paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Red Dragon Paintball Field / Red Dragon Paintball Field / Red Dragon Paintball Field / Red Dragon Paintball Field

Red Dragon Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
19Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: N/A
Address: 2726 Lucas Rd.
Hamersville, Ohio 45130
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
judgementday33 Tuesday, August 30th, 2011
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: August 13th, 2011
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Multiple fields in Kentucky
Review: This was my 3rd time playing at this field. All 3 times was playing a scenario game. I did not have the greatest experience the first 2 times and this one wasn't any different. As in the past games I played there, the owner apparently allows his friends and families to play for free which includes a couple of local teams. Then allows these guys to cheat on the field and shoot ramping, etc... Caught a couple of guys on ramping mode and even heard them discussing it. Also caught a player not going to the dead zone on a number of occassions to reinsert. Instead he doubled back and came in at another angle. Was not very newbie friendly at all. These local players where lighting up young kids and then arguing with them when they had a problem with it. The field itself is great except for the overgrown parts but the running of the field was a big negative. Probably will never go back.

I rate the actualy set up of the field a 9.

Other than that, 2 at best.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

KYThrill Monday, October 6th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 5th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
None
Review: This was my first scenario game and my first trip to Red Dragon Paintball. My experience was a bit mixed. The good barely outweighed the bad.

Before pre-registering for the game, I contacted the filed owner and asked about field rules and gun limitations. I was told semi-auto only, no full auto and no ramping.

So I configure all my gun for semi-auto only and headed up. Well, within 10 minutes of the start of the game, I get pinned down by three people with Tippmann A-5's with response triggers firing 15 bps at me. I called a ref over and complained that the owner told me no full auto. He said he didn't know anything about that and to keep on playing. Other people were using e-frames and running 3 round burst and full auto. To, me, none of that is "semi-auto" only. By the end of the day, I counted over 20 A-5's with response triggers. A response trigger is just a mechanical full auto vs an electronic (which some were using). So I felt a bit cheated because I would have came with different gear if the owner had said full auto was allowed. It takes some of the fun out of it when half the people on the field can spray more paint, and you could be too, if you had just known.

For the most part the refs were okay, but I think many were more concerned with not getting hit than with reffing. First, this is a fairly large filed, and I only counted 6 refs. One at each base and four roaming. This wasn't really enough for the field size in my opinion, and a couple of the refs I often saw standing around talking away from any action and not really refing. There were also several times were a paint check was clearly yelled for (I hear it 300 feet away) and the ref who was 50 feet away just stood there after repeated calls (probably because there was a hail of paintballs and they didn't want to get hit). There were only about 65 players, so a 1:10 ratio wouldn't have been so bad, if the refs had been on top of their game. When the refs were working, they did seem fair. They were all polite.

The field was pretty nice, and safe for the most part. The only safety complaint that I had was that in one of the HQ buildings near the speedball field, a whole box of 3" screws had been dumped on the ground. I was in a fire fight and dived into the building and crawled for cover. After the firefight, I realized I had been crawling around on long screws with sharp points, and I considered myself lucky that when I dived in, I didn't get a screw through the hand. Other than that, it was pretty safe.

Prices were fair and paint prices were reasonable (field-paint only event). Some players were obviously using their own paint as they were using brands the field didn't sell. I don't know if the field knew this and let it slide, or just didn't know.

The scenarios were well co-ordinated for the most part, once the game got started (it started 30-45 minutes late). Procedures and scenario rules were pretty clear. My only real complaint is that refs at different ends of the field seemed to handle the respawn rules differently. At the red team, players were cleaning their hits on their deadman walk, walking to their HQ and slapping it to respawn. If they had a goggle shot or something that needed more cleaning, they had to go to the staging area, clean up and head back to HQ. On the blue side, even if you got hit square in the chest and could wipe with a rag on your walk back, the ref there would make you walk past the HQ, downhill to the speedball field, go behind the netting, and walk back up hill to the HQ before you could respawn. This walk up and down the hill was an extra 5 minutes per player the reds didn't have to do. And the walk back up a fairly steep hill took a toll over the course of the day. At the rules briefing, it sounding like the speedball field was sort of a remote "staging area" for google shots or taking breaks for the blue team. But I questioned the ref at the blue base and he said we had to go to the speedball field as part of our respawn.

I also questioned some of my "generals" command decisions, because at least 3 times during the day he placed me in 1 on 4 vs. 1 on 5 situations, with the promise of reinforcements that never came (why not hold until 2-3 people can move out as a squad at least). There were even more bone-headed things he had team members doing throughout the day. Also, on both sides I head complaints by non-team members that the team members got the best missions, and walk-ons and smaller teams were just used as cannon fodder or to do jobs the team members didn't want to do (like lug two 10 pound boxes, plus your gear, to a gunship the general's team had secured in a fire fight). This wasn't really the fields fault. The lesson I took away was to do what I want and what I thought was sound strategy and not listen to the "general". Unfortunately it took me half the day to figure this out and get more fun out of the game (guess I was taking the sim part too far following orders).

Another complaint was that when you would respawn, you didn't really know what was going on, or what the current mission was about. Maybe in the future, they can laminate a mission card or something and hang it in the HQ by the map. That way respawn players can read the mission, check the map, and head out.

Overall, the field does have the potential to be top notch, but they weren't on top of their game at Operation Just Cause. As it was, I gave it a 6 out of 10. More/better refs. Consistent, enforced rules detailed in advance. More sitrep. Clear up a few hazards. Do these things and Red Dragon could easily be a 8-9 star field.

UPDATE: I went back for their Fall Bash. I had more fun this time because it wasn't as structured and I did my own thing. The building full of screws had been cleaned up. Still not enough refs. There were even fewer this time, and about the same turn out for players. This was a multi-flag game where three flags were worth 25 points and one was worth 75 points. At scoring intervals, whatever team held the flag base scored the points. The 75 point flag rotated around, and I never knew where it was at. The only way to know was to check the scoreboard at base camp, or find someone with a radio. It would have been nice to have a handout that had the scoring times (every hour and half hour) and what each flag station was worth at that time. They could ave provided that to everyone with 100 sheets of paper and 5 minutes in Excel.

There were several times the scoring interval passed and no ref had showed up yet, and we were battling to keep holding the 75 point flag. Then it would be 5 minutes past when we were supposed to score, and no ref there. Then we lost the flag station and the ref would show up 30 seconds later and score it for the other team. Basically there were only two (and sometimes one) ref walking to all four flag stations to score them and if he had to walk all the way across field, you would need to hold the flag an additional 5-10 minutes, which can make all the difference in the world. There should have been a ref at each flag station at scoring time. This is where most of the battles were anyway. How hard is it to have four dedicated refs (and not just player refs)?

I upped my score to a 7, but they will need more refs and better sitrep for players to score any higher.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 27th, 2009 at 7:25 am PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

ccurless77 Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
3 years  
Last There: May 2nd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Red Dragon paintball fields in hammersville, ohio is top of the line. its great, the man who works there gary is a heavy hearted person who just loves the gameof paintball and welcomes anyone. The referees there are excellent in always calling the right shots. The lead official most of the time is john Curless, hes one of the best refs i've ever seen. He knows how to get out there and make the right calls with no arguement at all. I've played on all three fields and every one is excellent. Theres a three man rookie tournement coming up for anyone who hasnt played more than a year, on the same day theres a open-class tourney for anyone who canget a team together and just come out and have fun so come on down to Red Dragon Paintball and exsperience the fun!!!!!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

quazzi58 Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 30th, 2007
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Red Dragon is the diamond in the ruff in souther Ohio and the tri state area. Located outside a small town called Hammersville.
Directions
to the Field:
all directions can be found here on there website

http://www.reddragonpaintball.com/directions.html
Review: I have just recently started playing at Red Dragon, the field is amazing and the owner is a wonderful. His heart is really in the game of paintball. The field has recently added a 2 story tower fort and lights for night games. The field stretches over 7+ acres and can be played in many ways. There is a tower fort field, a true deep woodsball field, a medium to light woodsball field and airball fields or all of them combined for one great large field.. Gary puts on great matches and has a wonderful crew of people who come out to help and keep the park at top condition. The field is constantly getting new props and structures. The field is kept up very well and Safety is number one priority. If your a fan of woodsball/scenario or speedball you definitely need to come play on this field.

[Edit:]- Also the field is BYOP bring your own paint, and he also sells paint at the field at a great price if needed. The field can also be reserved for groups or partys
Last edited on Wednesday, October 3rd, 2007 at 10:07 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dm3_paintball Wednesday, October 18th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: August 14th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Fun Gunz Die Hard
Directions
to the Field:
125 west towards george town. left on laucs road follow it down to the woods turn right on the first driveway follow it till u see a barn theres parking on the right.
If u ahve 4x4 you can drive back to the speedball/airball fields.
Review: Both played and refed there. been going out for about 7 years now and Gary is a pretty cool guy. his heart is in the woods and in big games but he still knows how to put on a good tourny.
The woods course it a good one with a good amount of bunkers both natural and man made. there is a creek running down the center of the field.
The Speedball field is hudge... it could hold a 10 man fairly easly. Its a big field with lots of bunkers but the lanes and sweetspots are there you just got to spend some time and do your homework and walk the field. The snake and the other 50 tape bunker are good and give good angles. the center 50/ flag stand is kinda weird... just dont get stuck in it cuz you won't last.
The air ball field is pretty sweet but its usually not up unless there is a tourny on it. Depending on who sets it up it can be a great field . some bunkers dont hold air so the refs have to keep filling them up. its a good airball field but its nothing special.
Gary has compressed air up to 4500 psi. $10 for all day co2 or air. He usually charges 7-10 for the field fee and his paint is 55 for a case of field blaze which isn't too bad. 2nd and 4th Sunday's are open play and visit his website to see any tournaments or big games.
Great field run by great people!!!!
Go and Paint it up
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

burgplayer Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Dont really know of any in the area cuz im from rushpaintball and thats a good distance away
Directions
to the Field:
I honestly have no idea, i followed a car there.
Review: I went to Red Draggon With My 2 Teams for there 5man not to long ago. The team i was on (our B team) was doing better then our A team and ended up taking third. Pretty Much I didnt really like the feild. I mean it was decent and all but the lanes on it were murderous. Im suprised me and the other corner players ever made it. Other then a funky snake and the wierd barrel setup on the opposite side the feild was pretty good. I guess i was just to used to our feild. The day of the tourny sucked though. The refs had some pretty bad calls I guess but none of them were on our team. Except the one where i bunkerd a guy with paint I picked up off the ground and the hit just magically disapeard. But Ohwell. The was one ref I liked in particular. He kept me in after watching paint bounce off my head.

ill give this feild a 6 just because ive never really been to it. I guess the 103* heat didnt help. Maybe it will be better next time!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

rfay00 Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: July 16th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Diehard
Unlimited
Crossfire
Review: I played in the 5man @ Reddragon last November and i had a good time, but my team only got like 4th place in it and we weren't to happy

Recently we played in the 5man on July 16th and were playin great...we had first place in are hands but we just let it go stupidly and just completely lost it on our last game and just let the other team own us.

Reddragon has a good air ball field if you like an open style setup that's the place to go to, but if you like the tight xball fields i wouldn't recommend going here...i have never played on any of the other fields but they are just woods ball and speed ball style fields and i wouldn't be interested in playin them

Reffing was decent at the last event...but it was 100 plus degrees and one ref pulled my player who got the flag pull out on rub which took us out of third and then with him playin that bunker we woulda got first cause he was a beast from that bunker, but whatever that was one of the two calls i disagreed with, but besides that it was a great field and a great time!

I would recommend reddragons tourneys to any team looking for a good competition and alot of fun cause that's what is was a good time with good teams

Overall i would give them a 7 but i haven't really been there enough to give a good rating but that's what i say for now
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Squishie Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: April 9th, 2006
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
RUSH-love it
I-70-its ok
mohawk paintball-diddnt like the paint
Review: I played in their 3 man tourny and we took 1st and 2nd place with our 2 teams. I played 1 game of woodsball and thought the feild was good but i unfortunutlu admit to getting too used to X-ball and became a victim to the 1 ball style(which I have no problem with and also think its great while also envying it.)I shoot a Karnivor and dont often use the 1 ball style but i dont just rely on speed, i try to play a mor stragetgic game. no offence to red dragon but i love RUSH and if u live near it to go to it but if you live near red dragon i recomend for u to go to it. I thought gary was one of the nicest dides ive met in a while.When i played here they had to use volonteer players as refs but im shure they have good refs and their paint prices ar'nt bad.overal i thought it was great and am coming back for the next tourny.I recomend you talk to gary to get to know him.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

buckeyeFAN Saturday, December 10th, 2005
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 30th, 2005
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
Diehard, Fungunz, Paintball Junkeez, Splatterpark, woods
Review: Red Dragon Is one of the best set-ups i have been to in a long time. The staff is well informed and the refs are very good at watching to make sure there is no cheating taking place. The owner Gary and his son have a safety first type of thing going on which is very good to have especally if you have some newbies playing around or some knucle heads that srent paying attention. By far i would rate this field a 10 out of 10 for high ratings in safety, friendlyness, and overall great set-up and taking good care of the airball field. The only thing i would say that they could use a change on is the paintball prices a bit on the high side, but hey thats how they make most of the $. But Red Dragon keep up the good work!
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seth Blevins Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Field Use:
More than 5 years  
Last There: N/A
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
FunGunz - Stay away stay away (money grubbers)
Racers Edge- No official field but good rentals and people.
Adrenaline Paintball- They suck that all there is to say.
Review: Back when I was in High School I used to Referee at this field every weekend. I had have always had a blast playin and working there. Gary and Jim are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They are very saftey conscientious. I live only about 10min away from them, and still I have not had time recently to play any paintball at all. I have played at all the other fields in northern ohio and some tournaments in Indianna and I can say that Gary has one of the nicest fields. Some people do not like to play at a field because they feel uncomfortable at a new place, you do not get that feeling playing here. You will instantly becomes freinds with everyone there.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media