paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
  Sponsored Links   

Paintball Venues

Cheap Paintball

Paintball Stores

Paintball Gear

Paintball Bags

pbReview.com / Echo Bluffs Paintball Field / Echo Bluffs Paintball Field / Echo Bluffs Paintball Field / Echo Bluffs Paintball Field

Echo Bluffs Paintball Field

Field InfoSubscribe to Reviews on this Field
Reviews:
6Edit this Field Listing
Website: Click here to visit the field's website.
Email: Click here to email the field.
Phone: 815-447-2115
Address: Off Route 29 West
Spring Valley, Illinois 61362
USA

Map - Directions - Weather
Distance: Fill in the text box below and click 'Go'
to calculate the distance to this field.

Your zip/postal code:   
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
overlook2521 Sunday, October 11th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: October 4th, 2009
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Other Fields
in the Area:
N/A
Directions
to the Field:
Get off of I-80 at the Spring Valley exit. Head south until you get to RT 29, go west. Two miles down the road you'll see there sign, turn left there. Follow the road to the right when you get down a little bit.
Review: First off, I'm a noob to PB. I've had a lot of fun at this PB field. Ten bucks lets you play all day.They are open Sat./Sun. noon-5pm. They sell Co2 and N2. Not sure how much the N2 is, but Co2 is 4.00$ for a 20 or 24oz tank. They also sell balls for 500 for 15.00$, ect. They also have gun, mask, tank rentals. They use Tippman Custom markers. You can bring your own balls, food and drink. They have a little food place there. Pizza, snacks and drinks. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The paintball field is good for a ten on ten. Seems like if you get to many more than that it gets a little crowded. They have home made bunkers and big trees to hide behind. It has a ravine right in the middle of the field which makes things a little more challenging. Overall with being able to bring your own paint and it not costing you an arm or a leg to play, I like to PB here. I've never played at another PB field, but I've talk to others and it seems this place is a good place to play. I'll give it an 8 only because I can't compair it to any other PB fields. Stop out sometime and play, you'll have a blast!!
Last edited on Sunday, October 11th, 2009 at 8:24 pm PST
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

GubGub Wednesday, February 4th, 2009
Period of
Field Use:
1 year  
Last There: October 23rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
all over the midwest
Review: Pro's: Small but great field for newb's, Nice easy going staff, cheap, easy to get to and lots of other activities to do there besides paintball.

Con's: The biggest one is lack of safety, I can not stress how unsafe the field is. With a little work and help from the regulars (by the way who are the worst offenders) who play there they can make this a fun safe place for all ages to play.

Dont get me wrong I love this place and its a great place for me just play and not have to worry about playing for keeps......I want to see this place succeed and Im afraid all it will take is one person to get hurt that will be it.....so if you there to play just play safe and help others play safe as well
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrawlerHH Wednesday, September 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
3 months  
Last There: September 1st, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: Safety: The Biggest and most important part. It is stressed there but not as much as it should be. Chrono area is in staging area were facemasks are not required and not fenced in.

Field: Field is not huge like others in the area but makes great for 12 on 12 games. Lots of bunkers throughout the field, many sniping opertunities.

Hours: Wednesdays 4-7:30, Sunday not sure now it has been 1-7pm but they have now changed it to 9-5 i believe.

Prices: $5 green fee, Paint prices are basically what you would pay in a store or probably cheaper, they now use Seconds brand.

Rules: They have started cracking down on full autos and the ramping and burst modes. We have alot of noobes that come out and play in this area so they dont need to be hosed down there first time.

Services: They fill CO2, and have heard that they purchased an HPA setup but they still have not gotten it out there.

Proshop: N/A

Staff: Very friendly, great to play with and easy to get along with.

Refs: Not alot of ref experiance here, could definately use some more experiance with some other fields refs.

Players: Mostly the usual same groups from various towns. All get along pretty well.

Facilities: No Bathrooms just one portipotty. Nice size open new parking lot. Still finishing up their shed/storage/fill station house.

Food: Consession stand is cheap just like a little legue baseball game, it gets the job done.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

BC_07 Thursday, August 7th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Field Use:
Just once  
Date There: July 27th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Other Fields
in the Area:
I've played numerous fields all over the MidWest and this one was on the lower end of them
Directions
to the Field:
Mapquest or ask the locals (they'll tell you where the 'haunted' old girl scout camp is)
Review: Safety: Not scrictly enforced.. actually had a guy point a gun at me off field

Fields: 1 very nice woodsball field it is a large field that has natural and manmade bunkers and has a very interesting gully which makes game play very varied

Hours of operation: Not 100% sure... open on sundays i know that

Prices: Everything is cheap

Rules: Basics are explained but I played their 1st tournament and there was alot of grey areas outside the basics

Services: CO2 fills (3$), very nice management (Run by a committee) but i only really talk to one of the board members

Proshop: None

Staff: friendly people.. none seem to have a large understanding of paintball but hey no one is perfect haha

Refs: Volunteer Kids.. word of advice make sure they have good understanding of the rules so there isnt as many issues as there was at the tournament

Facilities: A roof over ur head if it rains

Food: Very good hotdogs and they even had chilli and cheese 'dogs SO GOOOOOOODD!

Personal Experiance/Thoughts: I went there for a tournament and our team got thrown out because we played a team that had two board members on it and they got very upset after we beat them (like i said above i had a gun in my face. The man who did it was a board member). Echo Bluff should consider how prepared they are before they run a tournament. Our team plans on going back there before to long and I hope that they learned a thing or two about runnning a tournament properly. Im going to make sure I have a talk with whoever is running it and give him/her all the help i can so it can run smoothly. I want to see this place booming soon. They run it like a charity and a good deal of the money they make goes to children. Everyone whos into woodsball should go here at least once just to make a contribution. Also I heard that they will be building a speedball field/ice rink in the near future so stay tuned for that
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
2 Comments - Add Comment

dawgchad Thursday, August 7th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: August 3rd, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Directions
to the Field:
Take Spring Valley Exit off I-80 and head south toward Spring Valley. Just before you enter Spring Valley (3 miles or so from interstate) is a right turn onto Route 29. About 3 more miles look for a turn to the left and a very small sign.

If you go down a big hill, you have gone too far. The left is just before you go down the hill.

You can't miss it once you turn here.
Review: This field makes paintball affordable. It is owned and operated by the township (not-for-profit) and as such is dirt cheap. It costs $5 if you bring your own gun, paint, and air.

If you need paint, it's cheap....but high quality. 250 for $6

If you need air, it's cheap...20oz fill for $3(?)

If you need snacks they're cheap...50cent-$1 range.

It cost $2 to rent a gun (if you need one)...and then you need to get air and paint and pay the $5 field fee. Realistically, you could show up with nothing, and still have a great day (with snacks) for less then $20 per person.

The field is expanding (already signifigantly bigger then the last reviewer said), and it encompasses some challenging terrain (gullys, hills, etc.)

Hope to see you there sometime!

I am rating it a 9 only because it currently has only the one field...if they open another (and I think they plan too), it will become a 10.
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment

toxtrem Friday, July 25th, 2008
Period of
Field Use:
Less than a month  
Last There: July 20th, 2008
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Review: The field is located in the old Girl Scout Camp, it isn't the largest but a good time. The daily field fee is $5.00 if you have your own equiptment, and you can bring your own balls so it's a graet place to get started, also they have rentals for equiptment for $14.00 a day that includes marker, mask, bottle, and 500 ball. I'm not sure if they charge for extra co2 on the rentals if you need it but if so I think it's $3.75 a fill. They also sell balls if you need them, have a consession stand with real resonable prices, and a friendly staff, this field may not be appealing to a seasoned player if you normally play on big fields. The field is about 75 yards square. They are open on Wednesday nights from 4-7 PM, Saturdays for groups and reservations, and Sunday from 1-7:30 PM, I normally walk on and have a great time, if your in the area stop in and play you'll have a great time. Toxtrem
Report as Inappropriate - Dispute It
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media