paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Xtreme Paintball, Travis AFB Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball, Travis AFB Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball, Travis AFB Paintball Field / Xtreme Paintball, Travis AFB Paintball Field

Xtreme Paintball, Travis AFB Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
7Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 707-424-0970
Address: Armstrong Street - Call For Access
Travis AFB, California 94535
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
wydra91 Thursday, February 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: December 21st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway
Review: Overall this is an excellent field for people who are looking to start playing paintball, or those looking for a good time playing.

The field is situated just inside the gate to the left, along the fence right where there used to be old abandoned housing. I first started playing this field when I set up a reservation for the field as a high school sophomore party, since then I've held yearly paintball parties and played recball on the weekend. Most of the time I had been renting guns from them, and I will say that the rental guns are good solid guns suited for anyone who needs a marker. They are standard feed tippmann 98 customs with an 8 inch barrel i believe. (dont quote me on the barrel length, it's in that general ballpark if i remember correctly) They also have a single finger mechanical trigger and use CO2 for propellant. They also have HPA for those of you that don't CO2.

For about 50-65 dollars you can rent a mask, a case of paintballs, all day CO2 and a marker. For an extra 5 or 10 a piece you can get a podbelt and chest protector. For those of you that come self equipped, its a $5 field fee and a $8 charge for all-day HPA.

The staff there is excellent, there is always a rep from outdoor rec to take care of sales and other admin things, their ref staff is primarily made up players who volunteer for free field fees and air. They have a hyperball field and one or two recball fields. (The last time I was there, there weren't enough people to have more than one field running at a time so we stuck to the one closer to the sales tent. There is also a speedball course that uses concrete barriers, storm drain pipes, and similar obstacles.

Overall I find this field to be a good choice in the area if you are looking for a cheaper alternative and are looking to have a good time, un-sportsman like conduct and cheating are two things not tolerated on this field and safety is placed first and foremost, on and off the field. I only really have this field an 9 because I miss the old field, it was made up of two blocks of old housing, made for a really interesting paintball experience.

>>IMPORTANT<<
This field is field-paint only. The brand is Karnage paint, feel free to buy it off base as long as it is this brand and this brand only!
>>IMPORTANT<<
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

supercoolguy Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 19th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway, Paintball Jungle, Sherwood
Directions
to the Field:
its on base and pretty easy to find if you look up the directions on the site.
Review: this field is very very......GOOOD!!! but it is different than before. ive never been there before when but my friend has. he said it was old housing that stretched for about two blocks. its not there anymore and they rebuilt the fields that i recently had a chance to visit. I also met some cool guys on the field who played there before and said that the old park was one of a kind.

anyways on to the NEW fields. its actually pretty big with four different fields. im still noob but i there was a hyper ball field, concrete field?, a big scenario field, and another one that i dont remember. but the fields are great and are still being constructed. EVERYBODY there are AWESOME ppl! the workers, refs, and players are all super nice!

the best part of this field?? the PRICE!! its really is a great deal cheaper than any other field i went to. paid about 50 dollars total for admission, all day air, and i box of paint i split with a friends. my friend only paid 20!!

GREAT place to play for new players
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeroldo529 Tuesday, May 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
sherwood forest: not the best
Directions
to the Field:
It is on base so you will need a pass, but for directions go to the website
Review: This field is great. The field is a urban warfare field and it is really fun to play on. This is an urban warfare field because it is in an old housing unit. Although you can't go inside the houses. The rules on this field are very enforced. If you are caught not following them you could be forced to sit a game or two, or they may even kick you out for the day. they really only have one field, but they play several different types of games. They don't just play the satndard elimination. All the staff there are pretty nice and same with the proshop. If you don't have your own gun don't worry because their rental guns are pretty good guns. The rental guns there are tippman 98s. Don't bring your own paint though because it is field paint only. That means you can only use their paint. The prices there are very cheap compared to other places. When you might spend $70 to $100 dollars at another place. At Xtreme paintball you might go spending about $30 to $50 depending if you rent. Also another thing about the rules is that there is no blind firing. So if you have a habbit of doing so get out of it. If you blind fire you will have to sit out. The people that show up are also normally sportsman like. When I went there were about 30 people there. So overall this place is awsome and you should definently try it out. too bad it is closed right now hopefully though it reopens so i can go back because this is one of the only fileds that i really like to play on.
Last edited on Sunday, June 7th, 2009 at 11:38 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

R_ACE1 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 29th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
American, Davis, Midway, Sherwood Forest
Directions
to the Field:
Google Travis Air Force Base; once on base make a left at your 1st light (Cannon Drive). Then make a 1st left (Armstrong St.), follow the road until the end. Xtreme Paintball will be on the left side.
Review: http://www.60thservices.com/paintball.html

#### UPDATE AS OF 30 AUGUST 2009: After several months assiting with the managers and other dedicated volunteers, Xtreme Paintball 2.0 will reopen September 5 2009!!!!!! Due to the larger size in land we were able to add multiple fields within the land that was given. On Aug 29, we did a "Dry Run" with 20 people utilizing many senarios on the different fields. The reason for this was to ensure the different fields were properly constructed with no favors to any sides and that players can enjoy themselves in a safe enviroment. They (management) recieved lots of compliments with the new paintball field.
We hope to have a large crowd attend the official grand opening of Xtreme Paintball 2.0 on September 5, 2009 starting at 9:30am

WE'RE BACK IN BUSINESS!!!!!


Xtreme Paintball was temporarily closed due to demolition of old homes around the paintball area. Per the base's request, equipment from the paintball field had to be removed for the demolition.

The latest update I recieved is that demolition "should" be completed by end of April 2009. Once that is complete the base is looking to give up some land for Xtreme Paintball. The next phase will then be to set up the field, and reopen it.

As a new volunteer to the site it's great to see alot of people (ranging from the inexperienced to the most experienced) passing by on the weekend to play for the whole day. Xtreme Paintball's management and it's employees appreciate the customers coming back and spreading the word to other paintballers. We all know this field could not be possible without it's loyal customers. That is why we try to make it exciting, safe, and keep the scenarios fresh for the customers.

With the reopening of Xtreme Paintball, we hope to keep these standards going with the addition of making this new site more pleasing for everyone to enjoy!

1st off the only main weakness is you need a pass to enter the base. To be able to get the pass you need someone (who has a military identification) to sponsor you. If you know someone who works in the base then you should have no problem. Either way this can be an annoyance.

With that aside, Xtreme Paintball is pretty damn sweet! The staff is very knowledgable when it comes to paintballing, and overall pretty cool to talk to.

The field consists of 2 blocks of empty homes with 1 speedball field and 1 airball field. While the field only has 1 block open for regular hours of operation they do open everything during special events.

Speaking of hours of operation as of April 1 their hours are:
Monday - Friday = Reservations only
Saturday = 10am - 4pm
Sunday = 1pm - 5pm

On Saturday about 50 to 70 people show up and on Sundays around 40 show up. As the summer progresses, more and more people show up on both days.
As for special events Xtreme Paintball hosts many from small ones up to big events that have over 200 people in attendance!

Prices are also very competitive if not cheaper than all other surrounding paintball fields! They now use HPA on their marker packages which that is a big plus. Another is they do take care of their marker by cleaning at the end of the day and immediately replace any broken markers or other equipment.

Another thing Xtreme Paintball takes in consideration is SAFETY! All the refs and the person in charge understand that being safe plays a major role every day, both on the field and off. Before anyone can play a game they must go though a safety bief (a thorough one at that), a marker check using a chronograph. as well what to do if your mask falls off your face while playing. Xtreme Paintball staff ALWAYS ensure players have either a barrel plug/condom on before you leave the field for added security, even not shooting an opponent within certain feet. To Xtreme Paintball safety is paramount!

Travis AFB Xtreme Paintball has also been noticed by poplular paintball magazines such as Paintball 2 Xtreme with pictures from several big events

Overall, Xtreme Paintball is very safe, it's secure (on a military base, duh), it's cheap, and fun. Everyone who is into paintball or who is interest should at least stop by and check it out, you won't be dissapointed.
Last edited on Monday, August 31st, 2009 at 2:04 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ladiesman69 Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: March 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
midway
Directions
to the Field:
on base
Review: Safety: the very best
Fields: only 2 airball, and urban warfare
Hours: 9am to 4pm saterdays
Prices: entry5 bucks, all day air or co2 8 bucks, paint 35 to 40 bucks
Rules: enforced
Prospop: no
Staff: realy pros
Refs: the best
Players: nice
Facillties: a port a pody
Food: drinks
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

k0wt0wnkrak3r Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
2 years  
Last There: February 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Midway - IMO not a good place to go. high prices for fields that are not well kept.
Directions
to the Field:
Google the address.
Review: Ok, so I've been playing at this field since i first started playing paintball 2 years ago, and sicne then I've tried out a few other fields in the area and I can honestly say that no other field I have been to even compares in the slightest to how great this place is.

The field is about a football field and a half long (more or less) in the shape of a U, using the abandoned houses that the AFB has. The backyard fences are knocked down so it creates a great place to battle up through the middle as well as along each street side. You may not be able to go INSIDE the houses, but you move through garages and closet spaces to move up through the field. In all there are about 17 houses (mostly duplexes). There is also a small speedball course made up of tires and pieces of wooden fences that is used on popular demand. Soon to be an airball field also.

The games that are played there are normally (depending on how many people come) for full field is Elimination, Center Flag, Capture the Flag, President, Predator, Attack and Defend, and occasionally Revolutionary War if the players want to play it. For playing center field games (center of the field, shorter and closer) they play Elimination, Center Flag, and Capture the Flag.

The staff is awesome. Ever since I have started playing there I have become close personal friends with all of them, as well as my brother being part of the staff. They are all really friendly and know how to organize games quickly. They are also great refs and know how to do their jobs.

The prices here are unbelieveable. Plain and simple, they are a STEAL! For a full day for a beginner, which would include all the equipment you need, as well as unlimited air (the field uses compressed air on all their rented markers, which are tippman 98's, but still can fill CO2 if you have it.), and 1000 paintballs is $45. If you have your own equipment then all you need is $5 for field fee, and 8$ for all day air. The paint they sell is Karnage, and I think GAP (they might have stopped selling GAP). They sell 3 different kinds of Karnage, Rip, Bite, and Tear. The only paint you may use there is Karnage and GAP, and if you are planning on bringing either one of those then wait to open it at the field so there is no conflict over an open box of paint.

All in all, this field is just plain awesome. I will continue going there until either I die or it closes for good (knock on wood). Definitely recommended for anyone who LOVES scenario play, but also is great for anyone in general!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Phishschticks Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: November 27th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None - I live in Missouri.
Review: One of the best - if not THE best - field I have ever played on. I had one of the best days of paintball I have ever had when I played there.

While I have only played on the field a couple of times (it's in California, and I live in Missouri), it is AMAZING. My brother is stationed at Travis AFB, and I hope to be going back in a couple of months.

Anyway, if you play paintball and you are within about 5 hours of Travis AFB, you DEFINITELY need to check out this field.

Great staff, great prices and GREAT FIELD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Urban warfare at its best!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media