paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / PaintBall USA Paintball Field / PaintBall USA Paintball Field / PaintBall USA Paintball Field / PaintBall USA Paintball Field

PaintBall USA Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 800-919-9237
Address: 15112 Sierra Highway
Santa Clarita, California 91390
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Emorrison84 Tuesday, March 8th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 6th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warped, CPP, Hollywood Sports, PB USA (When It was in Simi Valley)
Directions
to the Field:
15112 Sierra Hwy Santa Clarita CA 91390...map it...
Review: So a few days ago I decided to give the Paintball USA fields in Santa Clarita a try for the first time. I was a serious regular at the their field in Simi Valley before it was closed down a few years back.

Pricing-

It costs $20 for Walk on Admission, plus $10 for all day air, so $30, which seems to be pretty much standard for most places I've been. The field is BYOP for self-equipped players only, so if you're renting, you'll have to bite the bullet and deal with $65 a case.

Fields-

I went in with the mindset that the fields would be in the similar "run down" condition that they were in at the Simi Location, after all it's still the same owner. I was pleasantly surprised to see the fields were in very good condition, and could accommodate large groups without hassle.

I quickly found out that there are in fact 2 sections of this park. I split my day 50/50 to get the full experience. There is the spot at the very bottom, which has a couple large Hyperball fields, and a good sized Airball field. There may have been a few other fields down there, but I think the were closed due to mud.

If you drive up the hill (can't miss it), you'll find a much larger 2nd area. I am told this used to be Conquest, but after their stint there, PBUSA took it over. This area is naturally all large Scenario & Rec-ball fields. I played on a total of 4 fields up there, but there are more.

Those fields were:

Baghdad, a very large "urban" field with over 100 bunkers.

Dunes, a medium size square shaped field with hills of dirt as bunkers.

Trenches, (which was muddy and only half open) which is very self explanatory.

and Haystacks, a Rec-ball field similar to a Hyperball but bigger and with Haystacks for bunkers.

I'd like to add that this upper area features all the same amenities that the lower area does, such as sign in, air fill stations, and parking.

Safety & Referees

They were very on top of safety while I was there. There are naturally signs everywhere reminding players to keep their barrel sleeves on and the goggle rules were heavily enforced by both referees and other players.

The Refs seemed to be pretty good about getting games started quickly, and I never had to wait more than 10 minutes between games. They balanced the teams very nicely so that each team had the same amount of people and made sure that they were splitting up players evenly. I was very impressed by all the Refs fairness & attention to the game, responding to nearly every Paint check and calling hits when they saw them.

Conclusion-

I was very satisfied with my experience at Paintball USA and if it wasn't for the 50 mile drive I'd go there regularly. The players were all very friendly and seemed to demonstrate exceptional sportsmanship. I recommend this field to all players looking to have a good day of Paintball, be it down on the Speedball fields or in the mix up in the Scenario games.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 7th, 2011 at 6:02 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

coup Monday, October 26th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: September 26th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Conquest,Warped,HSP,CPP,Field of Fire,SC Village, Jungle Island.
Review: I've played on every field here near the Los Angeles area for more than 5 years. Safety for me is priority and PBUSA do not force it. As of 10-26-09 i could prove it to you, simply go on facebook type in Paintball USA Close Encounter. Once on their main page, look over to the left side window where it say Photo - 1 Fan Photo. You will noticed that their barrel covers are not on. I wouldn't be suprise of the Idiot Owner of PBUSA remove this photo before you can see what i'm talking about. For those who see this picture, i ask you this - would you like to hang out in the park parking lot knowing that people are walking around or horse playing with no barrel sleeve on? I know i wouldn't.
Another reason why i don't like this park is that they charge $80 for a case of crappy paint. Majority of the Ref care less if you get 4 to 8 games per day and they don't enforce safety on or off the fields. The vibe here really sucks. DO NOT GO TO THIS PARK its a waste of your money.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

gunnerman Friday, October 23rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 17th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Close Encounters, used to be on the Old Road. Paintball USA in Acton and the one at the Movie Ranch.
Directions
to the Field:
It's in Santa Clarita or Canyon Country - they are all in the same. It's on Sierra Highway.
Review: I can say a lot about this place, like the most exciting part of the day was the ref named Art. This guy is unbelievable. I've seen him at the other Paintball USA fields. He's an ex-Marine and the way he coordinates and runs the games is really cool. Talk about a lot of games going on all day, yeah, if you want to play all day - this is the place to go.Everybody else was mellow and easy to talk to. Good looking fields! They are all wide open with lots of playing space, strategically set up. Me and my friends had a good day there and we got to bring our own paint. A 5 star park for sure.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballUSA Friday, August 21st, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: August 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Close Encounters Newhall was a great paintball park, but this one is awesome! It has 10 fields - different scenarios. One in particular is the fields of Iraq and Afghanistan. Friendly and helpful staff, Guidos pizza reps are on site to take your order and Gamers Paradise is there for outdoor laser tag.
Directions
to the Field:
15112 Sierra Highway, Santa Clarita, CA 91390 from L.A., take the 5N to the 14N, exit Sand Cyn., turn left. Turn right onto Sierra Highway. Paintball USA is about 1/2 mile on your right.
Review: Paintball USA is an Awesome outdoor paintball park with 10 large, different varieties of playing fields. Open Saturdays and Sundays from 9am - 4pm, after hour/evening games are available and midweek games by reservation - no additional charge. Great prices, players get the most for their buck. Safety rules are enforced by the refs. Great and friendly staff. Shaded picnic facilites, bring your own food or order pizza from a Guidos rep on site. Vincenzos pizza also delivers to the park. In n' Out Burger is where you exit off of Sand Canyon. Walk ons are welcome. Paintball USA honors all discount passes - Planet Paintball, California Advertising, Entertainment Book coupons and Paintball USA.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

cockerrocker Tuesday, October 28th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: October 26th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Warped-much better
Conquest-much better R.I.P.
C.P.P.
Field of Fire
Acton
Review: I will list my experience, if anyone else agrees or disagrees we can discuss it.

I went there last Sunday with a group of friends. I understand how a field operates and its demands, issues etc. Having said that, I had a very disappointing day at this field and here are the reasons why.

1) It was taking WAY too long to start games. For the majority of the day, we waited no less than 30 minutes before refs even began calling games. To make it simple, in 6 hours there, we played 7 sets of games. We played so few, I even remember the order we played. We would even get on the refs about starting the games, and they would say "open class walkons in 10 minutes" and then disappear for 20-plus minutes.

2) Charging $80 for paint is borderline criminal. I understand markups, overhead and all that stuff. I could even understand (reluctantly) charging $80 for $60 Evil or something like that. But charging 80 bucks for cheap "seconds" is ridiculous. There must be no fields or paintball shops anywhere near here or there must be some rule about not using outside paint for rental guns because I see no reason for people to buy the field paint.

3) The refs have no control of the field. Aside from lagging game times, (except for 1 ref), we could have just gone out by ourselves and had the same experience. There was no presence at all, which along with the wait for games, lead to pretty much a sense of apathy toward the staff in general. This leads to a lot of problems like arguing, overshooting and fighting.

4) Field maintenance was a little shoddy. This may just be a personal thing so there isn't that much to say. The hyperball tubes on the hyperball field and the dunes fields should at least get a once over. Again, not that much of a biggie.

I'm hoping that this experience was just unique to this day. If I go back to the new field, we'll see if the problem was bad luck or a more chronic one. Until then 4/10.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 28th, 2008 at 11:01 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
4 Comments - Add Comment

Wex Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: March 30th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: PaintballUSA - Agua Dulce has a lot to offer those that relish the sport. To start, they have all the facilities that you'd expect to find at a paintball park.

WEBSITE
Paintball USA's website (http://www.paintballusa.org) is well designed, offering answers to many questions about the field, its hours of operation, directions, and the sport in general. Pricing is clearly posted and discount packages are offered for groups. The website also contains a well stocked gallery of photos so that you can get an informative, visual view of the fields.

SAFETY
While every park requires a waiver to be signed, new players are urged to watch a video at the viewing station to better understand the dynamics of play. (A rare find at most fields). In addition, the staff and refs reinforce that knowledge with clearly defined rules, also posted for viewing. Before play, refs review the rules and ensure that a safety check is performed to ensure safe play while entering and exiting the fields. One to two refs are stationed on the field during play to ensure safety and fair play is managed.

Once you've turned in your waiver and reviewed the rules, you are given the option of renting equipment or bringing your own. The proshop provides masks (required) and army green jumpsuits so that you can keep your clothes clean in case you don't have your own paintball pants and jerseys. All paintball markers as well as air tanks are safety checked at the various stations provided to ensure safe play for all players.

FIELDS
Paintball USA Agua Dulce sports a number of great fields for rec ball, hyper ball, and decent woods ball. The fields can accommodate a large number of people (20-30 on a side without cramping your style and some are back-to-back enabling an even larger field of play for extra large games.

If there was one field that I would recommend at this park, it's their OUTLAW field. This is a huge field (read: M-A-S-S-I-V-E-! ! !). It is encompassed in its own valley with plenty of brush and trees and hills to keep a game going for hours, if needed. You could easily fill many hundreds of players in this field! I've visited a number of fields in Southern California and I know you will not find another field matching the shear size of the OUTLAW field, and managed by a professional paintball organization.

FACILITIES
The out houses provided are clean and clearly maintained (which is really nice - no offending odors). Additionally, air stations are available for compressed air tanks and a staff member is always standing by to assist you fill your tank (required staff assistance for CO2 tanks). A food truck was present when I was there offering a fairly good selection of lunch products, both hot and cold. There was ample parking and benches with shade also was provided.

STAFF
The staff was knowledable about the sport and ensured that novice players played separately from advanced players, enabling everyone to have a good time. This field demonstrated that it cared to ensure that children and young adults whom had little or no experience were given sufficient information about the sport and encouragement to have fun and play safely.

SUMMARY
I've played at a number of fields over 10 years in Southern California and there are very few that I would give such a high rating. PaintballUSA's is well deserved because they make every effort to go out of their way to ensure everyone has a good time. If I expressed disappointment with a staff member or the layout of a specific field, someone listened in a respectful amount of time the matter was handled. While I've never managed a field nor played on a professional team, my years of play have shown me how passionate players can be when they play - it's no different than any other sport, players do express their opinions... sometimes loudly, but at the same time, we are all reminded that it's just a game and we've come for recreational fun, to make new friends, and to learn about one of the nation's fastest growing sports.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

mark lanski Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: April 28th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
i think there is one in palmdale, off sierrra hwy and pearblosom.
Directions
to the Field:
15112 Sierra Highway in Santa Clarita, 91390

there is a map on the website for directions

http://paintballusa.org/
Review: Saturday & Sunday 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

fun fields to dominate, go to the website for pictures and other things.

edit:
i went when it was windy. had a fun day. it was 20 dollars all day air and play with a coupon we had

this place is good. when i was there i played on only three of the fields. i got there later than normal so i didnt have tme to play on the other fields. i played on a trench level, a street level, and some level with hay bales.

the trench level is fun, the street level is ok except for: some metal i slipped, when they play only one side of the street, and then there is a hay bale level, it is fun but its wide so if you are playing there watch your sides.

????????????????????????????????????????

the only Bad thing from my experiecne is when the owner short sticked my brother...

my brother and i went to this place once. my brother paid to play and then he decided he could only play for 1.5 hrs so he wanted his money back . he asked for a refund, within minutes of paying, and the owner said he could not refund him the money,( and gave some stupid reason) but he could give him a rain check. this rain check was verbal because my brother and i are very different and easy to remember. this is because we are twins with blonde hair and were "big boned" we also have a uncommon last name. so we decided to go there a couple weeks ago. my brother walked up to the owner and asked him for his refund. the owner said to him. ya i remember you and that incident but do you have the rain check, my bro said no you never gave me one, and the owner said owell there is nothing i can do for you. shady business

according to other reviews there were some fields that got stolen from another place but i dont know about this.
Last edited on Thursday, May 20th, 2010 at 8:19 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media