paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hilltop Paintball Field / Hilltop Paintball Field / Hilltop Paintball Field / Hilltop Paintball Field

Hilltop Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
4Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: (518)993-4200
Address: 565 River Road
Fort Plain, New York 13339
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
chokepoint Monday, August 6th, 2012
Period of
Field Use:
4 years  
Last There: June 16th, 2012
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Grand Slam - I heard they moved, so I don't know anymore.
Lash's - Probably the best fields in the area.
Directions
to the Field:
River Rd (off 5S heading toward Little Falls, Herkimer)
Review: I have played multiple times at this field. There are 2 speed ball fields, 1 woods ball field and a couple of smaller, side fields ( 1 is made with wood and bails of hay and the other is built nicely with boards).

The speed ball fields are set up like NPPL & Xball. Well done and kept up nicely. They used to have paid refs but the day I went they just appointed group leaders with whistles (cheezy).

The woods ball field is small. Thats all I can say. I played it once. It didn't really impress me.

The other fields were ok as well. We played them a couple of times and they were fun.

I am mostly impressed with the property as a whole and the inflatable fields (speed ball) were the highlight of the day.

Field prices - $20 to get on the field. My opinion is this is too much money. Most fields in the area that actually have people going to them are free or $5-$10. They have nice fields too.
1 Case of crap paint that you can get at walmart now for $30-$35 will cost you $75. My opinion is this is way too much money...I can go to any other field in New York (I think) and only pay NO MORE than $50 per case. I know Lash's is $42 per case and they don't charge a field fee!!! On the other hand, at Hilltop if you get a case of paint you don't have to pay for your air....

I talked to the owner and he said he most likely won't be hosting tournaments :(

Overall - Nice fields to play on. Too expensive for me.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

THE ISLANDER Sunday, November 30th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 25th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Directions
to the Field:
Easy to find. Right out of town. GPS got us there with no problem!
Review: There is quite a surprise at the top of the gravel road that leads up from the parking area. In front of you there are 4 playing fields and several buildings arrayed in a park-like setting! The buildings include a check-in building; a pro-shop which sells the paint, accessories and rents all you need; a snack bar with drinks and hot and cold food (It even has a sheltered seating area which overlooks the playing fields!); a referee building where orientation takes place before the games, guns are chrono'ed and equipment is repaired; a BBQ deck which seats 20 (when we were there, the BBQ was FREE!); and a gameroom with videos and a lounge area to meet and talk with other players. There are about a dozen picnic tables for each group to gather and prepare for play!

We played on the X-BALL, the NPPL and the Woods/ Farm Combo fields. They were well laid out and terrific fun! Next time we'll bring a larger group and try out the Extreme Woodsball field! That appeared to be very challenging!! As does the Old West Town that is planned to open in Spring '09.

As for the paint - we found it to be priced right, broke on contact and didn't stain our clothes.

As for the staff - we found them to be helpful, friendly , professional and ready to accommodate.

Convenient that they accept all major credit cards.

The whole place had a clean, well maintained, professional look about it. No wonder groups book parties there!

Definitely reccommend this field. Considering that this was their first year, it's gonna just get better. Will definitely keep then on the my radar screen!




Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lawlson7x Sunday, September 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Albany Paintball Emporium: -
First Prize Paintball: +
Headrush: +
High Energy Paintball: +
Directions
to the Field:
www.HilltopPaintball.com
Review: Safety: Safety at Hilltop was something to be worked on. Not only during the intermission between games but even before the game began several refs were walking around with there goggles off. Setting a bad example for the players.

Fields: Hilltop has several fields. A Xball field, 7man field, as well as some woodsball type fields. I could clearly see all of there fields from the staging area but i was only lucky enough to be on the Xball field. The xball field looked close to regulation with the exception of sidelines. The dead boxes were tarps tied to plastic poles. The actual layout was off, to say the least. Standing at one dead box i could see that bunkers didn't line up and the center X was off to the left/right depending on the side of field your on.

Hours: The fields hours of operation are.
Fridays- Noon-8PM
Saturdays + Sundays- 11am - 7pm
Mondays- 11am- 5pm

Prices: $20 walk on + Air. Then paint was $70 a case.

Paint: Paint wasn't all that great. Diablo Heat. The shells were very hard and i could barley break one with my car keys. The fill was also very easy to wipe off.

Rules: There was a captain orientation at the beginning of the day but i did not hear any rules be said.

Services: I personally did not see a tech area. I could be wrong.

Staff: The staff at Hilltop paintball was decent. Friendly people. Had everything ready and got us on our way very quickly.

Refs: The refs are the field were lacking. Some didn't want to do paint checks. Other sat around more as spectators. Back to the safety issue. Several refs removed there masks at the wrong times. Setting a poor example for others.

Players: There werent very many players that showed. The quality was also lacking. Ages ranged from 10 to 40+. But once again. The quality was low.

Facilities: Hilltops Facilities are alright. There is a registration shed right outside parking. Behind that is a farm. (Donkeys, mud, ect ect). Past that is a long gravel road that leads to the fields and other staging area. Lucky enough i got a ride up in a golf cart. But I had to wait because only one person at a time. This would cause a problem with bigger events. Kids with large rolling gearbags might have trouble getting up the steep rock hill. Once at the top of the hill the facilities were decent. The bathroom was a clean porta-john. (Didn't look used at all). There was a stretch of small little sheds with what looked like a small Proshop. From what i could see i saw a few small odds and ends but nothing worth stopping to look at. The rest of the facility was clean and decent.

Food: The staff at Hilltop had a little BBQ going for the Tournament. They also had some drinks and snacks inside there proshop. I personally did no eat there so i can't say how the food was or wasn't.


Overall: Last but not least my final words. Hilltop Paintball was a alright field. They have the setup and the capital to improve. BUT the experience wasn't there. Lack of know how was the biggest problem i witnessed. Things could be changed for the better with a shove in the right direction.
One last little note: The field does not have a forum. Paintball fields fly or die with forums. Without one a field has no real communication with the players.
Last edited on Sunday, September 7th, 2008 at 2:41 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

white trash Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: May 24th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
grandslam-cooperstown
hyper-son pb- kirkland(R.I.P.)
headrush-syracuse
adrenaline zone-oneonta

brand new, just opened today
Directions
to the Field:
just mapquest it,,but not to hard to find for someone who can navagate
Review: brand new field, first day open
this place has just been constructed, so its got lots of signage
decent but steep driveway to parking lot
a registration booth near the parking lot, and they will transport a single player w/ their gear, or a teams gear up the hill to the fields by way of a golfcart
there is plenty of staging, i counted at least 10 picnic tables w/ umbrellas,
a bbq pit
and a concession stand, along w/ a central place to buy paint,and the other things that you may need
2 air ball fields
thats right 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!$$$$$$$$$$%&&&&&&&
amp;&&&*&)^(*&(*&^^$%#@#!$&^&
;*+)(&*_:)
an x-ball style field, in that they have a 12 ft x and 4 little x's, and another nppl style field, complete w/ carwash bunkers, and the like
i can only think of 1 other field w/ 2 airball field, and they are indoor only

they have BT rentals, along w/ vents goggles
a FPO diablo paint that shot very well
and a good bunch of refs

i would suggest checking out this place
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media