paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Hwy 77 Extreme Paintball Field / Hwy 77 Extreme Paintball Field / Hwy 77 Extreme Paintball Field / Hwy 77 Extreme Paintball Field

Hwy 77 Extreme Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
9Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 850-271-9972
Address: 11814 hwy 77
South Port, Florida 32409
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
FogartyL Thursday, July 8th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 8th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Review: Wow, this is an outstanding Paintball Field! And George and the others work very hard to make absolutely sure you have a great paintball experience. We were visiting Panama City for a summer vacation and decided to give Highway 77 Extreme Paintball a chance. We were not disappointed.

I am 48 and have never played before. My sons are 9 and 10 and have only played in large backyards, but play with a lot of enthusiasm. We played 4 different fields with about 6 other players. the referees were very knowledgable and professional. We rented equipment. It worked freat all day long and was very reasonably priced. So if you leave your equipment at home don't hesitate to show up and rent. The many different fields all are layed out to make play very interesting and challenging.

The Pro Shop was outstanding and the staff werevery knowledgable. They also have a great refreshment area.

I was very impressed with how accomodating everyone was. There was a father who did not wish to play but had several sons playing. They insisted that he "mask up" and follow us to the fields. He climbed a tower and watched the whole thing.

We had a blast. Could not have been more satisfied. Will be going back for sure.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

PostmanPete Monday, January 18th, 2010
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: January 17th, 2010
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
Hurlburt Field Paintball- Not even comparable
Review: We had heard good things about this field from a friend of ours, so despite it being about a 90 minute drive, it was well worth it.
We went on a Sunday, and arrived when it opened, at 9 AM. We were the first ones there, but within an hour, there was over a dozen people.
The fields are enormous, with about 4 different fields. There is a mound field, with a tall mound, about 30-40 feet high, in the center of a moat, with 3 bridges connected to it. This is defiantly the best field here. We could have done attack and defend on this field all day, and still had fun.
There is another woodsball area, just as large, with an island in the center, and large A-frames around it. Both sides are rather evenly matched.
There is also a field they call "Trailers". it has two trailers at opposite ends of the field, with old boats scattered throughout the middle, with plenty of places for cover. Capture the flag is a lot of fun on this field.
There is also a speedball field, but we did not play on it. It is the standard kind, with inflatable bunkers.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with something we purchased from them, and they replaced it immediately, free of charge.
Their pro shop is very well stocked, and they have a wide selection of items, from masks, to pods, pod packs, paint, and tanks.
They do require that you use their paint, but it is very reasonably priced. ($14 for 500 paintballs)
There were three groups while we were there: a large group of kids and their parents, about a dozen airsoft players, and the group we were in, which was about 20+ people of varying ages, with several parties within it.
There were two referees, one went with our group, and the other was with the kids' group. The rules are the standards, ten foot surrender, masks on at all times on the field, etc. However, they do have a unique rule, unique to their location. The paintball center itself used to be a zoo, and they retained the petting zoo part, so quite often goats, pigs, cats, and the occasional llama would wander through the ready area. However, we didn't have a problem with any animals in the actual playing areas.
They have seperate men/women restrooms, along with a full service food counter, with pizzas, quesadillas, etc.
They have a full service repair/rental area, with anything you don't have available for rent.
This was definitely the best paintball center we've ever been to, and we don't really have a reason to go anywhere else.
Last edited on Monday, January 18th, 2010 at 5:04 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

experior kid Saturday, November 28th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: November 7th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
the other fields that i know of is tyndall air force base and the one in niceville
Review: Good hours if you like to play afternoon matches , the prices are little over priced but everything else is excellent from the services to the facilities. P.S If you go on the woodsball areas there are animals on the field when your playing but the speedball courses are Ok.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment

genegivens Thursday, November 12th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: November 1st, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Other Fields
in the Area:
none
Directions
to the Field:
north on highway 77, 3 miles north of highway 388
Review: This was my first paintball experience at age 65. I thoroughly enjoyed it. After being
shot the first time I lost my fear of being shot again and found that I was alot more
aggressive and found that there were alot of tactics envolved. This sport is for the whole family. The owners ( George and Apryl) are two of the most enjoyable people to be around. They are very concerned about their clients being safe and having fun each
and every time you come out to the fields. My young son has been playing for over a year and my daughter started a month ago and comes each weekend. From talking to the paintballers that have been playing for years and around the east they say that these
fields are the best in north Florida. George is constiently up-grading each of the 9 fields
with cars, boats, trailers, barrels etc.

Also they love animals and have a petting zoo for the young and old free of charge.
They have chickens, peacocks, lamas, ponys, horses, pigs, goats.

They have drinks and snacks very reasonably priced. The Referees Ron and Austin
are very cool guys and safety and fun are on their minds at all times. They have gun
repair and a complete line of paintball equipment that is reasonabley priced.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ishma Friday, April 3rd, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: April 3rd, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Well Ive played at Panhandle when they were around and Tyndall Airforce bases Field and neither one could offer the same thing that hwy 77 extreme paintball could offer!!!
Directions
to the Field:
Take highway 77 North to Southport keep going until you see the big sign on the right.. that easy
Review: Well I would like to stay first off is Highway 77 Extreme Paintball is completely a great paintball shop.. Safety come first the staff is completely Friendly and treat you as family , Refs are Friendly and fair and try to make your gameplay fun for everyone they are strict but not hardcore they make the game just that much better. The Food is pretty good and fair prices, Fields man there is alot to say here lol... There 4 fields ( Not include the Speed ball Field that is official size) 2 of the fields have island that you can play on that are surronedd by water and Tiger/Lion Buildings that you can hide inside. One of hte Fields has Boats and trailers that you can play in and around. For a Paintball Shop that has only been around for almost a year this is an great place to come and play... As for service they have an Tippman certified repair guy that get the repairs done pretty fast with onlu a flat rate of 18 bucks plus any parts that are needed. I think they are only open on the weekends from 9am-6pm and on the weekdays by appointment only.. if you live within a 50-60 mile radius its worth the trip to experience this shop and fields... They have just about anything to carry out your wants and needs in the shop.. they also do birthday parties and they said will be doing tournament and things of that nature.. So this is a must play place to go..
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
1 Comment - Add Comment

jared99 Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: December 28th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Review: The fields were nice they have( speed ball, junk yard,castle).But what I liked the most was that they put boats in one of the fields and then a trailer on each side.Then in other fields they had little triangle houses set up then barrels.

The food was very cheep and good.The owner and people that work there are very nice, they would stop and help you if needed,but the only thing that I did not like is that I felt like the refs treated you like little kids,and he wanted you to play what he wanted and not what you wanted.My friend and I asked him if we all could go play speed ball but he said (no because he did not want to walk that far.)So we had to play what he wanted to play.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballa1992 Monday, December 29th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
6 months  
Last There: December 22nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
tyndal air force base. It does not even come close to highway 77.
Directions
to the Field:
folow hwy 79 to southport florida then go west on hwy 77 and its on the right.
Review: Their safety rules are inforced, but their not too strict. They have 4 fields. The trailers,their are 2 island fields, and an airball feild that was recently finished. Saturday and Sunday,and when the schools let out. For about 60 dollars you get admission paint gun hopper mask ect. normal rules that any other field would have.they fill tanks and hav a full pro paintball shop.did i mention the snack bar? They are very polite too everyone. And know a whole lot about paintball. The refs are gunsmiths and refs. their fair to all players.Every weekened their are 10 to 20 people playing.Ive never seen any pros their so if its your first time no problem.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmaz56 Wednesday, October 22nd, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
My other play was in woods with friends
Directions
to the Field:
From Panama city go north on 77 about 30 min.
Review: This is a group of great people trying to get more paintballers to try them. They have a snack-bar, store, & fair pricing. It is nice to have them help & advise you how you can improve your game. I am willing to say that you will enjoy the multi senerios,friendly people, and fair prices. I have not gone to other fields but have checked prices online. I go for the day and have a great time. Even my wife goes out {hoping to shot me}












Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Theunseen Thursday, September 11th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: September 7th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Niceville Rec center, Hurlburt Field
Directions
to the Field:
Its best to take HWY 20 east directly to hwy 77, avoiding HWY98 saves alot of time.
Review: Well, im from FWB, so this field was a pretty long drive, I had a friend who had played there multiple times and loved it so I made the trek. It was worth it for sure. This used to be a Zoo, so you still have the lion den, and Islands for the gorillas ect, really neat!

This venue has 4 playable configurations, two of which have islands that are hills. They are also putting together an airbunker speedball field.

The larger island is used for attack and defend type games, or as a central strategic position in the middle of a much larger config. This island has bunkers built in, looking out on all 3 bridges to the hill. Defending this can be very easy with a good team, but dangerous if you have a few apex/flatlines keeping fire on the hill. Attacking this island can be done from 3 bridges, these bridges are so spread out, the defenders are not able to watch more than 1 bridge per person. Barrels allow careful approach from the front, and trenches on either side.

The "Urban" config consists of two trailers about 50 yards apart. The middle of the field has cars, and old boats that allow for tactful advancement on the opposing side. The windows are dark and snipers inside the trailers can be VERY deadly here. Fun setup

The "Jungle" field is crescent shaped, with a smaller island/hill in the middle. One side starts off under light woods with barrels for cover, and the other starts in a lightly bunkered area with the lions den(castle) at the very back. The team that takes the hill, usually has the upper hand, but the barreled starting area has many great shooting positions to nullify the hill if played properly. The castle in the back is a great spot to fall back to if your team becomes over run, snipers can do very well in there.


The field is run by very nice people, they are paintball players themselves, and watch how tactics evolve and constantly rebalance the fields as they continue to expand them. You wont find another field in this area with this much attention to detail, and careful placement of bunkers. Paint prices are fair. They fill co2 and HPA to 3k, and are an authorized Tippman dealer.

My one and only gripe about this field is the 280fps chrono cap. Most of the fields you will be shooting at people at ranges exceeding 100ft, that extra 20fps would make all the difference between hitting someone, and getting a kill. I had many many many no-break hits, frustrating to say the least.

All and all, I will be back asap, and cant wait to hit the place up every weekend in the fall/winter season.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
5 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media