paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / The Grindhouse Paintball Field / The Grindhouse Paintball Field / The Grindhouse Paintball Field / The Grindhouse Paintball Field

The Grindhouse Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
5Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 708.862.2222
Address: 1401 Huntington Dr.
Calumet City, Illinois 60409
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
ddscopez Saturday, February 16th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 16th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Paintball massacre arena (closed) I don't live here, so not many.
Directions
to the Field:
www.mapquest.com
Review: I'll start off by saying that I had alot of fun today. I enjoyed the field, even though its kind of small and you play on some sort of clay. But good players, okay prices, etcetc. Basicly it was a good day of play.

BUT. I really could have enjoyed it alot more if I could have played more. Chicago Aftershock/shock kids were there. They were pretty cool I played with them a little. But the main reason I was there was to play with my cousins. (One of them posted a review below me) So most of the time I was playing open play. The team guys were on the field for about 30 minutes, playing about 8 rounds each time, then we would go on and play about 4 rounds for only about 10 minutes. It was completely ridiculous. They would take for ever to swap sides, it was like they didn't know (or care) that we were there. THEN they had to have a meeting/pep talk. It needed to be quiet, so we weren't alowd to play. Okay, I understand, I'm on a team I know the importance of such meetings. BUT this went on for ATLEAST an hour, if not longer. Couldn't they have dont it outside or something? We were sitting around blowing paintballs through our barrels. We were bored out of our minds.

My cousin ( v v ) isn't very experianced, and has only gone paintballing a couple times. He had to rent his equipment, and didn't have a good time with that. The gun malfunctioned constantly. When he ran out of a co2, he went to have it filled, and the lady gave him a new one, and said "this one might run out kind of soon" sure enough he ran out of air after less than 2 games. When he got it filled again, he said that the tank wasn't screwing on, so he went up to the lady in the proshop and asked her, and she just stared at him like he was a retard.

So over all, I had a good time. I just wish that I could have played more.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

junkieguru Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: February 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I have played at fox paintball, but the experience there is quite different from here since one is speedball and the other is woodsball.
Review: My friend had a private party there and with a toal of only 6 people we had a real great time.

The way things were set up allowed us to go out and play and then have a break between matches while another group went out and played, which in my opnion was a real great way to cycle play.
We were there for 5 hours which was plenty of time to have fun and get a lot of paint shot off, but they only have one field. After 5 hours we all knew the field real well, and despite us switching teams and all that gameplay became slightly repetetive since there was never a change in field.
They have this crushed limestone floor, which they get from sort of horse track and after one round thye ref knelt down and picked up a horse hoof which he had found, kinda gross.

The best part of the experience was our ref Boone (sp?). He was real great, our friend had a broken gun so a good portion of when we were there was the ref attempting to help our friend with his gun, and when we found it couldnt be fixed at the field the ref offered to let our friend use his gun. He also was doing things like wiping goggles in between rounds so we could see, overall he was a great guy and the staff in general are really what made it a great experience.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 19th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
CPX
Badlandz
-have not played at either
Directions
to the Field:
I-94 South
Exit on US 6 East
Right on Torrence
Right on 170th/168th
Right on Huntington Way
The last building on your right is The Grindhouse
Review: Went there at about 10:30 am with my brother and a friend. Extremely reasonable prices, $30 for entry and all day air, and $30 for a case of good quality paint, or even bring your own paint. When we got there there were team practices going on so we didnt see any field time until about 12. They usually get very crowded on Saturdays and you can expect to see players of all skill levels there, from first-timers to D2 players. There is only one field but games do move extremely fast. It is also a rather small field, in my opinion any more than four people per team is a crowd. If you are looking for a woodsball/scenario field this one is not for you, the one field they have is strictly speedball/airball. The staff is extremely nice, and even though there isn't that many staff, everyone still chronoed and followed the safety rules. Also, from what i've noticed, More experienced and advanced players and teams play from about 12pm-4pm, and the newer players play later, so you can decide when to show up and play. You can also leave the field for food and stuff because they give you a bracelet that is good for the entire day. This is Badlandz Indoor Field.

Overall i would give this field a 9/10, they have the best prices in the chicagoland area and very nice staff. They are a small indoor field for players who want to play during winter, most people who usually play at the badlandz in summer play here in winter.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

xytom22 Monday, January 21st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: January 18th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Its hard to say
Directions
to the Field:
If your car car go on the highway take it cuz mine cant and it fkn dumb
Review: ITS SMALL and u play on sand (kinda like kitty liter) but fun the staff is awesome just wut i expected from Badlandz, my halo was messing up badly. so the guy that was callin the games took his own personal halo off his aftershock DM7 and let me use it. when most the people left at about 9, the same guy ask if we wanted to listen to some music while we played it was rap/hip hop but very nice of him to offer. grindhouse is supposed to close at 11, they let us play till about 12-12:30

10 out of 10
Its small but the staff makes up for it

SIGN UP AT BBT.COM CUZ YOU WILL GET NEWS LETTERS LIKE BRING IN THIS COUPON AND BUY A CASE AND ENTRY'S FREE
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

D_Monster Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 13th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fox River
CQB in Chicago
Directions
to the Field:
Check Badlandz site...
Review: Ok, this a smallish speedball field.
As myself and my squad are woodsballers, we where concerned about being fish out of water. The staff there spent some time talking with us as we geared up and asked us what we wanted to play. After we told them it was mostly a shake-down/training day they let us take the field with just the 6 of us between the speedball games.
we got in about 14 rounds of play, and did enjoy ourselves.

Long and short of it is this,
It's small.
It's speedball.
it's worth the trip, even for woodsballers.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media