paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Winstead Outdoors Paintball Field / Winstead Outdoors Paintball Field / Winstead Outdoors Paintball Field / Winstead Outdoors Paintball Field

Winstead Outdoors Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
4Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-298-7206
Address: Stone Quarry Skateboard Park
Byron, Illinois 61010
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
nrsvsb14 Saturday, March 26th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: March 21st, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: I have been paintballing for over 7 years, and had more fun at Winstead Outdoors than at any other paintball field I have been too. The staff was excellent: extremely helpful and very excited for us to get out and paintball. Winstead offers two courses, a speedball course and a woods course. The speedball course has a great setup, and the woods course has a very interesting setup that is great all the way up to teams of 10 vs 10. Overall, it was a fantastic experience, and I highly recommend Winstead Outdoors.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rtracing Tuesday, October 5th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: October 2nd, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Da Nuke, Wildside, Edge
Review: I was a little hesitant at first since there was only two fields. Boy did that disapear. We played for five hours straight. The coarse is so demanding that it made no difference. The woods ball coarse is highly demanding and the speed ball coarse can be intense. The owners was a blast to talk with and would suggest it to anyone. Now the kicker on this is he is mobile so if you have your own land you can do it anywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So to anyone who is looking to go paint-balling this one isn't a drive by stop and play. It is way cheaper, way nicer and doesn't make you wonder if the person running the place forgot to take your meds and should you have to protect yourself from them.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

skydiverpilot1 Saturday, June 12th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: June 12th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Da Nuke - o.k. for Pro's, not sure if there are still around.
Review: Just wanted to submit an excellent review. There is 1 other review on this field which is totally false.
Yes, Winstead's field at Stone Quarry in Byron is what it is. Its in an old quarry. He does not own it he borrows / rents it from the Byron Park District. I could be cosmetically nicer.
But don't confuse cosmetics with Safety.
I think the person that submitted the first review was from a "Rival" paintball place and I feel there are enough disputes that if "pbreview.com" is a decent organization they should just delete that post.
Not only does have a setup at Stone Quarry but they are mobile and can setup at your location. You don't even need a gun or gear.
They were just at my house today. I have 5 acres and it was great. They even brought out over 20 plastic 55 gallon barrels ( no charge ).
We had quite a few kids under 18 playing and they were very strict about masks and barrel socks. I have played with them at about 4 or 5 different places and they are always very strict on safety. If you don't listen to the rules they will not let you play.
I have a bunch of friends that have wanted to play for a few years and there are a great option.
Believe me they are not doing this for the $$$. They surely didn't make enough money to cover their times with my group or many groups I have seen. You can actually afford to play with them and lay down some paint if you want.
Also, I don't believe any other fields I have seen are nearly as safe for the kids. At most paintball fields, kids are just small targets that the other players "Light Up". Winstead will make sure that this doesn't happen to your kids.

Yes, there Stone Quarry setup is not like in the magazines. But DO NOT mistake a setup that isn't awesome for a set up that is NOT SAFE... Winstead is 100% safe and they are teaching the youth and everyone there how to become real "Paintballers".

Thanks for a great time. You guys ROCK.....
100% satisfied customer...
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintThrower08 Wednesday, October 29th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Da Nuke (alot better)
Directions
to the Field:
go home and dont go here.
Review: THIS FEILD BLOWS! it is noob central. the only ppl that play here are little kids and teens with down syndrom. the feild is ran buy some guy that has no idea what he is doing, along with his wife that is rude and mean. The games are ran by his son. this kid has never played paintball in his entire life and he is some how a ref. he couldnt tell a hit from splatter if it hit him in the face. he seemed to be makeing up the rules as he went. i could have reffed the game better in my sleep. THERE IS NO SAFTY!! kids running around, guns with no plugs or socks, guns laying around everywhere, the chrono area is right where u pick up your marker, no mask during the chrono, the chrono didnt even work, no netter areas, someone was taking a pop bottle and throwing it up into the air and trying to shoot it with a marker right by the staging area!!! the feild is a dump, the feild is a mixture of gravel, rocks, holes, golf balls, bigger rocks, plants, and concrete slabs. no nets between feilds, not enough bunkers on one feild. this was a complete fail to create a paintball buisness. this feild will most likely be sued due to a accident caused by lack of safty. Winstead Outdoors, a place to get your eye shot out!!!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media