disallowed and barrel condoms are mandatory. This just goes to show the high safety precautions.

The fields themselves are very well done. The speedball fields are fast and fun, and safe. The bus to bus / village area is also a good place to play. The forest area is well done with many forts and good placement of cover. The only complaint would be that when it rains it can get slippery and there can be large puddles. But since it's in a forest, who can complain about that? It's nature. Also, there is a small creek running straight through the middle of the forest, adding a sweet level of competition with bridges and fighting from different sides of the river.

The refs at Diehard are great. Talk to them, and they'll talk to you. Very friendly. The old refs that had the reputation of being dorks are now at Paintball Wilderness. The new refs are great. I have no complaints whatsoever.

The proshop is good, and they can get anything you want in a matter of time. Prices are good.

The field prices are great too. Decently cheap, and good paint. Field paint only though, which isn't too bad anyway since they sell good paint.

They provide lunch as well, for a small charge of $1 a burger. The burgers are simple and old fashioned but very good. Pop / water can be bought whenever you want it as well.

Overall this field is one of the best in essex county. It's been around longer than anyone else and continues to prove itself. Congrats to the owners for such a great field.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

exxes ravens#14 Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Other Fields
in the Area:
paintball wilderness
flagswipe
Review: i love this place it has every thing you could ever want in a field air ball rec ball. there staff is extremely friendly and well trained bus to bus the city and oh ya the bush its the best place there prices are cheap they have great rental packages and the food is great big up to Carl for those great hamburgs. they offer private bookings tournaments and the best day of paint ball for your dollar. they are open all year round and offer memberships.


i love this place.and all the people that work there the refs will denis and carl

peace out

Donny

aftermath
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media